SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8114

LEATHER:
Black Harness Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  GBP
  •  EUR
6" BLACK HARNESS, 8114 Mens is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 40.
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08114, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8114 : Iron Ranger

The 8114 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Black Harness leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction and triple stitched quality. Its double layer leather toe cap, leather heel pocket and Nitrile Cork outsole make it a favorite.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Black Harness Leather
Outsole: Nitrile Cork
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Laces: 48-inch Black Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8114 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8114 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8114

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8114
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever once broken in...run a bit long. This is my 2nd pair of Red Wings and I was told the Iron Ranger runs big (long). I usually wear a size 13 and my feet are somewhat wide but I don't usually require a wide fit shoe. So, I ordered a size 12D and at first they were flat out tight. But, after wearing them indoors for a short while they began to stretch out. I decided to go for it and break them in. A little Mink Oil and Leather Protector and off I went! It didn't take long before they became the most comfortable and supportive shoes I own! Go for it, you won't regret it! Gonna buy some Beckman Rounds next!!!
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully crafted, good comfort and performance. This pair boots are a great deal. They wear a bit larger than usual RW sizes, so be sure you try them before buying. I used to buy a US 8.5 of the chukka boots from RedWing, the Iron Rangers are half size smaller. Since I wore my Iron Rangers for the first time in October, I have wear them almost every day. Living in Milano Italy, the cold and rainy season last almost 6 months, so I find myself walking a lot on the rain with these boots, and no problem, my feet are dry no matter the weather. Two days ago I put the oil on them and they have turn back as almost new. I like them so much that I have been thinking to by the Oxblood leather ones with the Vibram soles for more grip when the snow will show up.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great classic boot These boots are true old school fit. No padding or liner, just leather. Very stiff boot when new, but just like a baseball glove, the leather breaks into you foot. Get them slightly snug, and they will break in for a perfect fit. They look great too, many compliments.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good and cheap usually aren't found on the same shelf I wear my Iron Rangers from the first cold in the fall until it starts to get too hot in the spring... and then some. I've gone through three Finnish cold seasons with them, and they still show no real wear and tear, and look basically brand new after being oiled up. The break-in period was predictably painful but once they molded to my feet, I can't imagine a better-fitting pair of boots. The only negative side to them is the fact that the treadless nitrile cork sole has precisely zero grip on ice or packed snow.. So either get them resoled or be careful!
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from still uncomfortable many reviews are positive and i can agree with all those things - yes they are well done, good quality, aging great, looks classy, break-in is painful (but you will take it) and so on. one thing i can't take yes these are work boots but could it be more modern finally have more modern, comfortable, anti-fatigue insole, or any insole inside? i wear my pair for two years actually they fit ok but i still feel discomfort while walking. i've installed some anti-fatigue orthopedic insole and it made it less uncomfortable but not too much. so i wish sometime these incredibly stylish boots will have some modern features to make them really perfect
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for I prefer to wear boots most of the time, as I walk a lot, and like the support and weatherproof qualities of boots generally. I think I've had most of the decent quality boots available in the UK (excluding the brogue-type fashion boots made by some UK bootmakers, which are superb quality, very expensive but not my "thing"), and some have lasted, most fall apart within 2 or 3 years, and oddly, some "cheap and cheerful" ones have outperformed the dearer models. I decided to buy a pair of RW Iron Rangers 8119, mainly because I wanted a cleated sole, but also because the colour seemed likely to hold up better under the conditions in which I'd wear them. Although expensive, they seem to have a good reputation, so I went for a pair. I take a UK size 8, and I pondered the advice about going down a half-size. As I usually wear thin socks with shoes and thicker ones with boots, and occasionally need a removable insole, I decided to stick with the size 8. Although I could possibly have got away with going down the half-size, when laced up properly these boots don't flap around on my feet, and I know that I can wear them with even thicker socks in the winter. So no problems with fit, and they've become comfortable after about 2 days of wear. I also like the idea of a quality product from a particular country actually being made in that country i.e. the USA.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a reliable boot whatsoever If you are looking for a boot that looks nice and pretends to be rugged these will work fine if you wear them maybe a couple times a month. I bought these a little over a year ago because I have plain and simple taste in boots and they were worn daily at work at an auto repair shop as well as the weekends and a lot of motorcycle rides. The break in was tough but that was expected, an eyelet gouged a small hole through the tongue and that was repaired in store. They were oiled often and dried as much as possible during the Iowa winters to take care of them. Finally the time came to send them to Redwing to get resoled, the soles weren't far gone at all I figured I'd do it early as I would be away for a month and not wearing them anyways. Instead of doing anything to the boot they just sent them back because they say the insole is bad so they won't repair them. Just keep in mind these boots were not old and they were taken care of as well as you can take care of a pair of leather boots. These boots are not made to stand up to real work and consistent use, they are made to look classic and that is it. Most other reviews are written right when they get the boot so they are unable to speak to the actual durability of these things. Like I said, if you want a pair of boots that you only plan on wearing every once and awhile as a fashion statement you'll be fine, but as far as actually working in these boots, you will be much happier getting something else for this kind of cash.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great classic boots Really pleased with these Iron Ranger - Amber Harness. First day of wearing and they are fine. Thin socks, so I ordered a UK 9 instead of my usual UK 10. Just perfect ! Calne Motorbike Festival, UK tomorrow, just brilliant.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heard nothing but great things about Red Wings... As a lover of vintage apparel, I finally got to purchase my first pair of Red Wings, choosing the 8113 Rangers for their style and rugged elegance. I'd heard they were a tough boot to break in but after wearing them around the house for a day, I decided they were comfortable enough to wear on a day trip to London. I normally wear a UK size 10 and purchased a UK 10 which ran a touch loose but with a thicker sock turned out to be perfect! They certainly received some favourable attention from my fashionable friends in the pub!
