Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

LEATHER:
Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, HAWTHORNE Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 283.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_25, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_283
  • loc_en_US, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8083 Iron Ranger features premium Hawthorne Muleskinner leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery. Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery.

Roughout Leather

Roughout leather is created using a reverse-suede technique at our very own S.B. Foot Tanning Co. While most tanneries split, thin and weaken the hide to create the rough suede surface, we simply use the other side of the hide. By doing so, we avoid splitting or thinning our full-grain hides. This makes our Roughout leather just as strong and durable as our other leathers.


Leather: Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8083 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8083

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Iron Ranger Has A Cult Following For A Reason I'm a long time fan of Red Wing products. I bought my first pair of chukkas in 2009, then ordered a pair of Beckman's in 2011. A few weeks ago, after some indecision between black and charcoal I pulled the trigger on these Iron Rangers in charcoal. I wanted a boot that was a little more casual than the Beckman that I didn't have to worry about roughing up. Out of the box they have the fit and finish that you'd expect of Red Wing's products. I love how easy these are to put on and take off due to the lace hooks at the top, this was one of my major pet peeves with the Beckman boot. Although I really have no complaints about the Beckman they are difficult to take off, especially when going through airport security. I'm happy with my choice of charcoal. I like the gun metal gray hardware on this boot over the chrome in the other colors. The color is slight in some places, you can see the tan color of the leather coming through in the right light but I know they'll darken with time. The imperfections add to the character of them. The leather on the Iron Ranger wasn't quite as stiff as the other two pairs of Red Wing's I own which made the break-in period much faster and easier. The sole is also more flexible and has slightly more bend to it, making these more comfortable to walk in. I'm looking forward to putting many more miles in the coming years! Thanks for making such phenomenal products. You have a customer for life.
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron Ranger 8111 Amber Harness Admired these boots for some time and finally decided to order a pair. I do not have a Red Wing dealer anywhere near me so I had to go off of reviews for sizing. After ordering online and trying several pairs and returning/exchanging I found the perfect fit. I normally wear an 11.5 EE in almost all shoes and boots but these boots are a great fit at the 10.5 EE size. I wear these boots 5-6 days per week from early morning til night and they are a great boot and very comfortable. The quality and workmanship are first rate and I see these boots lasting for a very long time. Made in the United States of America is very important to me.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! Probably the nicest and most long lasting shoes I’ve ever had. A little pricey but I think the craftsmanship and longevity definitely make up for it. I would recommend to new buyers to consider putting insoles or orthotics of some kind in there to make them more comfortable during the break-in period. Other than that a great buy!
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best boots ever best boots ever had and this are my every day boots 7 days a weeks hey! they cost a lot of money so I decide to were it every day I also clean them every day with a brush I work in a office but I walk a lot also at home I have a farm so they get dirt and muddy I enjoy cleaning them so I don't care they are scrashy and hill is were it a lot is bean a year size I buy this boots I will post pic on the 2nd year but ill be resoling this boots this year keep in mind Im using this boots every day since is my only pare of shoes
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am a woman and I bought these and love them! I thought these were nicer than the women’s version so I tried them on in the Red Wing, Minnesota store. They felt great and I am lucky that the men’s size 7 fit perfectly. Wonderfully made and great look. I wore them on a quick trip to Kentucky for 2 days and walked a lot and my feet did not get sore until later on the second day. I don’t think I will need much more break in time. They look great with skinny jeans and straight leg jeans. I highly recommend these proudly made in the USA boots. Well worth the price and can be outside for work or for nice. The sales associate said with proper maintenance I could get them resoled up to 3 times.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product, runs a bit on the large side. Excellent pair of boots! I purchased these as my business-casual set of boots. I thought about wolverine 1000 miles but was concerned about durability and after deciding on these I'm not disappointed! They aren't the most 'business' looking but they do the job very well. The charcoal leather is thick takes some working but once it breaks in its fantastic. The outsole is very grippy, I've had zero issues with slipping and the stitching on my pair was phenomenal. The strangest part was getting used to the leather insole. I was prepared for a difficult break-in but surprisingly mine took only about two weeks to feel like a pair of socks. Considering the way I wear these I've no doubt this pair of Redwings will be just like my last pair; a second skin that lasts for at least three resolings.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable These are the most uncomfortable boots I have ever had. A pair of Corcoran jump boots are 10 times more comfy. Even boots issued in basic were more comfortable. I have had 15 pairs of 2264's over the years. That was a good boot, but they decided to quit making it. I have had the Iron Rangers for 1.5 years, I even dropped 40 bucks on the inserts for them, and still no luck.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 7.5 Year Birthday!!! My boots celebrated their 7.5 year birthday this week. I still love them and use them often. I've used nothing on these boots other than saddle soap and mink oil 1-2 times per year. I did need to finally replace the laces, so I made 550 Paracord laces for them with heat-shrink ends. Original soles. Buy these boots... You will love them!!
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Try in a store but love the fit Measured both feet at store and bought full size down. Tried on four different pairs including wide width. Leather is soft, stitching was cleanly executed and the boots fit snug without uncomfortable pressure points. Expect to wair 4-5 times a week and bought boot soaks which made a large difference.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice Boot! I love these boots. The best thing is they're made in the USA. I'm done buying cheap products made overseas in sweatshops. I only wish RW would make this exact boot with a full lug sole. Now that would awesome!
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wore them to the interview....got the job. The quality is evident from the compliments I get about these nearly 4 year old boots. My breaking in period suggestion: wear them for a hearty chore: mow the yard with a push mower, split wood, anything to get a full range of motion out of them and they will soon feel like a second skin.
