Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Classic Moc product photo

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8890

$269.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Classic Moc product photo

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8890

$269.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8890

LEATHER:
Charcoal Rough & Tough Leather
$269.99 USD
6" MOC, CHARCOAL Mens is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 185.
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_185
  • loc_en_US, sid_08890, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8890 : Classic Moc

Modeled after Red Wing’s original work boot style, the 8890 is a 6-Inch Moc Toe featuring Charcoal Rough & Tough leather, white Traction Tred rubber outsole, Norwegian-like welt, triple stitched quality and Goodyear welt construction.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

Nothing says, “Red Wing”, like a moc toe boot with a white polyurethane outsole. It’s a style we started making in the 1950s for sportsmen but it worked equally well on farms and in factories due to that Traction Tred sole with its minimal tread that sheds mud and provides the underfoot comfort the work day required. The crescent-shaped stitching on the toe was inspired by the construction of the shoes, or “moccasins” originally worn by the North American Algonquin Indians. Our Classic Moc Toe boots have since become a legend.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Charcoal Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Traction Tred
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
Laces: 48-inch Black Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8890 : Classic Moc

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8890 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Most customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8890

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable Red Wings I own I have 5 pair of Red Wing Boots. The hardest to break in are the Beckmans. The Iron Rangers are fine. I was told to expect a long break in from these 875's but even if the leather isn't as soft as it will be, right out of the box they were really comfortable. I bought my exact size boot (11 D) and they fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2018-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Need correct fit! These run big I usually wear a 9 in sneakers. I ordered an 8.5 in the red wing heritage 875. I had a problem with the eyelets almost touching each other in the left shoe. So, I took them to a red wings store in the Atlanta area. The manager was extremely helpful in getting me sized properly. He told me to drop down all the way to 7.5 D width. Since he was so helpful, I decided to order my red wings through his store and sent the pair of 8.5's back. So far, I can tell the 7.5 boots will be a much better fit. I am now in the dreaded break in period! Already have 2 blisters in the back of my heel but I can tell once the souls have loosened up a tad they will be perfect. My advice is go to a red wings store to get sized. Preferably, a red wings store that does good volume with the heritage line. Some red wings store move a-lot more heritage products than others. It made all the difference for me. I would have never thought I would be a 7.5! The boots appear to be outstanding quality.
    Date published: 2018-04-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I've been buying Red Wing boots since 1989 and the quality has gone down every year since I've been purchasing boots from Red Wing the 9-inch logg I would not recommend Red Wing to anyone anymore I've noticed how the quality of the workmanship has gone down every year since I've purchased the 9-inch lineman logger boots
    Date published: 2018-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall fantastic positives outweigh the one negative Workmanship and quality of leather second to none. I purchased a pair of 1907 copper rough boots and I am delighted with the colour. I bought full size down after watching YouTube reviews, personally I think half size down would be best out of box for comfort. Only one concern and that is the rate of knots the heels are wearing down. After 8 weeks of evening and weekend wear it is noticeable already.
    Date published: 2018-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality, but what’s with the width? BRING BACK THE USA MADE IRISH SETTER AND MAKE A 875 EEE.
    Date published: 2018-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Shoes These are my personal favorite from the heritage line (mostly because I like the look of this style better). I got a pair of them a couple months ago and I’ve just gotten through the break in period. Very nice and comfortable shoes and the charcoal leather looks great!
    Date published: 2018-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality boots. Well worth the money. You can spend less on boots that have the same look, but if you want a quality that goes above the standard, this line of boots can't be beat.
