Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and free returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

LEATHER:
Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, HAWTHORNE Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 182.
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_182
  • loc_en_US, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8083 Iron Ranger features premium Hawthorne Muleskinner leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery. Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery.

Roughout Leather

Roughout leather is created using a reverse-suede technique at our very own S.B. Foot Tanning Co. While most tanneries split, thin and weaken the hide to create the rough suede surface, we simply use the other side of the hide. By doing so, we avoid splitting or thinning our full-grain hides. This makes our Roughout leather just as strong and durable as our other leathers.


Leather: Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8083 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8083

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boots I absolutely love these boots I work in a machine shop with oil all over the floors and could not find shoes or boots to keep the oil out of my shoes. I bought these boots and OMG I love them not only are my feet dry from oil but they feel great after a break in period! I liked these so much I bought a second pair for normal wear. No more tennis shoes for me....
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really cool stuff This is my first pair of red wing shoes, and also my first boots. The outlook is really cool, colour is dark brown so it match with my dark indigo raw denim. They use high quality leather. There's hook for tighten up the shoelace, so makes me easier to do it. I bought size 12, slightly loose on the length side but snug on the width side. On the first week of wearing them, I feel little bit pain on my feet but after that, the shoes start to adapt with my feet size so they become fitted perfectly. I wear them everyday to go to the office, meeting with client, and at the weekend, hang out with friends. It really perfect combination with dark indigo raw jeans, cuff up your jeans so your boots become more exposed. I prefer darker colour, like this one, because they look more formal (I wearing them for office used). The iron ranger 8119 might be darker than this but my size out of stock. And also difficult to find big size like 12. Overall, this is perfect for my first impression of red wing shoes, and looking forward to buy the beckman model.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron Rangers are DaBomb A lot of guys mull a purchase like this for a LONG time - I did, like over a year. Spotted a guy in a store one day and asked him about his nice boots and he told me they were Red Wings Iron Rangers and he loved them. So, not wanting to spend $300+ on a pair of casual boots I bought a pair of the 595 Chukkas over a year ago and they have become my favorite pair of boots/shoes, above all, anything I have ever worn. I had not really heard of Red Wings being an office-worker, but I work outside a lot, and an avid outdoorsman, plus I ride motorcycles. NOW I know about Red Wings!! So I STILL wanted a pair of the 'real things', a real boot. I shopped and shopped, 'till it was just ridiculous. Read reviews, shopped ALL the competitors, and then FINALLY got a sale price on these and OH MY GOSH! what a fantastic pair of boots! I thought they would be too heavy - they're not. I thought they would be too clunky - they're not. I thought they would be too hot - they're not. I thought they would be too stiff to wear - comfy right out of the box. What a surprise! Ordered a half-size down from regular shoes - a 10-1/2 down from an 11, perfect. My 595's are also 10-1/2's and also fit perfectly. The leather-work, stitching, and craftsmanship is unparalleled - the quality is evident from the time you take them out of the box. These are the Real McCoy! So I'm wearing them today, rode to work, in the office, out to lunch, brand new boots and no foot pain. I thought I could put cushion insoles in but it makes them too tight. What I discovered is the shape is so natural that I don't need them, they just mold to your foot. If you're not sure about getting boots like these don't be - they are absolutely fantastic. I would not choose these for rough and tough hard work-boots - IMO they are more casual wear, shop wear, on your feet wear, not construction or roofing, or that type of wear. I would choose a moc-toe with a crepe sole for that application. I would choose these over hikers except for hiking! Besides, they look WAY nicer, very classic look. I love my Red Wings! Oh, and I got the lugged vibram sole, not the cork sole. Some reported the latter as slippery when wet so that wouldn't be good on a motorcycle. The hard-rubber Vibram sole is very nice and looks great on these.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Built to last a generation or two These Amber Harness 8111s are exceptional RW Heritage classics. Already owning the Chukkas-3137, Pecos-866, Moc-Toes-8138, and Blacksmiths-3340 ... this simply HAS to be my last pair. The sturdiness and workmanship continue to impress me - as with all previous RW purchases. One word of caution: ALWAYS try on a pair - and get fitted - in a Red Wing store, if possible. All purchased this year, I have two pair at size 9.5, another two pair at 9.0 ... and the Iron Rangers fitted at 8.5!!! The very same #8 "last" used for Blacksmiths and IRangers were a 1/2 size different on me. Although these may (or may not be) slightly more snug vs. the Blacksmiths during the break-in process, they still feel great. I wore them all day right out of the box - and my feet only had minor fatigue at the end of the day. And I'm wearing them again today (Day 2) to keep the momentum going. My sock of choice is "Darn Tough" Hikers Boot Sock - Merino Wool, which provide firm cushioning for the feet. I expect these Iron Rangers to fit like gloves once I get a few more miles on 'em.