Free Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Blacksmith product photo

Blacksmith

STYLE NO. 2955

$299.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Blacksmith product photo

Blacksmith

STYLE NO. 2955

$299.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Blacksmith

STYLE NO. 2955

LEATHER:
Black Spitfire Leather
$299.99 USD
6" ROUND, BLACK SPITFIRE Mens is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_02955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Blacksmith shop.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Blacksmith shop. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 2955 : Blacksmith

Famous for its clean lines, simple construction and classic round toe styling, the 2955 features Black Spitfire leather, a Vibram 430 Mini-lug outsole, triple stitched quality and Goodyear welt construction.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

Versatile and reliable, this style of shoe was originally used in farm fields and blacksmith workshops during the day before being cleaned and shined up for a night out on the town. The extra height of this 6-inch style, which would have protected feet and ankles from hot cinders at the forge, still keeps out snow in the winter and dirt in the summer, and its last-built construction keeps feet comfortable even after long hours of work.

Full finished leathers have a smooth, polished surface that enhances the natural beauty of the leather. Full finished leathers have a smooth, polished surface that enhances the natural beauty of the leather.

Smooth-Finished Leather

Smooth-Finished leathers have a polished surface that enhances the true beauty and quality of the leather. Only the most premium, top-quality hides are used to craft Smooth-Finished leathers. The result is a beautiful, classic-looking leather used to build more elegant styles, such as the Red Wing Heritage Beckman Collection. The polished look and feel of the Smooth-Finished leather requires more specialized care and attention to keep it maintained.


Leather: Black Spitfire Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Dull Gilt Hooks and Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 2955 : Blacksmith

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the Full Grain Leather upper, Leather footboard and Cork Midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 2955 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 2955

