Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

LEATHER:
Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, HAWTHORNE Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 163.
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_163
  • loc_en_US, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8083 Iron Ranger features premium Hawthorne Muleskinner leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery. Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery.

Roughout Leather

Roughout leather is created using a reverse-suede technique at our very own S.B. Foot Tanning Co. While most tanneries split, thin and weaken the hide to create the rough suede surface, we simply use the other side of the hide. By doing so, we avoid splitting or thinning our full-grain hides. This makes our Roughout leather just as strong and durable as our other leathers.


Leather: Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8083 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8083

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I have been wearing various brands of foreign made boots for years and have never been happy with them. The price of these can certainly scare people away as it did I. I finally went to a store and picked up a pair and could not believe the difference these could make. It is an investment in yourself that will truly make you happy. The quality cannot be understated. This is American craftsmanship at it's finest. I recall seeing many people wearing them in my travels to foreign countries and realized that something must be special about this product. If they are willing to pay the high price overseas, they must be good. Turns out they were right. Spend the extra $100 and keep America working. With the longevity of this product, it is your money you will be saving in the long run.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots I've had Had these for a little over a year now. Absolutely love the style and they fit near perfect. I usually wear a thicker sock so they're a bit more snug towards the toe of the boot. I bought them at a local shop and they didn't have ones with different soles. Being that I live in Wisconsin, I'd recommend the ones with tread. Definitely worth the money. Boot that I plan on wearing for the next 15-20 years.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever These are the best boots I've ever owned. I got my Rangers from Brooks Brothers and they have the Vibram soles for motorcycle riding!! These boots combined with the great sole (not the original one but the deep tread Vibram soles) are the holy grail of motorcycle boots. Also, there was no problem breaking them in and no pain to be had. Just the perfect boot. The only flaw I've found with them is that the right boot appears to be just a tad wider than the left one but I haven't measured yet.
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product These boots look good in jeans or dress pants. Hands down best footwear I've ever purchased. I've actually scuffed the toe, but after some bolt oil and additional wear, the scuffed has nearly disappeared. It's like the leather has 'self-healing' properties. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Red Wing USA Product I'm a longtime Red Wing USA customer and already own a pair of 10877, 10875, 899, 953, 606, 676 boots from the USA line. I had my eye on a pair of Iron Rangers for quite some time and just recently picked a pair up. Unlike other reviewers I found them to be true to size and I bought my same size I always get in Red Wing USA boots. I think the size discrepancy is from guys who normally wear sneakers and they tend to run small. If you wear a 12 in sneakers, you will probably wear a 11.5 in boots. I tried them on in the store and walked around and the saleswoman also agreed that I needed the same size as my others. I love these boots so far and found that the Red Wing leather cream made for the Heritage line works best as to not darken the leather like my other "work boot" products I always use. These are strictly for weekends and dress, not to be beaten up. They are a dress shoe of the sort and don't need "heavy duty" protection from the elements. I'm more interested in keeping them pretty and looking nice. While at the store a salesman from a nearby car dealership wondered over and was looking for a premium pair of good quality made in USA boots. I talked to him a bit and he asked me some questions. Before I left he was leaving with another pair of Iron Rangers and Beckman's. LOL I told him you get what you pay for and your feet will thank you. He never had a pair like that before and always wore cheapos. There is a big difference and you won't regret it. He also liked the fact that these can be resoled when that time comes and it was another selling point for him along with being USA made. I'm very happy with my purchase and well satisfied like always. Keep making them and I will keep buying them.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Robust and elegant construction. Versatile and Timeless When viewed from every angle the contours of the boots always look handsome. Every visible construction detail is done to perfection. The leather is tough to break in but it is what I expected and enjoy because it is a meaningful journey to make the boots truly yours. I heeded the advice on the internet and bought half a size down from my normal size, which fits perfectly.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best value in men's boot wear I've had my cork soles for over a year and they've slowly molded to my feet like a glove. Fit perfect at my normal size 12, they are so comfortable I wear them daily. I am a customer for life, American made and American quality.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Products in EE! Greatest shoe/boot I have ever worn. Oil'em up a few times for faster break in. I actually had a customer at my workplace stop and stare at my shoes for about 30 seconds and say, "Those are NICE shoes".......never saw anything like that happen before. I would definitely buy more of these if EE was available in more colors/styles.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An American Icon The work and craftsmanship that goes into Red Wing boots is very impressive and exactly what "You" are looking for! Do not get scared off by the price. They are a bargain once they are on your feet and you look down and realize the favor you just did yourself. Believe me. You'll love them for life. Thank you, Red Wing! Well done! MENS SIZING : a HALF SIZE down and purchase a pair of RED WING INSOLES. They will fit like a glove. You'll thank me later. You're welcome.
