SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

LEATHER:
Amber Harness Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  GBP
  •  EUR
6" AMBER, 8111 Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 117.
  • y_2018, m_1, d_23, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_117
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 37.5
  • 38
  • 38.5
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

The 8111 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Amber Harness leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction and triple stitched quality. Its double layer leather toe cap, leather heel pocket and Nitrile Cork outsole make it a favorite.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Amber Harness Leather
Outsole: Nitrile Cork
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Shank: Steel
Last: 8
Laces: 48-inch Black/Brown Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8111 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8111

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8111
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever These are the best boots I've ever owned. I got my Rangers from Brooks Brothers and they have the Vibram soles for motorcycle riding!! These boots combined with the great sole (not the original one but the deep tread Vibram soles) are the holy grail of motorcycle boots. Also, there was no problem breaking them in and no pain to be had. Just the perfect boot. The only flaw I've found with them is that the right boot appears to be just a tad wider than the left one but I haven't measured yet.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product These boots look good in jeans or dress pants. Hands down best footwear I've ever purchased. I've actually scuffed the toe, but after some bolt oil and additional wear, the scuffed has nearly disappeared. It's like the leather has 'self-healing' properties. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Red Wing USA Product I'm a longtime Red Wing USA customer and already own a pair of 10877, 10875, 899, 953, 606, 676 boots from the USA line. I had my eye on a pair of Iron Rangers for quite some time and just recently picked a pair up. Unlike other reviewers I found them to be true to size and I bought my same size I always get in Red Wing USA boots. I think the size discrepancy is from guys who normally wear sneakers and they tend to run small. If you wear a 12 in sneakers, you will probably wear a 11.5 in boots. I tried them on in the store and walked around and the saleswoman also agreed that I needed the same size as my others. I love these boots so far and found that the Red Wing leather cream made for the Heritage line works best as to not darken the leather like my other "work boot" products I always use. These are strictly for weekends and dress, not to be beaten up. They are a dress shoe of the sort and don't need "heavy duty" protection from the elements. I'm more interested in keeping them pretty and looking nice. While at the store a salesman from a nearby car dealership wondered over and was looking for a premium pair of good quality made in USA boots. I talked to him a bit and he asked me some questions. Before I left he was leaving with another pair of Iron Rangers and Beckman's. LOL I told him you get what you pay for and your feet will thank you. He never had a pair like that before and always wore cheapos. There is a big difference and you won't regret it. He also liked the fact that these can be resoled when that time comes and it was another selling point for him along with being USA made. I'm very happy with my purchase and well satisfied like always. Keep making them and I will keep buying them.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Robust and elegant construction. Versatile and Timeless When viewed from every angle the contours of the boots always look handsome. Every visible construction detail is done to perfection. The leather is tough to break in but it is what I expected and enjoy because it is a meaningful journey to make the boots truly yours. I heeded the advice on the internet and bought half a size down from my normal size, which fits perfectly.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite boot After 3 years the soles were worn down and I sent them in to Red Wings for the premium repair service. They just came back and its like I have a new pair of boots, only they are already broken in to my feet. Also, the new sole has traction that I will try out on the snow and ice, something the flat sole does not allow. I have never written a review for shoes, but what can I say, these are amazing. They look great with everything and are like wearing your childhood baseball mitt.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for everyone, but a great boot First off, it's looks, they can be polarizing but there's nothing visually I don't like. Are they always practical? Definitely not. The sole could use more texturing for grip, (especially during rain), and they're not the most comfortable depending on the surface and no arch support. Walk around all day and you're gonna feel it. But they're tough, last a long while and wear in beautifully. I crashed in them (motorcycle), and they got scuffed, scratched and scarred, which broke my heart a bit because I love these boots; but with a good brushing, conditioning and boot oil, they still look good and they have character. These boots are my daily, and I only wish I could afford to buy more.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love em Have had these for just over a year now. Absolutely love them. Picked em up in a store that carries Red Wings. Deinfitely recommend doing so. They were almost a full size smaller than other boots I wear and roughly a half size smaller than other shoes I wear. Not the greatest in snow and ice obviously, they're pretty slick, but absolutely love them. Go well with most jeans. I'm a student and go well there obviously. Same as a night on the town or at work on the odd days I wear them there. Absolutely worth the buy.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This boot is awesome. Simply. But... runs big. I've only had the boot a couple of weeks. Still breaking them in. The most important thing is... they run big. My left foot is slightly larger than my right and I OBSESS over sizing and fit. I own the red wing heritage 877 in a 10. So I bought a ten. Then returned them. Then bought a 9.5. Then returned them. Then bought a 9. I don't have a particularly wide foot but they push at the sides a little. (Which will give) they are an AWESOME boot and are breaking in nicely. Only drawback is the smooth cork sole is SLICK. Which makes it almost exclusively a fashion boot where it could do more.
