Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8085

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8085

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8085

LEATHER:
Copper Rough & Tough Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, COPPER R&T Mens is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 144.
  • y_2017, m_1, d_14, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_08085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8085 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8085 Iron Ranger features premium Copper Rough & Tough leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The local residents of the Mesabi Iron Range in northern Minnesota are proudly known as Iron Rangers due to their rugged toughness. The Iron Ranger work boots were built for iron miners in this region who required a double layer of leather over the toe for extra safety. It’s tough and elegant all at once.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Copper Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8085 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8085 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8085

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 4 out of 5 by from This boot is awesome. Simply. But... runs big. I've only had the boot a couple of weeks. Still breaking them in. The most important thing is... they run big. My left foot is slightly larger than my right and I OBSESS over sizing and fit. I own the red wing heritage 877 in a 10. So I bought a ten. Then returned them. Then bought a 9.5. Then returned them. Then bought a 9. I don't have a particularly wide foot but they push at the sides a little. (Which will give) they are an AWESOME boot and are breaking in nicely. Only drawback is the smooth cork sole is SLICK. Which makes it almost exclusively a fashion boot where it could do more.
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from all weather I've read reviews about the iron ranger 8111 nitrile cork sole being a little slick in slippery surfaces and I will beg to differ. The sole doesn't have any grip like the mini lug but I'm wearing mine in the winter now and on ice and they perform really well I'm really surprised for a smooth sole but could be the oil resistant is just more versatile.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Say NO! to the Nitrile Cork outsole. I do like the boots. The leather is solid quality. I bought these back in July just before Red Wing changed the outsole to the Vibram mini lug. They came with the nitrile cork outsole which is a borderline health hazard (I've slipped on dry pavement!). Ok the previous statement is a bit of stretch. These boots are fashion over function. Do not get them as an all around semi-rugged boot. I have been supremely disappointed by the lack of traction every step of the way. They are fine if you never have to go outside. (But then why have boots?) I wish I had waited a mere 1 month when Red Wing switched the outsole on these, but I guess I am stuck with the slip-n-slides. They do look good though.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron Ranger Amber Harness - You won't regret it! I found Redwing through their instagram account, and loved how they looked and the fact they got better with age as opposed to the fashion boots I usually get. Decided on the classic Iron Ranger. All the colors looked great but once again went with the classic and decided on the Amber Harness. Once home I was concerned it was a bit too dark, however as soon as I put them on was very happy, they look very good! I am concerned with what other reviewers have mentioned about them darkening significantly with mink oil or conditioner, so am looking at alternatives for long term care. Sizing: This felt like a real dilemma, I'm an 11 US in 90 percent of my shoes, I followed the advice of most the reviewers here and went a half size down to 10.5 US. Once I got them home and tried them again with a wool boot sock, they felt quite snug especially on my slightly larger right foot; theres plenty of length but felt somewhat snug on the widest part of my foot and cramped on my toes, I agonized whether to take them back for the larger 11 US. Decided to trust that they would mould to my foot once broken in, threw on two pairs of wool socks and went walking, within minutes I knew I had made the right choice staying with the 10.5 US. I am however interested how they will feel with a bit of foot swell in hotter weather (its winter here). I also have the Nitrile Cork sole and its very slippy in the snowy Toronto weather, would def appreciate some more grip!! I found it really hard with all the choices on model, color and especially the size issue, but it was totally worth it, they look and feel great I'm already planning my next RW purchase. Summary- Go at least half a size down ( trust It ) , consider the new vibram sole, in my opinion you can't go wrong with any of the colors!
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and dependable. I bought my first pair of Red Wing boots in 2012. I own two pairs now. I'm going to buy another pair soon.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great all round boot I have been wearing Red Wings for over 25 years and these boots hold up and feel great..takes about a month for break in though depending on how much they are worn of course but that's the way it is and hope it never changes...anything that needs to mold and fit to a certain shape takes a bit of time to call it yours am I right.? Cant go wrong with Red Wings just make sure the tag says MADE IN USA.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old school cannot be beat These were my first pair of Red Wings. I still have them and they are still going strong. These things are glorious. They need to be fit properly and they will not feel good in the store. But after about a month of daily wear they will have begun forming to your feet. Then they just keep getting better. One thing to note though is that this model with the smooth cork sole is dangerously slippery on ice. When I need to replace mine I will go for the new grip sole. These things last so long they won't need replacing for many years though.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A classic workman's boot Compared to the Beckman, this boot is made with thick leather. It will take several weeks to break in. I would recommend to wear thick boot socks and not those cotton athletic socks when you wear these boots. It molds to the shape of your feet once the break in period is done. I understand that some reviews says that they wish Red Wing modernize these boots for more comfort-- I beg to differ. For me the process of the break in period and the satisfaction I get once it molds to my feet is part of the experience of owning an old world crafted pair of boots. It is very comfortable once it becomes part of your feet (believe me I own several Red Wing boots and wear them everyday). I highly recommend to stop by at one of their stores so your feet is properly measured. The people in the store I go to in Fremont, CA are very helpful and they know what they are talking about. It is so nice to actually get to talk to people that know their stuff. Red Wing may be one of the last real shoe stores out there. Let's support this American tradition and make America great again!
