Free Expedited Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Roughneck product photo

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

$269.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Roughneck product photo

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

$269.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

LEATHER:
Briar Oil Slick Leather
$269.99 USD
6" BROWN, 8146 Mens is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 42.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_08146, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
American workers in the 20th century.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. American workers in the 20th century. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8146 : Roughneck

Modeled after Red Wing’s original work boot style, the 8146 is a 6-Inch Moc Toe featuring Briar Oil Slick leather, Vibram Lug outsole, triple stitched quality and Goodyear welt construction.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

In the mid-20th century, those men who wrenched on oil rigs had one of the most dangerous occupations around, earning them the nickname, “roughnecks.” The 8146 was inspired by these workers and built just as tough, with a 6-inch height for support and protection, thick, durable leathers and a heavily lugged sole for grip on any surface.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Briar Oil Slick Leather
Outsole: Vibram® Lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
Shank: Steel
Laces: 48-inch Tan/Gold Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8146 : Roughneck

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8146 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Most customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8146

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another fine Red Wing offering These are a truly terrific offering by the folks at Red Wing. Have had them for several months and I couldn't be happier. The fit is spot on, the craftsmanship is top notch as usual, and the graining of the leather makes these one of the most beautiful pair of Red Wings I own. I almost didn't order these but I'm so glad I did. American workmanship at its finest.
    Date published: 2017-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it took some time, but now I love these boots I've had my 8146's for four years now and after almost giving up on them a couple of times, I've come to love them. The break-in period was very long, much longer than any other boots I've ever had. I oiled them, I persisted, but they gave me blisters and made my feet sore after an hour or two of working in them. Finally I tried putting in some off-the-shelf orthotics in them and that helped a lot, although I still would not have called them 'comfortable'. After wearing them like that for about a year cutting firewood and doing general chores around the place they improved a lot. Then I tried them again without the insoles and they were much better. I still don't think I'd use them as hiking boots - not really appropriate for walking long distances - but they're great for work. I wanted to like these boots because it is nice wearing something that is designed to last and designed to be resoled and repaired. My persistence paid off - they're now excellent work boots.
    Date published: 2017-07-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Painful after 3 years Ok, so this is my go to Fall/Winter Season boot. They feel good ONLY for a couple hours. Once you really start walking in them for a long period of time they KILL your feet. Blisters on the toes, you end up limping all over. And this is after a 3 year break in process. I was told this would take time, but come on...3 years is long enough. They look great, constructed very well, but they just HURT your feet for LONG WEAR. Wanted this to be my forever boot, just ended up being my NEVER boot.
    Date published: 2017-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pair I've owned I've worn Red Wings (2406 & 4206 primarily) every day for work for 12 years; the 8146 were a gift and are my "dress" boots. I've enjoyed every wearing of my current pair of 8146 for 9 years. I oil them periodically and wash the laces from time to time. The Vibram sole has been durable and the fact that it can be replaced means that theses boots may last a lifetime. 8146 is comfortable even for long days on your feet on concrete (I wear mine at trade shows, etc.), they are often admired by TSA agents on their way through the x-ray and I can safely say they are the best pair of boots I've ever owned.
    Date published: 2017-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar look, quality and feel that is unmistakably Red Wing Heritage This my third Red Wing boot in what seems to be my fast-growing RW Heritage collection. Ever since I bought my first pair in February of 2016 -- Beckman 9013 -- my adoration for the Heritage line keeps getting stronger primarily for the styles in its line of boots, and equally for the quality of the leather, the available colors and the workmanship most definitely. The compliments I get whenever I wear this boot are unbelievably consistent. It's hard not to feel good whenever someone says how great this boot looks. In fact, I have turned on a couple of co-workers to RW just by wearing the brand at work. I was a bit concerned when I watched a YouTube video on this RW boot, as the YouTuber said he didn't quite find the style comfortable, and that the steel shaft between the soles might make the boot too stiff. I bought the boot anyway, as I really liked my Clasic Moc with the crepe sole which is really the same boot as this one but with a different outer sole -- a Vibram sole. Upon putting on this boot, I felt instant gratification! The fit was amazing -- like my Classic Moc. The YouTube concern I had was a non-issue after all. The color is stunning. This is one handsome boot. Breaking-in the leather, like any new pair of shoes, takes some time that it is suggested to only wear a new pair for a couple of hours or so. I wore this boot for an entire day! Throughout the day to the very minute I took off this boot, I had no discomfort. (My Beckman boot didn't quite feel as comfortable on its first day compared to this.) I guess that Vibram sole is the difference. Although the following day, when I wore my Classic Moc, the inside ankle bone of my right foot had a small bruise. Perhaps it was from the stiff leather from wearing my new pair all day on the first day. Nevertheless, this boot was absolutely comfortable to wear all day. The leather is now getting softer. I can't wait to see when the leather start to show some wear to give it that unique quality leather goods have as they age. I am really pleased with my third RW boot. Remember to get a full size down, half a size at least. Wear high-content wool socks to add that additional good feeling wool socks give, and one cannot go wrong with this boot, or the Beckman, or the Classic Moc from the one and only Red Wing Heritage line of boots. I'm a fan for life.
    Date published: 2016-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A boot which lasts I've been wearing this boot for the past 25 years, the average pair lasting around 10 years. Keep them oiled and they stay looking good. One tip if you live somewhere cold as I do, get wool foot beds, they do tend to transmit the cold through the sole
