SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

LEATHER:
Amber Harness Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  GBP
  •  EUR
6" AMBER, 8111 Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 135.
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_135
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

New Vibram Mini-Lug sole coming Fall 2018. The 8111 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Amber Harness leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Amber Harness Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Shank: Steel
Last: 8
Laces: 48-inch Black/Brown Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8111 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8111

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8111
Rated 2 out of 5 by from pretty to look at I really liked these boots while they lasted. I was fit at a local RedWing store and had no issues with break in. Definitely the most comfortable boots I've worn. After wearing them for eighteen months they need to be resoled. No problem, I wear them often enough that I wasn't too surprised. Turns out that they can't be resoled because something in the sole is broken and "beyond repair". Bought into the idea that I was buying a pair of boots that would last years with the occasional resoling. I was tired of trashing boots that need to be thrown away in two years and a quality pair of boots that can be repaired meant a lot to me, so I saved up the money to buy these. Oh well, with redwing you can send your boots to the landfill in only 18 months! If you are looking for a pair of boots to take pictures of while you sit in your arm chair, look no further. If you want to actually do any work in them, like the miners they are named after, forget about it.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Nice Boots! First off I want to start by saying congratulations to Red Wing!. They make an outstanding product! I bought the Iron Ranger 8111 Amber harness. These Boots are so comfortable honestly right out of the box! These Boots are more comfortable than my sneakers. I don't even wear sneakers anymore, all I wear are these boots everyday. My wife laughs at me because I never take them off. I've been wearing red wings for 16 years and along with my 1907's these are my favorite pair. I wear these boots out on the town, and I wear them to work every day. Do not hesitate, go out right now and buy them, you will not regret it!. My 1907's are a size 13, I take a size 13 in everything else and in Iron Rangers I take a size 12 and they fit perfectly. Yes I highly recommend These Boots!!! I'm always getting compliments on these boots.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A month, Really!? A month... Really, a month... Yes it takes a month to break in these boots... They sized me and they were snug. I also bought the slim insoles, I was told they would make them more comfortable... I wore them every night for a few hours... The next week I wore them to work till lunch, (It was all my feet could take)... About two weeks in - I found a bucket of water, stood in the bucket for a few minutes and then did my Saturday erronds... Lasted till lunch. I took the insoles out and the boots felt a lot better. The bridge of my foot must be bigger than most... anyway... About a week later I found the bucket of water again.. Wore the boots to work - changed into dry socks at lunch and wore the boots for the rest of day. I have owned them for a month now and they fit like a glove and I wear them all day, everyday... Maybe my feet simply gave up the fight - whatever it is - I find them comfortable now will recommend them to anyone... Just beware - the first month is a bear.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot ever. Purchased these over a year ago and wear them everyday. I am extremely rough on my gear and the 8111 is one piece of equipment I never have to worry about breaking. Took about a month to break in but after that they are molded to my feet. Rain or shine, hot or cold they do the job and keep me on my feet
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Best Boots ever. Soft and Comfy from day one, no need to break, just use mink oil once a week. Awesome product!
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well happy with them. Feel amazing and look as good. Was initially reluctant to buy due to the price - I've never paid even half that for shoes before - however, glad I did. I bought a pair online but they were too long so went to RW London and swapped them: the store were amazing - friendly and knowledgeable - and helped me get the right size; massive props to them. I've got the EE width (my foot is 11cm wide at the widest bit when stood) and they fit beautifully. They're comfortable and supportive without being stiff and unyielding. The sole is good and solid but still comfortable. Due to this and the excellent customer service I received, RW London now have customer for life. Good work.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love my 8111 I wear my red wings 8111 EVERY days, i have only on pair of shoes. Those shoes are unbelivable, absolutly terrific. I can‘t imagine going outside with other shoes on mt feet. The quality is incredible, the confort is unbelievable and the design of those 8111 totally perfect. I recommand !!!!!! Next time i will buy the same 8111 pair of shoes.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best footwear I have ever owned I have two pair of the Iron Rangers: Black harness and Amber harness. I rotate them back and forth for work. I work in a warehouse walking on concrete and driving a forklift all day. When I clock out at the end of the day I just keep wearing them. Absolutely no foot pain! Build quality is excellent. Leather is excellent. Scratches buff right out. One year later they look and feel better than ever. If you are going to wear them without insoles or orthtics, size down. If you're like me and require insoles, buy your regular size. But of course, ALWAYS try them on. Can't say enough positive about these boots.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable. Durable. Beautiful. I had been looking at Red Wings Iron Rangers for a couple years, but that would have been the most I had ever spent on footwear and that dissuade me. In retrospect, I should have purchased when the Canadian dollar was on par with USD, but hindsight is 20/20. Last November I came to my senses, bought them, and have enjoyed every minute of wearing. From the fall weather through to some snow/slush, the only days I don't wear them are the deep winter and hot summer. They get more comfortable over time, have held up impeccably, and I must say they look great - I get compliments on them regularly. Wear them to work, wear them for an easy hike, wear the camping - they do it all.