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Notch Boots First day out of the box,put the left boot on laced it up,nice looking and nice fitting.Took the right boot out started to lace it up and noticed that the eyelets are off by one whole eyelet looks really bad and crooked really disapointed these are Iron Rangers.Some how the quality inspector said these passed, Long time RedWing customer
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great classic boot These boots are true old school fit. No padding or liner, just leather. Very stiff boot when new, but just like a baseball glove, the leather breaks into you foot. Get them slightly snug, and they will break in for a perfect fit. They look great too, many compliments.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One Year In. Good Boots We'll see where they go from here, but so far, so good. They're pretty darn broken in. I wear them a lot. I hike in them and wear them around town. And I mean actual hikes on trails, up a small local mountain and around the foothills, often. The Vibram sole is thin and hard, so you probably want insoles with these. For me, it's too late. They fit perfectly when I broke them in with no insoles and then I tried insoles with them, and there just isn't room. I'd need a half size up to fit insoles. It's ok. They're still comfy enough. But they'd be better with insoles. The vibram sole seems to be custom cut for the boots, and it's a little "rough". Seems like they have to trim the edges to fit different size boots, and in my opinion the way it comes out looks a little cheap. Both my heels are nailed on just slightly crooked, too. Overall, I'm very happy with these boots. I'd just say that for the money, quality control could be a little better. Check the boots close if you order online. Send them back if things don't seem just right to you. Otherwise you'll be looking at them a year in and still get bugged by that little imperfection. For the money, you can and should expect better. So..I love these boots! I will buy more Red Wing boots. But I'll also know better exactly what I want next time, and look closer at the fit and finish before breaking them in. This is one year in. Don't know if they'll continue holding up, but I hope so. I love where they're at right now.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged, Durable and Made in the USA My Father was an Ironworker for over 40 years. He always wore Redwing boots. He swore by their superb construction, reliability and the fact that they are American made. Now that I am able to afford my own Redwings, I purchased the Iron Ranger 8111s. They are fantastic. I am often reminded that "you get what you pay for". I am in the market for the standard Redwing workboot and will make the purchase in the next few days. I like the 100% satisfaction guarantee and the free return shipping. You cant go wrong. Yes, the Rangers take a bit to wear in. I owe this to the fine materials and craftmanship. I read reviews of customers complaining of stiffness and discoloration on the leather. This to me is all part of the experience. After all, they are a "working" boot. Too bad that the nature of these boots are as they are because the are definitely heirloom quality and should be passed on. The Redwing name certainly is. I am a satisfied customer that will return for future purchases. Keep up the great craftsmanship. Brendan
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and great quality My first pair of red wing heritage boots and I loving it, already looking to order a second pair of these guys but with the grip-sole. I catch myself wearing these shoes at the office and on the field. The shoes do run large so knock-off half a size. I am a size 11 1/2 in regular red wing boots but an 11 for heritage. The best feature about these boots is the more you wear them the better they look. It is pricey, but you get for what you pay and these shoes will last you a lifetime.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for working in the office do not get them wet! These boots are great for looking trendy in the office. I bought the iron rangers thinking they would be good durable work boots. My feet have narrow insteps and are wide at the toe, making it difficult to find work boots that don't pinch nerves in the bottom of my foot, so I bought these boots one size down from 9-1/2 in an E width which worked well after break in. The iron rangers broke in and formed to my foot over a one month break in period on concrete floors and performed well while working on tasks ranging from wood working, welding, foundry working, interior demolition, plumbing and other maintenance related tasks. I fully understand what happens when leather gets wet, however and unfortunately I got caught in a downpour while planting trees and could not leave the job undone, which resulted in these boots getting wet. Although these were oiled regularly the result was that the leather insole got wet, shrunk, curled and separated from the footbed. Redwing repair said that they can not repair/replace the insole.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A carefully crafted boot made for longevity As far as I'm concerned, a product's longevity stands as the best testament of its value. I've just purchased my second pair of Iron Rangers in 7 years. I wore my first pair nearly every day for those seven years and they are still holding up to everything I throw at them (except for ice - I live in Canada - which is why I've bought a second pair with Vibram grips).
