Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Classic Moc product photo

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8138

$269.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Classic Moc product photo

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8138

$269.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8138

LEATHER:
Briar Oil Slick Leather
$269.99 USD
6" BROWN, 8138 Mens is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 137.
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_137
  • loc_en_US, sid_08138, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8138 : Classic Moc

Modeled after Red Wing’s original work boot style, the 8138 is a 6-Inch Moc Toe featuring Briar Oil Slick leather, white Traction Tred rubber outsole, triple stitched quality and Goodyear welt construction.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

Nothing says, “Red Wing”, like a moc toe boot with a white polyurethane outsole. It’s a style we started making in the 1950s for sportsmen but it worked equally well on farms and in factories due to that Traction Tred sole with its minimal tread that sheds mud and provides the underfoot comfort the work day required. The crescent-shaped stitching on the toe was inspired by the construction of the shoes, or “moccasins” originally worn by the North American Algonquin Indians. Our Classic Moc Toe boots have since become a legend.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Briar Oil Slick Leather
Outsole: Traction Tred
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
Laces: 48-inch Tan/Gold Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8138 : Classic Moc

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8138 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Most customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8138

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GReat pair of boots Had a pait of iron rangers 8111 6 months ago. Takes a week or so to break in. After that its a comfy boots. So much so I just bought another RW, moc 1907. Love it!!
    Date published: 2017-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good boot The break in period sucked, blisters! I told them at the store and they sold me an expensive orthotic, which may have helped slightly but did add more padding. Now that I'm through that I really like these. Lacing them up is a pain and they're very heavy, but those go with the territory. They do feel solid. Also the tread on the sole looks stylish since it's not too aggressive but I can tell that the soles won't last that long, but that's the trade off. Okay with me since I'm not using them as a work boot.
    Date published: 2017-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots I bought these boots in 2011. They took a little while longer than I expected to break in. Totally worth it. They fit like a glove. I never brushed them, never wiped them if, never treated them. I worked outside mostly. I figured they were full of dirt and some oil but you can't see it cause they're black. The stitching was almost black with dirt. I decided, in 2017, to get some saddle soap and see what happens. Amazing! The stitching is white again. After scrubbing them with the soap, brushing and wiping with an old t shirt they look perfect. Nothing else. Amazing leather! Six years of working them. No treatment, no cleaning, no shoe trees and they are prefect. Definitely worth the money.
    Date published: 2017-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from American Made Boot for the American People Just recently purchased a set of 1907s over the weekend. So far they've been gentle on my feet without much irritation. I normally wear a size 10, but had to size down to 9. I'm going to have them oiled once a week until fully broken in and then see how they hold up as a work boot (I'm a finish carpenter) For $300 and their service guarantees, I should be in good hands.
    Date published: 2017-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes time to break in, but once you do, you instantly want to buy another pair. For first time Red Wing people; it takes time to break them in and some are easier than others. But once you break them in, you will become a convert. Buy a bit snug as over time they will stretch and conform to your foot perfectly. They truely are great shoes, and take care of them because they will last forever. It's also more conducive to how we should naturally walk, barefoot, you feet will become stronger and less injury prone. Stick with it, you won't regret it!
    Date published: 2017-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top quality I've owned four pair of 875s (still have them in various stages of dilapidation) and here is my secret for break-in: on the day your going to begin wearing them, fill each boot to the top with boiling-hot water, let it soak into the leather, when it has cooled enough to insert your foot, do so, and lace them up tight. Wear them all day without removing them till the end. This will greatly expedite the boot conforming to your foot, trust me. Some may say, "Not good for the leather, you'll ruin them, etc, etc, just ignore all that! These are costly, but I find I don't mind paying for a quality-made product. Sized perhaps a tad long (for me) I do buy my normal shoe size as I wear these in all outdoor work conditions and I don't like tight shoes. I've been a construction worker since the late 70s, started wearing the 875 late 90s, wish I'd discovered them sooner. Recommended.
