SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8119

LEATHER:
Oxblood Mesa Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  GBP
  •  EUR
IRON RANGER, OXBLOOD MESA Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 42.
  • y_2018, m_1, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08119, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 38.5
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8119 : Iron Ranger

The 8119 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Oxblood Mesa leather, bronze hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction and triple stitched quality. Its double layer leather toe cap, leather heel pocket and Vibram 430 Mini-lug outsole make it a favorite.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Oxblood Mesa Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Dark Gun Metal Eyelets & Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Shank: Steel
Last: 8
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8119 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the Full Grain Leather upper, Leather footboard and Cork Midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8119 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8119

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8119
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boots I absolutely love these boots I work in a machine shop with oil all over the floors and could not find shoes or boots to keep the oil out of my shoes. I bought these boots and OMG I love them not only are my feet dry from oil but they feel great after a break in period! I liked these so much I bought a second pair for normal wear. No more tennis shoes for me....
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Many compliments on my Iron Rangers After much deliberation I finally purchased these great boots. Yes as many have said, they do require patience with the breaking in of them. I have had mine since January, 2017. While I don't wear them everyday as I rotate my boots daily and never wear the same pair on consecutive days, they were great after about two weeks. have been using the boot oil on them and have been really pleased with the results. Looking to get a second pair for my boot collection. Just haven't decided which Red Wings to get.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality, beware I ordered them online. First pair came with bruised leather, absolutely not premium material. I returned them, purchased second pair. This one came with damaged one shoe in a way that stitches were torn. On top of the shoes in this pair have slightly different colour. Both shipment contained a note confirming careful quality control- which is funny overall; I never wear them, second pair was returned immediately.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 2 pair- 8114 and 8115 and both are excellent. I purchased a pair of the 8115 2 years ago. The rough and tough leather is excellent. It seems to be "self healing", and it is very forgiving on scratches and such. They say to go 1 size down, but in my case that wasn't for me. I purchased my regular size (10.5 D). I have found that I can adjust the size by adjusting how I lace them up. I have very flat feet, and the lack of arch support is a plus for me. Sometimes I use Red Wing inserts, and some times I don't depending on the condition of my feet that day. I have wide feet, and the combination of wide feet and flat feet make this boot fit me perfectly.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Products in EE! Greatest shoe/boot I have ever worn. Oil'em up a few times for faster break in. I actually had a customer at my workplace stop and stare at my shoes for about 30 seconds and say, "Those are NICE shoes".......never saw anything like that happen before. I would definitely buy more of these if EE was available in more colors/styles.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great These boots are great! Lots of people have mentioned them being uncomfortable, but they have been comfortable for me right out of the box, even with thin socks! The upper has softened quicker than these reviews would lead you to believe. The vibrate sole has been good (even when sprinting through torrential downpours). I wouldn't say that somebody should buy this as a rugged work boot, but i do think it meets a great place between form and function. I can stand up all day at work, look good, and know my feet are reasonably protected from a moderately hazardous work environment. I did buy some flat waxed cotton laces from a competing American boot company though. shhhhhh. They look much better than the stock laces IMHO.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 8119 have great traction and don't darken with mink oil. I purchased the 8119 six months ago. It took about 2 weeks to break in to the point I could wear them all day without my feet hurting. 6 months later, they feel like putting on a glove. The Vibram mini-lugs have great traction. Leather patina looks great. I sized down one full size.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully crafted, good comfort and performance. This pair boots are a great deal. They wear a bit larger than usual RW sizes, so be sure you try them before buying. I used to buy a US 8.5 of the chukka boots from RedWing, the Iron Rangers are half size smaller. Since I wore my Iron Rangers for the first time in October, I have wear them almost every day. Living in Milano Italy, the cold and rainy season last almost 6 months, so I find myself walking a lot on the rain with these boots, and no problem, my feet are dry no matter the weather. Two days ago I put the oil on them and they have turn back as almost new. I like them so much that I have been thinking to by the Oxblood leather ones with the Vibram soles for more grip when the snow will show up.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good and cheap usually aren't found on the same shelf I wear my Iron Rangers from the first cold in the fall until it starts to get too hot in the spring... and then some. I've gone through three Finnish cold seasons with them, and they still show no real wear and tear, and look basically brand new after being oiled up. The break-in period was predictably painful but once they molded to my feet, I can't imagine a better-fitting pair of boots. The only negative side to them is the fact that the treadless nitrile cork sole has precisely zero grip on ice or packed snow.. So either get them resoled or be careful!
