Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8086

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8086

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8086

LEATHER:
Charcoal Rough & Tough Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, CHARCOAL R&T Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 299.
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_299
  • loc_en_US, sid_08086, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8086 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8086 Iron Ranger features premium Charcoal Rough & Tough leather, dark gun metal eyelets and speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Charcoal Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Dark Gun Metal Eyelets & Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8086 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8086 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8086

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boot I got tired of having to buy new boots every couple of months as I am extremely hard on shoes in general. I have had 5 knee surgeries whitch causes me to walk a little different so shoe quality is important and I literally have never seen or felt quality and comfort like this. They put up a fight to break in but after about a month of wearing every single day for work and play, they just keep getting better and better. I love these boots and will definitely be buying another pair.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots I have a few pairs of Redwing boots but these are my favourites, I’m size 10 uk and with thick socks size 10 in these fits perfectly but I would advise you to try first. Well made and stylish.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don’t wait buy them now ! Waited years to buy my first pair of Red Wing Iron Rangers, should have bought them sooner. These boots are exactly what people said they would be, they are great looking and they are really comfortable. I have worn them everyday since I finished breaking them in. I have already started looking for my next pair. Thank you for making such a great pair of boots. I know I will enjoy these for years to come.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding boots! I've had my Iron Ranger 8111 boots for three weeks now. I could not be happier. Everything you read about them was pretty well true for me as well. I sized down from a 10EE to a 9EE and the fit is perfect. They were a little tough the first few times I wore them, but I was careful to wear them only a few hours at a time for the first several times, then wearing them a few hours longer each time. I had them on today for ten hours of total comfort. I absolutely love the quality build and the classic look of this boot. Get yourself a pair - you'll be glad you did! Also - a big shout out to the ladies at the Red Wing store in Wichita Falls, TX. They got me fitted correctly, ordered my boots and had them w/in a week - even during the busy Christmas season. Thanks ladies!
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Skillfully done on a Pair of Boots Iron ranger ... what more can I say I am wearing a Legend .. Thank you Red Wing Shoes .co .... keep up the great work and retain those matured and skillful workers .. they know their stuffs and my heart goes to the miners that were killed during the Industrial years of America a hundred years ago ... hard to earn a living back then ....
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First pair of high quality boots Just purchased these boots. Have only worn them for a couple days. Still have a bit to go on breaking them in. The fit is a full size smaller than the normal shoe size I wear. I went to Red Wings store to have 5em fitted before I purchased. They look amazing. You can feel the quality, and they only start looking better the more you wear them.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots to Last a Lifetime Great boots - will last a lifetime. Quality and Craftsmanship are top-notch. I have owned Red Wing pull-on work boots and Iron Rangers all my life and every pair only gets better with age. I have read some reviews that talk about these boots being hard to break in....while they are a little stiff at first it is because these boots are constructed of the best materials - best leather, steel shank, etc.. Once any Red Wing boots are broken-in they conform to your foot, are uniquely your own, and will be comfortable for a lifetime. If you want cheap boots with no break-in time, look for boots somewhere else. If you want top-quality boots that will conform to your foot, look great, and last a lifetime then invest the extra money in Red Wings - you will not be disappointed. My Iron Rangers felt great by the 2nd wear. If you're a tenderfoot, wear sandals. If you're a man that wants great looking boots that your lady will love to see you wear, get some Iron Rangers. Recommendation - Find a Red Wing retailer and get fitted correctly.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot A great boot and true to size. I have had mine 3 years, and they are still very nice. I am not that hard on them and oil them twice a year.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! And Totally Worth the Money These at the best boots that you can buy. The craftsmanship is amazing. Buy down a half size and be patient when breaking them in. After a few weeks they are so comfortable! I wear them everyday !
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from uncomfortable Cork midsole in the right boot compressed and left me feeling the rather sharp edge of the welt all along the right side of my foot. This was brutally uncomfortable. That was on an 11.5 EE, which, despite being EE was not even close to a wide sizing. I usually wear 12 or 13 depending on the shoe, and was fitted in the store for these. My left boot was fine, otherwise very beautiful but I have boots I cannot wear. I bought a pair of Beckmans on the same day which are doing the same thing - this has never happened on any pair of boots I've ever owned. If you are going to buy any of these boots, I'd get insoles first and then size the boots to fit with them. This concept of the cork midsole forming like a glove to your foot is a dream that might not come true, and an expensive one.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad i finally ordered these! I have had RW's in the past and they were decent boots. I usually am a 13 D in most boots/sneakers, so I've had to use some trial and error with RW's boots. However, these are 12 D's and fit like a glove. Now my other RW's needed a lot of time to break in however, I have only worn these twice and the feel like I've worn them for years! I will definitely be ordering another color in the near future!
