Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

LEATHER:
Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, HAWTHORNE Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 198.
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_198
  • loc_en_US, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8083 Iron Ranger features premium Hawthorne Muleskinner leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery. Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery.

Roughout Leather

Roughout leather is created using a reverse-suede technique at our very own S.B. Foot Tanning Co. While most tanneries split, thin and weaken the hide to create the rough suede surface, we simply use the other side of the hide. By doing so, we avoid splitting or thinning our full-grain hides. This makes our Roughout leather just as strong and durable as our other leathers.


Leather: Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8083 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8083

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from New customer for life This is my first pair of high quality boots and I'm a Red Wing customer for life now. Not only are these made in America, but the quality and look is the best. The break in period for me wasn't bad, but you definitely need to go to a store for sizing! I went back and forth on which model to get but I love the color and bottom of the 8111. I'm already thinking about getting another color. Are they expensive…yes but these will be a pair of boots I have for many years and hopefully I can even get them resoled when the time comes. You really can't appreciate the quality and craftsmanship until you see them in person, if you're in doubt a trip to your local store will help with your decision.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great American product. Worth every $ they coast. Several years ago I developed foot pain which was diagnosed as Morton's Neuroma. My foot doctor recommended shoes with a wide toe box, combined with ankle support and insoles with metatarsal pads. I first purchased a pair of the 606 boots which I consider to be the "sleeper" in the Redwing line. Almost no break in. Extremely comfortable. I needed something more dressy so I bought a pair of Beckman's in Cigar brown leather. While they took quite a while to break in due to the very stiff sole, they are now very easy to wear all day. Just a few weeks ago I went into the local Red Wing store to get some boot laces and spotted a pair of the 8111 Iron Rangers. When I tried them on I was surprised at the perfect fit ( with my insoles). Had to buy them! I wear lightweight smart wool type socks and my foot problems have gone away. I am on hard cement floors all the time and I normally walk 3 or 4 miles in a days time. I tried some high dollar running/ hiking shoes without much success but the Red Wings can't be beat in my opinion.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around Great footwear Iron rangers are a quality boot and wont let you down as long as you take good care of them. The boots are mostly leather so you really should let them dry completely after you use them heavily, or even after most use. I have gone more than 50 miles of hiking and did not get blisters and did not slip at all. They get more and more comfortable and look better and better, and will continue to get better as long as i take care of them. I would recommend these boots to anyone.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One year after purchase... Very happy with the purchase and service from Red Wing shoes in Hopkins, MN. Wear a size 14, so they had to be ordered. I recommend visiting your local store before buying, take the time to get sized, etc. Found out (at age 38) I have high arches, so I purchased the additional inserts. Break in wasn't too bad compared to others I've heard/read about, I do recommend wearing a thicker sock for the first month or two. Just went in last week and bought a second pair, Classic Mocs this time, looking forward to getting those.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from USA made product Instead of making another happy review. Instead I would like to thank the men and women who make such a fine product truly a enjoy and I'm very proud to own such fine craftsmanship it is a simply product yet build like old time America built durable built to be abused then fixed to start over again if I had one thing to change put your factory workers on the box they r as important as the logo thank you for the work u do
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I highly recommend the 8086. I purchased the 8086. After the break in period the have become the most comfortable footwear I own.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love with these boots Love the fit, the style and the quality. I sized down a half size and still a bit larger feeling in the toe area than I'm used to. In reality I'm starting to prefer that feeling over my Redwing logger boots which are a 1/2 size larger and very tight feeling. A big advantage of the looser fit is that my feet can breathe which results in zero foot odor and superior comfort. The oil tanned leather also prevents foot odor. They smell amazing, like leather should smell. The vibram sole is amazing with great traction. I wear them every chance I get. Quality is second to none. I got the charcoal color and love it, looks great with everything. Expect these will last for many years to come. Totally addicted to the Iron Ranger and will be buying more in the future. Love that they are made in USA.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love my 8111 I wear my red wings 8111 EVERY days, i have only on pair of shoes. Those shoes are unbelivable, absolutly terrific. I can‘t imagine going outside with other shoes on mt feet. The quality is incredible, the confort is unbelievable and the design of those 8111 totally perfect. I recommand !!!!!! Next time i will buy the same 8111 pair of shoes.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional build quality As a military guy I appreciate good footwear. I've got Lowas, Danners and Zamberlans. These are built to an even higher standard. I don't wear them out field because they're not combat boots. But around town they look great and I love having the military level quality on an everyday shoe. I haven't had them long so I'll post again in a few months but as yet they're faultless.