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Boot, runs big These boots are beautiful, BUT I will say that I am a natural 7.5, I was sized at my local Red Wing location and they gave me a 7.5. Which was entirely too big a caused great pain. Customer service was awesome and I was able to take them back for a 7 even after a week of wear and a good oiling. Although a 7 fits "better" I still feel that the boot is a bit big but not too big to cause pain or discomfort, a pair of light wool socks and insoles helps. BUT if all RW boots run so big and it is recommended to get a .5 size or even a full size below your regular shoe size RW should make a size 6 and 6.5. Its incredibly misleading to say you carry a size 7 & 7.5 when they are truly so much bigger. Although I like my boots, they will more than likely be the last pair I buy since there are other reputable high end boot companies that accommodate my size better. NOTE if you are a natural 7.5, the 7's are still a bit big and if you are a natural 7, shop elsewhere...RW boots will not fit you, none of them will. Beautiful boots, disappointed though that RW couldn't be MY go to boot due to their ridiculous sizing.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots I have ever owned! I bought these as my first pair of Redwing boots ever. I had heard about them when I was in college but never looked into buying a pair until now. These are the best and most comfortable boots I have ever owned. I loved them so much I bought a pair of the classic moc boots and a pair of the classic chukkas too! Every pair of these boots are amazing. After a short break in period they fit like an absolute glove! I bought the size I normally wear and they fit perfectly. Others have said they run big, but I did not find that to be true. I did try them on in the store though before purchasing. They are worth every penny and I highly recommend them. The craftsmanship and fit are second to none!
Date published: 2017-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BLacksmith work boot. After looking at several reviews on smililar style boots, I decided to go with the Redwing blacksmith style boots. I don't use them for work as I'm retired, but did want a nice casual looking boot to wear. I was a little hesitant on the cost of these boots, but I decided to take a chance. These boots were not in stock and had to be ordered at my local Redwing shoe store here in Corpus Christi, Texas. The Redwing folks were very helpful and friendly. These boots were a nice fit from the get go. And after wearing them for about a month, they feel really nice on my feet. And as others have reported, I did down size 1/2 size. You can wrong with Redwings on your feet.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great made boot with not so great leather Boot fit perfect out of the box with very little break in needed! yipee! however after about a month the the uppers began to turn.. The uppers, backs, and sides began to basically turn to what looks like suede leather, and a poor one at that ( See pics). Not at all like the "smooth finish" that the description says about this leather. Called customer service and they said this leather does that ( gets a napp to it). Wish that would of been in the description cause they look poorly! They sent me some boot cream on the house which was nice, but ive had the boots now for about 6 months and the nap is so large that the cream gums up and makes it look worse. I expected far more for a 300.00 boot. Not as advertised." Smooth-Finished leathers have a polished surface that enhances the true beauty and quality of the leather." Not so much.. if you get this style boot get it in a different leather.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First but definitely not last pair of Red Wing This Blacksmith boots are amazing! They fit very well just make sure to get a full size to size and a half smaller than normal shoe size. Color is amazing and they are not as flashy as the Iron Ranger which makes them the perfect boots for in the office or out on the job site. This is exactly what I needed, I just graduated from college and had to transition to dressing for a professional environment and these boots have made it very easy. I have gotten so many compliments while wearing them and they go with jeans and khakis which is perfect for my job. Great buy. Enough said!
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My First Pair I had never bought a "casual" pair of boots before especially taken a leap of faith since they cost much more than I wanted to spend, but after about 2 years of wearing these for work/play/casual in all types of weather every other day, if not everyday, the comfort alone has been more than worth it. I have abused these boots and still receive compliments in whatever the setting. I find myself walking just a bit slower while wearing these because you feel an extra sense of confidence as the heavy(quality) sole hits the wood floor, concrete, gravel, dirt, and lawn.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from old Red Wing customer - new color Been wearing Red Wing boots for almost 50 years now...won't buy nothing else. This Blacksmith boot may be the best Redwing boot I've owned - easy break-in, confident, consistent fit and looks good. Never been much to worry about colors, but, this charcoal boot is now the favorite of my wife and daughters.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT EVERYDAY BOOT I own work boots, I don't need ANOTHER pair....I wanted a boot I could wear EVERY day. THIS boot style won't be upstaged by a good set of jeans, but it will also not over power your look for casual days. The suggestion for a size SMALLER was 100% accurate......BUY ONE FULL SIZE SMALLER....you will feel they are too stiff and snug day one for a couple hours....then watch the transformation! Lace them tight initially...wear thicker comfortable socks....and the boot will conform to your foot and stride PERFECTLY . Trust the leather....trust the craftsmanship....trust the BRAND. I got the Rough and Tough CHARCOAL..............absolutely perfect look, no matter the situation.....especially when all you've owned is the usual black or browns. The lug pattern not extending toward the edge makes it appear to be a smooth sole......perfect again since I didn't want a "work boot" look. Nomdetail,is over looked on this simple boot....thatsbthe beauty of it! There are no cons to this boot.............with one small exception, the laces....order extras GET SOME!
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Blend of Form and Function This is my first pair of Red Wings and I couldn’t be happier with them. Like many other reviewers, I want to stress the importance of trying these boots on before you buy them - I had to go down a full size in order to find the right fit. The staff at the Red Wing store (Queens, NY) were all extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful in finding the right style and fit for me. The quality of the materials and construction is apparent from the minute you open the box. This is why you pay a little more for real American craftsmanship! The leather is thick, the color and feel of it are beautiful, and the stitching and welted soles are expertly done. I was originally looking at the Copper R&T’s online, but the Briar Oil Slick really caught my eye when I saw them in person. This is another reason I’d highly recommend going to a Red Wing store – when it comes to the depth of color, the quality, and the character of the leather, the images on this website just don’t do these boots justice. Break-in time was not as bad as I anticipated. The leather was stiff at first, but I was still able to wear them for a full day, right out of the box, with only a small amount of discomfort. After about a week (+/- 30 hours of wear), the only area still bothering me was the collar rubbing against the back of my ankle, and by two weeks, that issue had subsided as well. The boots have gotten increasingly comfortable as the leather and sole have softened and molded to my feet. For jobs or activities where your feet really take a beating (construction, hiking, etc.) these boots probably will not offer enough support or protection, but for anything short of that, they are really the perfect blend of great looks and solid performance. I’m an architect, so the Blacksmiths are exactly what I was looking for – rugged enough for the job site, yet stylish enough for the office or a night out. With a little conditioning, dirt, mud, and water wipe right off of them and they’ve also been great for dealing with the New York winter weather. Through snow, slush, and salt, they have kept my feet dry and stayed looking great. Traction on ice and snow has also been excellent thanks to the mini lug soles. This is easily the best pair of boots I’ve ever owned (and probably the best pair of shoes, period). I’m looking forward to wearing them for many years to come and I’m already eyeing a pair in black for my next purchase.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not too cold, not too hot! First time Redwing buyer; not sure if I'll buy another brand now. It's been about Two months in this very mild Wisconsin winter, and my feet have been very comfortable on both mild days and extremely cold days. Took about ten days to break in initially, and they get more comfortable with every wear. The guys at my local Kenosha RW were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I think the best is yet to come for these boots, as I wear them, and I'm looking forward to my next pair!