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boot for serious work or play Bought these shoes because I didn't need a large sole and heavy boot. They are a great upper without all the modern foam rubber paddling. Took some time to get them feeling like slippers but fit unlike any other boot I have owned. Including all redwing boots. I use them to work and for going out. The guy at redwing said that they were more of a fashion boot because of the sole. He couldn't be more incorrect. The sole is designed for flat surface and grips well on hard surface. Leather is strong, insoles are all natural and never need more plastic,fabric pads to make them fit and feel good. I had to use the end of a box end wrench to message some inner leather areas that overlap to soften the transition in the bottom sole. Worked out perfectly and never had and issue with even a blister on my foot. These shoes are not for the weak foot or for a fashion statement. If you plan to walk a thousand miles in a boot pick these. Old world craftsmanship that will last a very long time.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boot :) This is my 6th pair of heritage boots , these were comfortable from day 1 ,just wish they came with leather laces
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My first boots. Very nice at all. Almost everything perfect but: cork sole is totally" worth" . It is heavy, not flexible and solid. Vibram much better
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shoe I have had! I usually wear size 14 EE in most boots. The biggest the store had was 13 D. I tried them on and they surprisingly fit. They were slightly snug on the outside of my feet but after wearing them only a few days they feel like they were tailored just for me. Perfect shoe and will buy another pair soon!!
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot, but needs break in For all of you have had the pleasure of breaking in your Red Wings and killing yourselves doing it, here is some friendly advice. THEY ALL NEED BREAKING IN! EVERY new shoe or boot, no matter what brand does not fit your foot until it is broken in. Some are easier than others, some are softer, but that is not the case here. Water is your boots' enemy! If you soak them, then you will buy a new pair sooner! Period. It is great for the boot business, but this is not 1820 and there are way more options and sizes available than back then. If you fit it properly, a tad looser is better, then your break in can be done in a few days...depending on what you've been wearing most of the time. Soft shoes make your feet soft. They cause more heat and more sweat. You don't want that. You want your feet to feel like the palms of your hands, tough but not calloused. Next, your toes should feel like they are hanging out a window, touching nothing. If you feel the end or the sides of the boots with your toes, then you will have to break that in and that is not pleasant. The ball of the foot should feel comfortably snug, not tight. Tight means it will need to stretch. If you want that, then feel free, but snug means the boot will break in with a little time. Your heel should slip between 1/8 and 1//4 inch. Two things here. 1...the heel counter needs to mold to your bone structure. That will take a few hours. 10-20. DO NOT DO THAT IN TWO DAYS!!! Break that into 2-4 hour time periods. You will not hurt your feet that way and that is safe. If you hurt your feet, blisters or sore spots, then you will have to wait a few days or weeks to start the process over again. Your feet will need to heal first. Two...your sole and insole need to flex. At present, your new boots are stiff and when you bend the boot as you walk, the boot does not want to follow. Hence, the heel slip. That will disappear as the boot breaks in. The last thing I want to mention is, you might have noticed that the toes on your new boots turn up. That is on purpose!! When you walk, your heel does not move until the sole touches the ground. At that point, the heel slips. This is by design by Red Wing to help with that break in. A design that was developed in the 1940's. A rule of thumb I go by...the looser you can stand a shoe the easier the break in (just the rough edges), the tighter the boots, the longer the break in. Hope this helps someone!
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longrun Buyer I often read reviews before purchasing products so I figured some of y'all may get some good use of this... I am 21 and own 3 pairs of Red Wing boots, the first being the 953 SuperSoles that my dad bought for me when I began working on the farm at the age of 14. They have lasted all 7 years and still fit/feel great. I did make the mistake of conditioning them after harvest and placing them back in the box one year and now the leather is very soft... Also own the Mocs as my work/hunting boots and the Iron Rangers!! The Iron Rangers are awesome and contrary to other reviews are more comfy than the Mocs I think. The sole is less hard and has broken in better. The IR's also are more durable than people say, I've worn them 4 or 5 times Elk hunting this year and through stepping in streams and much worse they have stayed clean and look amazing. A tip my dad taught me when I got my first pair of RedWings, leather condition them liberally when you first get them, wear them for a full day and then that night leather condition them again. Makes for an easy break in period and instant waterproofing for farm/outdoor work. Highly recommend all of the products, use Huberts shoe grease and wipe off excess mud at the end of the day and they will last forever! Cheers!
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boot I Have Ever Worn If the world were a truly just and wonderful place, we would all be able to wear nothing but Red Wing boots, all the time. I have hiked, worked (in a casual office), and spent 9+ hours pacing the sidelines as my kids' lacrosse tournaments, and these boots have delivered, every time. No break-in period needed, but they still look better with age. Red Wing is the only boot brand I will ever purchase. (Size note: these run 1/2 size bigger than most shoes, so buy a 1/2 size down from what you normally wear).
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well spent. I thoroughly enjoy the purchase of my 8085's. These boots were purchased about a week ago from the local Red Wing store where I was fitted to find the perfect size for these boots. These boots were very comfortable for me from the start and I can tell they are getting more comfortable with each wear. The Copper R&T is an absolutely gorgeous color for any Red Wing model. These boots will be put to the test in the upcoming season. I would recommend these to anyone, but definitely get sized up for a pair, if possible.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't be disappointed These boots are the type of thing you grow attached to. I liken it to your favorite baseball glove. I wear the 8111 model in Florida so the soles are perfect for me and the color is my favorite redwing makes. After a year of wearing them I decided I'd benefit from redwing inserts so I took them back to the store and was fitted for them that really helped my arches. over a year of wearing them and I still catch myself staring at them admiring the leather. Love these boots.
Date published: 2017-11-21
  • y_2018, m_7, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_299
  • loc_en_US, sid_08086, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8086

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×