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from all weather I've read reviews about the iron ranger 8111 nitrile cork sole being a little slick in slippery surfaces and I will beg to differ. The sole doesn't have any grip like the mini lug but I'm wearing mine in the winter now and on ice and they perform really well I'm really surprised for a smooth sole but could be the oil resistant is just more versatile.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron Ranger Amber Harness - You won't regret it! I found Redwing through their instagram account, and loved how they looked and the fact they got better with age as opposed to the fashion boots I usually get. Decided on the classic Iron Ranger. All the colors looked great but once again went with the classic and decided on the Amber Harness. Once home I was concerned it was a bit too dark, however as soon as I put them on was very happy, they look very good! I am concerned with what other reviewers have mentioned about them darkening significantly with mink oil or conditioner, so am looking at alternatives for long term care. Sizing: This felt like a real dilemma, I'm an 11 US in 90 percent of my shoes, I followed the advice of most the reviewers here and went a half size down to 10.5 US. Once I got them home and tried them again with a wool boot sock, they felt quite snug especially on my slightly larger right foot; theres plenty of length but felt somewhat snug on the widest part of my foot and cramped on my toes, I agonized whether to take them back for the larger 11 US. Decided to trust that they would mould to my foot once broken in, threw on two pairs of wool socks and went walking, within minutes I knew I had made the right choice staying with the 10.5 US. I am however interested how they will feel with a bit of foot swell in hotter weather (its winter here). I also have the Nitrile Cork sole and its very slippy in the snowy Toronto weather, would def appreciate some more grip!! I found it really hard with all the choices on model, color and especially the size issue, but it was totally worth it, they look and feel great I'm already planning my next RW purchase. Summary- Go at least half a size down ( trust It ) , consider the new vibram sole, in my opinion you can't go wrong with any of the colors!
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old school cannot be beat These were my first pair of Red Wings. I still have them and they are still going strong. These things are glorious. They need to be fit properly and they will not feel good in the store. But after about a month of daily wear they will have begun forming to your feet. Then they just keep getting better. One thing to note though is that this model with the smooth cork sole is dangerously slippery on ice. When I need to replace mine I will go for the new grip sole. These things last so long they won't need replacing for many years though.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully crafted, good comfort and performance. This pair boots are a great deal. They wear a bit larger than usual RW sizes, so be sure you try them before buying. I used to buy a US 8.5 of the chukka boots from RedWing, the Iron Rangers are half size smaller. Since I wore my Iron Rangers for the first time in October, I have wear them almost every day. Living in Milano Italy, the cold and rainy season last almost 6 months, so I find myself walking a lot on the rain with these boots, and no problem, my feet are dry no matter the weather. Two days ago I put the oil on them and they have turn back as almost new. I like them so much that I have been thinking to by the Oxblood leather ones with the Vibram soles for more grip when the snow will show up.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good and cheap usually aren't found on the same shelf I wear my Iron Rangers from the first cold in the fall until it starts to get too hot in the spring... and then some. I've gone through three Finnish cold seasons with them, and they still show no real wear and tear, and look basically brand new after being oiled up. The break-in period was predictably painful but once they molded to my feet, I can't imagine a better-fitting pair of boots. The only negative side to them is the fact that the treadless nitrile cork sole has precisely zero grip on ice or packed snow.. So either get them resoled or be careful!
