Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Roughneck product photo

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

$269.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Roughneck product photo

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

$269.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

LEATHER:
Briar Oil Slick Leather
$269.99 USD
6" BROWN, 8146 Mens is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 51.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_08146, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
American workers in the 20th century.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. American workers in the 20th century. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8146 : Roughneck

Modeled after Red Wing’s original work boot style, the 8146 is a 6-Inch Moc Toe featuring Briar Oil Slick leather, Vibram Lug outsole, triple stitched quality and Goodyear welt construction.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

In the mid-20th century, those men who wrenched on oil rigs had one of the most dangerous occupations around, earning them the nickname, “roughnecks.” The 8146 was inspired by these workers and built just as tough, with a 6-inch height for support and protection, thick, durable leathers and a heavily lugged sole for grip on any surface.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Briar Oil Slick Leather
Outsole: Vibram® Lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
Shank: Steel
Laces: 48-inch Tan/Gold Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8146 : Roughneck

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8146 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Most customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8146

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by from T Rex Tough These are my sixth pair of Red Wings so clearly I'm not here to kick the quality. Excellent boots; this pair is definitely more of a work-boot type although they look good with a pair of jeans on a casual night out as well. The Copper Rough and Tough leather is as it sounds- tough as nails; a gorgeous leather full of nuances of colour. Only complaint would be the laces, which if you are wearing them on the construction site will be just fine, but otherwise look a little ridiculous. I swapped them out for brown waxed soon to be replaced by leather- the only way to go.
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boots! Got my first pair of Red Wing Heritage boots and looking at some other styles! This boot ran a size large, so with a size smaller than normal, the boot fits perfectly. The craftsmanship is second to none and the style is......classic! Looking forward to wearing these boots for years to come. Thanks Red Wing for the boot I've been seeking for years.
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy 'em, you won't regret it I went round and round trying to decide on the right pair. I've had RWs in the past as a telephone worker, but this time I wanted more of a casual boot. I settled on the 8146 mainly due to the moc toe styling, the lug sole and the rich, dark leather. Originally, I planned to go for the 875 but couldn't get past how fast the crepe sole appears to wear out. This is a great boot, and contrary to other sites reviews, this is not a "hipster" boot. I don't roll up my pants or spend hours at expensive coffee joints snapping my fingers to poetry. I'm an average Joe, who isn't afraid to get dirty and I definitely don't shy way from hard work. And I expect the same from my boots. These are tough and rugged and perfect for all day wear, no matter what you're doing.
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged boots Bought these for work and I am really happy with them. After about a week of break-in they are getting more and more comfortable every day. Built very well, strong leather and stitching, durable Vibram sole and leather welt, even a durable leather insole. Quality construction and attention to detail that isn't seen much anymore these days. Very well worth the money spent. Look forward to many years of use from these boots.
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots i been wearing this boots for 4 months now and they getting better and better, they are perfect for my walk to work in the cold-icy Edmonton wheater and then use it behind the bar.
    Date published: 2016-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing buy I've had my pair for almost three years, and they are still in great shape with little maintenance. Comfortable as heck and can be dressed up or down.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Initial Impression I've been wearing these for about a week now and I'm very happy overall. Something to consider: I listened to the recommendation to buy 1/2 size smaller (10) than normal (I normally wear a 10.5 in Chippewa) and they were too small in length. I had to exchange them for my normal size (10.5) . They fit very well now with a barely noticeable insole. Consider that with sizing if you've never owned a pair before.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb quality, needs breaking in These are my forst pair of Red Wing boots, and I am very impressed. The feel a touch narrow, which will undoubtedly improve with wear. I went down half a size, and length-wise, they're perfect. The only negative thing I have to say is that they can be very tough to intially get on. The tongue is gusseted to the top couple eyelets, and there is no pull tab, so if you have even a slightly high instep, it can be a struggle to put them on. Again, I'm confident this will improve as they stretch slightly with wear. Overall, fantastic boots that I will happily wear for years.
    Date published: 2016-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hints Great boots that will meet very high expectations, if you follow the process. Size them correctly, get assistance from store if you are not absolutely sure of your size. The size should run true. Always wear quality socks. Break them in and then add the footbed insert. The Fit will be somewhat snug with no heel slippage and still have the appropriate space for your toes. I like this feel when wearing the boot, but some may want a 1/2 size bigger if using a insert. The dirty sand color is neutral and allows the boot to dress up or down easily.
    Date published: 2015-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots I've Ever Bought! I've owned my Red Wings about 5 years now. They're the most comfortable boots I've owned. I wear them working at the farm, in the mud, through creeks, and then clean them up with some oil soap to go out in casual attire. The white stitching is hard to keep white though. The leather is thick and can take much abuse but is also supple and cleans up well. But the best part of these boots is that they're the most comfortable footwear I own, next to dedicated running shoes. I can wear these boots all day without much fatigue. My Red Wings have been my favorite boots.
