Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8085

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8085

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8085

LEATHER:
Copper Rough & Tough Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, COPPER R&T Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 158.
  • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_158
  • loc_en_US, sid_08085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8085 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8085 Iron Ranger features premium Copper Rough & Tough leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The local residents of the Mesabi Iron Range in northern Minnesota are proudly known as Iron Rangers due to their rugged toughness. The Iron Ranger work boots were built for iron miners in this region who required a double layer of leather over the toe for extra safety. It’s tough and elegant all at once.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Copper Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8085 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time, the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8085 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8085

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Robust and elegant construction. Versatile and Timeless When viewed from every angle the contours of the boots always look handsome. Every visible construction detail is done to perfection. The leather is tough to break in but it is what I expected and enjoy because it is a meaningful journey to make the boots truly yours. I heeded the advice on the internet and bought half a size down from my normal size, which fits perfectly.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best value in men's boot wear I've had my cork soles for over a year and they've slowly molded to my feet like a glove. Fit perfect at my normal size 12, they are so comfortable I wear them daily. I am a customer for life, American made and American quality.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Products in EE! Greatest shoe/boot I have ever worn. Oil'em up a few times for faster break in. I actually had a customer at my workplace stop and stare at my shoes for about 30 seconds and say, "Those are NICE shoes".......never saw anything like that happen before. I would definitely buy more of these if EE was available in more colors/styles.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An American Icon The work and craftsmanship that goes into Red Wing boots is very impressive and exactly what "You" are looking for! Do not get scared off by the price. They are a bargain once they are on your feet and you look down and realize the favor you just did yourself. Believe me. You'll love them for life. Thank you, Red Wing! Well done! MENS SIZING : a HALF SIZE down and purchase a pair of RED WING INSOLES. They will fit like a glove. You'll thank me later. You're welcome.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever once broken in...run a bit long. This is my 2nd pair of Red Wings and I was told the Iron Ranger runs big (long). I usually wear a size 13 and my feet are somewhat wide but I don't usually require a wide fit shoe. So, I ordered a size 12D and at first they were flat out tight. But, after wearing them indoors for a short while they began to stretch out. I decided to go for it and break them in. A little Mink Oil and Leather Protector and off I went! It didn't take long before they became the most comfortable and supportive shoes I own! Go for it, you won't regret it! Gonna buy some Beckman Rounds next!!!
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shoes for all day... I'm on my feet from 12-16 hours/day, and these are the most comfortable shoes I've worn in 40 years. Break in was 2 days. Since then...ahhhh. They're my "daily drivers." Wear 8.5EE, wish the size was avail in black.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite boot After 3 years the soles were worn down and I sent them in to Red Wings for the premium repair service. They just came back and its like I have a new pair of boots, only they are already broken in to my feet. Also, the new sole has traction that I will try out on the snow and ice, something the flat sole does not allow. I have never written a review for shoes, but what can I say, these are amazing. They look great with everything and are like wearing your childhood baseball mitt.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Redwing, I have a pair of boots that had the original leather soles 40 years old. They finally gave out and can't resole but I keep them for remembering my days pumping gas at 16 at 1.35 and hour. Don't remember what I paid for them but they were the most comfortable non-burning sole on concrete there was. Wish you still had full leather soles. I also had a pair of identical insulated ones my gf made me throw away :(. They had been resoled 4 times and were still in glove fitting comfortable shape. Next pair I buy will be these. Saving up.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unsurpassed quality in materials and construction. The materials and craftsmanship that went in to making these boots is rarely seen nowadays. If your looking for instant gratification in comfort and fit, this ain't it. This boot is gonna make you work for it. Once they're broke in you won't find a more comfortable pair of footwear.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for everyone, but a great boot First off, it's looks, they can be polarizing but there's nothing visually I don't like. Are they always practical? Definitely not. The sole could use more texturing for grip, (especially during rain), and they're not the most comfortable depending on the surface and no arch support. Walk around all day and you're gonna feel it. But they're tough, last a long while and wear in beautifully. I crashed in them (motorcycle), and they got scuffed, scratched and scarred, which broke my heart a bit because I love these boots; but with a good brushing, conditioning and boot oil, they still look good and they have character. These boots are my daily, and I only wish I could afford to buy more.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great These boots are great! Lots of people have mentioned them being uncomfortable, but they have been comfortable for me right out of the box, even with thin socks! The upper has softened quicker than these reviews would lead you to believe. The vibrate sole has been good (even when sprinting through torrential downpours). I wouldn't say that somebody should buy this as a rugged work boot, but i do think it meets a great place between form and function. I can stand up all day at work, look good, and know my feet are reasonably protected from a moderately hazardous work environment. I did buy some flat waxed cotton laces from a competing American boot company though. shhhhhh. They look much better than the stock laces IMHO.