SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

LEATHER:
Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  EUR
  •  GBP
IRON RANGER, HAWTHORNE Mens is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 26.
  • y_2018, m_5, d_19, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8083 Iron Ranger features premium Hawthorne Muleskinner leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery. Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery.

Roughout Leather

Roughout leather is created using a reverse-suede technique at our very own S.B. Foot Tanning Co. While most tanneries split, thin and weaken the hide to create the rough suede surface, we simply use the other side of the hide. By doing so, we avoid splitting or thinning our full-grain hides. This makes our Roughout leather just as strong and durable as our other leathers.


Leather: Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8083 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8083

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8083
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots This is my second pair of iron rangers and the 8083 Hawthorne is my favorite. Much easier breakin than the 8111. Same great construction and quality. These are my go to boots this spring and summer.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Say NO! to the Nitrile Cork outsole. I do like the boots. The leather is solid quality. I bought these back in July just before Red Wing changed the outsole to the Vibram mini lug. They came with the nitrile cork outsole which is a borderline health hazard (I've slipped on dry pavement!). Ok the previous statement is a bit of stretch. These boots are fashion over function. Do not get them as an all around semi-rugged boot. I have been supremely disappointed by the lack of traction every step of the way. They are fine if you never have to go outside. (But then why have boots?) I wish I had waited a mere 1 month when Red Wing switched the outsole on these, but I guess I am stuck with the slip-n-slides. They do look good though.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully crafted, good comfort and performance. This pair boots are a great deal. They wear a bit larger than usual RW sizes, so be sure you try them before buying. I used to buy a US 8.5 of the chukka boots from RedWing, the Iron Rangers are half size smaller. Since I wore my Iron Rangers for the first time in October, I have wear them almost every day. Living in Milano Italy, the cold and rainy season last almost 6 months, so I find myself walking a lot on the rain with these boots, and no problem, my feet are dry no matter the weather. Two days ago I put the oil on them and they have turn back as almost new. I like them so much that I have been thinking to by the Oxblood leather ones with the Vibram soles for more grip when the snow will show up.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good and cheap usually aren't found on the same shelf I wear my Iron Rangers from the first cold in the fall until it starts to get too hot in the spring... and then some. I've gone through three Finnish cold seasons with them, and they still show no real wear and tear, and look basically brand new after being oiled up. The break-in period was predictably painful but once they molded to my feet, I can't imagine a better-fitting pair of boots. The only negative side to them is the fact that the treadless nitrile cork sole has precisely zero grip on ice or packed snow.. So either get them resoled or be careful!
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A carefully crafted boot made for longevity As far as I'm concerned, a product's longevity stands as the best testament of its value. I've just purchased my second pair of Iron Rangers in 7 years. I wore my first pair nearly every day for those seven years and they are still holding up to everything I throw at them (except for ice - I live in Canada - which is why I've bought a second pair with Vibram grips).
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from still uncomfortable many reviews are positive and i can agree with all those things - yes they are well done, good quality, aging great, looks classy, break-in is painful (but you will take it) and so on. one thing i can't take yes these are work boots but could it be more modern finally have more modern, comfortable, anti-fatigue insole, or any insole inside? i wear my pair for two years actually they fit ok but i still feel discomfort while walking. i've installed some anti-fatigue orthopedic insole and it made it less uncomfortable but not too much. so i wish sometime these incredibly stylish boots will have some modern features to make them really perfect
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for I prefer to wear boots most of the time, as I walk a lot, and like the support and weatherproof qualities of boots generally. I think I've had most of the decent quality boots available in the UK (excluding the brogue-type fashion boots made by some UK bootmakers, which are superb quality, very expensive but not my "thing"), and some have lasted, most fall apart within 2 or 3 years, and oddly, some "cheap and cheerful" ones have outperformed the dearer models. I decided to buy a pair of RW Iron Rangers 8119, mainly because I wanted a cleated sole, but also because the colour seemed likely to hold up better under the conditions in which I'd wear them. Although expensive, they seem to have a good reputation, so I went for a pair. I take a UK size 8, and I pondered the advice about going down a half-size. As I usually wear thin socks with shoes and thicker ones with boots, and occasionally need a removable insole, I decided to stick with the size 8. Although I could possibly have got away with going down the half-size, when laced up properly these boots don't flap around on my feet, and I know that I can wear them with even thicker socks in the winter. So no problems with fit, and they've become comfortable after about 2 days of wear. I also like the idea of a quality product from a particular country actually being made in that country i.e. the USA.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great classic boots Really pleased with these Iron Ranger - Amber Harness. First day of wearing and they are fine. Thin socks, so I ordered a UK 9 instead of my usual UK 10. Just perfect ! Calne Motorbike Festival, UK tomorrow, just brilliant.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heard nothing but great things about Red Wings... As a lover of vintage apparel, I finally got to purchase my first pair of Red Wings, choosing the 8113 Rangers for their style and rugged elegance. I'd heard they were a tough boot to break in but after wearing them around the house for a day, I decided they were comfortable enough to wear on a day trip to London. I normally wear a UK size 10 and purchased a UK 10 which ran a touch loose but with a thicker sock turned out to be perfect! They certainly received some favourable attention from my fashionable friends in the pub!