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Painful experience These are my first pair of Red Wing boots. Painful experience all around. I wore the boots to work everyday for three weeks and they just refused to break in. They feel like cinder blocks. Purchased online after awful experience at the local retail store (Jacksonville, FL). I should have walked away then and considered something else. Now I am stuck with a pair of good looking, but unwearable boots. Very disappointed.
    Date published: 2015-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from After 5 years... I can honestly say these are the best shoes I've ever purchased. In the past, I would by your typical $80-$100 pair of work shoes. The soles would be warn out in 4-6 months, and I would repeat the process. Five years ago, I bought a pair of these, and finally I am back to buy another pair. The soles are still good and they still shine up like new. I haven't even had to replace the laces. The only reason I need new ones is because they developed a squeak in them when I walked. I'm not complaining though. I think they've done their job and then some.
    Date published: 2015-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rock Solid Boots I've had these boots now for 4 years and wear them any chance I get. I had always heard of Red Wings quality prior to purchasing them and they haven't disappointed. They have held up to some pretty nasty New England weather and have aged nicely. Every three months, they get a good cleaning and a good dose of conditioning. They have still maintained their waterproofing and have worn in like a great pair of jeans.
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longest lasting boots I have ever owned We all have things that are a "go to". "Go to" jeans, "go to" button up shirt, things we feel good in and we know are quality and look great. I wore these boots every day for 7 years. I wore the working, hiking, motorcycling, you name it. They have never let me down. The only reason I am retiring my old pair is that my wife bought me a replacement pair due to my wearing the soles all the way down.
    Date published: 2015-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excelent crafsmeenship At first the fit was tight so I took them back but the sales associate rubbed oil inside the boots to help brake them in and it worked like a charm. I ware these boots on job site survey's and when I hit the town. I have received nice complements from People when asked about the maker I just say" Red Wings Heritage collection"!!! I have had them for over a year and now they have a real nice patina...
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Quality I absolutely can recommend this boot highly enough. This has been my first winter in the Chicago area and I was not sure which boot to go with. I am absolutely sure that this boot was the perfect fit. I had tried an insulted boot first, but it was just a bit too warm for me. I went with this boot and a thicker sock and it was perfect. I used Sno-Seal to make the boot waterproof and I had no problems with water at all. I also have a fairly wide foot, but I went with the regular width and although it felt tight at first, it did stretch out to a perfect fit. The break in period is pretty extensive, but once it is done you have a boot for perfectly to your foot. For me it took a good three weeks or so to break in. The leather is very stiff and the insoles feel like bricks at first, but just be patient and give it some time and you will have a perfectly sized and fitted boot. I am so happy I purchased this boot. The quality is so high and well worth the money. I looked at several different brands, but I am happy to say that Red Wing will have another customer for life.
    Date published: 2015-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for every walks with my dogs Love mine! They are perfect for walking with the dogs every day in every weather! A little bit of mink oil after 3 month and they are still waterproof like rubber-boots ;-) best boots I ever had.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Red Wing 4183 6" boot I got these boots as a Christmas gift in 2007 and have loved them ever since. They were ordered through J Crew and are labeled as a model 4183 but look identical to the current 8146 with the exception of the dark eyelets on my boots. These boots were my first of many forays into Red Wing's Heritage Collection. I mostly use them for around town wear but I occasionally venture off road with them--wore them for a short hike in the snow just yesterday. The leather is great. I treat it a couple of times per year with Pecard's leather dressing, a product I much prefer to mink oil because it doesn't darken the leather and absorbs more completely. Water beads up and rolls right off. The Vibram lug soles do fine in all conditions. The only thing I might change is the footbed; these have the slightly cushy synthetic bed that I would like to see replaced with the all-leather interior as found in Beckmans and Iron Rangers. They do seem to run a little long; order a half-size down from what you normally wear. As is the case with moc-toed Red Wings, they also feel a touch narrow, probably more like a C rather than a D width. I have many pairs of boots so these are still in great condition and I anticipate having them pretty much forever.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great American-made boot I wear these boots almost every day to work. They are extremely comfortable and look great. Before wearing them the first time, I used Red Wing mink oil on them. The boots darkened quite a bit and have a beautiful look to them now. The traction with the Vibram sole is amazing in winter and I have great confidence walking on ice and snow. These were my first pair of Red Wing boots and I just ordered a pair of 1907s online this morning!
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots When fist put them on the back cut into my achilles and had me a little worried. I endured the bruise and wore them everyday. By day 5 the boot had completely reshaped to fit my ankle perfectly. Have worn them pretty much everyday since and they're perfect boots in all conditions.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    • y_2018, m_4, d_21, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
    • loc_en_US, sid_08146, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritage

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×
    Please enter a valid email address

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×

    Where to buy your
    Roughneck

    STYLE No. 8146

    You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

    Online Partner

    Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

    FIND A STORE

    Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

    ×