Free Expedited Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

LEATHER:
Amber Harness Leather
$319.99 USD
6" AMBER, 8111 Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 222.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_222
  • loc_en_US, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

The 8111 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Amber Harness leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction and triple stitched quality. Its double layer leather toe cap, leather heel pocket and Nitrile Cork outsole make it a favorite.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Amber Harness Leather
Outsole: Nitrile Cork
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
Laces: 48-inch Black/Brown Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8111 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8111

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! The iron rangers can be very hard to come by if, like me, you happen to live outside a big city in Canada. I tried on a pair in a Montreal store so I was ok with the size I needed. When i finally could afford them (quality is pricy), I saw that one cannot order them online from Canada on the Red Wing site. To add to the problem, I need size 7, which is often tricky to find at most retailers. But the guy at the top notch Red Wing chat service gave me the name of the main Red Wing seller for Canada who held size 7 for the model I wanted. So thanks for a great product and service!
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent shoes! Felt I made a solid purchase the second I put the shoes on: they're tough as nails. Nice, sturdy feel to them. Bought the 8111 in size 14 (I believe the 8111s were the only ones offered in size 14). Fit is true to size, plenty of wiggle room in regards to width. Excited to use them for years to come!
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The sheriff likes my redwings A court date required me to put my belongings including boots in an x-ray machine before entering the courthouse, The sheriff monitoring the screen proclaimed "wow those are Quality boots" Fantastic quality, comfortable once broken in. after over a year of wear, there have been no faults in the quality. They are heavier than you would expect and they lack traction in slick conditions. If they ever wear out I would definitely buy them again.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Looking Boot I have this boot as well as the 8111 and the 8114, my wife has a ladies Iron Ranger too. We both love them but it is true what others have said about the break in period, it was easier for me than my wife but we are glad we got through it. Getting fitted is the difficult part. We went to our local Red Wing dealer and they were very helpful and patient as it is a long process trying to determine the correct size for you. Even though I have three pairs they are not all the same size, of course they are within a half size. Luckily I didn't buy on line as I wouldn't have known where to start. Red Wing Shoes are great in general, their Heritage range is fantastic and the local store staff is the icing on the cake.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd pair of Redwings About a month into my Iron Rangers. Made the decision to get the Vibram sole for obvious reasons. I got a 1/2 size smaller than my normal size, they fit perfect. I found the break in fairly easy by wearing them for 1-2 hours/day during the first week and doing normal stuff in them like going to the pub, grocery shopping etc. I always wear a mid-weight hiking sock with boots which helps with comfort and breaking in. I'd say it will take another month to fully break the boot in, that said I haven't had so much as a hot spot to date. I'd highly recommend going to a RW dealer to try on their boots to make sure you get the right fit. My 1907's were a great boot for work, not sure I'd recommend Iron Rangers for a construction site. I use Limmer boot grease (cos I've got Limmer hiking boots) for waterproofing etc, you should take care of your boots per RW recommendations.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from pretty to look at I really liked these boots while they lasted. I was fit at a local RedWing store and had no issues with break in. Definitely the most comfortable boots I've worn. After wearing them for eighteen months they need to be resoled. No problem, I wear them often enough that I wasn't too surprised. Turns out that they can't be resoled because something in the sole is broken and "beyond repair". Bought into the idea that I was buying a pair of boots that would last years with the occasional resoling. I was tired of trashing boots that need to be thrown away in two years and a quality pair of boots that can be repaired meant a lot to me, so I saved up the money to buy these. Oh well, with redwing you can send your boots to the landfill in only 18 months! If you are looking for a pair of boots to take pictures of while you sit in your arm chair, look no further. If you want to actually do any work in them, like the miners they are named after, forget about it.