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged, Durable and Made in the USA My Father was an Ironworker for over 40 years. He always wore Redwing boots. He swore by their superb construction, reliability and the fact that they are American made. Now that I am able to afford my own Redwings, I purchased the Iron Ranger 8111s. They are fantastic. I am often reminded that "you get what you pay for". I am in the market for the standard Redwing workboot and will make the purchase in the next few days. I like the 100% satisfaction guarantee and the free return shipping. You cant go wrong. Yes, the Rangers take a bit to wear in. I owe this to the fine materials and craftmanship. I read reviews of customers complaining of stiffness and discoloration on the leather. This to me is all part of the experience. After all, they are a "working" boot. Too bad that the nature of these boots are as they are because the are definitely heirloom quality and should be passed on. The Redwing name certainly is. I am a satisfied customer that will return for future purchases. Keep up the great craftsmanship. Brendan
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and great quality My first pair of red wing heritage boots and I loving it, already looking to order a second pair of these guys but with the grip-sole. I catch myself wearing these shoes at the office and on the field. The shoes do run large so knock-off half a size. I am a size 11 1/2 in regular red wing boots but an 11 for heritage. The best feature about these boots is the more you wear them the better they look. It is pricey, but you get for what you pay and these shoes will last you a lifetime.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from still uncomfortable many reviews are positive and i can agree with all those things - yes they are well done, good quality, aging great, looks classy, break-in is painful (but you will take it) and so on. one thing i can't take yes these are work boots but could it be more modern finally have more modern, comfortable, anti-fatigue insole, or any insole inside? i wear my pair for two years actually they fit ok but i still feel discomfort while walking. i've installed some anti-fatigue orthopedic insole and it made it less uncomfortable but not too much. so i wish sometime these incredibly stylish boots will have some modern features to make them really perfect
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for I prefer to wear boots most of the time, as I walk a lot, and like the support and weatherproof qualities of boots generally. I think I've had most of the decent quality boots available in the UK (excluding the brogue-type fashion boots made by some UK bootmakers, which are superb quality, very expensive but not my "thing"), and some have lasted, most fall apart within 2 or 3 years, and oddly, some "cheap and cheerful" ones have outperformed the dearer models. I decided to buy a pair of RW Iron Rangers 8119, mainly because I wanted a cleated sole, but also because the colour seemed likely to hold up better under the conditions in which I'd wear them. Although expensive, they seem to have a good reputation, so I went for a pair. I take a UK size 8, and I pondered the advice about going down a half-size. As I usually wear thin socks with shoes and thicker ones with boots, and occasionally need a removable insole, I decided to stick with the size 8. Although I could possibly have got away with going down the half-size, when laced up properly these boots don't flap around on my feet, and I know that I can wear them with even thicker socks in the winter. So no problems with fit, and they've become comfortable after about 2 days of wear. I also like the idea of a quality product from a particular country actually being made in that country i.e. the USA.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I work as a mechanical engineer in the engine/heavy equipment industry - so I can't comment on these boots for serious hard work durability. That said, I've been wearing these daily for 2+ years now, and have had ZERO issues. Break in was a pain, literally. In fact I thought about ditching them the tongue/laces were so stiff on my ankles. After about 4 months though, they were great and truthfully they just keep getting better. So good that I prefer to wear them around town/any chance I can - again, I've got dedicated beater boots for rough work around the house/farm, so they don't see "real" use. The only complaint I have is one that I knew going in - the smooth sole is absolutely worthless on snow. It's like you're ice skating, but who doesn't need some excitement during the winter months? The leather has held up great with routine cleanings/dressing every 6 to 8 months. I've had no issues with stiching, and the leather has been fairly robust - with the exception of eylet wear on the tongue. Unlike other reviewers though, my wear is acceptable and not through the leather. The sole has held up well - again, in an office/shop/engine testing environment. If you're looking for a good boot that looks great with a pair of jeans yet can fit the part with a nice pair of khaki's, I'd recommend these in a heart beat. I'll admit I was somewhat skeptical going in and the "made in USA" tag sold them to me, but I'm glad I purchased them.