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Rolls Royce of Boots. Harley Davidson is the Cadilac of American Bikes, Triumph Motorcycles are the Rolls Royce of English bikes. Iron Rangers are the Rolls Royce and Cadilac of Boots combined, FACT !! There are many boots to choose from in this world but if you factor in History, Heritage and experience to create quality not many manufacturers can boast this like Red Wing can.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Although they cost a small fortune, they are worth every penny! I first was introduced with Red Wing in Leuven, Belgium, me an my roommates went there for the weekend. This city is small so it is possible to see all the highlights in one weekend. And so we did, after a couple of walks my feet were sore like H. When I complained about my 'walking shoes' being totally rubbish my roommate showed me his footwear. He was wearing an awesome brown leather shoe. I quote him, 'When I turned 18 my dad came to me and told me that, now I have become fully grown up, a real man needs real boots. So we went to Amsterdam.' That is were he bought his Beckmans Cigar colour. I thought they looked awesome and more important; They were handmate and great quality footwear. After he told me the price I was astonished. I had never bought shoes that I expected to wear for more than one year. So I talked to my dad and he told me to do it. So after saving up for a month or three I was finally ready for my first pair of Red Wings. After trying some different sizes and in-sole combinations, I ended up with a size 8,5 Iron Ranger in Amber Harness (8111). I wear a medium size in-sole, because my feet are overly flat. So therefore I had some spare space to fill up. The first week of breaking in was, to be honest, pretty heavy. My feet ached the first days, but after that week my shoes started to accept me I guess. The following month I wore my IR's five days per week, which resulted in a pair of boots that are now perfectly formed to my feet. I try to wear them in all occasions so I beat them up pretty good. The guy who helped me choose my best fitting pair of IR's told me to only condition them twice a year. I am reading tons of reviews where people condition their boots every two months or so, as I mentioned already I am not experienced with leather boots so I have no idea what method of conditioning is preferred. Apart from that I am very happy with my IR's they look awesome in combination with almost every pair of trousers so that is nice. I hope they will age well and I am already looking for my second pair. I think I will go for the 875 Moc Toe. An aged 875 looks great! If you have any questions or tips for me feel free to comment!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic boots I have 6 pairs of Red Wing boots...all are amazing....best boots in the entire world,
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough in the beginning, indispensable later. It took some weeks to break them in, and there are differences between right and left shoe, but now these are the best, most comfortable boots I ever had. Would buy again if these disintegrate, which will not happen soon.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, functional boots. While slightly treacherous in ice and/or more than a half inch of snow, these cork soles get a solid grip on wet surfaces. They take quite a while to break in, but the comfort is impossible to beat once they're there. On several occasions, these boots have taken me in a single day from Union Square to the Upper East Side and back home again--nearly a nine mile walk! I have had these boots for 5 years and it seems reasonable to expect that I'll have them for the rest of my life. I recommend buying true to size; even though they certainly do run large, it's advantageous to fill the gap between foot and shoe with very thick socks.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite pair of red wing boots By far my favourite pair Out of the 4 I own. Comfortable, great looking pair of boots. Wear them to the office, the bar and when visiting music festivals here I am on my feet all day. Should come with leather laces though, the ones they come with don't do these bad boys justice!
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good everywhere boot I bought a pair for my job which requires both office meetings in formal dress and a lot of trips across Asia. This pair is tough, comfort and fits all my needs. No matter where am I, it looks good and cool both at work and after work. It allows me to travel light as well, there is no need to bring another pair of shoes for after work activities when I'm travelling.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very nicely made boot A style that's immediately "known" and accepted, very well crafted with a comfortable fit. If it had been given a leather sole, it would be perfect! In all honesty, I prefer these to my handmade (on lasts) shoes.
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice style Good pair of boots, compliment my moc toes perfectly as an alternative, well nice! stop being tight and get yourself a pair! xxx
Date published: 2014-11-24
  • y_2018, m_5, d_19, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×