SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

LEATHER:
Amber Harness Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  EUR
  •  GBP
6" AMBER, 8111 Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 130.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_21, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_130
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 37.5
  • 38
  • 38.5
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

The 8111 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Amber Harness leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction and triple stitched quality. Its double layer leather toe cap, leather heel pocket and Nitrile Cork outsole make it a favorite.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Amber Harness Leather
Outsole: Nitrile Cork
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Shank: Steel
Last: 8
Laces: 48-inch Black/Brown Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8111 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8111

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8111
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A perfect all round boot I was looking for a good year round boot and the Iron Ranger fit the bill. It is incredibly hardwearing and after over a year's worth of use it shows almost no damage. The leather has stood up to mud, sand, concrete, snow and ice without staining or marking. The soles have worn slightly but i expect to get at least 3 years before they need resoling, which is superb. These boots took a few weeks to break in the footbed, but no more than usual for goodyear welted products. Criticisms. I have only two criticisms. One, the soles are incredibly sturdy but lac any padding at all, so if you are intending to walk any distance in these you will want to invest in either very thick socks or a softer insole. Two, these dont handle snow / freezing temps particuarly well. It doesn't damage the boot at all, but your feet will get cold. To be fair they weren't designed for that. Overall an excellent buy and well worth the money.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these boots! Just bought these last Saturday and they are already my all time favorite boots! They fit great. I had no break in period. The sales staff was educated and helpful and made in the USA. I hope to have these things the rest of my life. I wear these, literally, every day.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from From a humble Lineman I'm here to tell ya something. Quite possibly the most comfortable boots I've put on. Now I've been up and down poles and graduated my self to easier work but I know that if you take care of your feet then they will take care of you. I usually wear ariat boots and still do. But I pulled the trigger on these a while back after looking at them for almost 3 months. If you have any doubts, don't. They are amazing. Got them off slapped some mink oil on them and wore every day for 3 weeks. Absolutely amazing. Thought that I would need an insole but went without and very glad I did. I have been hard on my feet, was in the Marines from 2003 to 2012, then lineman, now I'm still in the electrical buisness( Better job title) hands down best boot I've bought. Will buy another pair just because 5 out of 5 stars thanks guys
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memories have been made with these boots. I've done just about everything with these boots. After almost 4 years of heavy use they are needing a resole. By my own negligence has caused the rear heal portion to become slightly detached from the insole. I should have let these rest more often - but with such an amazing boot, I couldn't leave the house without them! Hopefully Red Wing can fix the issue before it is too late. The leather tells a story, and that story is mine.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy Once. Buy Right. I live by a strict philosophy that you should always buy the best of something. While expensive in the moment, you will both save money down the road and be living with a product that you know you will only grow closer to over time. That is why i bought the Iron Ranger 8111's. An everyday boot i can wear at home, work, walking the dog and even out to a nice dinner (maybe clean them first). I hope for these to be the last boots i need to buy - at least for the next 10 years. Thank you guys.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Granddaddy’s work shoes for the younger man. Fit I’d call impeccable. Worn them new out of the box every day for 2 weeks now, all I’m thinking about is the next pair I’ll get. Most likely in black. Haven’t slipped, no water issues only thing is they lack insulation when it’s cold but this is Tx. My big toes hurt a bit from break in but I’m feeling the insole mold to my foot a bit more every day. Look like a million bucks.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots I have a few pairs of Redwing boots but these are my favourites, I’m size 10 uk and with thick socks size 10 in these fits perfectly but I would advise you to try first. Well made and stylish.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding boots! I've had my Iron Ranger 8111 boots for three weeks now. I could not be happier. Everything you read about them was pretty well true for me as well. I sized down from a 10EE to a 9EE and the fit is perfect. They were a little tough the first few times I wore them, but I was careful to wear them only a few hours at a time for the first several times, then wearing them a few hours longer each time. I had them on today for ten hours of total comfort. I absolutely love the quality build and the classic look of this boot. Get yourself a pair - you'll be glad you did! Also - a big shout out to the ladies at the Red Wing store in Wichita Falls, TX. They got me fitted correctly, ordered my boots and had them w/in a week - even during the busy Christmas season. Thanks ladies!
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Skillfully done on a Pair of Boots Iron ranger ... what more can I say I am wearing a Legend .. Thank you Red Wing Shoes .co .... keep up the great work and retain those matured and skillful workers .. they know their stuffs and my heart goes to the miners that were killed during the Industrial years of America a hundred years ago ... hard to earn a living back then ....