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Wear These to Bed I had to get one size smaller in this particular last (My 1097's only 1/2 size smaller). They broke in very nicely after 4 consecutive days of wearing them. I added the RW boot oil after the third day and it really seemed to help make the tops softer. I have found that it really pays to find a RW store that truly understands customer service as we have in Roanoke, VA. This may be the best shoe purchase I have made in the last 5 years. Well, one thing I can say, this purchase has made me most happy. That's for sure.
Date published: 2017-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Gosh Almighty My first pair of Red Wings. Was going to grab the 6" or 8" moc boots, but these grabbed my attention as being more versatile in the casual business world. Really like the rich Briar Oil Slick color. Had to get a 1/2 size smaller than my typical boots / dress shoes, so definitely try on if there's a store nearby. Construction-wise, the the leather is exceptional, the sole seems bullet-proof, and the stitching is flawless. The waxed laces are fine - maybe a tad short if you use every eyelet, but I leave the top one open. The Blacksmiths get more comfortable every time I wear 'em - yet they already felt pretty darn good out of the box. Will this be my only pair of Red Wings? No way. Are they a tad pricey? Yep ... but being they're American-made and I'll likely wear them once or twice a week, I seriously expect them to last for decades. Very satisfied.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great light boot for working in the office and on the factory floor These are my first pair of Red Wing boots and I am very happy with them! I work in engineering and a lot of my customers are manufacturers. I needed a pair of boots that would go with business casual clothes plus be good for bad weather and visits to customers and their factory floors. These boots fit the bill exactly! The Vibram sole is very tough and so is the leather used in the uppers. I have waterproofed the boots using Red Wing leather conditioner and protector. I found they run a little large. I'm usually a size 9.5M but the size 9 in these boots fit very well. Also they seemed comfortable from day 1 with no real break in period. I am hoping these will last me a long time and I plan to resole them when they do wear out.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy from day 1. Try before you buy. I originally had my heart set on the Iron Ranger boots but decided to go to a Red Wing location to try a few pairs on. The big difference with these was the lower heel piece and overall softer feel. The Blacksmith boots were so comfortable in the store that I changed my mind and got them. I did have to go down from my normal size of 10 1/2 all the way to a 9 to find the right fit. Trying them on before you buy is a must. The flat finish on the grommets also makes these boots more wearable for going out after work than the Lone Rangers. I've only had them for a few months but so far, they're the best boots I've ever owned!
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for Had my eye on Wolverine 1000 mile but Blacksmiths have a better sole. Glad I went with these. Color is perfect, boots fit great, break-in time is going by very quickly. They pinch slightly on the rear right ankle but only sometimes, I expect that to go away as the leather softens. Service at the store was excellent, they even expedited my order. Couldn't beat that Black Friday deal. Looking forward to many years with these boots.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot. Short laces, run one size big. Need to find longer laces. I'm not sure how long the stock laces are that come with the boot but they were too short to tie. The local redwing store swapped them for leather (did not have any that fit/matched) but I would like the dark brown flat waxed cotton instead.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots, dependable quality With my old Red Wing Munson round toes beginning to bite the dust after several years, I figured it was time to pick up another pair, and I'm not disappointed one bit. From the incredibly fast shipping (less than 24 hours between ordering and delivery) to the dependable quality I've come to expect from past pairs, I will continue to stick to Red Wing in the future. For those of you considering your first pair of Red Wings I want to stress like others have to size down a full size from your usual sneaker size. Not only do these run big, but a slightly snug fit will help expedite the break in process. They shouldn't be so tight that you can't easily get them on and off, but wearing these too loose will make them less conducive to molding to your foot and becoming the most comfortable shoe you've ever worn. As far as the leather goes, it is thick and durable, and it made my entire living room smell amazing when I opened the box. This particular finish does have a slightly distressed look, so if you are looking for more of a dressy looking boot this pair is not for you. If you live near a Red Wing store they will take care of you and your boots. I wasn't a fan of the flat laces that came with these when my shoes have hoo, so I stopped in to my local store, and they gave me a pair of the round style that comes with Iron Rangers at no cost. They will also condition your boots at no cost any time. Below is a picture of the boots after a few days of wear with a coat of leather protector and the new laces.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Shoes That Work As a Engineer working at a renowed five star porperty i needed a boot that looked sharp and worked hard. From shoveling snow in the morning, replacing a toilet at noon, to going out in the evening this boot gets the job done. Well done Red Wing. p.s. let the shoe break in than the magic happens.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad boots Bought these in May, paid over $300, and didn't get them til 2 months later. Didn't have sample shoe to try for size so sales person ordered a size larger. Finally got my boots and right away they felt too big. Top of boot bruised my ankle, footbed very uncomfortable, and after wearing boots for a couple of hours they gave me shin splints. I now have a very expensive pair of boots that I can't wear or return. Is there a way to make these boots wearable? I don't recommend these boots to anyone.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tall people read this! these boots are amazing, order a size down! I'm 6'5" 205 lbs & I have worn size 13's since the 90's. I ordered a size 12 after initially ordering a 13 and realizing they were too big. Stop by a Redwing store if you aren't sure and they will answer any questions & take measurements so you get the proper size. I LOVE these boots. They are "supposed to hug your feet" and they will break in over time. For example: the boots were tight on the sides of my feet initially, the guy at the store who measured me said this is normal and they will break in. The tightness on the sides of my feet (which was uncomfortable when I walked) loosened up in a few hours and they are fitting great. I'm still breaking these in by the way, its only been a day. I'm so glad I finally found a pair that doesn't make my feet look huge / doesn't make me a few inches taller. I used to wear chuck taylors all the time, these boots are pretty much the same length / width so that may help you realize that if you're tall with "big feet", these won't look like clown shoes on you! I hope this helps all of us tall people out there.
Date published: 2016-10-05
  • y_2017, m_11, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_02955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Blacksmith

STYLE No. 2955

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×