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boot Picked these up today at a local Red Wing Dealer after having my feet sized for the perfect fit. I've been wearing them for about 2 hours and they feel great. Good quality American made boots. I've also had 2 people complement and ask about these boots.
Date published: 2016-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots a man can own... This is my second pair of Red Wings. Can't imagine werarinng another brand. My first pair are the 1907 Moc Toes, my second 8115 Iron Rangers. These boots look good, top quality, have more than functionality to get the job done. You can't go wrong with Red Wing, you can't go wrong with the Iron Ranger. Break in time is minimal, especially considering the quality of the craftsmanship and leather. After about 24 hours of wear they are good to go for a lifetime!
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seven Pair Later The 8119 in Oxblood Mesa was the first Red Wing boot I looked at, but for one reason or another I ended up purchasing a different Red Wing boot-- the Beckman's, the Roughneck,s, the Blacksmith. Now on my seventh pair of Red Wings, I finally picked up a pair of the 8119 and am thrilled. The Oxblood Mesa is gorgeous both in colour and texture. These boots literally glow. And the contrast with the brass is fabulous. I've been tempted by Viberg and Oakstreet but just can't justify the cost. Viberg Service Boots go for $750 US. Oakstreet are around $500 US. I've been picking up my Red Wings for around $360 CAD, about $275 US. The quality is always top notch and they barely show wear after 9 months on the road. These are a truly fabulous American Made product in the old tradition of craftsmanship. And I'm tough on my footwear. Very highly recommend.
Date published: 2016-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny. I've always wanted a pair of boots that would last a lifetime and I'm glad I finally found them. I bought the Iron Ranger 8111's (Amber Harness) and I couldn't be more satisfied. I also have the 1907 Moc Toe and the 8890 Moc Toe but, the Iron Rangers are my #1's. To me, they are just that boot that's a must have in every mans wardrobe. I highly recommend going to your local Red Wing store and getting measured. I usually wear a size 10 sneaker but when it comes to my new 8111's, I'm a size 9. Secondly, I'd be lying if I said that the first week or so didn't give me a few blisters on the heels. With that said, these boots now fit like a glove. These boots are made with some tough leather so there's going to be a tough break in period BUT, Once they are broken in and get some scuffs, they take on a personality of their own and you will absolutely love them. I love that I can wear them at the office and around town, they just look so darn good and I get a lot of compliments when I wear them at work. If you curious about how your boots will look after a year or so, just take a look at the Red Wing Heritage boot fan pages on Pinterest. One thing that's great about buying from the Heritage line is the community of people that love them as much as I do. There's a ton of cool pages of people showing off how good their Red Wing Heritage boots look after a few years of wear n tear. Hope you enjoy your boots! Cheers.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm glad to see they added sole options Maybe I passed over it the few times I looked for it, but I cannot seem to find my review from last year. I mentioned the only downfall was the smooth soul not being ideal in icy or snowy conditions and that it would have been great if this boot had options for that. Now they do apparently! Great news for you looking to buy now, not so great for me. On another note I noticed people talking poorly about the durability of the boot. I have had mine for about a year now and did not wear them June through September but bid daily for the first 9 or so months I owned them and they held up great. The only thing is the threads have worn through in the soles but the store I purchased them from said they could repair that in-house for free so I'm not worried about it. For the sole options available I have upgraded my review from 4 to 5 stars.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar boot - looks great in the warehouse or around town. First pair of Red Wings and although the break-in was painful I am looking forward to many years of use out of these boots. I have the 8115 Copper Rough & Tough but you wouldn't know it to look at them. The oil drowns out all color. Not a complaint, but I was definitely a bit sad once the salesman brought them out oiled after I bought them. The Copper Rough & Tough color was just gorgeous. Now I pretty much own a pair of 8111's. Even a gentlemen at another Red Wing store assumed they were 8111 when I went in for another oiling recently. Did I mention how comfortable these boots are now? Nothing but praise from my feet when I tie these things snug. Thanks for the great boots guys and gals!
