SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8086

LEATHER:
Charcoal Rough & Tough Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  GBP
  •  EUR
IRON RANGER, CHARCOAL R&T Mens is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 30.
  • y_2018, m_1, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08086, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8086 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8086 Iron Ranger features premium Charcoal Rough & Tough leather, dark gun metal eyelets and speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Charcoal Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Dark Gun Metal Eyelets & Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Shank: Steel
Last: 8
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8086 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8086 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8086

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8086
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 2 pair- 8114 and 8115 and both are excellent. I purchased a pair of the 8115 2 years ago. The rough and tough leather is excellent. It seems to be "self healing", and it is very forgiving on scratches and such. They say to go 1 size down, but in my case that wasn't for me. I purchased my regular size (10.5 D). I have found that I can adjust the size by adjusting how I lace them up. I have very flat feet, and the lack of arch support is a plus for me. Sometimes I use Red Wing inserts, and some times I don't depending on the condition of my feet that day. I have wide feet, and the combination of wide feet and flat feet make this boot fit me perfectly.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from oops The boot is really well-made, and the fit is wonderful. I bought the 8085 copper rough-n-tough color, because I already had a pair in dark brown. The problem is that the copper became dark brown already after just 4 months and I was looking forward to enjoying the lighter copper color. Sorry if I sound like a whiner. I'm just encouraging new buyers to ask about this at the store before you buy, simply so that your expectations are realistic (unlike mine). Setting the color factor to the side, the boot feels excellent, as always.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best value in men's boot wear I've had my cork soles for over a year and they've slowly molded to my feet like a glove. Fit perfect at my normal size 12, they are so comfortable I wear them daily. I am a customer for life, American made and American quality.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An American Icon The work and craftsmanship that goes into Red Wing boots is very impressive and exactly what "You" are looking for! Do not get scared off by the price. They are a bargain once they are on your feet and you look down and realize the favor you just did yourself. Believe me. You'll love them for life. Thank you, Red Wing! Well done! MENS SIZING : a HALF SIZE down and purchase a pair of RED WING INSOLES. They will fit like a glove. You'll thank me later. You're welcome.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully crafted, good comfort and performance. This pair boots are a great deal. They wear a bit larger than usual RW sizes, so be sure you try them before buying. I used to buy a US 8.5 of the chukka boots from RedWing, the Iron Rangers are half size smaller. Since I wore my Iron Rangers for the first time in October, I have wear them almost every day. Living in Milano Italy, the cold and rainy season last almost 6 months, so I find myself walking a lot on the rain with these boots, and no problem, my feet are dry no matter the weather. Two days ago I put the oil on them and they have turn back as almost new. I like them so much that I have been thinking to by the Oxblood leather ones with the Vibram soles for more grip when the snow will show up.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good and cheap usually aren't found on the same shelf I wear my Iron Rangers from the first cold in the fall until it starts to get too hot in the spring... and then some. I've gone through three Finnish cold seasons with them, and they still show no real wear and tear, and look basically brand new after being oiled up. The break-in period was predictably painful but once they molded to my feet, I can't imagine a better-fitting pair of boots. The only negative side to them is the fact that the treadless nitrile cork sole has precisely zero grip on ice or packed snow.. So either get them resoled or be careful!
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from still uncomfortable many reviews are positive and i can agree with all those things - yes they are well done, good quality, aging great, looks classy, break-in is painful (but you will take it) and so on. one thing i can't take yes these are work boots but could it be more modern finally have more modern, comfortable, anti-fatigue insole, or any insole inside? i wear my pair for two years actually they fit ok but i still feel discomfort while walking. i've installed some anti-fatigue orthopedic insole and it made it less uncomfortable but not too much. so i wish sometime these incredibly stylish boots will have some modern features to make them really perfect
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for I prefer to wear boots most of the time, as I walk a lot, and like the support and weatherproof qualities of boots generally. I think I've had most of the decent quality boots available in the UK (excluding the brogue-type fashion boots made by some UK bootmakers, which are superb quality, very expensive but not my "thing"), and some have lasted, most fall apart within 2 or 3 years, and oddly, some "cheap and cheerful" ones have outperformed the dearer models. I decided to buy a pair of RW Iron Rangers 8119, mainly because I wanted a cleated sole, but also because the colour seemed likely to hold up better under the conditions in which I'd wear them. Although expensive, they seem to have a good reputation, so I went for a pair. I take a UK size 8, and I pondered the advice about going down a half-size. As I usually wear thin socks with shoes and thicker ones with boots, and occasionally need a removable insole, I decided to stick with the size 8. Although I could possibly have got away with going down the half-size, when laced up properly these boots don't flap around on my feet, and I know that I can wear them with even thicker socks in the winter. So no problems with fit, and they've become comfortable after about 2 days of wear. I also like the idea of a quality product from a particular country actually being made in that country i.e. the USA.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a reliable boot whatsoever If you are looking for a boot that looks nice and pretends to be rugged these will work fine if you wear them maybe a couple times a month. I bought these a little over a year ago because I have plain and simple taste in boots and they were worn daily at work at an auto repair shop as well as the weekends and a lot of motorcycle rides. The break in was tough but that was expected, an eyelet gouged a small hole through the tongue and that was repaired in store. They were oiled often and dried as much as possible during the Iowa winters to take care of them. Finally the time came to send them to Redwing to get resoled, the soles weren't far gone at all I figured I'd do it early as I would be away for a month and not wearing them anyways. Instead of doing anything to the boot they just sent them back because they say the insole is bad so they won't repair them. Just keep in mind these boots were not old and they were taken care of as well as you can take care of a pair of leather boots. These boots are not made to stand up to real work and consistent use, they are made to look classic and that is it. Most other reviews are written right when they get the boot so they are unable to speak to the actual durability of these things. Like I said, if you want a pair of boots that you only plan on wearing every once and awhile as a fashion statement you'll be fine, but as far as actually working in these boots, you will be much happier getting something else for this kind of cash.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I have both charcoal w mini lug and amber harness w original sole. Both outstanding best I've owned. I love how I can dress up or rough it up w both. Mini lug sole is easier to break in and quieter and thus I prefer this sole. I use mine for riding and around town so not sure how to compare the durability of each sole. Great great boots!
