SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8116

LEATHER:
Charcoal Rough & Tough Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  EUR
  •  GBP
IRON RANGER, CHARCOAL Mens is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 26.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08116, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 37.5
  • 38
  • 38.5
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8116 : Iron Ranger

The 8116 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Charcoal Rough & Tough leather, gunmetal hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction and triple stitched quality. Its double layer leather toe cap, leather heel pocket and Nitrile Cork outsole make it a favorite.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Charcoal Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Nitrile Cork
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Dark Gun Metal Eyelets & Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Shank: Steel
Last: 8
Laces: 48-inch Black Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8116 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8116 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8116

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8116
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great classic boots Really pleased with these Iron Ranger - Amber Harness. First day of wearing and they are fine. Thin socks, so I ordered a UK 9 instead of my usual UK 10. Just perfect ! Calne Motorbike Festival, UK tomorrow, just brilliant.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots By Far I own four pairs of red wing boots. Three pairs of iron rangers and one pair of brogue rangers. I wear a black pair of iron rangers to work five days a week 7am to 6 pm. Then at night if I go out, I wear the amber or mule iron rangers. If I go somewhere very formal I always wear the brogue rangers. They're all very comfortable. My foot is size 13, but all my red wings are size 12.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heard nothing but great things about Red Wings... As a lover of vintage apparel, I finally got to purchase my first pair of Red Wings, choosing the 8113 Rangers for their style and rugged elegance. I'd heard they were a tough boot to break in but after wearing them around the house for a day, I decided they were comfortable enough to wear on a day trip to London. I normally wear a UK size 10 and purchased a UK 10 which ran a touch loose but with a thicker sock turned out to be perfect! They certainly received some favourable attention from my fashionable friends in the pub!
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get Off the Fence If you haven't worn a pair of Red Wings before you are in for a treat- excellent build quality. But this is more for those who are hesitating regarding the charcoal rough and tough leather type/color as opposed to all the other choices- I have the 8114 Iron Ranger in the Black Harness leather which is very sharp, being as it is a deep black with a bit of bling in the chrome hardware; I also have the Blacksmith boot in Black Spitfire (roughout) leather and the Beckman 9013 in Chestnut Featherstone; I wasn't sure about the charcoal but decided to take a chance and am glad I did- the charcoal is a beautifuly nuanced leather which can dress up or down depending on your pants; it's pull-up leather so the color has a lot of character. They look like they were made to go with my North Face Paramount Peak 2 grey pants, but they also really pop when worn with a pair of black dress pants or a black suit- they then look like a new/different boot. Fabulous versatility. The pictures don't do them justice as it is a difficult color to photograph. 283mm length foot at 4 1/8 inch wide is perfect for a 10.5 D foot. Many people say size down, but I've been a boot person all my life and didn't find that to be the case. Look online and you'll find a Red Wing size chart that seems to work for the #8 Last boots anyway.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love Bought these about 6 months ago. Bought a half size smaller. I normally wear a 9.5 so I bought a 9 and they were great. The bottom is great when it's dry or wet, but forget about it for snow or ice. If you need snow boots I recommend getting something with better traction on the sole. Overall very comfortable once you get past the first 3 or 4 weeks. I will be buying another pair shortly.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Rolls Royce of Boots. Harley Davidson is the Cadilac of American Bikes, Triumph Motorcycles are the Rolls Royce of English bikes. Iron Rangers are the Rolls Royce and Cadilac of Boots combined, FACT !! There are many boots to choose from in this world but if you factor in History, Heritage and experience to create quality not many manufacturers can boast this like Red Wing can.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor Craftmanship I purchased a pair of the 8116's after doing some research and reading reviews on these boots. I love the look and at first liked the boot. After about 1-2 months a nail that was holding the sole on, where the ball of the foot is, started to protrude through the insole. I contacted Red Wing and they told me to send the boot in. After 3 weeks without the boot and learning they went in with a bore-scope to rectify the problem, they solved that issue. They did admit that there was an issue and it was fixed. After getting the boots back, there is another nail that holds the sole on that is coming through where the heel of the foot is. Both these issues are with the 'right' boot. The left boot is completely fine. I can barely wear the boot for more than 20-30mins before I can't stand the nail in the bottom of my foot. You can clearly see the nail protruding through the insole It is currently winter and I can't go without my boots for another 3 weeks while they again fix this issue. Very unhappy with this product and would not recommend it to anyone. I love the fact they are still Made in the USA, but for the price you would expect better quality control.