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing shoe, but they run way big on me What a shoe. You can tell the craftsmanship that goes into each pair of these. I ordered 3 pairs to make sure the sizing was correct. The 7 that I thought would be perfect turned out to resemble a clown shoe on my foot. The 6.5 fit well, but there were definite pressure points and walking hurt my feet just a little bit. To my amazement I put my foot into the 6 to find a perfect fit. Sure they are a little stiff out of the box, but these things feel like the real deal. I ordered the Vibram sole and see these being my go to boots for the long, high mountain Colorado winters. Expedited shipping was incredibly fast as well. Good job Red Wing. You guys are doing everything right.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I work as a mechanical engineer in the engine/heavy equipment industry - so I can't comment on these boots for serious hard work durability. That said, I've been wearing these daily for 2+ years now, and have had ZERO issues. Break in was a pain, literally. In fact I thought about ditching them the tongue/laces were so stiff on my ankles. After about 4 months though, they were great and truthfully they just keep getting better. So good that I prefer to wear them around town/any chance I can - again, I've got dedicated beater boots for rough work around the house/farm, so they don't see "real" use. The only complaint I have is one that I knew going in - the smooth sole is absolutely worthless on snow. It's like you're ice skating, but who doesn't need some excitement during the winter months? The leather has held up great with routine cleanings/dressing every 6 to 8 months. I've had no issues with stiching, and the leather has been fairly robust - with the exception of eylet wear on the tongue. Unlike other reviewers though, my wear is acceptable and not through the leather. The sole has held up well - again, in an office/shop/engine testing environment. If you're looking for a good boot that looks great with a pair of jeans yet can fit the part with a nice pair of khaki's, I'd recommend these in a heart beat. I'll admit I was somewhat skeptical going in and the "made in USA" tag sold them to me, but I'm glad I purchased them.
Date published: 2016-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully Made Boot! I Love My 8119 Boot. I usually wear a Size 13 Wide but I Was Fitted at a Red Wing Store and a Size 12D Fit Perfect. There was no Leather imperfections. Nice Deep Oxblood Color. There was No Leather Scratches. The Stitching was Perfect. The Leather is Thick but Soft. I Bought Red Wing's New Leather Cream to Use. I Put one Coat On before I wore them. I would not use any Other Products on the Leather. The Use and too much Use of Leather Oil will Darken the Leather and Make the Leather too Soft and Will Lose its Scape.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a reliable boot whatsoever If you are looking for a boot that looks nice and pretends to be rugged these will work fine if you wear them maybe a couple times a month. I bought these a little over a year ago because I have plain and simple taste in boots and they were worn daily at work at an auto repair shop as well as the weekends and a lot of motorcycle rides. The break in was tough but that was expected, an eyelet gouged a small hole through the tongue and that was repaired in store. They were oiled often and dried as much as possible during the Iowa winters to take care of them. Finally the time came to send them to Redwing to get resoled, the soles weren't far gone at all I figured I'd do it early as I would be away for a month and not wearing them anyways. Instead of doing anything to the boot they just sent them back because they say the insole is bad so they won't repair them. Just keep in mind these boots were not old and they were taken care of as well as you can take care of a pair of leather boots. These boots are not made to stand up to real work and consistent use, they are made to look classic and that is it. Most other reviews are written right when they get the boot so they are unable to speak to the actual durability of these things. Like I said, if you want a pair of boots that you only plan on wearing every once and awhile as a fashion statement you'll be fine, but as far as actually working in these boots, you will be much happier getting something else for this kind of cash.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a reliable boot whatsoever If you are looking for a boot that looks nice and pretends to be rugged these will work fine if you wear them maybe a couple times a month. I bought these a little over a year ago because I have plain and simple taste in boots and they were worn daily at work at an auto repair shop as well as the weekends and a lot of motorcycle rides. The break in was tough but that was expected, an eyelet gouged a small hole through the tongue and that was repaired in store. They were oiled often and dried as much as possible during the Iowa winters to take care of them. Finally the time came to send them to Redwing to get resoled, the soles weren't far gone at all I figured I'd do it early as I would be away for a month and not wearing them anyways. Instead of doing anything to the boot they just sent them back because they say the insole is bad so they won't repair them. Just keep in mind these boots were not old and they were taken care of as well as you can take care of a pair of leather boots. These boots are not made to stand up to real work and consistent use, they are made to look classic and that is it. Most other reviews are written right when they get the boot so they are unable to speak to the actual durability of these things. Like I said, if you want a pair of boots that you only plan on wearing every once and awhile as a fashion statement you'll be fine, but as far as actually working in these boots, you will be much happier getting something else for this kind of cash.