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Comfort This boot is a very high quality and substantial lace-up boot. The first pair I tried didn't fit right, and it was not comfortable. The 2nd pair I tried fit like a glove. It was snug without being tight, and it fit right in all the right places - instep, ball, length, heel. I anticipate the boot becoming even more comfortable as the leather softens with use. I highly recommend this boot, and I further recommend you do not give up on the first fit if it is not right.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Iron Ranger series boots are by far the best boots I have ever owned in my 49 years including anything I ever wore in the military. The Iron Ranger series boots are by far the best boots I have ever owned in my 49 years including anything I ever wore in the military. My obsession with the Iron Ranger series started by accident when I decided to spend the money at a local Red Wing store and buy a heritage boot. I chose the Iron Ranger (Amber Harness). Since that day (and here is where it gets freaky a bit) I have purchased 11 (ELEVEN) pair ranging from 3 pair of amber harness, 3 pair of copper R/T, 1 pair of black, 3 pair of rough out's and 1 pair of oxblood so I have them all. The reason I have so many is first and foremost is I love them and plan to never be with a pair or two of Iron Rangers for the rest of my walking years. The second reason is because my company buys my boots so every time I would purchase a pair on the companies dime I would also buy a pair out of my own pocket so they started mounding in my closet. I have certain pairs set aside for work and certain pairs set aside for meetings and weekends. The others are just set aside for never wearing until I have worn out the others (which will never happen). Again, seems freaky to own so many pair but I'm not always paying for them. Now on to the boot....(BTW Red Wing should send me a pair for free based on the money I have spent with them...LOL). The cream of the crop is the AMBER HARNESS. Something about the choice of leather, all 3 pair I own are of the same quality of leather and the fit is spot on. They are the softest of all the series in my opinion and what I personally have chosen as my favorite. Next is the Copper Rough and Tough which are my next in line. Leather is just a bit tougher and with this model I have 3 pair and each one has a different fit (not that it's bad but just not the same as the Amber Harness). One pair of the R/T's pinches across the top of my left foot (should have returned them). The next pair of R/T's fit just a bit bigger than the others and the 3rd pair just looks like the cap toe was sewn on differently than the others. Still highly recommended but wanted to share my experience with them. Next, Roughouts...Exceptional fit and ruggedness. My favorite attribute about the roughouts is they don't show any scuff marks and if they get muddy just brush them with a medium bristle brush and most of the marks and dirt and mud comes right off. I have one pair that I treated with mink oil but turned them darker (which actually looks really good but gets away from the roughout look a bit due to the darker color). My recommendation would be to NOT put ANY oils on the roughout series until they are just to beat up looking..in the interim just keep them brushed off to maintain that original roughout look. BLACK, no complaints...same quality as the Amber Harness but I don't wear black as much and if I need them they are ready to go...great boot. Next, Oxblood. This would be my least favorite of the entire series. I love the color but it's the sole that caused me to sell them on ebay. The Oxblood model is the only model that has a (thin rubber sole) and doesn't hold up as well as the rest of the models. This is not a bad thing except the other models have the dense NITRILE CORK sole I prefer for longevity and this type sole will naturally learn the shape of your foot as you walk and become the best fitting sole you'll ever find. Over all and to summarize ANY of the Red Wing Heritage Iron Ranger series are worth the money (BTW..you can get them on ebay for cheaper and I have done this a few times but the foot bed and the leather was already molded to someone else's foot so I re-sold them). Spend the extra money and get a quality boot. Tweak them to your feet ( I usually replace the laces with leather laces for the more authentic look and I at times may add the thinnest insole I can possibly find just because I'm on my feet all day long). My personal best is the Amber Harness 8111 and least favorite would be the Oxbloods. The Black, Roughout and Copper R/T are also good to go in my book. If you are looking for a boot with a retro look and a retro feel you can't get any better than the Iron Ranger series which are still made the same way they were back then. Sorry for the long winded review but if you've made it this far in reading it you are either a diehard fan like I am or a first time buyer looking for info before purchasing. If you happen to be a Red Wing representative reading this long review then how bout a free pair after the 11 pair I have purchased? :) Peace to us all and keep making those Iron Rangers so I don't feel like I have to buy any more....wife is starting to question my sanity:)
Date published: 2016-09-07
  • y_2018, m_1, d_23, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_117
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×