Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8083

LEATHER:
Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, HAWTHORNE Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 283.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_283
  • loc_en_US, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8083 Iron Ranger features premium Hawthorne Muleskinner leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery. Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery.

Roughout Leather

Roughout leather is created using a reverse-suede technique at our very own S.B. Foot Tanning Co. While most tanneries split, thin and weaken the hide to create the rough suede surface, we simply use the other side of the hide. By doing so, we avoid splitting or thinning our full-grain hides. This makes our Roughout leather just as strong and durable as our other leathers.


Leather: Hawthorne Muleskinner Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8083 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8083 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8083

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boots that every real man should have I just got my pair of IRON RANGER Copper boots and I must say, my first impression was awesome. They look and feel great. I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic boots So unlike a lot of reviewers I’ve worn these boots going on 3 years, almost daily. Yes, they’re stiff . initially, yes, they’re a minor uncomfortable at first. yes, there is upkeep with these boots. To me, All of those I think are positive aspects because they become gloves for your feet. I walk forever in them and don’t get fatigued. You should go into a store, like I did, and have your feet scanned for correct fit. I had to half size down and found out I have wider feet than I thought. These are heirloom quality and should be treated as such. Wear them and love them. I wax and mink oil them to preserve them and I’ve never had a thread tear or fray. Buy them, love them, wear them.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Granddaddy’s work shoes for the younger man. Fit I’d call impeccable. Worn them new out of the box every day for 2 weeks now, all I’m thinking about is the next pair I’ll get. Most likely in black. Haven’t slipped, no water issues only thing is they lack insulation when it’s cold but this is Tx. My big toes hurt a bit from break in but I’m feeling the insole mold to my foot a bit more every day. Look like a million bucks.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality As a surveyor I’m always on my feet. Walking several miles a day on anything from asphalt and concrete to freshly plowed fields and the woods. The day I tried these own I could tell these aren’t just a pair of nice looking boots. I have $700 cowboy boots that don’t have the quality these have. I was very skeptical that they would be the type of boot “inspired” by the working boots of yesteryear but they are made just like those boots were and I have no doubt they will last through years of use. I’ve typically stuck with Ariat slip on boots but I’ve gotten to where I need something that won’t stretch out so bad that after a year I’m looking for new boots. The Ariat boots are not bad by any means, it’s just I really need more ankle support and the ability to adjust the tightness, and a lace up fits the bill. Go try them on and you won’t be dissatisfied. They run a little small and narrow for me. In tennis shoes I wear an 11 wide. My cowboy boots are all 10-11s and all wide. But these I’m in a 9.5 regular. I can’t see any way you could complain about these boots if you actually try them on. And if you get the wrong size, we’ll thats not their fault and you can always return them.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boot I got tired of having to buy new boots every couple of months as I am extremely hard on shoes in general. I have had 5 knee surgeries whitch causes me to walk a little different so shoe quality is important and I literally have never seen or felt quality and comfort like this. They put up a fight to break in but after about a month of wearing every single day for work and play, they just keep getting better and better. I love these boots and will definitely be buying another pair.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots I have a few pairs of Redwing boots but these are my favourites, I’m size 10 uk and with thick socks size 10 in these fits perfectly but I would advise you to try first. Well made and stylish.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don’t wait buy them now ! Waited years to buy my first pair of Red Wing Iron Rangers, should have bought them sooner. These boots are exactly what people said they would be, they are great looking and they are really comfortable. I have worn them everyday since I finished breaking them in. I have already started looking for my next pair. Thank you for making such a great pair of boots. I know I will enjoy these for years to come.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding boots! I've had my Iron Ranger 8111 boots for three weeks now. I could not be happier. Everything you read about them was pretty well true for me as well. I sized down from a 10EE to a 9EE and the fit is perfect. They were a little tough the first few times I wore them, but I was careful to wear them only a few hours at a time for the first several times, then wearing them a few hours longer each time. I had them on today for ten hours of total comfort. I absolutely love the quality build and the classic look of this boot. Get yourself a pair - you'll be glad you did! Also - a big shout out to the ladies at the Red Wing store in Wichita Falls, TX. They got me fitted correctly, ordered my boots and had them w/in a week - even during the busy Christmas season. Thanks ladies!
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Skillfully done on a Pair of Boots Iron ranger ... what more can I say I am wearing a Legend .. Thank you Red Wing Shoes .co .... keep up the great work and retain those matured and skillful workers .. they know their stuffs and my heart goes to the miners that were killed during the Industrial years of America a hundred years ago ... hard to earn a living back then ....