Date published: 2016-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One Year In. Good Boots We'll see where they go from here, but so far, so good. They're pretty darn broken in. I wear them a lot. I hike in them and wear them around town. And I mean actual hikes on trails, up a small local mountain and around the foothills, often. The Vibram sole is thin and hard, so you probably want insoles with these. For me, it's too late. They fit perfectly when I broke them in with no insoles and then I tried insoles with them, and there just isn't room. I'd need a half size up to fit insoles. It's ok. They're still comfy enough. But they'd be better with insoles. The vibram sole seems to be custom cut for the boots, and it's a little "rough". Seems like they have to trim the edges to fit different size boots, and in my opinion the way it comes out looks a little cheap. Both my heels are nailed on just slightly crooked, too. Overall, I'm very happy with these boots. I'd just say that for the money, quality control could be a little better. Check the boots close if you order online. Send them back if things don't seem just right to you. Otherwise you'll be looking at them a year in and still get bugged by that little imperfection. For the money, you can and should expect better. So..I love these boots! I will buy more Red Wing boots. But I'll also know better exactly what I want next time, and look closer at the fit and finish before breaking them in. This is one year in. Don't know if they'll continue holding up, but I hope so. I love where they're at right now.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boot Picked these up today at a local Red Wing Dealer after having my feet sized for the perfect fit. I've been wearing them for about 2 hours and they feel great. Good quality American made boots. I've also had 2 people complement and ask about these boots.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from still uncomfortable many reviews are positive and i can agree with all those things - yes they are well done, good quality, aging great, looks classy, break-in is painful (but you will take it) and so on. one thing i can't take yes these are work boots but could it be more modern finally have more modern, comfortable, anti-fatigue insole, or any insole inside? i wear my pair for two years actually they fit ok but i still feel discomfort while walking. i've installed some anti-fatigue orthopedic insole and it made it less uncomfortable but not too much. so i wish sometime these incredibly stylish boots will have some modern features to make them really perfect
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for I prefer to wear boots most of the time, as I walk a lot, and like the support and weatherproof qualities of boots generally. I think I've had most of the decent quality boots available in the UK (excluding the brogue-type fashion boots made by some UK bootmakers, which are superb quality, very expensive but not my "thing"), and some have lasted, most fall apart within 2 or 3 years, and oddly, some "cheap and cheerful" ones have outperformed the dearer models. I decided to buy a pair of RW Iron Rangers 8119, mainly because I wanted a cleated sole, but also because the colour seemed likely to hold up better under the conditions in which I'd wear them. Although expensive, they seem to have a good reputation, so I went for a pair. I take a UK size 8, and I pondered the advice about going down a half-size. As I usually wear thin socks with shoes and thicker ones with boots, and occasionally need a removable insole, I decided to stick with the size 8. Although I could possibly have got away with going down the half-size, when laced up properly these boots don't flap around on my feet, and I know that I can wear them with even thicker socks in the winter. So no problems with fit, and they've become comfortable after about 2 days of wear. I also like the idea of a quality product from a particular country actually being made in that country i.e. the USA.
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing shoe, but they run way big on me What a shoe. You can tell the craftsmanship that goes into each pair of these. I ordered 3 pairs to make sure the sizing was correct. The 7 that I thought would be perfect turned out to resemble a clown shoe on my foot. The 6.5 fit well, but there were definite pressure points and walking hurt my feet just a little bit. To my amazement I put my foot into the 6 to find a perfect fit. Sure they are a little stiff out of the box, but these things feel like the real deal. I ordered the Vibram sole and see these being my go to boots for the long, high mountain Colorado winters. Expedited shipping was incredibly fast as well. Good job Red Wing. You guys are doing everything right.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully Made Boot! I Love My 8119 Boot. I usually wear a Size 13 Wide but I Was Fitted at a Red Wing Store and a Size 12D Fit Perfect. There was no Leather imperfections. Nice Deep Oxblood Color. There was No Leather Scratches. The Stitching was Perfect. The Leather is Thick but Soft. I Bought Red Wing's New Leather Cream to Use. I Put one Coat On before I wore them. I would not use any Other Products on the Leather. The Use and too much Use of Leather Oil will Darken the Leather and Make the Leather too Soft and Will Lose its Scape.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great classic boots Really pleased with these Iron Ranger - Amber Harness. First day of wearing and they are fine. Thin socks, so I ordered a UK 9 instead of my usual UK 10. Just perfect ! Calne Motorbike Festival, UK tomorrow, just brilliant.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heard nothing but great things about Red Wings... As a lover of vintage apparel, I finally got to purchase my first pair of Red Wings, choosing the 8113 Rangers for their style and rugged elegance. I'd heard they were a tough boot to break in but after wearing them around the house for a day, I decided they were comfortable enough to wear on a day trip to London. I normally wear a UK size 10 and purchased a UK 10 which ran a touch loose but with a thicker sock turned out to be perfect! They certainly received some favourable attention from my fashionable friends in the pub!
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oxblood Mesa I was a little unsure of these when I first tried them on, as I originally planned on the 1907, but after a passerby customer said "those are the ones" I knew they would be a great match for me and my style. These work well in formal and everyday settings, especially with the Vibram sole. I'm surprised that more reviewers aren't rating these as running big lengthwise... they are huge! Actually, the slider for Length flip-flops from the page where you write your review to the preview page, yikes! Someone at Red Wing Shoes should fix that maybe? Basically, it feels like clown shoes when I don't wear thicker socks. I always wear a 42.5 EU. I tried on their 9 (42 EU) and seemed fine. Later, I realized I should have gone at least a 1/2 size, probably a full size! However, I got an amazing price as these were 2nd productions. Get fitted by the staff in store if possible!\ These boots have survived nicely in their first MN winter, with exposure to salt and the elements. Oxblood Mesa conditions amazingly with mink oil. Their first conditioning was 5 months in and have returned to looking brand new, after looking fairly weathered from almost daily usage the past winter. Wow!
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Rolls Royce of Boots. Harley Davidson is the Cadilac of American Bikes, Triumph Motorcycles are the Rolls Royce of English bikes. Iron Rangers are the Rolls Royce and Cadilac of Boots combined, FACT !! There are many boots to choose from in this world but if you factor in History, Heritage and experience to create quality not many manufacturers can boast this like Red Wing can.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Sole Added! I'm happy to see Red Wing Shoes has added a more stable sole to this boot! I have the smooth sole style and have fallen many times on snow and ice because of such lack of traction. The boot now looks to be more season universal! Aside from that traction issue on the other sole style. I love these boots!
Date published: 2016-01-25
  • y_2018, m_1, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08119, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×