Date published: 2017-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good As much as I like these boots, the durability of the leather wasn't as tough as I thought it would be . Don't get me wrong , the leather feels great however on multiple occasions the leather on my boots have peeled a bit at the top layer and revealed a light colored underside. I guess the best example would be scraping an apple with an apple peeler and having some apple skin hang off a little. The worst instance of this was while moving a wooden pallet at work. I lightly kicked the pallet in place and came home to realize the leather at the toe had peeled about 1/4 of an inch. This was an easy fix by applying some Weldwood contact cement and pressing down on it. can barely tell it has ripped. Now these are not my only pair of leather work boots (danner tachyon gtx )and they are subject to the same amount if not more abuse than these 8114's, and have never experienced the leather peeling (much less multiple occasions) . With that being said, that is the only con I have with these amazing boots.This doesn't discourage me from purchasing more Redwing boots down the road. They are definitely very good looking and comfortable once broken in, I wear them almost everyday outside of work and they are developing more character with each and every use!
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressed I read alot of reviews to initially make me want this boot, it was clear by what people said they were tough and lasted forever, and looked great. I went into a store to try on a pair to confirm my size because i wear a 13 in boot and 14 in sneaker, and 13 was perfect. Now that i have received the boots, I have worn them everywhere since. they do look really good, slim profile for a boot which is nice, and they have outstanding build quality. I have not broken them in but right out of the box they were pretty comfortable for me. Im really impressed with these boots overall and i would highly recommend them.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A study in Red Wings... I have now owned the 8114's for a year, and feel this is enough time to present a worthy review. I bought my IR's from my local RW store, with them not having or stocking any heritage models, but was confident in them to provide me all could ask for in service. When I tried them on, they were much different than what i would have imagined them to feel like. They were stiff and very "basic" compared to one of the higher tech boots i'm used to. To be honest with you, they were not comfortable, but trusted all the reviews and the staff at the store telling me they will break in and feel much better. They did break in nicely and they do feel much better. These boots are my casual/dress shoes. I havent worn them as much as i would like, but they have had some good "days". I was walking my dog when i got caught in a rainstorm, they got soaked, and so i wore them until days end. That really helped them break in, as well as one day on one of the hottest days i can remember, i went to a picnic and ended up being the cook at the grill. They really got a workout that day with crazy heat and dirt, dust, and spilled drinks. They certainly don't have the patina as others, but they are coming along. I wouldn't want to walk too many miles in them, for there is no cushion. I wouldn't want to walk during the winter/snow, for there is no traction or insulation. But they are made very well, they look and feel great when on, and if taken care of will last you for many, many years.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous leather and quality The biggest fear I had about these boots was the break in process that so many have moaned about. Yes they are tough as nails, but if you double your socks and wear them daily, within a week you have a boot that you don't want to take off. The biggest draw back to these boots is just how good looking they are. You may not want to use them for anything and risk blemishing them!
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They look great with jeans I purchased a pair of these when I was 16 they great looking boots they may seem a little expensive to some folks but when you figure im 56 and still wearing them that makes them an incredible value mink oil a couple times a year my feet never got wet we've been through a lot 4 years at a factory 2 years Mason and 34 years Painting contractor I'm not saying I wore them every day but there the only boots I ever had and I still wear them just bought a pair of Irish Setters to replace them you cant go wrong with a pair of Redwing
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Returned these boots twice, but I still give them high marks I purchased these boots new from a local RW store. Service was very good. Owning these boots has not been ideal, but I wear them every day and I think they look great. Some comments: 1) I bought 1 size smaller than I typically wear, but now that the leather is worn in, I almost feel like I should have gone down 1.5 sizes. 2) The wear-in period is unpleasant, but it'll pay off. 3) The first pair I received had a thick tongue on one side of one of the boots which was incredibly uncomfortable. I took the pair back into the RW store, and they tried to work the thick leather down. The repair attempt must have loosened a metal eyelet because it pulled out of the leather a few days later. I took the boots back in and because the boots were less than a week old, they gave me a replacement pair. 4) After wearing the second pair for approx. 6 months, the left boot developed an annoying clicking sound. I took the boots back to the RW store. Surprisingly, they sent the boots back to Red Wing and Red Wing replaced the sole and innards for no charge. Thankfully they did not replace the boots with a new pair as I would not have wanted to repeat the wear-in process. 5) Now that the leather is worn in and has stretched a bit, my feet/toes seem to bounce around in the boots. I think I can play around with inserts, etc. to tighten how they fit. In the end, owning these boots has been inconvenient, but I rated them high because I never consider putting on another pair of shoes/boots in the morning. I think they look far better than any other boot on the market, and as you wear them in they only look better (which I suspect is typically not true with a less expensive pair of boots). I do anticipate to purchase a second pair of Iron Rangers in the future, in part because how accommodating RW was when I had problems after the purchase.
