Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Blacksmith product photo

Blacksmith

STYLE NO. 3340

$299.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Blacksmith product photo

Blacksmith

STYLE NO. 3340

$299.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Blacksmith

STYLE NO. 3340

LEATHER:
Briar Oil Slick Leather
$299.99 USD
BLACKSMITH, BRIAR OIL SLICK Mens is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 29.
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_03340, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Blacksmith shop.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Blacksmith shop. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 3340 : Blacksmith

Famous for its clean lines, simple construction and classic round toe styling, the 3340 features Briar Oil Slick leather, a Vibram® 430 Mini-lug outsole, triple stitched quality and Goodyear welt construction.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

Versatile and reliable, this style of shoe was originally used in farm fields and blacksmith workshops during the day before being cleaned and shined up for a night out on the town. The extra height of this 6-inch style, which would have protected feet and ankles from hot cinders at the forge, still keeps out snow in the winter and dirt in the summer, and its last-built construction keeps feet comfortable even after long hours of work.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Briar Oil Slick Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Dull Gilt Hooks and Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
Laces: 48-inch Brown Flat Waxed Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 3340 : Blacksmith

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the Full Grain Leather upper, Leather footboard and Cork Midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 3340 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 3340

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for Had my eye on Wolverine 1000 mile but Blacksmiths have a better sole. Glad I went with these. Color is perfect, boots fit great, break-in time is going by very quickly. They pinch slightly on the rear right ankle but only sometimes, I expect that to go away as the leather softens. Service at the store was excellent, they even expedited my order. Couldn't beat that Black Friday deal. Looking forward to many years with these boots.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot. Short laces, run one size big. Need to find longer laces. I'm not sure how long the stock laces are that come with the boot but they were too short to tie. The local redwing store swapped them for leather (did not have any that fit/matched) but I would like the dark brown flat waxed cotton instead.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots, dependable quality With my old Red Wing Munson round toes beginning to bite the dust after several years, I figured it was time to pick up another pair, and I'm not disappointed one bit. From the incredibly fast shipping (less than 24 hours between ordering and delivery) to the dependable quality I've come to expect from past pairs, I will continue to stick to Red Wing in the future. For those of you considering your first pair of Red Wings I want to stress like others have to size down a full size from your usual sneaker size. Not only do these run big, but a slightly snug fit will help expedite the break in process. They shouldn't be so tight that you can't easily get them on and off, but wearing these too loose will make them less conducive to molding to your foot and becoming the most comfortable shoe you've ever worn. As far as the leather goes, it is thick and durable, and it made my entire living room smell amazing when I opened the box. This particular finish does have a slightly distressed look, so if you are looking for more of a dressy looking boot this pair is not for you. If you live near a Red Wing store they will take care of you and your boots. I wasn't a fan of the flat laces that came with these when my shoes have hoo, so I stopped in to my local store, and they gave me a pair of the round style that comes with Iron Rangers at no cost. They will also condition your boots at no cost any time. Below is a picture of the boots after a few days of wear with a coat of leather protector and the new laces.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Shoes That Work As a Engineer working at a renowed five star porperty i needed a boot that looked sharp and worked hard. From shoveling snow in the morning, replacing a toilet at noon, to going out in the evening this boot gets the job done. Well done Red Wing. p.s. let the shoe break in than the magic happens.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad boots Bought these in May, paid over $300, and didn't get them til 2 months later. Didn't have sample shoe to try for size so sales person ordered a size larger. Finally got my boots and right away they felt too big. Top of boot bruised my ankle, footbed very uncomfortable, and after wearing boots for a couple of hours they gave me shin splints. I now have a very expensive pair of boots that I can't wear or return. Is there a way to make these boots wearable? I don't recommend these boots to anyone.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tall people read this! these boots are amazing, order a size down! I'm 6'5" 205 lbs & I have worn size 13's since the 90's. I ordered a size 12 after initially ordering a 13 and realizing they were too big. Stop by a Redwing store if you aren't sure and they will answer any questions & take measurements so you get the proper size. I LOVE these boots. They are "supposed to hug your feet" and they will break in over time. For example: the boots were tight on the sides of my feet initially, the guy at the store who measured me said this is normal and they will break in. The tightness on the sides of my feet (which was uncomfortable when I walked) loosened up in a few hours and they are fitting great. I'm still breaking these in by the way, its only been a day. I'm so glad I finally found a pair that doesn't make my feet look huge / doesn't make me a few inches taller. I used to wear chuck taylors all the time, these boots are pretty much the same length / width so that may help you realize that if you're tall with "big feet", these won't look like clown shoes on you! I hope this helps all of us tall people out there.