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just about The Best Thing You Can Put on Your Feet I could hardlier be happier with these boots. And from my experience, I'm a little puzzled with their reputation for a brutal break-in. To be sure, they do loosen up a bit after a couple days of wear, but mine were perfectly comfortable straight out of the box. I have broken in multiple pairs of Dr Martens in the past, so maybe I've just killed off all the nerve endings in my feet, but honestly, these boots are like slippers relatively speaking. And although I haven't tried to go snow-skiing in them, I find even with the smooth soles these still have more than adequate grip. My only complaint, and this is minor, is that one boot's heel cap is ever so slightly off center. I don't anticipate this being any real problem, but...when you pay this kinda price for a pair of boots, and they are otherwise so excellent...nobody caught that? But as I say, a nit-picking complaint of an otherwise immaculate pair of boots. Leather (Mine are the black harness) is amazing. Workmanship (Apart from the aforementioned heel) is wonderful. Sizing is weird. I went into a Red Wing store and ended up sizing down one full size. Their staff are very helpful; I would recommend trying these on in-store before buying!
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Special Forces quality, Red Wing excellence I spent a long career in the Army Special Forces, spanning two decades. About four years ago, I purchased these because the founder of Goruck - former special operations soldier himself - showcased them in one of his product photos. After breaking them in, I took them on deployment to Afghanistan and, later, to Colombia. If I didn't have to be wearing our issued uniform for an official event, these are the boots I wore. I jumped out of airplanes and helicopters with them, shot with them, and took them on long treks. I am retired now, and these are still the boots I go to for just about anything I do. The quality is amazing. I could go from mowing my lawn with them, to doing a home improvement project, to cleaning them up, putting some leather conditioner, and I take them out on the town. Great job, Red Wing! De Oppresso Liber!
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best footwear I have ever owned I have two pair of the Iron Rangers: Black harness and Amber harness. I rotate them back and forth for work. I work in a warehouse walking on concrete and driving a forklift all day. When I clock out at the end of the day I just keep wearing them. Absolutely no foot pain! Build quality is excellent. Leather is excellent. Scratches buff right out. One year later they look and feel better than ever. If you are going to wear them without insoles or orthtics, size down. If you're like me and require insoles, buy your regular size. But of course, ALWAYS try them on. Can't say enough positive about these boots.
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Boots I take a 12W in most shoes, maybe a 13 in some boots like Lucchese. These are a 12EE so I was somewhat skeptical about the fit after reading the recommendations for 1/2 to 1 size smaller. Well, yes, I would agree with that summation. But only until I put in a pair of inserts. So, along with my merino wool socks, Bingo. Now had I gone 1/2 to 1 size smaller I doubt my inserts would have worked. And I love inserts. I know many people have said that you should try one on at a store if a Red Wing store is close by. Well, I purchase almost all of my shoes online for convenience and, to be honest, budget. I try to be very careful with my purchases. I do not like sending shoes back. Nor do I like wasting a salesman's time by trying shoes on at a store when I know I would not be buying them at the store. So you can take it from me.......if you wear, for example, a Rockport 12W or 12EE, or a Nike 12EEEE (which is like an E in any other shoe), and you like inserts and thick socks, this size will do you just fine. If you wear them raw then yeah, you may want 1/2 size smaller. If I could find one negative......the round laces that came with the boots seem a quite bit short. But I did buy these from 6PM so who knows.
Date published: 2017-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Excellent feel, but did not last as long as expected I would like to say start off by saying that the fit and feel of this boot is excellent. My issue with this boot is that durability is only average, at best. I have owned a pair of these for 3 years and the insole has cracked laterally across the inside of the right boot. I sent them back to Redwing to have this repaired as well as having them resoled. I received them back with a note stating they could not be repaired. My contention with this is they are sold and touted as being able to be resoled and repaired. However, when the time comes to have it done, I'm told that they cannot be fixed. I would expect a boot that is sold for over $300.00 would be able to sustain the wear of working in an office for 3 years. Finally, I called Redwing to speak to them about this. Again, I was told there's nothing they can do. So now I am forced to choose between purchasing another pair or switching to another brand made in the USA. I am saddened by this because I have been purchasing boots from Redwing for 17 years and will probably not be purchasing anymore.
