Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8114

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8114

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8114

LEATHER:
Black Harness Leather
$319.99 USD
6" BLACK HARNESS, 8114 Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 170.
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_170
  • loc_en_US, sid_08114, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8114 : Iron Ranger

The 8114 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Black Harness leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction and triple stitched quality. Its double layer leather toe cap, leather heel pocket and Nitrile Cork outsole make it a favorite.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Black Harness Leather
Outsole: Nitrile Cork
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Laces: 48-inch Black Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8114 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8114 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8114

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots This is my second pair of iron rangers and the 8083 Hawthorne is my favorite. Much easier breakin than the 8111. Same great construction and quality. These are my go to boots this spring and summer.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great looks Bad comfort After wearing the 8111's for 3 months I will say I love the look of these boots but they are terribly uncomfortable! Virtually no arch support,hard as a rock. They will not loosen up. I bought some power step inserts to help but good God there is barely enough room for the supports.These are strictly going out boots, that's it. Don't even think of working in these. I wonder if moc toes would have been a better bet. If I didn't love the look so much I would give up on them!
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from oops The boot is really well-made, and the fit is wonderful. I bought the 8085 copper rough-n-tough color, because I already had a pair in dark brown. The problem is that the copper became dark brown already after just 4 months and I was looking forward to enjoying the lighter copper color. Sorry if I sound like a whiner. I'm just encouraging new buyers to ask about this at the store before you buy, simply so that your expectations are realistic (unlike mine). Setting the color factor to the side, the boot feels excellent, as always.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! First off they run about a size big, similar to my 875s. I normally wear size 13D shoe, but am a 12D in redwing heritage. The quality and craftsmanship is actually amazing, even better than the 875s imo. The break in period on these was significantly easier and quicker than my 875s as well. Overall, a great boot. I will eventually invest in getting a sole with some traction put on, however.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The quality and craftmanship of these boots are excellent I bought my 8085 boots at my local Red Wing dealer. My feet were measured as 9 1/2 and was fitted with a size 9. Over the last several years, I've made an effort to search out and buy American made products. For the most part, I have found that the quality of American made stuff is outstanding and my Red Wing 8085 Iron Rangers are a perfect example. I was dreading the anticipated break in time and/or pain. I wore the boots for half a day for the first couple of days, but since then I have worn them all day, every day. The break in wasn't nearly as hard as I was anticipating. I've now had them for two weeks and they are very comfortable. This is my third pair of Red Wing boots, but my first American made. Beautiful, quality product. You get what you pay for and I'm happy to put my money where my mouth is.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I have been wearing various brands of foreign made boots for years and have never been happy with them. The price of these can certainly scare people away as it did I. I finally went to a store and picked up a pair and could not believe the difference these could make. It is an investment in yourself that will truly make you happy. The quality cannot be understated. This is American craftsmanship at it's finest. I recall seeing many people wearing them in my travels to foreign countries and realized that something must be special about this product. If they are willing to pay the high price overseas, they must be good. Turns out they were right. Spend the extra $100 and keep America working. With the longevity of this product, it is your money you will be saving in the long run.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots I've had Had these for a little over a year now. Absolutely love the style and they fit near perfect. I usually wear a thicker sock so they're a bit more snug towards the toe of the boot. I bought them at a local shop and they didn't have ones with different soles. Being that I live in Wisconsin, I'd recommend the ones with tread. Definitely worth the money. Boot that I plan on wearing for the next 15-20 years.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever These are the best boots I've ever owned. I got my Rangers from Brooks Brothers and they have the Vibram soles for motorcycle riding!! These boots combined with the great sole (not the original one but the deep tread Vibram soles) are the holy grail of motorcycle boots. Also, there was no problem breaking them in and no pain to be had. Just the perfect boot. The only flaw I've found with them is that the right boot appears to be just a tad wider than the left one but I haven't measured yet.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product These boots look good in jeans or dress pants. Hands down best footwear I've ever purchased. I've actually scuffed the toe, but after some bolt oil and additional wear, the scuffed has nearly disappeared. It's like the leather has 'self-healing' properties. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Red Wing USA Product I'm a longtime Red Wing USA customer and already own a pair of 10877, 10875, 899, 953, 606, 676 boots from the USA line. I had my eye on a pair of Iron Rangers for quite some time and just recently picked a pair up. Unlike other reviewers I found them to be true to size and I bought my same size I always get in Red Wing USA boots. I think the size discrepancy is from guys who normally wear sneakers and they tend to run small. If you wear a 12 in sneakers, you will probably wear a 11.5 in boots. I tried them on in the store and walked around and the saleswoman also agreed that I needed the same size as my others. I love these boots so far and found that the Red Wing leather cream made for the Heritage line works best as to not darken the leather like my other "work boot" products I always use. These are strictly for weekends and dress, not to be beaten up. They are a dress shoe of the sort and don't need "heavy duty" protection from the elements. I'm more interested in keeping them pretty and looking nice. While at the store a salesman from a nearby car dealership wondered over and was looking for a premium pair of good quality made in USA boots. I talked to him a bit and he asked me some questions. Before I left he was leaving with another pair of Iron Rangers and Beckman's. LOL I told him you get what you pay for and your feet will thank you. He never had a pair like that before and always wore cheapos. There is a big difference and you won't regret it. He also liked the fact that these can be resoled when that time comes and it was another selling point for him along with being USA made. I'm very happy with my purchase and well satisfied like always. Keep making them and I will keep buying them.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Robust and elegant construction. Versatile and Timeless When viewed from every angle the contours of the boots always look handsome. Every visible construction detail is done to perfection. The leather is tough to break in but it is what I expected and enjoy because it is a meaningful journey to make the boots truly yours. I heeded the advice on the internet and bought half a size down from my normal size, which fits perfectly.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best value in men's boot wear I've had my cork soles for over a year and they've slowly molded to my feet like a glove. Fit perfect at my normal size 12, they are so comfortable I wear them daily. I am a customer for life, American made and American quality.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Products in EE! Greatest shoe/boot I have ever worn. Oil'em up a few times for faster break in. I actually had a customer at my workplace stop and stare at my shoes for about 30 seconds and say, "Those are NICE shoes".......never saw anything like that happen before. I would definitely buy more of these if EE was available in more colors/styles.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An American Icon The work and craftsmanship that goes into Red Wing boots is very impressive and exactly what "You" are looking for! Do not get scared off by the price. They are a bargain once they are on your feet and you look down and realize the favor you just did yourself. Believe me. You'll love them for life. Thank you, Red Wing! Well done! MENS SIZING : a HALF SIZE down and purchase a pair of RED WING INSOLES. They will fit like a glove. You'll thank me later. You're welcome.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever once broken in...run a bit long. This is my 2nd pair of Red Wings and I was told the Iron Ranger runs big (long). I usually wear a size 13 and my feet are somewhat wide but I don't usually require a wide fit shoe. So, I ordered a size 12D and at first they were flat out tight. But, after wearing them indoors for a short while they began to stretch out. I decided to go for it and break them in. A little Mink Oil and Leather Protector and off I went! It didn't take long before they became the most comfortable and supportive shoes I own! Go for it, you won't regret it! Gonna buy some Beckman Rounds next!!!
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shoes for all day... I'm on my feet from 12-16 hours/day, and these are the most comfortable shoes I've worn in 40 years. Break in was 2 days. Since then...ahhhh. They're my "daily drivers." Wear 8.5EE, wish the size was avail in black.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite boot After 3 years the soles were worn down and I sent them in to Red Wings for the premium repair service. They just came back and its like I have a new pair of boots, only they are already broken in to my feet. Also, the new sole has traction that I will try out on the snow and ice, something the flat sole does not allow. I have never written a review for shoes, but what can I say, these are amazing. They look great with everything and are like wearing your childhood baseball mitt.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Redwing, I have a pair of boots that had the original leather soles 40 years old. They finally gave out and can't resole but I keep them for remembering my days pumping gas at 16 at 1.35 and hour. Don't remember what I paid for them but they were the most comfortable non-burning sole on concrete there was. Wish you still had full leather soles. I also had a pair of identical insulated ones my gf made me throw away :(. They had been resoled 4 times and were still in glove fitting comfortable shape. Next pair I buy will be these. Saving up.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unsurpassed quality in materials and construction. The materials and craftsmanship that went in to making these boots is rarely seen nowadays. If your looking for instant gratification in comfort and fit, this ain't it. This boot is gonna make you work for it. Once they're broke in you won't find a more comfortable pair of footwear.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for everyone, but a great boot First off, it's looks, they can be polarizing but there's nothing visually I don't like. Are they always practical? Definitely not. The sole could use more texturing for grip, (especially during rain), and they're not the most comfortable depending on the surface and no arch support. Walk around all day and you're gonna feel it. But they're tough, last a long while and wear in beautifully. I crashed in them (motorcycle), and they got scuffed, scratched and scarred, which broke my heart a bit because I love these boots; but with a good brushing, conditioning and boot oil, they still look good and they have character. These boots are my daily, and I only wish I could afford to buy more.
Date published: 2017-01-04
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_170
  • loc_en_US, sid_08114, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8114

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×