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! Great pair of boots. Glad I bought them. These are my first pair of Red Wings; I bought them about six months ago. I wear a size 12 sneaker & these boots in size 12 are a great fit for me. If you're thinking of getting these, and you've never had a pair of RW, it might be a good idea to go to a local RW shop to find your size. And yes, they're pricey, but it's worth it in the long run. You can buy 1 pair of quality RW boots that will last you many years, or buy several pairs of lesser quality boots over the same timeframe. I'd advise you go with the 1 pair of quality. Lastly, even though these look like old school work boots, they're designed for looks/fashion. I would not advise buying these for manual labor type work.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sizing is correct On both the Iron Rangers and the 1907s I bought - no need to buy 1/2 size down , both these boots fit true to size. Still breaking them in and enjoying every minute of it.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so good I bought these boots back in October and upon first impression, I found the boots to be beautiful, practical, and versatile. I will admit that my first month with these boots were brutal as warned by many other reviewers that I failed to read before my purchase; but since they've been broken in, I must say these are the most comfortable pair of boots I've ever owned. I'd recommend to any and everyone.
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Rolls Royce of Boots. Harley Davidson is the Cadilac of American Bikes, Triumph Motorcycles are the Rolls Royce of English bikes. Iron Rangers are the Rolls Royce and Cadilac of Boots combined, FACT !! There are many boots to choose from in this world but if you factor in History, Heritage and experience to create quality not many manufacturers can boast this like Red Wing can.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Although they cost a small fortune, they are worth every penny! I first was introduced with Red Wing in Leuven, Belgium, me an my roommates went there for the weekend. This city is small so it is possible to see all the highlights in one weekend. And so we did, after a couple of walks my feet were sore like H. When I complained about my 'walking shoes' being totally rubbish my roommate showed me his footwear. He was wearing an awesome brown leather shoe. I quote him, 'When I turned 18 my dad came to me and told me that, now I have become fully grown up, a real man needs real boots. So we went to Amsterdam.' That is were he bought his Beckmans Cigar colour. I thought they looked awesome and more important; They were handmate and great quality footwear. After he told me the price I was astonished. I had never bought shoes that I expected to wear for more than one year. So I talked to my dad and he told me to do it. So after saving up for a month or three I was finally ready for my first pair of Red Wings. After trying some different sizes and in-sole combinations, I ended up with a size 8,5 Iron Ranger in Amber Harness (8111). I wear a medium size in-sole, because my feet are overly flat. So therefore I had some spare space to fill up. The first week of breaking in was, to be honest, pretty heavy. My feet ached the first days, but after that week my shoes started to accept me I guess. The following month I wore my IR's five days per week, which resulted in a pair of boots that are now perfectly formed to my feet. I try to wear them in all occasions so I beat them up pretty good. The guy who helped me choose my best fitting pair of IR's told me to only condition them twice a year. I am reading tons of reviews where people condition their boots every two months or so, as I mentioned already I am not experienced with leather boots so I have no idea what method of conditioning is preferred. Apart from that I am very happy with my IR's they look awesome in combination with almost every pair of trousers so that is nice. I hope they will age well and I am already looking for my second pair. I think I will go for the 875 Moc Toe. An aged 875 looks great! If you have any questions or tips for me feel free to comment!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase All Year Purchased the Iron Rangers to replace similar style Chippewa boots. Awesome decision, I work 10 hour days at a busy pawn shop, moving heavy items and stepping around saws, mowers etc, nothing beats these for comfort (after break in) durability, and style. Would suggest to anyone working in a field with minor dangers or looking for a great investment.
Date published: 2015-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from its a good boot id like more e width selections but the d is great 1/2 size bigger than i usually wear.very convenient because the boot seems to run a little bigger.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rock solid I wear a 13 in pretty much everything but a 12 in this is perfect. They fit long. After about 10 hours of wearing them they have broken in so well. These boots are so nice - I have owned the work boat red wing for years and I expect these to last even longer. I wear them everywhere. Well worth the price, I might buy another colour!
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic boots I have 6 pairs of Red Wing boots...all are amazing....best boots in the entire world,
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit, Great Look Great boots. I worked with a veterinarian when I was a teenager. He always said "if you want a shoe that will last a lifetime, buy Red Wing." He was absolutely right. My Iron Rangers fit well and look really good. It is important that you buy half size smaller, at least, but you'll likely be ok with a full size smaller than what you usually wear. These things run big! Lot's of reviews say the same thing and it is 100% true. I am a true size 8, and I have plenty of room to wiggle my toes at a 7. Some have suggested that a wider boot should be purchased, as well, but I wouldn't recommend. Red Wing acknowledges that the boots run long, but they tell you not to get a wider size, saying that once broken in, a wider boot may slip. Breaking them in is a process. I used Leather Honey, and it helps. Mink oil is another option. Conditioning them, along with simply wearing them will give you the fit you're looking for.
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old School I just ordered my second pair of Iron Rangers in 6.5D. I have a dislocated, injured left foot and need the height and width of a man's shoe. But I'm usually building or fixing something anyway so these are ideal. I would rather buy one pair of lifetime quality shoes than multiple pairs of cheap footwear. I wear these with short and long pants, at work, at home, and they don't look out of proportion at all. I take care of them with waterproofing and cedar shoe trees. I wear women's 8.5-9.0, or a Euro size 39. I wear 6.5D men's in Chippewa and Carolina. These have allowed me to keep my feet protected but still look "tailored," so to speak, and they have been a lifesaver for the injuries to my feet from years ago. They are beautifully made but durable so hot stuff doesn't hurt them. Guy stuff is cool, anyway.
Date published: 2015-09-15
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08114, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×