SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8138

LEATHER:
Briar Oil Slick Leather
€ 299.00
 EUR 
  •  EUR
  •  GBP
6" BROWN, 8138 Mens is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 23.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08138, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 38
  • 38.5
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8138 : Classic Moc

Modeled after Red Wing’s original work boot style, the 8138 is a 6-Inch Moc Toe featuring Briar Oil Slick leather, white Traction Tred rubber outsole, triple stitched quality and Goodyear welt construction.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

Nothing says, “Red Wing”, like a moc toe boot with a white polyurethane outsole. It’s a style we started making in the 1950s for sportsmen but it worked equally well on farms and in factories due to that Traction Tred sole with its minimal tread that sheds mud and provides the underfoot comfort the work day required. The crescent-shaped stitching on the toe was inspired by the construction of the shoes, or “moccasins” originally worn by the North American Algonquin Indians. Our Classic Moc Toe boots have since become a legend.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Briar Oil Slick Leather
Outsole: Traction Tred
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
Laces: 48-inch Tan/Gold Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8138 : Classic Moc

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8138 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Fits ½ size large
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8138

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

    Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8138
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had to Get 'em! About 3 weeks after getting the Blacksmith model, I had to go ahead and get the 8138 moc boot this past weekend! Like my other RW pair, I did have to go down a 1/2 size (and almost went down a full size on these, but my big toe was just touching the end). Really like the darker color - as two ladies in the store convinced me this was the ticket. Break-in is going well, and I've lightly oiled them to speed up the process. Construction, leather, sole, stitching are outstanding - you can see the pride of workmanship. I really have no doubt that both new Red Wing purchases will last the rest of my life with proper care - and maybe a resole or two.
    Date published: 2017-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great gift I wear a U.K. 10 in Grenson, Loake & U.K. 11 in converse and Nike. My wife got me a U.K. 9.5 from the store as a gift which felt great when I tried them on at home, but having read a lot of blogs before purchasing I decided to take them to the store in London to double check they were a correct fit. Glad I did they measured my arch and recommended a 9 in this style as the toe box has a lot of room. 9 months later they fit like gloves, but beware the break in period is gruesome!! I wipe them regularly with damp cloth keeping a cedar shoe tree inside to dry them, and every other month use boot oil on them. Plan to use mink oil paste once a year and let them sit for a week in a heavy layer. I'm so happy I'm going to buy another pair and use them on rotation. Don't buy online always go to a RW store for good advice
    Date published: 2016-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic boots Supreme boots! I have to size down one full size but other people may only need to size down half a size, I would recommend you try on in the shop first but either way you will need to size down between a half and a full size as all redwing heritage run big bro! This my nineteenth pair of redwing heritage so I am a bit of a conisseur :). A great tip to reduce any break in period significantly is to get some wooden shoe stretchers/trees they don't have to be expensive ones just a cheap £5 pair. Keep these in your boots at all times when not wearing them and trust me you will have hardly any break in period at all! Plus it keeps your boots in shape and absorbs all the moisture from sweat. Done this with all my redwings and hasn't failed me yet :).
    Date published: 2016-08-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing comfort! But... This is my 2nd pair of heritage boots with my first being the 213's. I must say that although the leather and comfort are amazing....I am not happy at the rate at which the soles wore. I purchased these in January of 2016 and here I am in June wondering if I need a resole already. Although I wear these daily, I work in an office and am not on my feet all day. I love redwing for the comfort , look, and feeling I get when I can buy USA made boots. I don't think I would recommend these as an "on your feet all day" boot. I would love to put a tougher sole on these and am hoping for recommendations. The sole on the 213 model is (was) much tougher.
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECTO !! Easy to mix 'n match with any color clothes... It has a fun combination... I love how it looked. Couldn't wait to style this #8131 again 'n again!