    Date published: 2016-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too all wondering if they are a real work boot. I have had the 8146 for i think 7 years now. I have worn them 12 hours a day 5-6 days a week. i have had them re soled twice. I try to clean and oil them as much as possible. They have a small rip in the leather by my right heel where they dried out and the tongues have lost some leather on the top. I blame the Ohio salt in the winter. All of the stitching is fully intact except a small 1" spot on the heel. I put these boots thru the ringer and could have them resoled again but am now shopping for another pair today.
    Date published: 2016-11-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from REALLY uncomfortable I have had these boots for almost a year now, and have worn them for at east three months solid during that time. Every time I wear these, they feel the same as they did when I first put them on. Well, that may be a reach. The leather has somewhat adjusted to my foot, but the thing that KILLS me the most is that little black lining around the top of the boot that wraps around your upper ankle. I do not understand why Red Wing would design this boot (and many of their other boots) with a piece that sticks out and presses into the back of your heel area. I wanted to love these boots because I live in Vermont and the grippy soles are really nice during the winter, but I cannot wear these for more than a few hours before needing to take them off. I have two pairs of iron rangers and one pair of the ice cutters, and neither style has ever given me this problem before. Really thought Red Wing would be better than that.
    Date published: 2016-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best of the heritage line This boot is the MOST comfortable in the whole heritage line....I have just about all of them. Between the vibram lug sole ( surprisingly, the most comfortable one ) And then the oil tanned ( dark ) leather... LIke well made gloves for your feet ( that will last a long time )
    Date published: 2016-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Red wings boots Perfect boot for everyday use. Worn them recently on a hike on the mountains of Switzerland and they have perfect grip on tarmac and slippery muddy hills. Very durable leather upper with beautiful maroon red color(not sure the exact shade).Stock laces could be a tad longer. Very pleased with the purchase.
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The most comfortable boots I have ever had I love the boots. It takes a little to break then in. After that the boots fit and feel great. I like the spitfire leather and the vibram lug soles. I wear then all the time
    Date published: 2016-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from T Rex Tough These are my sixth pair of Red Wings so clearly I'm not here to kick the quality. Excellent boots; this pair is definitely more of a work-boot type although they look good with a pair of jeans on a casual night out as well. The Copper Rough and Tough leather is as it sounds- tough as nails; a gorgeous leather full of nuances of colour. Only complaint would be the laces, which if you are wearing them on the construction site will be just fine, but otherwise look a little ridiculous. I swapped them out for brown waxed soon to be replaced by leather- the only way to go.
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boots! Got my first pair of Red Wing Heritage boots and looking at some other styles! This boot ran a size large, so with a size smaller than normal, the boot fits perfectly. The craftsmanship is second to none and the style is......classic! Looking forward to wearing these boots for years to come. Thanks Red Wing for the boot I've been seeking for years.
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy 'em, you won't regret it I went round and round trying to decide on the right pair. I've had RWs in the past as a telephone worker, but this time I wanted more of a casual boot. I settled on the 8146 mainly due to the moc toe styling, the lug sole and the rich, dark leather. Originally, I planned to go for the 875 but couldn't get past how fast the crepe sole appears to wear out. This is a great boot, and contrary to other sites reviews, this is not a "hipster" boot. I don't roll up my pants or spend hours at expensive coffee joints snapping my fingers to poetry. I'm an average Joe, who isn't afraid to get dirty and I definitely don't shy way from hard work. And I expect the same from my boots. These are tough and rugged and perfect for all day wear, no matter what you're doing.
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged boots Bought these for work and I am really happy with them. After about a week of break-in they are getting more and more comfortable every day. Built very well, strong leather and stitching, durable Vibram sole and leather welt, even a durable leather insole. Quality construction and attention to detail that isn't seen much anymore these days. Very well worth the money spent. Look forward to many years of use from these boots.
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots i been wearing this boots for 4 months now and they getting better and better, they are perfect for my walk to work in the cold-icy Edmonton wheater and then use it behind the bar.
    Date published: 2016-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing buy I've had my pair for almost three years, and they are still in great shape with little maintenance. Comfortable as heck and can be dressed up or down.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Initial Impression I've been wearing these for about a week now and I'm very happy overall. Something to consider: I listened to the recommendation to buy 1/2 size smaller (10) than normal (I normally wear a 10.5 in Chippewa) and they were too small in length. I had to exchange them for my normal size (10.5) . They fit very well now with a barely noticeable insole. Consider that with sizing if you've never owned a pair before.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb quality, needs breaking in These are my forst pair of Red Wing boots, and I am very impressed. The feel a touch narrow, which will undoubtedly improve with wear. I went down half a size, and length-wise, they're perfect. The only negative thing I have to say is that they can be very tough to intially get on. The tongue is gusseted to the top couple eyelets, and there is no pull tab, so if you have even a slightly high instep, it can be a struggle to put them on. Again, I'm confident this will improve as they stretch slightly with wear. Overall, fantastic boots that I will happily wear for years.
    Date published: 2016-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hints Great boots that will meet very high expectations, if you follow the process. Size them correctly, get assistance from store if you are not absolutely sure of your size. The size should run true. Always wear quality socks. Break them in and then add the footbed insert. The Fit will be somewhat snug with no heel slippage and still have the appropriate space for your toes. I like this feel when wearing the boot, but some may want a 1/2 size bigger if using a insert. The dirty sand color is neutral and allows the boot to dress up or down easily.
    Date published: 2015-11-22
    • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
    • loc_en_US, sid_08146, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritage

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×
    Please enter a valid email address

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×

    Where to buy your
    Roughneck

    STYLE No. 8146

    You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

    Online Partner

    Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

    FIND A STORE

    Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

    ×