Date published: 2016-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best boots iv ever worn i just cant cant stop staring at these boots. Love them
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great classic boots Really pleased with these Iron Ranger - Amber Harness. First day of wearing and they are fine. Thin socks, so I ordered a UK 9 instead of my usual UK 10. Just perfect ! Calne Motorbike Festival, UK tomorrow, just brilliant.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heard nothing but great things about Red Wings... As a lover of vintage apparel, I finally got to purchase my first pair of Red Wings, choosing the 8113 Rangers for their style and rugged elegance. I'd heard they were a tough boot to break in but after wearing them around the house for a day, I decided they were comfortable enough to wear on a day trip to London. I normally wear a UK size 10 and purchased a UK 10 which ran a touch loose but with a thicker sock turned out to be perfect! They certainly received some favourable attention from my fashionable friends in the pub!
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Rolls Royce of Boots. Harley Davidson is the Cadilac of American Bikes, Triumph Motorcycles are the Rolls Royce of English bikes. Iron Rangers are the Rolls Royce and Cadilac of Boots combined, FACT !! There are many boots to choose from in this world but if you factor in History, Heritage and experience to create quality not many manufacturers can boast this like Red Wing can.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Although they cost a small fortune, they are worth every penny! I first was introduced with Red Wing in Leuven, Belgium, me an my roommates went there for the weekend. This city is small so it is possible to see all the highlights in one weekend. And so we did, after a couple of walks my feet were sore like H. When I complained about my 'walking shoes' being totally rubbish my roommate showed me his footwear. He was wearing an awesome brown leather shoe. I quote him, 'When I turned 18 my dad came to me and told me that, now I have become fully grown up, a real man needs real boots. So we went to Amsterdam.' That is were he bought his Beckmans Cigar colour. I thought they looked awesome and more important; They were handmate and great quality footwear. After he told me the price I was astonished. I had never bought shoes that I expected to wear for more than one year. So I talked to my dad and he told me to do it. So after saving up for a month or three I was finally ready for my first pair of Red Wings. After trying some different sizes and in-sole combinations, I ended up with a size 8,5 Iron Ranger in Amber Harness (8111). I wear a medium size in-sole, because my feet are overly flat. So therefore I had some spare space to fill up. The first week of breaking in was, to be honest, pretty heavy. My feet ached the first days, but after that week my shoes started to accept me I guess. The following month I wore my IR's five days per week, which resulted in a pair of boots that are now perfectly formed to my feet. I try to wear them in all occasions so I beat them up pretty good. The guy who helped me choose my best fitting pair of IR's told me to only condition them twice a year. I am reading tons of reviews where people condition their boots every two months or so, as I mentioned already I am not experienced with leather boots so I have no idea what method of conditioning is preferred. Apart from that I am very happy with my IR's they look awesome in combination with almost every pair of trousers so that is nice. I hope they will age well and I am already looking for my second pair. I think I will go for the 875 Moc Toe. An aged 875 looks great! If you have any questions or tips for me feel free to comment!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic boots I have 6 pairs of Red Wing boots...all are amazing....best boots in the entire world,
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough in the beginning, indispensable later. It took some weeks to break them in, and there are differences between right and left shoe, but now these are the best, most comfortable boots I ever had. Would buy again if these disintegrate, which will not happen soon.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, functional boots. While slightly treacherous in ice and/or more than a half inch of snow, these cork soles get a solid grip on wet surfaces. They take quite a while to break in, but the comfort is impossible to beat once they're there. On several occasions, these boots have taken me in a single day from Union Square to the Upper East Side and back home again--nearly a nine mile walk! I have had these boots for 5 years and it seems reasonable to expect that I'll have them for the rest of my life. I recommend buying true to size; even though they certainly do run large, it's advantageous to fill the gap between foot and shoe with very thick socks.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite pair of red wing boots By far my favourite pair Out of the 4 I own. Comfortable, great looking pair of boots. Wear them to the office, the bar and when visiting music festivals here I am on my feet all day. Should come with leather laces though, the ones they come with don't do these bad boys justice!
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good everywhere boot I bought a pair for my job which requires both office meetings in formal dress and a lot of trips across Asia. This pair is tough, comfort and fits all my needs. No matter where am I, it looks good and cool both at work and after work. It allows me to travel light as well, there is no need to bring another pair of shoes for after work activities when I'm travelling.
Date published: 2014-12-17
  • y_2018, m_1, d_21, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_30
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08086, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×