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots ever once broken in...run a bit long. This is my 2nd pair of Red Wings and I was told the Iron Ranger runs big (long). I usually wear a size 13 and my feet are somewhat wide but I don't usually require a wide fit shoe. So, I ordered a size 12D and at first they were flat out tight. But, after wearing them indoors for a short while they began to stretch out. I decided to go for it and break them in. A little Mink Oil and Leather Protector and off I went! It didn't take long before they became the most comfortable and supportive shoes I own! Go for it, you won't regret it! Gonna buy some Beckman Rounds next!!!
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shoes for all day... I'm on my feet from 12-16 hours/day, and these are the most comfortable shoes I've worn in 40 years. Break in was 2 days. Since then...ahhhh. They're my "daily drivers." Wear 8.5EE, wish the size was avail in black.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite boot After 3 years the soles were worn down and I sent them in to Red Wings for the premium repair service. They just came back and its like I have a new pair of boots, only they are already broken in to my feet. Also, the new sole has traction that I will try out on the snow and ice, something the flat sole does not allow. I have never written a review for shoes, but what can I say, these are amazing. They look great with everything and are like wearing your childhood baseball mitt.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Redwing, I have a pair of boots that had the original leather soles 40 years old. They finally gave out and can't resole but I keep them for remembering my days pumping gas at 16 at 1.35 and hour. Don't remember what I paid for them but they were the most comfortable non-burning sole on concrete there was. Wish you still had full leather soles. I also had a pair of identical insulated ones my gf made me throw away :(. They had been resoled 4 times and were still in glove fitting comfortable shape. Next pair I buy will be these. Saving up.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unsurpassed quality in materials and construction. The materials and craftsmanship that went in to making these boots is rarely seen nowadays. If your looking for instant gratification in comfort and fit, this ain't it. This boot is gonna make you work for it. Once they're broke in you won't find a more comfortable pair of footwear.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for everyone, but a great boot First off, it's looks, they can be polarizing but there's nothing visually I don't like. Are they always practical? Definitely not. The sole could use more texturing for grip, (especially during rain), and they're not the most comfortable depending on the surface and no arch support. Walk around all day and you're gonna feel it. But they're tough, last a long while and wear in beautifully. I crashed in them (motorcycle), and they got scuffed, scratched and scarred, which broke my heart a bit because I love these boots; but with a good brushing, conditioning and boot oil, they still look good and they have character. These boots are my daily, and I only wish I could afford to buy more.
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great These boots are great! Lots of people have mentioned them being uncomfortable, but they have been comfortable for me right out of the box, even with thin socks! The upper has softened quicker than these reviews would lead you to believe. The vibrate sole has been good (even when sprinting through torrential downpours). I wouldn't say that somebody should buy this as a rugged work boot, but i do think it meets a great place between form and function. I can stand up all day at work, look good, and know my feet are reasonably protected from a moderately hazardous work environment. I did buy some flat waxed cotton laces from a competing American boot company though. shhhhhh. They look much better than the stock laces IMHO.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from STYLISH BUT IMPRACTICAL Got a pair of these to try them out and sent them back within a week. They are handsome (and popular) boots but expensive and a poor fit. They are very narrow with no arch support and the cork soles are pretty much worthless. They 'clack' loudly when walking and they get super slick when wet. The toe cap pinches down on the top of your foot and the heel is stiff enough to rub you raw. They mostly fit fine length-wise but they aren't wide enough for the average foot and ee's aren't much better. They say to size down, but I say size up just so you have room for a dr scholls. These are definitely targeted more at the dressier more 'metro' crowd, because they are not good work boots - not even good everyday walking boots really. They aren't light enough to be dressy, and they aren't comfortable enough to be work boots, so I don't really know what they're for LOL. I would strongly suggest you try them on before you spend the $300 plus.
Date published: 2016-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love em Have had these for just over a year now. Absolutely love them. Picked em up in a store that carries Red Wings. Deinfitely recommend doing so. They were almost a full size smaller than other boots I wear and roughly a half size smaller than other shoes I wear. Not the greatest in snow and ice obviously, they're pretty slick, but absolutely love them. Go well with most jeans. I'm a student and go well there obviously. Same as a night on the town or at work on the odd days I wear them there. Absolutely worth the buy.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 8119 have great traction and don't darken with mink oil. I purchased the 8119 six months ago. It took about 2 weeks to break in to the point I could wear them all day without my feet hurting. 6 months later, they feel like putting on a glove. The Vibram mini-lugs have great traction. Leather patina looks great. I sized down one full size.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This boot is awesome. Simply. But... runs big. I've only had the boot a couple of weeks. Still breaking them in. The most important thing is... they run big. My left foot is slightly larger than my right and I OBSESS over sizing and fit. I own the red wing heritage 877 in a 10. So I bought a ten. Then returned them. Then bought a 9.5. Then returned them. Then bought a 9. I don't have a particularly wide foot but they push at the sides a little. (Which will give) they are an AWESOME boot and are breaking in nicely. Only drawback is the smooth cork sole is SLICK. Which makes it almost exclusively a fashion boot where it could do more.
Date published: 2016-12-24
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_163
  • loc_en_US, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8083

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×