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Went Against the Popular Iron Ranger & I Don't Regret It Like the title said....I didn't go with the most popular Iron Ranger simply because I am not a fan of the cap toe. I have however been wanting some Redwings for a while and I am super excited to have them. Pictures don't do them the full justice they need. I went into a local Redwing Store to try them on and boy am I glad. In a tennis shoe I am a 13, was fitted for 11.5 and it fits like a stinking glove! So comfy. Some have said their feet hurt, but I have had no issues. Perhaps because I got my correct size? I am a shoe guy, these are probably the BEST pair of shoes I have ever put on. I don't want to ever take them off.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1st Red Wing Purchase, Will be back for more! Like others have said, quality and feel is absolutely top notch. Though these are my first red wings, I have bought other high quality boots before, and these certainly feel much more rugged than say a pair of Frye harness boots. I was a bit worried ordering online since my local red wing does not carry this boot to get sized before ordering, but I followed what others have said and ordered a half size down. Instead of using my previous boots as a sizing guide, I decided to simply trace and measure my foot, and ordered a half size down from that. Seems to have worked well--little snug on the sides like they should be, wiggle room for toes, and can barely slide an index finger behind my heel. Seems to be a good fit out of the box! One side note on the color: I ordered the copper rough and tough because I planned on conditioning/ potentially polishing the boot, which would leave me with a darker color leather. The pictures are a few shades lighter than the actual product, and I actually think the color of the boots is better in person. Almost a chestnut brown with some nice variation. 2nd Side note: As a previous reviewer has noted, these boots actually do make you more of a man. I wasn't quite prepared for the immediate beard I grew, but boy was the girlfriend surprised and extremely turned on. I felt driven to turned my stove into a forge and began to melt down the wine rack, forks, spoons and knives...pretty much anything metal I could get my hands on. 18hrs later and I have made a horseshoe, 2 knives and started on a hatchet. One helluva boot Rugged enough for work, nice enough for dress casual. I'm really happy with the boot, and expect it to last a very long time.
Date published: 2016-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Boot from Red Wing This is a great boot! I am very happy with the purchase from my local Red Wing Dealer (Eastgate, Cincinnati). Make sure to size down a whole size and you should be happy with the purchase also. The boots also run narrow. Can not wait to put serious mileage on these. Thanks for making a great boot!
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from sizing is incorrect I have been purchasing Red Wing boots for 20 years. They have always exceeded my expectations. Comfort ,durability and quality are important. American made is important. Redwings definitely meet these criteria. I recently purchased a pair of Blacksmith 3433 of 9D. When I first tried them on I thought they were snug but remembered that all Red Wings have along break in period. Unfortunately the Blacksmith boots have not broken in after wearing them for 5 months. It's hard to part with them since they are not inexpensive. So if you order them on line or order them from your local redwing dealer without trying them on then beware. They appear snug when you get them they will still be snug 5 months later. My size is the same and other my footwear has not changed. these boots run narrow and short.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Look great but sizing is terrible Let me start off by saying these boots are really a very quality product which one can really appreciate just by feeling the weight of them. On top of this they look great on and go well with a pair of jeans. However unless you have feet like Sideshow Bob you will struggle to find a pair that fits. I can imagine over time they shall mold to my feet but that will only be on width, they'll never fit on length. Generally speaking the boots require a half to a full size smaller than your usual so bare this in mind.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Investment These boots are an awesome addition to my collection. I've wanted something in black to have and this boot was a great choice. The break it time was a bit rough, but I definitely love the boots!
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm in love! Just received my Copper Blacksmiths today and after a quick application of oil, I've been wearing them most of the afternoon and evening. Incredibly comfortable from the start (apart from being a little stiff) and the leather is a beautiful sight, changing colour and tone with each movement of the foot. As the other reviews seem to agree the laces seem a little short and I didn't go a size down as I've pretty wide feet. This means they're maybe a touch long but great on the width.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not What They're Cracked Up to Be These are not the versatile boots you're looking for. Here's why. The leather appears splotchy. I'm sure the attempt is that is should look like a pair of old favorites, but every place the leather bends the color is lighter, even right after applying the mink oil. Also, every time the boots get the least little bump, it marks the leather. They do in fact run large, so even if you get your foot measured at the Red Wing store, still go a half size smaller. Do be careful to inspect them well before wearing them. I didn't notice it at first but the right boot of my pair is oddly shaped. It's only a little bit but it looks and feels wrong. In short, these are not nice boots. I would send mine back if I could. The quality just isn't there!!!