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really cool stuff This is my first pair of red wing shoes, and also my first boots. The outlook is really cool, colour is dark brown so it match with my dark indigo raw denim. They use high quality leather. There's hook for tighten up the shoelace, so makes me easier to do it. I bought size 12, slightly loose on the length side but snug on the width side. On the first week of wearing them, I feel little bit pain on my feet but after that, the shoes start to adapt with my feet size so they become fitted perfectly. I wear them everyday to go to the office, meeting with client, and at the weekend, hang out with friends. It really perfect combination with dark indigo raw jeans, cuff up your jeans so your boots become more exposed. I prefer darker colour, like this one, because they look more formal (I wearing them for office used). The iron ranger 8119 might be darker than this but my size out of stock. And also difficult to find big size like 12. Overall, this is perfect for my first impression of red wing shoes, and looking forward to buy the beckman model.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality, beware I ordered them online. First pair came with bruised leather, absolutely not premium material. I returned them, purchased second pair. This one came with damaged one shoe in a way that stitches were torn. On top of the shoes in this pair have slightly different colour. Both shipment contained a note confirming careful quality control- which is funny overall; I never wear them, second pair was returned immediately.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best pair of footwear I've owned. I'm writing this review after 2.5 years of ownership of the 8111s. I had been intrigued with red wings for many years an I finally sprung for a pair. My buddies were all buying 1907s (which I also bought a year ago and love), but I went with the rangers for my first pair for a bit dressier look with that awesome capped toe. The break in period was a chore for sure, but well worth it. Like playing catch for hours and hours to get your baseball glove to get that perfect pocket. It's a must, and worth the work. The leather is elite, as is the stitching and footbed, however when I get them resoled years from now I will definitely move to the mini-lug sole as the cork is slippery on snow/ice/wet grass etc. if you are on the fence on these, jump off. You will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 2 pair- 8114 and 8115 and both are excellent. I purchased a pair of the 8115 2 years ago. The rough and tough leather is excellent. It seems to be "self healing", and it is very forgiving on scratches and such. They say to go 1 size down, but in my case that wasn't for me. I purchased my regular size (10.5 D). I have found that I can adjust the size by adjusting how I lace them up. I have very flat feet, and the lack of arch support is a plus for me. Sometimes I use Red Wing inserts, and some times I don't depending on the condition of my feet that day. I have wide feet, and the combination of wide feet and flat feet make this boot fit me perfectly.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Investment I am very happy with my purchase of the model 8111 in Amber harness. The materials and workmanship are top notch. They are comfortable right out of the box. I bought a size 10 1/2 when I usually wear an 11.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pair of boots Recently bought a pair of these boots over here in Europe. Having served for 14 years in the British Army I like to have something solid on my feet, and its getting harder to find well made , honest boots. These came recommended by a friend , and I must say he did me a big favour. I bought a UK size 10, my normal size and they fit perfectly, I wore them daily for 2 weeks and they are now really comfortable and broken in. I can only recommend them as being the ideal boots for anyone looking for an honest boot, made by real craftsmen , built to last, and I for one truly believe in supporting companies like this.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great looks Bad comfort After wearing the 8111's for 3 months I will say I love the look of these boots but they are terribly uncomfortable! Virtually no arch support,hard as a rock. They will not loosen up. I bought some power step inserts to help but good God there is barely enough room for the supports.These are strictly going out boots, that's it. Don't even think of working in these. I wonder if moc toes would have been a better bet. If I didn't love the look so much I would give up on them!
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I have been wearing various brands of foreign made boots for years and have never been happy with them. The price of these can certainly scare people away as it did I. I finally went to a store and picked up a pair and could not believe the difference these could make. It is an investment in yourself that will truly make you happy. The quality cannot be understated. This is American craftsmanship at it's finest. I recall seeing many people wearing them in my travels to foreign countries and realized that something must be special about this product. If they are willing to pay the high price overseas, they must be good. Turns out they were right. Spend the extra $100 and keep America working. With the longevity of this product, it is your money you will be saving in the long run.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots I've had Had these for a little over a year now. Absolutely love the style and they fit near perfect. I usually wear a thicker sock so they're a bit more snug towards the toe of the boot. I bought them at a local shop and they didn't have ones with different soles. Being that I live in Wisconsin, I'd recommend the ones with tread. Definitely worth the money. Boot that I plan on wearing for the next 15-20 years.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever These are the best boots I've ever owned. I got my Rangers from Brooks Brothers and they have the Vibram soles for motorcycle riding!! These boots combined with the great sole (not the original one but the deep tread Vibram soles) are the holy grail of motorcycle boots. Also, there was no problem breaking them in and no pain to be had. Just the perfect boot. The only flaw I've found with them is that the right boot appears to be just a tad wider than the left one but I haven't measured yet.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product These boots look good in jeans or dress pants. Hands down best footwear I've ever purchased. I've actually scuffed the toe, but after some bolt oil and additional wear, the scuffed has nearly disappeared. It's like the leather has 'self-healing' properties. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-02-08
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_135
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×