    Date published: 2016-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I heard things about Red Wing boots and now I understand the following. They fit well, craftsmanship is superior and I couldn't be more happy. It took about 6 weeks of constant wearing to break them in. They feel really good and I now wear them as my daily shows and all around show. They look nice and I get compliments on how they look. I haven't done anything but wear them to break them in. They have held up to the rain, snow, salt and everyday wear and tear. I love these boots. Extremely happy.
    Date published: 2016-03-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice classic boots! Great boots that are a bit more demanding with maintenance than the other heritage boots.
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Product and craftmanship Comfort like a sneaker, top quality material and good looking at every occasion
    Date published: 2016-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The boots took a long time to break in but the construction is great. I've been wearing these for 7 years and the only negative is the soles wear fast, especially if you wear them a few days each week. Also, I've sent them to be resoled and asked if they could be cleaned up a bit. They didn't do any cleaning.
    Date published: 2016-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from add another 5 star review to the mix. my first red wing product and i am super impressed. the entire buying experience was a pleasure even though i had to wait a week for my size to come in. it was worth the weight bc these are about as nice a pair of shoes i have ever seen. the weight and construction are top notch. i will use these casually but i would imagine these could be quite the workhorse in your shoe collection if you wear boots to work. only worn these twice so far but they seem to get more comfortable each time i put them on. highest recommendation possible.
    Date published: 2016-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You simply can't go wrong buying a heritage Red Wing boot! The first pair of Red Wings I bought were the cheaper " work wear line" of boots. I found them uncomfortable, not lasting long and unknowingly not made in Red Wing MN or the USA for that matter. I then was introduced to the "heritage line" of boots by a older guy I worked with that has bought them since the late 60's. I have never looked back since. I'm on my fifth pair of heritage boots. Not because they wore out but because I loved them so much I wanted to try new styles. I've had my first pair of 875's resoled by Red Wing and it's like getting a new pair of boots with the worn in feel. They are going on 6 years and are my go to boot for work. I stand & work on a concreate floor for 9 hours a day and would never wear anything else. I also recommend getting the better upgraded insoles. Although pricey they are well worth the money. Yes the heritage line is pricey but considering you'll get years of comfortable wear out of the boots compared to the cheaper not made in USA "work line" of Red Wings I highly suggest the heritage line. I have tried 4 different styles of boots and love them all. They will last me for many years to come. They are well worth the price!
    Date published: 2015-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It pays to buy quality. The break in is tough, but worth it, a good pair of socks goes a long way when breaking them in, or even bandage your feet in blister prone areas to make it less painful. Once they are broken in you won't want to take them off, I wear these for riding a Harley Davidson, working 9-5 as a barista, Hiking/Camping, and cleaned up they bridge the gap between casual and formal with a good pair of dark denim, a collared shirt, and maybe even a tie. They are worth every bit of their price.
    Date published: 2015-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good Very good. I own 1 pair of RW1907. Very happy with this 1907
    Date published: 2015-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots, perfect for cold North Eastern winters Bought a pair of these in January 2014 and wore them every day over the winter through rain, snow and ice in North East England. Hiked them in the summer a handful of times and were my go to again at the end of the year. I held off cleaning or conditioning them until this week when I used a course of Red Wing cleaner, oil and protector over three successive days with healthy drying time in between and this is the result - a gorgeous ruddy brown rich feel to the leather, looking good as new. Yes, there is an inevitable break-in period initially which took a couple of weeks of uncomfortable heels where the boot backs are stiff, but this subsides over time resulting in super soft leather throughout, retaining its stern structure where it counts. Love them so much my girlfriend just bought me the Oxfords, and they're already my favourite shoe. Buy one size down, put in the hours, and you'll have a perfectly sculpted pair of boots to see you through the seasons.
    Date published: 2015-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice! classic style, lovely hipster look, comfy and stylish. LOVE IT!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    • y_2018, m_4, d_18, h_4
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
    • loc_en_GB, sid_08138, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritageeu

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×