    Date published: 2017-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Been a long time coming but well worth the wait I first spotted a pair of Redwing boots more than 20 years ago at the tender age of 16/17 but at the time couldn't afford to buy them, poor fool me for not taking the chance - if only I'd known what fabulous boots that first pair would have been. I asked a friend living in New York to source a pair for me and waited patiently to receive them (price in UK is a little steep even now). Takes a while to wear in and I had awful blisters from an extended walk early on but perseverance is the key. I only wear one or twice a week so looking at extended break in time but are due a drop of oil soon to build on the patina. Materials are great quality, although I'm questioning if the welt on my 1907s is the same as the one pictured here.
    Date published: 2017-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great American icon boot If You're tough enough to break these in you'll feel the confidence to walk through fire, hike the mountain, and sail the seven seas! Make sure they're snug when new; then just suck it up for a week or two, and finally enjoy these great boots as they break in and your feet toughen up. I bought the 1907s in the same size as the Iron Rangers I've been wearing for 4yrs so I could have a bit more cushion to walk on. I am very pleased.
    Date published: 2017-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! I just bought 1907s about 2.5 weeks ago. I heard it could take 2 months to break in. So I have been wearing them everyday all day.. in the house and out, since I bought them in an attempt to speed up the process. (Kind of angers the wife wearing shoes on the house but oh well). Anyway. My feet were sore for the first few days but kept up with wearing them. I went for a very short hike and got a blister on my heal. Again... I didnt give up and kept wearing them. I heard applying mink oil would help to speed up the break in process. I did that, but not sure if it worked as this is my first pair. Aside from having to lace up perfectly (and sometimes UNtie and relace) to get the perfect fit feel... they are definitly stretching and forming to my feet nicely and starting to be very comfortable and supportive in all the right places. Id say 2 more weeks (1 month total) and they will be a perfect fit. Again... I probably wear them more than most people do so break in time may be moving along faster for me. I havent put them to the test just yet (water, mud, long hikes) so I guess time will tell. But seems like they are performing nicely so far. Definitly a boot you need to earn the right to wear. If you stay with it.. they will fit you (and ONLY you) perfectly. Very cool looking boot too.
    Date published: 2017-03-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I`ve given up! We all know these boots look amazing, along with the story behind them. I`ve tried 3 different moc toe boots, the first after I broke them in and oiled them, they were too big. Fit great in the store though, the second I bought a half size smaller, and I still have scars on my heels from the massive blistering, thanks Redwing. The third, like an idiot, I bought in the 8883 in the size i wear in all shoes/boots, once again fit great in the store until I broke those in, no blistering this time which is great because my heels couldn't take, it fit too loose. In summation, they look great but feel horrible on your feet. Think twice potential buyers! Enjoy my money Redwing, because I dont enjoy your products!!
    Date published: 2017-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot for work! I bought these boots just to wear when I went out. They were so comfortable I started wearing them to work.I am a carpenter and these boots are the best boots I've ever had by far. I have been wearing Redwing boots for fifteen years and these are the best pair. I will absolutely one hundred percent buy another pair when these have worn out. I wear a size 12 and I bought a size 12 they fit perfect.
    Date published: 2017-03-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Won't last So these boots are for fashion they are not tested in the work field so the life of the sole is not there! I purchased these for work and it's about 6 months now and they need to be resoled! I paid over 200 for fashion boots? Disappointed!
    Date published: 2017-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots After having gone through 2 pairs of finding right fit I have the ones. I must say these boots do fit amazing. When the boots fit just right you'll know, these are great I love wearing them and look forward to modding them to my feet. Thank you redwing
    Date published: 2017-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Different From my Blacksmiths So far this year I have purchased 2 Heritage boots, these and a pair of Blacksmiths. I know they are on different lasts so I expected them to fit differently. I have wide feet and purchased these in my normal dress shoe size. I tried 1/2 size smaller and they were just too tight. I wore them for 2 days and then oiled them up with RW boot oil. That really helped loosen them up. It appears these are gonna take longer to break in than the Blacksmiths. The Blacksmiths are 1/2 size smaller than my dress shoe size and much looser in the toe at this point. But these are getting looser in the toe box everyday. I am switching them out every 2 days or so. It's absolutely amazing the difference in feel in walking in these and the blacksmiths. These are much softer and more quite. I walk around in stealth mode with these. I'm trying to figure out the best way to clean the white soles. If you have any ideas that have been proven to have great results, please let me know.