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Many compliments on my Iron Rangers After much deliberation I finally purchased these great boots. Yes as many have said, they do require patience with the breaking in of them. I have had mine since January, 2017. While I don't wear them everyday as I rotate my boots daily and never wear the same pair on consecutive days, they were great after about two weeks. have been using the boot oil on them and have been really pleased with the results. Looking to get a second pair for my boot collection. Just haven't decided which Red Wings to get.
Date published: 2017-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best pair of footwear I've owned. I'm writing this review after 2.5 years of ownership of the 8111s. I had been intrigued with red wings for many years an I finally sprung for a pair. My buddies were all buying 1907s (which I also bought a year ago and love), but I went with the rangers for my first pair for a bit dressier look with that awesome capped toe. The break in period was a chore for sure, but well worth it. Like playing catch for hours and hours to get your baseball glove to get that perfect pocket. It's a must, and worth the work. The leather is elite, as is the stitching and footbed, however when I get them resoled years from now I will definitely move to the mini-lug sole as the cork is slippery on snow/ice/wet grass etc. if you are on the fence on these, jump off. You will not be disappointed.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You're 2 months from the best boots ever. I'm 15 months in with my charcoal Iron Rangers, and I will never buy a pair of non-Red Wing boots again. Measured at a Red Wing store, I ordered a half-size down from my normal. As many have noted, the break-in period is no joke. Sore feet, hot spots, and occasional mid-day swaps to an old pair of boots were the norm for about 6 weeks for me. Since about week 7 until now, week 63 or so, they've plateaued at a level of "not quite slippers, but close" comfort. I'm envious of the new vibram mini-lug sole, as I have cork nitrile and they're slick as spit on snow and ice, but a skating rink is about the only place that I won't walk in my Rangers. Next pair of boots: Iron Rangers in Copper R&T. Then I'll be set for life.
Date published: 2017-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best pair of boots I've ever owned These boots have been through fire, rain, achres of blackberrys and a lot of walking, and I can say these are the best pair of boots I've owned. after they are broken in are the most comfortable, and by far the highest quality pair I've owned as well
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second pair and always impressed I purchased a new pair of 8085's a few weeks ago, I figured I'd wear them awhile before writing a review. I have to say as with every American made Redwing boot these are outstanding! I've had a very easy break in period with the Copper rough and tough leather, far easier than the Black Harness leather Iron Rangers(equally a great boot). Iron Rangers run a bit long so I've heard to order a half size down, I always order true to my size 11 C in most boots, I haven't gone wrong with an 11D in these with the leather inserts. I love the new 430 vibram soles as I can now wear them to work when I'm not climbing poles, my old pair have the smooth sole and aren't much good for too much off roaring, but I recognized that they were more of a dressy boot upon purchasing. Cheers to whomever decided to put a more aggressive sole on the Iron Ranger without going too aggressive! Any way great pair of boots, oil them up, and take care of these and they will take care of you!
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They keep getting better I thought about getting these boots for a long time, and finally decided to go for the 8085 in Copper Rough and Tough. I wouldn't say they were comfortable right out of the box. If i wore them too much right after I got them, my feet would definitely get sore and I'd have to wear something else for a while. But after several wears and a decent amount of walking, it's just like everyone says: the leather starts to soften and mold to your foot, and the footbed takes the shape of your foot and becomes something distinctly yours. I've had mine for about 4 months now and although they are comfortable, I don't think they are fully broken in. They are definitely solid, and the leather just keeps getting softer and better-looking the longer I have them. If you're looking for a pair of boots that will last and look great in the process, get a pair of Redwings