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honestly, my prized possession. I have worn these boots almost every day for a little over a year. They have worn in extremely well, though I don’t wear them as a work boot or anything. I wear about a 11.5 or so in tennis shoes, and these are 10.5. But if you can get the size right, they are perfect and will form to your foot. I normally upkee them by lightly cleaning with a damp cloth and I’ll oil them every few months.
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Quality, Timeless Looks, Versatile I had been eyeballing these for years before I pulled the trigger, and always thought I'd be disappointed when I actually got them. You should never meet your heroes, as they say. What an utter fool I was, because these boots did not and have not disappointed me in any way! Zero buyers remorse, and every time I put them on (or even look at them) I still feel the elation I felt the day I bought them. I wear them in business situations, family and friend get togethers, wrenching in the garage, and even to church without feeling out of place. I have a light step and am pretty easy on my footwear, so they still look brand new with minimal maintenance (just brushing and light coats of mink oil) after 5 months of wearing them 2-3 times a week. As many suggest, go to a store to get fitted or order a size/size and a half down. I bought a size down because my feet are wide, but if you have a narrow foot you could definitely get away with going one and a half down. They break in reasonably quick, if you are a boot person you will know what to expect. If you've never had a "heritage" boot, you might be surprised at the discomfort for the first week or two. Power through, boots are awesome.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time buyer, more to come! I am a first time buyer, and I absolutely have no regrets. Like other reviewers have already suggested, I believe a larger upfront cost for a higher-quality product is actually a money-saver in the long-term, especially if you care for the product. I work on hard floors for much of the day, so I find quality footwear a must. The craftsmanship is great, and they became comfortable quite quickly (within 1.5 days of use). Other reviewers have suggested initially they are uncomfortable, since the leather takes a bit of time to soften up, but I wore mine slightly loosely tied for the first two days, and that seemed to address the initial wearing in period. Now, the leather has relaxed, and my boots are quite comfortable; sometimes I need to wear them 12 hours at a time, and my feet are never "tired" at the end of the day. The look seems classic, and they can be worn and look great on casual Fridays with darker jeans and a dress shirt, and the look can be pulled off with slightly more formal clothing. I suppose they could be worn for more physical work than what I do, though I am not sure the bottom tread provides the traction one might need. Given the size differential others have mentioned, I think it might be worth visiting a retailer for the purchase of your first pair. I needed to go up about one-size from Italian shoe size. It was helpful for me to visit my local retailer; the sales staff seemed knowledgeable, including about service and maintenance of my Red Wings. In the future, I may buy online, but I don't regret visiting the retailer for the first time around. And I do appreciate that these boots were made in America...
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable right out of the box Slipped these boots on to do a day’s work as soon as they came in the mail, my feet thanked me. Stepped out to make some sales calls feeling supper confident in these classic fashion statements. Doesn’t matter whether I’m in the shop, in the bush or making sales calls these babies deliver. Thx again Redwing:-)
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10/10 Everything you would want out of a three hundred dollar boot. I wear a size 10 in vans and went in to have me sized and I was suprised when 8.5 fit perfect. Would recommend going in to get them fitted, because they know exactly what size to fit you for. Excellent product.
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boot... First let me say that being a former Marine one of the reasons why I chose the Muleskinner was because the rough out leather reminds me of the old USMC Boondockers, and I love the way this leather ages. And I really like the history of the Iron Ranger. Having owned other US made boots, and high end boots made in Italy, Canada and England I can say, without reservation, that this is the best made, most durable boot I have owned - a superior product. All those other makes (often costing $300 more) are gone, the Iron Rangers remain. I usually wear a 10E or 10.5 - the size 10 worked well for me, especially since I like to wear a heavy sock during our New England winters. These are a man's boot, and a boot that literally could last a life time. This may sound silly, but when I'm out hiking or in the office or at Church and I look down on those aged cap toes I just get a warm, satisfied feeling. You will not regret purchasing this iconic American classic.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever Ok, maybe not the best purchase ever but its up there. I've spent my life as a cheapskate refusing to buy adult shoes all while coveting these boots. I finally made the purchase and I'm glad I did. They look great. I work for a PNW software company. The dress and culture is casual. I wear these boots daily and I look professional, if not dressy, but still comfortable and casual. I wear them with dark jeans and khakis. They're comfortable. A couple of weeks ago I walked 10 miles in them and I felt great. I walk and ride my bike daily. That means I spend alot of time in the rain. My feet are always dry and the boots are dry quickly. I've only had them a few months so I can't speak to the durability. A friend has had his a few years and he'll be getting them re-soled this summer. I found the break-in period to be less painful than others described. They were stiff at first but I was fine after a week. Naturally they're more comfortable today but it didn't take long. As others have mentioned, you need a smaller size. I wear a 8/8.5. I got a 7.5 which felt tight at first. I sometimes wonder if I shouldn't have got a 7. Might have made the break-in period harder but could be better fit now.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Review after 5 years of use. These boots will last forever if you take care of them. This is the best boot you can buy for your hard earned money, and Red Wing stands behind their products and will help you to wear them forever.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boot Exceeds Expectations I was on the fence for a long time about buying Redwing Boots. I originally wanted the 8114, but the don't come in EE. I settled on the 8085. At first boot ran tight ,but after wearing it and using leather conditioner the boot started breaking in. I'm happy with my purchase but wish they ran EE im 8114. I would highly recommend these boots. If your im NJ I recommend going to store 873 Greenbrook NJ and see Joe. Great customer service!
Date published: 2018-02-14
  • y_2018, m_4, d_25, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_283
  • loc_en_US, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8083

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×