    Date published: 2018-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from From work boot to everyday shoe I have had these boots for about 10 months. So I first started off hating this boot. I normally wear EE width but the salesman said this shoe will stretch. My feet were so tight in this boot. I bought these boots for work boots as I work in the field. It hurt for a couple weeks but sure enough, they did start to stretch. Overall, it took almost two months before this boot fit perfectly. Now I'm glad I didn't go up in width because my toes and feet have a lot of room in them. I do not wear the included leather insoles, and this was also part of the break in. Now I have a perfectly molded insole. I stand up a lot for work, ten hours a day and in the beginning I really questioned my purchase, but now they are absolutely comfortable. Well, my employer is now having us wear steel toed boots, so I had to start using these moc toe boots as a shoe. They look good as an every day shoe! The crepe sole wears out fast! I will have to replace them very soon. I used to wear these every day at work, but now I wear them every day at home! They look to me like a high-end high top shoe actually, but way nicer. I ended up just getting another pair of Pecos steel toed work boots, my third pair ever. My last pair is 8 years old and my feet must be growing or something because my feet are wider and while they fit ok, as much as I'm on my feet, they aren't comfortable enough so I had to get a new boot, but after 8 years, they certainly paid for themselves many times over and are good enough for yard work.
    Date published: 2018-03-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from The sizing has changed I've worn a pair of 875's for more than 5 years and a pair of 8138's for at least 3 years. My current pair of 875's are on their third sole and the leather is starting to show it's age. I decided to buy a new pair recently and was sad to see that Red Wing has changed their sizing. Both of my old boots are size 9.5 EE, but when ordering my new ones I had to keep sending them back because they were too long. Ultimately, I landed on size 8.5 EE (I normally where a 10.5 in most other brands). The worst thing about the change in sizing is that the new boots are noticeably more narrow than my old ones. This is a real problem for anyone with wide feet. I can immediately feel my pinky toes getting squished in the toe box. I'm going to have them stretched in the hopes that they will work but I'm disappointed that an already narrow and oversized boot has been further elongated and reduced in width. Also, I had hoped that buying an American made heritage brand, I could count on a consistent quality product. Apparently that is not the case. It's sad because these are very well made boots, but the sizing inconsistencies over time make it hard to recommend to anyone that might choose this brand for life, like I had hoped to.
    Date published: 2018-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice boots ! Make sure you get fit at a Red Wing Shoe dealer. They know their products. I did my homework on these. I wear 8.5 in Nike. I ended up getting a size 7.5 in these knowing that these would loosen up. I wore these around the house for an hour or two for a week or two before wearing them a whole day. I also use shoe trees in between. They fit comfortable now maybe even a tad loose. Use the same care as you would as breaking in a high quality baseball glove.
    Date published: 2018-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Had to get double E Had to have black with White Treads Had to be Double E I had get the from Great Britan Took over 1 year to break in Use lots of saddles soap it will do the job Wear double socks to protect the feet Warm water and saddle soap really soften the leather Mine are soft as a glove Time to send in to retread I hope they do a good job Styling boot chrome eyelets with black leather
    Date published: 2018-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boot I’ve been wearing RedWing boots for about 18 years at this point. I own 9 pairs of moc toes. Just purchased the 1907 for the first time. This is my favorite boot. Quality, comfort, and made in America is what is important to me. Usually wear a size 12 I did step down a half a size to 11 1/2 with this pair and they fit perfect. Highly recommend this boot.
    Date published: 2018-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Make sure you try them on - this is a great shoe, but the fit can be completely off! My regular size is 11 (and this goes for 99,9% of my shoes) and starting with that, I went smaller... and smaller... and smaller, until I landed at... 8.5. At that size, the toes still wiggle as they should, there's enough space for them, but naturally the boots feel narrow until you've broken them in. And that breaking in period will be a time you'll remember well, but maybe not fondly :) But once you're done, these are the most comfortable shoes you've ever worn. The leather itself is almost orange initially, but it'll fade down to more leatherly brown with use. With good socks, these are good for any weather, but if it's 5 degrees or colder, I'm happier in my Ice Cutters.
    Date published: 2018-02-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the paid.. Bought them yesterday, got 2 blisters by the heel of my feet.. so painful i can’t even walk.. too much money too be in any type of pain.. definitely want to return them will never buy another pair..
    Date published: 2018-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best investment I’ve ever made. If this is your first pair of heritage boots, I can only tell you to be ready... for pain and blisters. But also be ready for the best looking, most comfortable boot (imo). It took around 3 weeks of constant use, wether it be going out or just walking around the house. Now that they are broken in, it’s by far, the most comfortable boot I own. I loved the look of the leather laces, but they stretch out over time. The only downside I can think of, is that the mic toe splits. According to my Redwing dealer, it’s normal for the seam to split. It doesn’t affect the integrity of the boot at all.