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever I've had my Iron Rangers now for 5 months. They took a couple weeks to break in, but once completed they've been perfect. I just decided to add insoles (shaped comfort footbed) and holy buckets, they're now the best pair of footwear I've ever had. Totally worth the investment, I wear tennis shoes for 3 years, these boots will most likely last the rest of my life.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Investment I am very happy with my purchase of the model 8111 in Amber harness. The materials and workmanship are top notch. They are comfortable right out of the box. I bought a size 10 1/2 when I usually wear an 11.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pair of boots Recently bought a pair of these boots over here in Europe. Having served for 14 years in the British Army I like to have something solid on my feet, and its getting harder to find well made , honest boots. These came recommended by a friend , and I must say he did me a big favour. I bought a UK size 10, my normal size and they fit perfectly, I wore them daily for 2 weeks and they are now really comfortable and broken in. I can only recommend them as being the ideal boots for anyone looking for an honest boot, made by real craftsmen , built to last, and I for one truly believe in supporting companies like this.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 8083 hawthorne muleskinner I just purchased the iron ranger 8083 and I have to say right out of the box they captured my eye. The rugged look of the rough out leather gives the boot a casual yet hard working character and that's why I chose the muleskinner because I'm going to be using these bad boys for off road work where I didn't want a heavy work boot to weigh me down as I'm gathering firewood trail riding with my family and most of all protecting my feet as I'm in the bush these boots need less attention because of the rough out and will only look and feel better as they age. I believe boot care is key also just like cleaning my rifles is key for accuracy . Thanks Red Wing for keeping these USA boots alive and thanks to all the American workers at Red Wing for their dedication.
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots This is my second pair of iron rangers and the 8083 Hawthorne is my favorite. Much easier breakin than the 8111. Same great construction and quality. These are my go to boots this spring and summer.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great looks Bad comfort After wearing the 8111's for 3 months I will say I love the look of these boots but they are terribly uncomfortable! Virtually no arch support,hard as a rock. They will not loosen up. I bought some power step inserts to help but good God there is barely enough room for the supports.These are strictly going out boots, that's it. Don't even think of working in these. I wonder if moc toes would have been a better bet. If I didn't love the look so much I would give up on them!
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from oops The boot is really well-made, and the fit is wonderful. I bought the 8085 copper rough-n-tough color, because I already had a pair in dark brown. The problem is that the copper became dark brown already after just 4 months and I was looking forward to enjoying the lighter copper color. Sorry if I sound like a whiner. I'm just encouraging new buyers to ask about this at the store before you buy, simply so that your expectations are realistic (unlike mine). Setting the color factor to the side, the boot feels excellent, as always.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! First off they run about a size big, similar to my 875s. I normally wear size 13D shoe, but am a 12D in redwing heritage. The quality and craftsmanship is actually amazing, even better than the 875s imo. The break in period on these was significantly easier and quicker than my 875s as well. Overall, a great boot. I will eventually invest in getting a sole with some traction put on, however.
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The quality and craftmanship of these boots are excellent I bought my 8085 boots at my local Red Wing dealer. My feet were measured as 9 1/2 and was fitted with a size 9. Over the last several years, I've made an effort to search out and buy American made products. For the most part, I have found that the quality of American made stuff is outstanding and my Red Wing 8085 Iron Rangers are a perfect example. I was dreading the anticipated break in time and/or pain. I wore the boots for half a day for the first couple of days, but since then I have worn them all day, every day. The break in wasn't nearly as hard as I was anticipating. I've now had them for two weeks and they are very comfortable. This is my third pair of Red Wing boots, but my first American made. Beautiful, quality product. You get what you pay for and I'm happy to put my money where my mouth is.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I have been wearing various brands of foreign made boots for years and have never been happy with them. The price of these can certainly scare people away as it did I. I finally went to a store and picked up a pair and could not believe the difference these could make. It is an investment in yourself that will truly make you happy. The quality cannot be understated. This is American craftsmanship at it's finest. I recall seeing many people wearing them in my travels to foreign countries and realized that something must be special about this product. If they are willing to pay the high price overseas, they must be good. Turns out they were right. Spend the extra $100 and keep America working. With the longevity of this product, it is your money you will be saving in the long run.
Date published: 2017-02-16
  • y_2017, m_8, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_182
  • loc_en_US, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8083

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×