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from STYLISH BUT IMPRACTICAL Got a pair of these to try them out and sent them back within a week. They are handsome (and popular) boots but expensive and a poor fit. They are very narrow with no arch support and the cork soles are pretty much worthless. They 'clack' loudly when walking and they get super slick when wet. The toe cap pinches down on the top of your foot and the heel is stiff enough to rub you raw. They mostly fit fine length-wise but they aren't wide enough for the average foot and ee's aren't much better. They say to size down, but I say size up just so you have room for a dr scholls. These are definitely targeted more at the dressier more 'metro' crowd, because they are not good work boots - not even good everyday walking boots really. They aren't light enough to be dressy, and they aren't comfortable enough to be work boots, so I don't really know what they're for LOL. I would strongly suggest you try them on before you spend the $300 plus.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love em Have had these for just over a year now. Absolutely love them. Picked em up in a store that carries Red Wings. Deinfitely recommend doing so. They were almost a full size smaller than other boots I wear and roughly a half size smaller than other shoes I wear. Not the greatest in snow and ice obviously, they're pretty slick, but absolutely love them. Go well with most jeans. I'm a student and go well there obviously. Same as a night on the town or at work on the odd days I wear them there. Absolutely worth the buy.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 8119 have great traction and don't darken with mink oil. I purchased the 8119 six months ago. It took about 2 weeks to break in to the point I could wear them all day without my feet hurting. 6 months later, they feel like putting on a glove. The Vibram mini-lugs have great traction. Leather patina looks great. I sized down one full size.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This boot is awesome. Simply. But... runs big. I've only had the boot a couple of weeks. Still breaking them in. The most important thing is... they run big. My left foot is slightly larger than my right and I OBSESS over sizing and fit. I own the red wing heritage 877 in a 10. So I bought a ten. Then returned them. Then bought a 9.5. Then returned them. Then bought a 9. I don't have a particularly wide foot but they push at the sides a little. (Which will give) they are an AWESOME boot and are breaking in nicely. Only drawback is the smooth cork sole is SLICK. Which makes it almost exclusively a fashion boot where it could do more.
Date published: 2016-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from all weather I've read reviews about the iron ranger 8111 nitrile cork sole being a little slick in slippery surfaces and I will beg to differ. The sole doesn't have any grip like the mini lug but I'm wearing mine in the winter now and on ice and they perform really well I'm really surprised for a smooth sole but could be the oil resistant is just more versatile.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Say NO! to the Nitrile Cork outsole. I do like the boots. The leather is solid quality. I bought these back in July just before Red Wing changed the outsole to the Vibram mini lug. They came with the nitrile cork outsole which is a borderline health hazard (I've slipped on dry pavement!). Ok the previous statement is a bit of stretch. These boots are fashion over function. Do not get them as an all around semi-rugged boot. I have been supremely disappointed by the lack of traction every step of the way. They are fine if you never have to go outside. (But then why have boots?) I wish I had waited a mere 1 month when Red Wing switched the outsole on these, but I guess I am stuck with the slip-n-slides. They do look good though.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron Ranger Amber Harness - You won't regret it! I found Redwing through their instagram account, and loved how they looked and the fact they got better with age as opposed to the fashion boots I usually get. Decided on the classic Iron Ranger. All the colors looked great but once again went with the classic and decided on the Amber Harness. Once home I was concerned it was a bit too dark, however as soon as I put them on was very happy, they look very good! I am concerned with what other reviewers have mentioned about them darkening significantly with mink oil or conditioner, so am looking at alternatives for long term care. Sizing: This felt like a real dilemma, I'm an 11 US in 90 percent of my shoes, I followed the advice of most the reviewers here and went a half size down to 10.5 US. Once I got them home and tried them again with a wool boot sock, they felt quite snug especially on my slightly larger right foot; theres plenty of length but felt somewhat snug on the widest part of my foot and cramped on my toes, I agonized whether to take them back for the larger 11 US. Decided to trust that they would mould to my foot once broken in, threw on two pairs of wool socks and went walking, within minutes I knew I had made the right choice staying with the 10.5 US. I am however interested how they will feel with a bit of foot swell in hotter weather (its winter here). I also have the Nitrile Cork sole and its very slippy in the snowy Toronto weather, would def appreciate some more grip!! I found it really hard with all the choices on model, color and especially the size issue, but it was totally worth it, they look and feel great I'm already planning my next RW purchase. Summary- Go at least half a size down ( trust It ) , consider the new vibram sole, in my opinion you can't go wrong with any of the colors!
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and dependable. I bought my first pair of Red Wing boots in 2012. I own two pairs now. I'm going to buy another pair soon.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great all round boot I have been wearing Red Wings for over 25 years and these boots hold up and feel great..takes about a month for break in though depending on how much they are worn of course but that's the way it is and hope it never changes...anything that needs to mold and fit to a certain shape takes a bit of time to call it yours am I right.? Cant go wrong with Red Wings just make sure the tag says MADE IN USA.
Date published: 2016-12-06
  • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_158
  • loc_en_US, sid_08085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8085

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×