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable. Durable. Beautiful. I had been looking at Red Wings Iron Rangers for a couple years, but that would have been the most I had ever spent on footwear and that dissuade me. In retrospect, I should have purchased when the Canadian dollar was on par with USD, but hindsight is 20/20. Last November I came to my senses, bought them, and have enjoyed every minute of wearing. From the fall weather through to some snow/slush, the only days I don't wear them are the deep winter and hot summer. They get more comfortable over time, have held up impeccably, and I must say they look great - I get compliments on them regularly. Wear them to work, wear them for an easy hike, wear the camping - they do it all.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot, brutal break-in. Having worked at Red Wing, I have about 10 pairs of boots from the line, and this black pair of Iron Rangers is my third pair from the Heritage line. My only real complaint is the hellacious break-in, it's much worse than my pair of Blacksmiths. The biggest difference isn't the toe-cap either, at least not in terms of how difficult and uncomfortable the break-in process is. I always question (internally) when a customer comes in and complains about the break-in with the Heritage line, they are usually just too sensitive and impatient (boots are to be broken in over a couple months!). However, with the Iron Ranger, I had the same issue/problem that many other Iron Ranger customers had, it's with the intense friction and pressure from directly on top of your foot, beneath the laces. There are times just sitting at my desk that it almost cuts off circulation, it's finally starting to relax, but I didn't have the same obstacle with the Blacksmith process. Other than that, it's a great, high-quality product as all of the Heritage boots tend to be, just be ready for the first 2-3 months of discomfort on top of your foot. Worth it.
Date published: 2017-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boots I absolutely love these boots I work in a machine shop with oil all over the floors and could not find shoes or boots to keep the oil out of my shoes. I bought these boots and OMG I love them not only are my feet dry from oil but they feel great after a break in period! I liked these so much I bought a second pair for normal wear. No more tennis shoes for me....
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really cool stuff This is my first pair of red wing shoes, and also my first boots. The outlook is really cool, colour is dark brown so it match with my dark indigo raw denim. They use high quality leather. There's hook for tighten up the shoelace, so makes me easier to do it. I bought size 12, slightly loose on the length side but snug on the width side. On the first week of wearing them, I feel little bit pain on my feet but after that, the shoes start to adapt with my feet size so they become fitted perfectly. I wear them everyday to go to the office, meeting with client, and at the weekend, hang out with friends. It really perfect combination with dark indigo raw jeans, cuff up your jeans so your boots become more exposed. I prefer darker colour, like this one, because they look more formal (I wearing them for office used). The iron ranger 8119 might be darker than this but my size out of stock. And also difficult to find big size like 12. Overall, this is perfect for my first impression of red wing shoes, and looking forward to buy the beckman model.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron Rangers are DaBomb A lot of guys mull a purchase like this for a LONG time - I did, like over a year. Spotted a guy in a store one day and asked him about his nice boots and he told me they were Red Wings Iron Rangers and he loved them. So, not wanting to spend $300+ on a pair of casual boots I bought a pair of the 595 Chukkas over a year ago and they have become my favorite pair of boots/shoes, above all, anything I have ever worn. I had not really heard of Red Wings being an office-worker, but I work outside a lot, and an avid outdoorsman, plus I ride motorcycles. NOW I know about Red Wings!! So I STILL wanted a pair of the 'real things', a real boot. I shopped and shopped, 'till it was just ridiculous. Read reviews, shopped ALL the competitors, and then FINALLY got a sale price on these and OH MY GOSH! what a fantastic pair of boots! I thought they would be too heavy - they're not. I thought they would be too clunky - they're not. I thought they would be too hot - they're not. I thought they would be too stiff to wear - comfy right out of the box. What a surprise! Ordered a half-size down from regular shoes - a 10-1/2 down from an 11, perfect. My 595's are also 10-1/2's and also fit perfectly. The leather-work, stitching, and craftsmanship is unparalleled - the quality is evident from the time you take them out of the box. These are the Real McCoy! So I'm wearing them today, rode to work, in the office, out to lunch, brand new boots and no foot pain. I thought I could put cushion insoles in but it makes them too tight. What I discovered is the shape is so natural that I don't need them, they just mold to your foot. If you're not sure about getting boots like these don't be - they are absolutely fantastic. I would not choose these for rough and tough hard work-boots - IMO they are more casual wear, shop wear, on your feet wear, not construction or roofing, or that type of wear. I would choose a moc-toe with a crepe sole for that application. I would choose these over hikers except for hiking! Besides, they look WAY nicer, very classic look. I love my Red Wings! Oh, and I got the lugged vibram sole, not the cork sole. Some reported the latter as slippery when wet so that wouldn't be good on a motorcycle. The hard-rubber Vibram sole is very nice and looks great on these.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Built to last a generation or two These Amber Harness 8111s are exceptional RW Heritage classics. Already owning the Chukkas-3137, Pecos-866, Moc-Toes-8138, and Blacksmiths-3340 ... this simply HAS to be my last pair. The sturdiness and workmanship continue to impress me - as with all previous RW purchases. One word of caution: ALWAYS try on a pair - and get fitted - in a Red Wing store, if possible. All purchased this year, I have two pair at size 9.5, another two pair at 9.0 ... and the Iron Rangers fitted at 8.5!!! The very same #8 "last" used for Blacksmiths and IRangers were a 1/2 size different on me. Although these may (or may not be) slightly more snug vs. the Blacksmiths during the break-in process, they still feel great. I wore them all day right out of the box - and my feet only had minor fatigue at the end of the day. And I'm wearing them again today (Day 2) to keep the momentum going. My sock of choice is "Darn Tough" Hikers Boot Sock - Merino Wool, which provide firm cushioning for the feet. I expect these Iron Rangers to fit like gloves once I get a few more miles on 'em.
Date published: 2017-05-10
  • y_2017, m_10, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_198
  • loc_en_US, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8083

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×