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Second pair of Redwing's (first were Chukkas). These do not disappoint, appear extremely well made, slightly stiff feeling initially, but already feeling more comfortable. Staff in store recommended half size down, unlike Chukkas which were sized the same as other shoes. Also advised to wear thick socks to begin with which really seems to be helping. Should last a lifetime and looking forward to many years wearing. Would definitely recommend these boots. Sales staff were very helpful in the London UK store and advised on best cleaning product.
Date published: 2016-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They really are the best! I was apprehensive getting a full size smaller,, but true they stretch and mold to your foot like a new skin!!!!
Date published: 2016-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful boot with quality to match! My previous boot was a pair of danners. After starting the break in period on this pair I knew I had found my new favorite boot. The only thing to exceed these boots versatile style is their quality. Make sure you get properly fitted and treat the leather every so often with the appropriate oil.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These boots are an investment in your lifetime foot wear inventory and will be a hardworking classic The first thing you notice when you unbox your boots it the strong smell of real quality leather. I was immediately in the mood for a good Maduro cigar and a glass of my favorite Islay whisky. Following that, you peel back the paper and see the true color of these boots in your chosen color. I picked copper rough and tough. The photos do not truly demonstrate it's color but, there are some hints of the color in the photos. It has a richness and variation of color that is amazing in person. Since most stores do not stock these, it is a bit of a leap of faith but, it is well worth it. I had to size them down one half of a size. They do not come in a wide width at this time and I measure for a wide shoe but, already on the second day, they were loosened up enough that I have no trouble now. I would recommend wearing them around the house one day with two pairs of socks on. You'll be surprised how quickly they break in if you don't mind doing that for a day. Based on the described construction of the boot, when you receive the box, you may be surprised that it doesn't weight several more pounds. It's not a very heavy boot even with the extra stitching and quality leather. Wearing it around the house and then later out on the street, it will continue to break in and loosen up. The break in is not bad at all. I would compare the break in to any other quality leather dress shoe that is American made. I felt an improvement in just a day and it will get better everyday for two weeks. The shape and style of the boot are clean and simple yet rugged. I believe this could easily sneak into a business casual realm if needed, especially on colder inclement days. The oil resistant soles have good traction on most surfaces so far. I have another pair of boots with deeper heavier tread for working around the house so, this pair probably wont see as much winter time work. They did get puked on by the kid last night and after that I walked through some mud right after getting out of the truck. It all seemed to wipe off and reminded me to invest in the protectant. I'll be ordering that soon. If you buy cheap boots that aren't real leather, crack, fall apart or generally wear out every year or two, I would advise you to take a trip to the store, make the investment now and after you break in your new boots, you can decide for yourself.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful colour At first I purchased the 3340, and even though it was a beautiful boot, I quickly exchanged it for the black spitfire. I was in love instantaneously, the colour and the leather finish on this boot make it my favourite boot, even better than the amber IR. I can wear it with anything, even in business attire. The very slight pain of the break-in period is a great beginning to what will undoubtedly be a long lasting relationship. Thank you for making this!
Date published: 2015-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gorgeous boot Another gorgeous Red Wing Heritage boot. The Black Spitfire is a rough-out which means the rough side is turned outwards. These are not as dressy as something like the black Beckham and are also a little harder to care for because you can't just slap polish down and buff them back. Still a beautiful boot if you want something black but with a rough finish when you get close. Note that this is a minilug design. I've look at this and the Roughneck side by side and the differences are that the Roughneck uses full-on Vibram sole whereas the minilug will wear more quickly--less sole--but produces a slimmer silhouette. Seems to me the BlackSmith is really a Roughneck with a slimmer sole.
Date published: 2015-11-22
  • y_2017, m_3, d_29, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_03340, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Blacksmith

STYLE No. 3340

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×