SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8085

LEATHER:
Copper Rough & Tough Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  GBP
  •  EUR
IRON RANGER, COPPER R&T Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 49.
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_49
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 38
  • 38.5
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.

STYLE NO. 8085 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8085 Iron Ranger features premium Copper Rough & Tough leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Copper Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Shank: Steel
Last: 8
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8085 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time, the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8085 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8085

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8085
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for working in the office do not get them wet! These boots are great for looking trendy in the office. I bought the iron rangers thinking they would be good durable work boots. My feet have narrow insteps and are wide at the toe, making it difficult to find work boots that don't pinch nerves in the bottom of my foot, so I bought these boots one size down from 9-1/2 in an E width which worked well after break in. The iron rangers broke in and formed to my foot over a one month break in period on concrete floors and performed well while working on tasks ranging from wood working, welding, foundry working, interior demolition, plumbing and other maintenance related tasks. I fully understand what happens when leather gets wet, however and unfortunately I got caught in a downpour while planting trees and could not leave the job undone, which resulted in these boots getting wet. Although these were oiled regularly the result was that the leather insole got wet, shrunk, curled and separated from the footbed. Redwing repair said that they can not repair/replace the insole.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from still uncomfortable many reviews are positive and i can agree with all those things - yes they are well done, good quality, aging great, looks classy, break-in is painful (but you will take it) and so on. one thing i can't take yes these are work boots but could it be more modern finally have more modern, comfortable, anti-fatigue insole, or any insole inside? i wear my pair for two years actually they fit ok but i still feel discomfort while walking. i've installed some anti-fatigue orthopedic insole and it made it less uncomfortable but not too much. so i wish sometime these incredibly stylish boots will have some modern features to make them really perfect
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for I prefer to wear boots most of the time, as I walk a lot, and like the support and weatherproof qualities of boots generally. I think I've had most of the decent quality boots available in the UK (excluding the brogue-type fashion boots made by some UK bootmakers, which are superb quality, very expensive but not my "thing"), and some have lasted, most fall apart within 2 or 3 years, and oddly, some "cheap and cheerful" ones have outperformed the dearer models. I decided to buy a pair of RW Iron Rangers 8119, mainly because I wanted a cleated sole, but also because the colour seemed likely to hold up better under the conditions in which I'd wear them. Although expensive, they seem to have a good reputation, so I went for a pair. I take a UK size 8, and I pondered the advice about going down a half-size. As I usually wear thin socks with shoes and thicker ones with boots, and occasionally need a removable insole, I decided to stick with the size 8. Although I could possibly have got away with going down the half-size, when laced up properly these boots don't flap around on my feet, and I know that I can wear them with even thicker socks in the winter. So no problems with fit, and they've become comfortable after about 2 days of wear. I also like the idea of a quality product from a particular country actually being made in that country i.e. the USA.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots a man can own... This is my second pair of Red Wings. Can't imagine werarinng another brand. My first pair are the 1907 Moc Toes, my second 8115 Iron Rangers. These boots look good, top quality, have more than functionality to get the job done. You can't go wrong with Red Wing, you can't go wrong with the Iron Ranger. Break in time is minimal, especially considering the quality of the craftsmanship and leather. After about 24 hours of wear they are good to go for a lifetime!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm glad to see they added sole options Maybe I passed over it the few times I looked for it, but I cannot seem to find my review from last year. I mentioned the only downfall was the smooth soul not being ideal in icy or snowy conditions and that it would have been great if this boot had options for that. Now they do apparently! Great news for you looking to buy now, not so great for me. On another note I noticed people talking poorly about the durability of the boot. I have had mine for about a year now and did not wear them June through September but bid daily for the first 9 or so months I owned them and they held up great. The only thing is the threads have worn through in the soles but the store I purchased them from said they could repair that in-house for free so I'm not worried about it. For the sole options available I have upgraded my review from 4 to 5 stars.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar boot - looks great in the warehouse or around town. First pair of Red Wings and although the break-in was painful I am looking forward to many years of use out of these boots. I have the 8115 Copper Rough & Tough but you wouldn't know it to look at them. The oil drowns out all color. Not a complaint, but I was definitely a bit sad once the salesman brought them out oiled after I bought them. The Copper Rough & Tough color was just gorgeous. Now I pretty much own a pair of 8111's. Even a gentlemen at another Red Wing store assumed they were 8111 when I went in for another oiling recently. Did I mention how comfortable these boots are now? Nothing but praise from my feet when I tie these things snug. Thanks for the great boots guys and gals!