    Date published: 2017-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot ever! Ok, so I got these 2 months ago and yes they do run big. Went one full size down. I don't want to sound weird but these boots have replaced every bit of foot wear I have and I am a long time cowboy boot guy. Redwing proves their exceptionality with this bit of Americana. A beautiful, durable boot that makes others look down right shoddy. Like the other reviewers I haven't taken these guys off. The break in is a reminder of the folks from the old days and how tough they were. Will you be that tough? I doubt it but you will look it in your Redwings. Absolutely love em and will have them for life. Thanks Redwing artists for your enduring passion and design. Can't wait to get the 877s - I know - overkill, but with this kind of craftsmanship how can you resist?
    Date published: 2017-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent, boot if you know what you're getting... Runs about a size big. Yes, they take a little time to break-in, and yes, the soles don't last very long especially if they are worn frequently and on hard / abrasive surfaces. Just make sure to buy saddle soap and mink/boot oil and a good brush to keep the boots looking good!!! Overall, my main complaint is the limited availability of WIDE sizing throughout the Heritage line! (For example, wides exist for the 8138s but not the 1907s.) C'mon!!!
    Date published: 2017-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Take 'em Off The only thing I don't like about these boots: I Feel The Compulsive Need To Wear Them Every Time I Go Anywhere. I did my research before purchasing my 875's, and I'm glad I did because I was prepared for the break in process which I found more exciting than gruesome. These fit better than any of my sneakers or runners and if I'm going to be wearing jeans then you can bet your marbles I'll be sporting these babies. The boot becomes one with your foot after a while, making it truly yours and eventually inseparable, I highly recommend some good socks: I found the Velice Men's Super Thick Warm Wool Winter Socks 5-Pack on Amazon to be the ultimate sock and for a decent price too. Great boot to last a lifetime.
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Material and Craftmanship I've purchased many of the competitor's brands and these boots get better with age. I find that I should have purchased the boot about a half size lower than my sneaker size. The leather will stretch out in time. You won't find this high quality made over seas. Although I live in Canada, it's important to me to buy North American whenever possible. I love the weathered look style and the durability as I ride a vintage motorcycle - cool styling! Foot protection is key therefore the raw leather is integral. My rubber soles are in need of replacement as I have worn these boots nearly every day for 2-years. I'll be purchasing a different style next time just because I like to diversify and my wife says I have a shoe fetish...no I don't...well may be a little.
    Date published: 2017-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely perfect I bought my first pair of redwings after owning a few pairs of Irish setters and I didn't think the quality could get any better. I will have these boots for life.
    Date published: 2017-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfort at a Price I have a very love hate relationship with these boots. Being my first pair of red wings, I did some research and visited my local store before deciding which pair would be best and I landed on the 1907's. I love the color and the classic style that I recognized. I've had them for about a month, and being a landscaper, the boots have already seen a lot of miles. I love the boots because they look and feel great and I love the fact that I'm supporting an American company while I'm wearing them, but, unfortunately, I'm really afraid the soles will not last very long at all. I have already experienced extreme wear throughout the toe and heel of the boot. I really hope that they last a lot longer than it seems like they are going to. To be a litte frank, for 300 bucks I think it's a little unfair to have to have the boots resoled before I've had them for 3 months. Honestly I'm a little disappointed, because I love every other aspect of these boots and this company.
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_11
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_137
    • loc_en_US, sid_08138, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritage

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×
    Please enter a valid email address

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×

    Where to buy your
    Classic Moc

    STYLE No. 8138

    You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

    Online Partner

    Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

    FIND A STORE

    Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

    ×