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot A great boot and true to size. I have had mine 3 years, and they are still very nice. I am not that hard on them and oil them twice a year.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My first boots. Very nice at all. Almost everything perfect but: cork sole is totally" worth" . It is heavy, not flexible and solid. Vibram much better
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boot I Have Ever Worn If the world were a truly just and wonderful place, we would all be able to wear nothing but Red Wing boots, all the time. I have hiked, worked (in a casual office), and spent 9+ hours pacing the sidelines as my kids' lacrosse tournaments, and these boots have delivered, every time. No break-in period needed, but they still look better with age. Red Wing is the only boot brand I will ever purchase. (Size note: these run 1/2 size bigger than most shoes, so buy a 1/2 size down from what you normally wear).
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't be disappointed These boots are the type of thing you grow attached to. I liken it to your favorite baseball glove. I wear the 8111 model in Florida so the soles are perfect for me and the color is my favorite redwing makes. After a year of wearing them I decided I'd benefit from redwing inserts so I took them back to the store and was fitted for them that really helped my arches. over a year of wearing them and I still catch myself staring at them admiring the leather. Love these boots.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent shoes! Felt I made a solid purchase the second I put the shoes on: they're tough as nails. Nice, sturdy feel to them. Bought the 8111 in size 14 (I believe the 8111s were the only ones offered in size 14). Fit is true to size, plenty of wiggle room in regards to width. Excited to use them for years to come!
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The sheriff likes my redwings A court date required me to put my belongings including boots in an x-ray machine before entering the courthouse, The sheriff monitoring the screen proclaimed "wow those are Quality boots" Fantastic quality, comfortable once broken in. after over a year of wear, there have been no faults in the quality. They are heavier than you would expect and they lack traction in slick conditions. If they ever wear out I would definitely buy them again.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from pretty to look at I really liked these boots while they lasted. I was fit at a local RedWing store and had no issues with break in. Definitely the most comfortable boots I've worn. After wearing them for eighteen months they need to be resoled. No problem, I wear them often enough that I wasn't too surprised. Turns out that they can't be resoled because something in the sole is broken and "beyond repair". Bought into the idea that I was buying a pair of boots that would last years with the occasional resoling. I was tired of trashing boots that need to be thrown away in two years and a quality pair of boots that can be repaired meant a lot to me, so I saved up the money to buy these. Oh well, with redwing you can send your boots to the landfill in only 18 months! If you are looking for a pair of boots to take pictures of while you sit in your arm chair, look no further. If you want to actually do any work in them, like the miners they are named after, forget about it.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Nice Boots! First off I want to start by saying congratulations to Red Wing!. They make an outstanding product! I bought the Iron Ranger 8111 Amber harness. These Boots are so comfortable honestly right out of the box! These Boots are more comfortable than my sneakers. I don't even wear sneakers anymore, all I wear are these boots everyday. My wife laughs at me because I never take them off. I've been wearing red wings for 16 years and along with my 1907's these are my favorite pair. I wear these boots out on the town, and I wear them to work every day. Do not hesitate, go out right now and buy them, you will not regret it!. My 1907's are a size 13, I take a size 13 in everything else and in Iron Rangers I take a size 12 and they fit perfectly. Yes I highly recommend These Boots!!! I'm always getting compliments on these boots.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A month, Really!? A month... Really, a month... Yes it takes a month to break in these boots... They sized me and they were snug. I also bought the slim insoles, I was told they would make them more comfortable... I wore them every night for a few hours... The next week I wore them to work till lunch, (It was all my feet could take)... About two weeks in - I found a bucket of water, stood in the bucket for a few minutes and then did my Saturday erronds... Lasted till lunch. I took the insoles out and the boots felt a lot better. The bridge of my foot must be bigger than most... anyway... About a week later I found the bucket of water again.. Wore the boots to work - changed into dry socks at lunch and wore the boots for the rest of day. I have owned them for a month now and they fit like a glove and I wear them all day, everyday... Maybe my feet simply gave up the fight - whatever it is - I find them comfortable now will recommend them to anyone... Just beware - the first month is a bear.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot ever. Purchased these over a year ago and wear them everyday. I am extremely rough on my gear and the 8111 is one piece of equipment I never have to worry about breaking. Took about a month to break in but after that they are molded to my feet. Rain or shine, hot or cold they do the job and keep me on my feet
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Best Boots ever. Soft and Comfy from day one, no need to break, just use mink oil once a week. Awesome product!
Date published: 2017-09-19
  • y_2018, m_4, d_21, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_130
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×