    Date published: 2018-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots Picked a pair of these up a few weeks ago from my local Red Wing store. Store had great service and even ordered in multiple sizes to insure that I got the right size. Theses are great. You can really see the craftsmanship that goes into these. This leather is great and seems to change from day to day. These will definitely be my go to boot for casual wear. This is my first pair of boots from the heritage line, and it won't be my last.
    Date published: 2018-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected I had always heard about how great these boots were so I decided I’d try them out. As soon as they came in, I was impressed with the look, craftsmanship, and feel right off the bat. I slipped them on, laced them up, and was amazed at the comfort right out of the box. After the first hour, they seemed even more comfortable. This is day 8 and they are amazing. I already have plans to buy more as soon as these give up the ghost. I’ve told everyone to buy a pair that I know.
    Date published: 2018-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All new boots need to be broken in. Blisters are caused by a boot that is not broken in. For all of you have had the pleasure of breaking in your Red Wings and killing yourselves doing it, here is some friendly advice. THEY ALL NEED BREAKING IN! EVERY new shoe or boot, no matter what brand does not fit your foot until it is broken in. Some are easier than others, some are softer, but that is not the case here. Water is your boots' enemy! If you soak them, then you will buy a new pair sooner! Period. It is great for the boot business, but this is not 1820 and there are way more options and sizes available than back then. If you fit it properly, a tad looser is better, then your break in can be done in a few days...depending on what you've been wearing most of the time. Soft shoes make your feet soft. They cause more heat and more sweat. You don't want that. You want your feet to feel like the palms of your hands, tough but not calloused. Next, your toes should feel like they are hanging out a window, touching nothing. If you feel the end or the sides of the boots with your toes, then you will have to break that in and that is not pleasant. The ball of the foot should feel comfortably snug, not tight. Tight means it will need to stretch. If you want that, then feel free, but snug means the boot will break in with a little time. Your heel should slip between 1/8 and 1//4 inch. Two things here. 1...the heel counter needs to mold to your bone structure. That will take a few hours. 10-20. DO NOT DO THAT IN TWO DAYS!!! Break that into 2-4 hour time periods. You will not hurt your feet that way and that is safe. If you hurt your feet, blisters or sore spots, then you will have to wait a few days or weeks to start the process over again. Your feet will need to heal first. Two...your sole and insole need to flex. At present, your new boots are stiff and when you bend the boot as you walk, the boot does not want to follow. Hence, the heel slip. That will disappear as the boot breaks in. The last thing I want to mention is, you might have noticed that the toes on your new boots turn up. That is on purpose!! When you walk, your heel does not move until the sole touches the ground. At that point, the heel slips. This is by design by Red Wing to help with that break in. A design that was developed in the 1940's. A rule of thumb I go by...the looser you can stand a shoe the easier the break in (just the rough edges), the tighter the boots, the longer the break in. Hope this helps someone!
    Date published: 2018-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic/Rugged in EE Excellent boot - wear everyday for warehouse/light construction work. stands up fine and offers excellent support on hard/concrete floors. Break in for me was about a week ... not too painful and now fits like a glove. my only complaint is that if you have wide feet (mine are the EE) you have only 2 options in this boot (light, dark). I would easily order another pair(s) if more leather options were available. instead, I must wear other brand(s) to keep some variety with my clothing.
    Date published: 2018-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boot I received these as a gift after talking about them for years....a great surprise. It took me a couple of weeks or wear to make them truly comfortable but these are some of the most comfortable boots I have worn. Having a wide foot makes finding comfortable shoes a bit tough. Can't comment on wear.
    Date published: 2018-01-16
    • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_6
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_185
    • loc_en_US, sid_08890, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritage

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×
    Please enter a valid email address

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×

    Where to buy your
    Classic Moc

    STYLE No. 8890

    You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

    Online Partner

    Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

    FIND A STORE

    Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

    ×