Date published: 2017-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This boot is AWESOME! Unbelievable fit right out of the box. The boots have a great, classic look and the fit and finish is second to none! I bought these to wear primarily for riding my motorcycle. I wanted the durability and also have a clean style to wear out to dinner or to the office. I definitely found what I was looking for! Nothing but compliments on the boots and guys wanting to know what brand and where to get them. You get what you pay for when it comes to Red Wing. Your feet have to last you your entire life!! Don't skimp on the footwear! Buy the best; I did! You won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get through the break in and they'll be the best boots you own! I'm 2 years in now and can definitely say these are the best boots I've ever owned! They still look fantastic when cleaned up and no major signs of wear. It's been said time and again but I'll attest to the long break in period. Mine were not fully broken in until the end of year one, wearing on average 2 or 3 days a week. I can recall shifting my weight around at concerts trying to get comfortable. Now I can easily wear them day in and day out. Size them down so they fit snug, they will break in nicely and form to your feet.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Nice Boots! First off I want to start by saying congratulations to Red Wing!. They make an outstanding product! I bought the Iron Ranger 8111 Amber harness. These Boots are so comfortable honestly right out of the box! These Boots are more comfortable than my sneakers. I don't even wear sneakers anymore, all I wear are these boots everyday. My wife laughs at me because I never take them off. I've been wearing red wings for 16 years and along with my 1907's these are my favorite pair. I wear these boots out on the town, and I wear them to work every day. Do not hesitate, go out right now and buy them, you will not regret it!. My 1907's are a size 13, I take a size 13 in everything else and in Iron Rangers I take a size 12 and they fit perfectly. Yes I highly recommend These Boots!!! I'm always getting compliments on these boots.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A month, Really!? A month... Really, a month... Yes it takes a month to break in these boots... They sized me and they were snug. I also bought the slim insoles, I was told they would make them more comfortable... I wore them every night for a few hours... The next week I wore them to work till lunch, (It was all my feet could take)... About two weeks in - I found a bucket of water, stood in the bucket for a few minutes and then did my Saturday erronds... Lasted till lunch. I took the insoles out and the boots felt a lot better. The bridge of my foot must be bigger than most... anyway... About a week later I found the bucket of water again.. Wore the boots to work - changed into dry socks at lunch and wore the boots for the rest of day. I have owned them for a month now and they fit like a glove and I wear them all day, everyday... Maybe my feet simply gave up the fight - whatever it is - I find them comfortable now will recommend them to anyone... Just beware - the first month is a bear.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my feet! While getting ready to attend last year's Great American Beer Festival, my feet were killing me. I needed shoes that would give me full support and Redwings fit the bill. The boots broke in completely over that weekend and have just gotten better every day since. I just ordered my 2nd pair, a charcoal option this time!
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot ever. Purchased these over a year ago and wear them everyday. I am extremely rough on my gear and the 8111 is one piece of equipment I never have to worry about breaking. Took about a month to break in but after that they are molded to my feet. Rain or shine, hot or cold they do the job and keep me on my feet
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Best Boots ever. Soft and Comfy from day one, no need to break, just use mink oil once a week. Awesome product!
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love them I've never been a boot guy, but after doing my research and trying these boots on, I knew I had to have a pair. I personally own iron ranger 8114 black harness. At first they were a little tough to break in, honestly, it's not that bad. If you can't handle that kind of light tingle, you shouldn't be wearing boots in the first place. Now, these boots are my favorite shoes to wear while working and outside of work. As a tip to people new to boots. Clean them and take care of them. These boots are an investment. If you do so, they'l last you a long time. I highly recommend these boots to everyone.
Date published: 2017-09-18
  • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_222
  • loc_en_US, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8111

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×