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for... I've had my 8085's a little over two weeks, wearing them each and everyday. Tonight I decided to rinse, wash them with my boot brush and saddle soap, and then let them dry for 90 minutes before applying mink oil. All I can say is WOW!!!! If you think these boots look good outta the box, just wait until you break em in and then give them a good cleaning and oiling. The difference is simply amazing. Worth every dime.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boot - 8085 Copper In love with these boots. Color is amazing, fit is amazing. Complements on how they look. I highly recommend the Copper R&T. The mini lug sole provides better grip and doesn't mess with any of the aesthetics of the boot.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from toughest boot I've ever had At first I thought they were going to be very uncomfortable but there really not , the braking in isn't as bad as everyone says , any boot that has good quality leather takes a while to break in. I wear this boot everyday and I love every moment , I love the rugged & vintage look.
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! Worth the money! I purchased my Iron Rangers from the Red Wing website. For me, they were pretty comfortable right out of the box. A little stiff, but not too stiff. Comfort is good. I really like the vintage look.
Date published: 2016-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great classic boots Really pleased with these Iron Ranger - Amber Harness. First day of wearing and they are fine. Thin socks, so I ordered a UK 9 instead of my usual UK 10. Just perfect ! Calne Motorbike Festival, UK tomorrow, just brilliant.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heard nothing but great things about Red Wings... As a lover of vintage apparel, I finally got to purchase my first pair of Red Wings, choosing the 8113 Rangers for their style and rugged elegance. I'd heard they were a tough boot to break in but after wearing them around the house for a day, I decided they were comfortable enough to wear on a day trip to London. I normally wear a UK size 10 and purchased a UK 10 which ran a touch loose but with a thicker sock turned out to be perfect! They certainly received some favourable attention from my fashionable friends in the pub!
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Rolls Royce of Boots. Harley Davidson is the Cadilac of American Bikes, Triumph Motorcycles are the Rolls Royce of English bikes. Iron Rangers are the Rolls Royce and Cadilac of Boots combined, FACT !! There are many boots to choose from in this world but if you factor in History, Heritage and experience to create quality not many manufacturers can boast this like Red Wing can.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Although they cost a small fortune, they are worth every penny! I first was introduced with Red Wing in Leuven, Belgium, me an my roommates went there for the weekend. This city is small so it is possible to see all the highlights in one weekend. And so we did, after a couple of walks my feet were sore like H. When I complained about my 'walking shoes' being totally rubbish my roommate showed me his footwear. He was wearing an awesome brown leather shoe. I quote him, 'When I turned 18 my dad came to me and told me that, now I have become fully grown up, a real man needs real boots. So we went to Amsterdam.' That is were he bought his Beckmans Cigar colour. I thought they looked awesome and more important; They were handmate and great quality footwear. After he told me the price I was astonished. I had never bought shoes that I expected to wear for more than one year. So I talked to my dad and he told me to do it. So after saving up for a month or three I was finally ready for my first pair of Red Wings. After trying some different sizes and in-sole combinations, I ended up with a size 8,5 Iron Ranger in Amber Harness (8111). I wear a medium size in-sole, because my feet are overly flat. So therefore I had some spare space to fill up. The first week of breaking in was, to be honest, pretty heavy. My feet ached the first days, but after that week my shoes started to accept me I guess. The following month I wore my IR's five days per week, which resulted in a pair of boots that are now perfectly formed to my feet. I try to wear them in all occasions so I beat them up pretty good. The guy who helped me choose my best fitting pair of IR's told me to only condition them twice a year. I am reading tons of reviews where people condition their boots every two months or so, as I mentioned already I am not experienced with leather boots so I have no idea what method of conditioning is preferred. Apart from that I am very happy with my IR's they look awesome in combination with almost every pair of trousers so that is nice. I hope they will age well and I am already looking for my second pair. I think I will go for the 875 Moc Toe. An aged 875 looks great! If you have any questions or tips for me feel free to comment!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic boots I have 6 pairs of Red Wing boots...all are amazing....best boots in the entire world,
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough in the beginning, indispensable later. It took some weeks to break them in, and there are differences between right and left shoe, but now these are the best, most comfortable boots I ever had. Would buy again if these disintegrate, which will not happen soon.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, functional boots. While slightly treacherous in ice and/or more than a half inch of snow, these cork soles get a solid grip on wet surfaces. They take quite a while to break in, but the comfort is impossible to beat once they're there. On several occasions, these boots have taken me in a single day from Union Square to the Upper East Side and back home again--nearly a nine mile walk! I have had these boots for 5 years and it seems reasonable to expect that I'll have them for the rest of my life. I recommend buying true to size; even though they certainly do run large, it's advantageous to fill the gap between foot and shoe with very thick socks.
Date published: 2015-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favourite pair of red wing boots By far my favourite pair Out of the 4 I own. Comfortable, great looking pair of boots. Wear them to the office, the bar and when visiting music festivals here I am on my feet all day. Should come with leather laces though, the ones they come with don't do these bad boys justice!
Date published: 2015-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good everywhere boot I bought a pair for my job which requires both office meetings in formal dress and a lot of trips across Asia. This pair is tough, comfort and fits all my needs. No matter where am I, it looks good and cool both at work and after work. It allows me to travel light as well, there is no need to bring another pair of shoes for after work activities when I'm travelling.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very nicely made boot A style that's immediately "known" and accepted, very well crafted with a comfortable fit. If it had been given a leather sole, it would be perfect! In all honesty, I prefer these to my handmade (on lasts) shoes.
Date published: 2014-12-04
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_49
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×