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Although they cost a small fortune, they are worth every penny! I first was introduced with Red Wing in Leuven, Belgium, me an my roommates went there for the weekend. This city is small so it is possible to see all the highlights in one weekend. And so we did, after a couple of walks my feet were sore like H. When I complained about my 'walking shoes' being totally rubbish my roommate showed me his footwear. He was wearing an awesome brown leather shoe. I quote him, 'When I turned 18 my dad came to me and told me that, now I have become fully grown up, a real man needs real boots. So we went to Amsterdam.' That is were he bought his Beckmans Cigar colour. I thought they looked awesome and more important; They were handmate and great quality footwear. After he told me the price I was astonished. I had never bought shoes that I expected to wear for more than one year. So I talked to my dad and he told me to do it. So after saving up for a month or three I was finally ready for my first pair of Red Wings. After trying some different sizes and in-sole combinations, I ended up with a size 8,5 Iron Ranger in Amber Harness (8111). I wear a medium size in-sole, because my feet are overly flat. So therefore I had some spare space to fill up. The first week of breaking in was, to be honest, pretty heavy. My feet ached the first days, but after that week my shoes started to accept me I guess. The following month I wore my IR's five days per week, which resulted in a pair of boots that are now perfectly formed to my feet. I try to wear them in all occasions so I beat them up pretty good. The guy who helped me choose my best fitting pair of IR's told me to only condition them twice a year. I am reading tons of reviews where people condition their boots every two months or so, as I mentioned already I am not experienced with leather boots so I have no idea what method of conditioning is preferred. Apart from that I am very happy with my IR's they look awesome in combination with almost every pair of trousers so that is nice. I hope they will age well and I am already looking for my second pair. I think I will go for the 875 Moc Toe. An aged 875 looks great! If you have any questions or tips for me feel free to comment!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hand crafted in America - enough said! When you think Red Wing you think quality, hand made products, crafted right here in the United States of America. They are not just designed in American and made some where else but made by men and women who have worked for Red Wing for many years. They are experienced craftsman excelling at their trade. Their hands have created a boot that looks great and tough enough for the Iron Rangers to wear as their go to footwear. The fit of these boots is fantastic. In normal footwear I wear a size 12. In the 8116 I was fitted to a 11.5 D width. I have narrow feet so I fitted my boots with the Red Wing Comfort Force Footbed. It bought my foot up enough in the boot to fill out the D width. As far as break-in at first I was not sure if my foot was molding the boot or if the boot was reshaping my foot. But I pressed on and stayed the course wearing them about 8 - 10 hours a day for 2 1/2 weeks. At that point there was a night and day difference when placed on my foot. I know my process may have been accelerated because of the footbeds in my boots but nonetheless I have achieved all day comfort. I used Red Wing Mink Oil on my 8116's and the mink oil darkened the boots a bit and I know some may not like this about the leather care products. I don't mind it is all part of the character of the boots. They have lighten back up over a few week period but at the end of the day they are protected and will last. If you are looking for a pair of boots that are hand made in America, make you want to smoke cigars, and own a horse than these are for you. Go to a Red Wing Shop get fitted, stay the course on the break-in and enjoy a hand crafted piece of 110 year history of Red Wing Shoes.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic boots I have 6 pairs of Red Wing boots...all are amazing....best boots in the entire world,
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent well-crafted boot. Runs big! I don't often write reviews and am not long-winded when I do take the time to pen them. With that, I think the Iron Rangers are a pair of the best boots on the planet. Absolutely fantastic construction, sturdy, very tough leather. With care, these will last me 20 years or more. Yes, the soles may prove to be treacherous in ice or snow. Put on some ice chains if that is a concern. The marks will only add character. About 15 hours for me to break them in. I did some of the break in pacing my daugher during a cross country meet. Fit like a glove. They do run large in my opinion. I purchased a pair of 8D in Amber Harness. Tried to love them and justify them, but in the end, they were too large. I wear an 8 or 40 European in most shoes. Thought 7.5 was right, but found a pair of 7 in charcoal and bought them on the spot. Perfect length and width for me.
Date published: 2015-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough in the beginning, indispensable later. It took some weeks to break them in, and there are differences between right and left shoe, but now these are the best, most comfortable boots I ever had. Would buy again if these disintegrate, which will not happen soon.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Awesome love them red wing definitely makes a great shoe i have got my roommate to buy a set
Date published: 2015-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, functional boots. While slightly treacherous in ice and/or more than a half inch of snow, these cork soles get a solid grip on wet surfaces. They take quite a while to break in, but the comfort is impossible to beat once they're there. On several occasions, these boots have taken me in a single day from Union Square to the Upper East Side and back home again--nearly a nine mile walk! I have had these boots for 5 years and it seems reasonable to expect that I'll have them for the rest of my life. I recommend buying true to size; even though they certainly do run large, it's advantageous to fill the gap between foot and shoe with very thick socks.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite pair of red wing boots By far my favourite pair Out of the 4 I own. Comfortable, great looking pair of boots. Wear them to the office, the bar and when visiting music festivals here I am on my feet all day. Should come with leather laces though, the ones they come with don't do these bad boys justice!
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good everywhere boot I bought a pair for my job which requires both office meetings in formal dress and a lot of trips across Asia. This pair is tough, comfort and fits all my needs. No matter where am I, it looks good and cool both at work and after work. It allows me to travel light as well, there is no need to bring another pair of shoes for after work activities when I'm travelling.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very nicely made boot A style that's immediately "known" and accepted, very well crafted with a comfortable fit. If it had been given a leather sole, it would be perfect! In all honesty, I prefer these to my handmade (on lasts) shoes.
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice style Good pair of boots, compliment my moc toes perfectly as an alternative, well nice! stop being tight and get yourself a pair! xxx
Date published: 2014-11-24
  • y_2018, m_4, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08116, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×