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Comfort This boot is a very high quality and substantial lace-up boot. The first pair I tried didn't fit right, and it was not comfortable. The 2nd pair I tried fit like a glove. It was snug without being tight, and it fit right in all the right places - instep, ball, length, heel. I anticipate the boot becoming even more comfortable as the leather softens with use. I highly recommend this boot, and I further recommend you do not give up on the first fit if it is not right.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots On The Planet I needed a GOOD pair of boots for retirement on my ranch. I wanted something rugged, comfortable, and old time looking. I got all three with the Iron Ranger. I have hard feet to properly fit. I measure a medium, but take a Wide. Stopping by a Red Wing Store was a must before buying. That also enabled me to try different styles. The store staff was incredible. Were knowledgeable, and helpful. I was given various styles to look at and still decided to go for my first choice, the Iron Ranger. This boot is beautiful. Well crafted by hand, and of superior heavy leather. The perfect fit for me was a 10.5 Wide which is my shoe size. It was snug without being tight, and my toes came up and slightly into the toe box with a touch of wiggle room. They were comfortable right out of the box, just a little stiff. I mentioned that I wished they did not come with the speed hooks as I though they took away from the dressier look. The owner said not problem, if you can wait about two weeks I can order them with all eyelets. The ones I had on were so comfortable it was a very hard decision to wait, but I did. Ten days later I walked out with my new boots on my feet. They look great with casual slacks, and jeans. I wear them at every opportunity. I avoid doing farm work in them as I have work boots for that, but riding, dining, picnics, shopping etc they are on my feet. I've had my Red Wings now for about a month and they are getting softer and more comfortable each time I put them on. If you want a 100% top quality boot made in the USA, you cannot go wrong with Red Wings.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for... I've had my 8085's a little over two weeks, wearing them each and everyday. Tonight I decided to rinse, wash them with my boot brush and saddle soap, and then let them dry for 90 minutes before applying mink oil. All I can say is WOW!!!! If you think these boots look good outta the box, just wait until you break em in and then give them a good cleaning and oiling. The difference is simply amazing. Worth every dime.
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Initial Impressions After trying on several different Red Wing heritage boots, I finally settled on the Iron Rangers for riding my motorcycle. I wish that the soles had some lug to them, but considering I have been riding in harness boots with flat bottom soles for the last 10 years, I wasn't too concerned with this aspect. While in the store, I tried on the Blacksmith Round and the Beckman Round because I liked the lug soles better. But the fit on these was different than the Iron Ranger. Since the Beckman has eyelets all the way up and waxed flat laces, I found that I would have to undo half the lacing to get my feet in the boots, and this is something I didn't want to do. With the Blacksmith, I liked that they have included quick lace hooks, but the flat laces that they come with were not as nice as the round laces that the Iron Rangers came with. It is easy enough to change out laces, but just with the Beckman, I found that it was harder to get my feet into the Blacksmiths than the Iron Rangers. I also liked the capped toe of the Iron Rangers better and felt that they would hold up better using the toe shifter of my motorcycle with the extra layer of leather. Fit was a little difficult to nail down. These boots seem to run long for size. I normally wear and 11-11.5, however, in the Iron Rangers I had to go down to a 10 to get the fit I was looking for. Shoe size by the number doesn't make one difference to me, but if your going to buy these boots online, I would highly suggest trying them on in a store to figure out what size you prefer first. If you can't do this, I would purchase at least one full size down, as my experience indicates that there is extra length in the toe compared to other same number size boots. As for the width, they are on the narrow side, and I believe Red Wing did this on purpose as this type of boot is made to, after many hours of break in, mold its self to your foot. If it was a wider shoe, you wouldn't get the custom worn in fit with a full grain, un-padded, unlined boot. I wear a D width, and bought D width boots and they were on the snug side, but will stretch to become more comfortable. If you have wider feet, once again, I recommend going to the store and trying them on first to figure out what size is best for you. Overall, these boots are supremely crafted. Really stiff leather, thick leather with quality stitching. These are old design boots, that aren't like modern made boots, they will require a lot of break in and will fit quite differently than modern designed work boots. Just keep that in mind when you first try them on and wear them. Also as a positive, the Red Wing store gave me a 10% military discount when I purchased them, something I greatly appreciate!
Date published: 2016-09-18
  • y_2017, m_1, d_14, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_08085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8085

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×