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First pair of high quality boots Just purchased these boots. Have only worn them for a couple days. Still have a bit to go on breaking them in. The fit is a full size smaller than the normal shoe size I wear. I went to Red Wings store to have 5em fitted before I purchased. They look amazing. You can feel the quality, and they only start looking better the more you wear them.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots to Last a Lifetime Great boots - will last a lifetime. Quality and Craftsmanship are top-notch. I have owned Red Wing pull-on work boots and Iron Rangers all my life and every pair only gets better with age. I have read some reviews that talk about these boots being hard to break in....while they are a little stiff at first it is because these boots are constructed of the best materials - best leather, steel shank, etc.. Once any Red Wing boots are broken-in they conform to your foot, are uniquely your own, and will be comfortable for a lifetime. If you want cheap boots with no break-in time, look for boots somewhere else. If you want top-quality boots that will conform to your foot, look great, and last a lifetime then invest the extra money in Red Wings - you will not be disappointed. My Iron Rangers felt great by the 2nd wear. If you're a tenderfoot, wear sandals. If you're a man that wants great looking boots that your lady will love to see you wear, get some Iron Rangers. Recommendation - Find a Red Wing retailer and get fitted correctly.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot A great boot and true to size. I have had mine 3 years, and they are still very nice. I am not that hard on them and oil them twice a year.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! And Totally Worth the Money These at the best boots that you can buy. The craftsmanship is amazing. Buy down a half size and be patient when breaking them in. After a few weeks they are so comfortable! I wear them everyday !
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from uncomfortable Cork midsole in the right boot compressed and left me feeling the rather sharp edge of the welt all along the right side of my foot. This was brutally uncomfortable. That was on an 11.5 EE, which, despite being EE was not even close to a wide sizing. I usually wear 12 or 13 depending on the shoe, and was fitted in the store for these. My left boot was fine, otherwise very beautiful but I have boots I cannot wear. I bought a pair of Beckmans on the same day which are doing the same thing - this has never happened on any pair of boots I've ever owned. If you are going to buy any of these boots, I'd get insoles first and then size the boots to fit with them. This concept of the cork midsole forming like a glove to your foot is a dream that might not come true, and an expensive one.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad i finally ordered these! I have had RW's in the past and they were decent boots. I usually am a 13 D in most boots/sneakers, so I've had to use some trial and error with RW's boots. However, these are 12 D's and fit like a glove. Now my other RW's needed a lot of time to break in however, I have only worn these twice and the feel like I've worn them for years! I will definitely be ordering another color in the near future!
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome boot for serious work or play Bought these shoes because I didn't need a large sole and heavy boot. They are a great upper without all the modern foam rubber paddling. Took some time to get them feeling like slippers but fit unlike any other boot I have owned. Including all redwing boots. I use them to work and for going out. The guy at redwing said that they were more of a fashion boot because of the sole. He couldn't be more incorrect. The sole is designed for flat surface and grips well on hard surface. Leather is strong, insoles are all natural and never need more plastic,fabric pads to make them fit and feel good. I had to use the end of a box end wrench to message some inner leather areas that overlap to soften the transition in the bottom sole. Worked out perfectly and never had and issue with even a blister on my foot. These shoes are not for the weak foot or for a fashion statement. If you plan to walk a thousand miles in a boot pick these. Old world craftsmanship that will last a very long time.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boot :) This is my 6th pair of heritage boots , these were comfortable from day 1 ,just wish they came with leather laces
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My first boots. Very nice at all. Almost everything perfect but: cork sole is totally" worth" . It is heavy, not flexible and solid. Vibram much better
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shoe I have had! I usually wear size 14 EE in most boots. The biggest the store had was 13 D. I tried them on and they surprisingly fit. They were slightly snug on the outside of my feet but after wearing them only a few days they feel like they were tailored just for me. Perfect shoe and will buy another pair soon!!
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot, but needs break in For all of you have had the pleasure of breaking in your Red Wings and killing yourselves doing it, here is some friendly advice. THEY ALL NEED BREAKING IN! EVERY new shoe or boot, no matter what brand does not fit your foot until it is broken in. Some are easier than others, some are softer, but that is not the case here. Water is your boots' enemy! If you soak them, then you will buy a new pair sooner! Period. It is great for the boot business, but this is not 1820 and there are way more options and sizes available than back then. If you fit it properly, a tad looser is better, then your break in can be done in a few days...depending on what you've been wearing most of the time. Soft shoes make your feet soft. They cause more heat and more sweat. You don't want that. You want your feet to feel like the palms of your hands, tough but not calloused. Next, your toes should feel like they are hanging out a window, touching nothing. If you feel the end or the sides of the boots with your toes, then you will have to break that in and that is not pleasant. The ball of the foot should feel comfortably snug, not tight. Tight means it will need to stretch. If you want that, then feel free, but snug means the boot will break in with a little time. Your heel should slip between 1/8 and 1//4 inch. Two things here. 1...the heel counter needs to mold to your bone structure. That will take a few hours. 10-20. DO NOT DO THAT IN TWO DAYS!!! Break that into 2-4 hour time periods. You will not hurt your feet that way and that is safe. If you hurt your feet, blisters or sore spots, then you will have to wait a few days or weeks to start the process over again. Your feet will need to heal first. Two...your sole and insole need to flex. At present, your new boots are stiff and when you bend the boot as you walk, the boot does not want to follow. Hence, the heel slip. That will disappear as the boot breaks in. The last thing I want to mention is, you might have noticed that the toes on your new boots turn up. That is on purpose!! When you walk, your heel does not move until the sole touches the ground. At that point, the heel slips. This is by design by Red Wing to help with that break in. A design that was developed in the 1940's. A rule of thumb I go by...the looser you can stand a shoe the easier the break in (just the rough edges), the tighter the boots, the longer the break in. Hope this helps someone!
Date published: 2017-11-23
  • y_2018, m_4, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_283
  • loc_en_US, sid_08083, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8083

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×