Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8119

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8119

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8119

LEATHER:
Oxblood Mesa Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, OXBLOOD MESA Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 302.
  • y_2018, m_7, d_16, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_302
  • loc_en_US, sid_08119, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8119 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8119 Iron Ranger features premium Oxblood Mesa leather, bronze hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Oxblood Mesa Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Dark Gun Metal Eyelets & Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8119 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the Full Grain Leather upper, Leather footboard and Cork Midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8119 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8119

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from First pair of goodyear welt boots, I'm in love. I started out with a true to size pair of Beckmans that really hurt my feet, so I opted for a pair of Iron Rangers istead that fits perfectly TTS. A must have for any boot enthusiast.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from From a humble Lineman I'm here to tell ya something. Quite possibly the most comfortable boots I've put on. Now I've been up and down poles and graduated my self to easier work but I know that if you take care of your feet then they will take care of you. I usually wear ariat boots and still do. But I pulled the trigger on these a while back after looking at them for almost 3 months. If you have any doubts, don't. They are amazing. Got them off slapped some mink oil on them and wore every day for 3 weeks. Absolutely amazing. Thought that I would need an insole but went without and very glad I did. I have been hard on my feet, was in the Marines from 2003 to 2012, then lineman, now I'm still in the electrical buisness( Better job title) hands down best boot I've bought. Will buy another pair just because 5 out of 5 stars thanks guys
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! Normally wear 13EE bought 12D's I wanted to share my sizing and break in period. I normally wear 13EE in almost all shoes/boots and have pretty wide feet (especially my right foot). I took the advice of almost everyone else that reviewed and sized down a full size and bought 12D (gambled and went with D width, since EE is not available in black harness color). The length is perfect, with plenty of wiggle room for my toes, but they were tight width wise, but nothing unbearable. After 3 weeks of continuous wear (about 8-9 hours a day, 5 days a week, these boots are starting to form to my feet great and the pain spots are almost gone. The first two weeks of break in were pretty rough, but not enough to stop me from wearing them. I only got pain on the top of my left foot where the boot bends, and along the outside of my wider right foot because the leather hasn't broken in and widened with my foot yet. I slowly see the boots widening with my foot as they break in though, and they are quite comfortable now. I can't imagine buying EE in these, as I feel once they broke in, they would be too loose. Before I wore them for the first time, I bought the Red Wing leather cream, and rubbed in a good layer of leather cream on the boots, ran a warm blow dryer over them to help the cream soak in, and let them sit for 24 hours. Then I wiped them down, laced them up, and have been wearing them since. I feel the leather cream and hair dryer helped soften the leather and helped the break in period for sure. Anyways, I love these boots and can only imagine another couple weeks and these will be fully broken in. My biggest advice is to definitely size down a full size, if you wear EE you should be good with D width (just give them time to form to your feet because they will), buy the leather cream and apply liberally, hair dryer them and let them sit for 24 hours before you wear them.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality boot This is an amazing quality boot. The leather is durable and the overall craftmanship is outstanding. Classic looking boot that molds to your foot. So comfortable you can wear this boot for days!! Very happy with this purchase. Find a good cobbler that can refurbish the soles and you'll have this shoe for a decade.
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pull The Trigger! Did the math - tired of blowing out boots every 1-2 years - pulled the trigger on the IR and with only 7 days in with my purchase, getting better every day - couldn't be happier. Don't have a dealer even close to me, but followed the reviews and went a ½ size down - perfect. Charcoal color was darker than expected - which I wanted - almost a matte black and should look even better with wear. Mini-Lug sole has a great lower profile, not the best on snow/ice, but knew that going in. On my feet about 10 hours a day - from the ski tune room to the ski rental department, looks nice enough for the retail floor and beyond. Thanks Redwing! - Hope our next contact is only to get new soles.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memories have been made with these boots. I've done just about everything with these boots. After almost 4 years of heavy use they are needing a resole. By my own negligence has caused the rear heal portion to become slightly detached from the insole. I should have let these rest more often - but with such an amazing boot, I couldn't leave the house without them! Hopefully Red Wing can fix the issue before it is too late. The leather tells a story, and that story is mine.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boot These boots are really great. You do have to wear a pair of wool socks with them but they are still great.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just love I never ever write reviews but guys... I'm in love with this boots. Everything is great, best of the quality and thinking in a new pair
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure if these would qualify as a work boot Just purchased a pair of 914s and wanted something to wear after work and on the weekends. Went to my local retailer and tried on a pair. Apparently, they don't come in an E width, but the D width fit and a half-size smaller did the trick. However, they don't have an insole and there is no arch support. (This is why I question their use for a work boot.) As a result, they didn't work for me. Stylewise, I really like them and their construction is excellent. Long-term comfort doesn't seem to be there for me. For $300+ I expect comfort and workmanship. I really like them, but can't spend that kind of money on something that may not work for me.
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy Once. Buy Right. I live by a strict philosophy that you should always buy the best of something. While expensive in the moment, you will both save money down the road and be living with a product that you know you will only grow closer to over time. That is why i bought the Iron Ranger 8111's. An everyday boot i can wear at home, work, walking the dog and even out to a nice dinner (maybe clean them first). I hope for these to be the last boots i need to buy - at least for the next 10 years. Thank you guys.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent boot with great looks After reviewing several brands and styles I kept coming back to this boot. I have one other pair of Red Wings and really like them so I made the choice to have these ordered from the store here in Durham, NC. While I'm still breaking these in I've worn them for at least 8 hours a day since I picked them up this past Monday. They get more comfortable every day. I don't understand some of the reviews where folks talk about how painful the break-in process is. Typically wear a size 13 the ones I purchased are a 12 and fit well. The quality of the materials and craftsmanship of the boots are both outstanding. They look great with khakis or jeans and I've had several compliments on them already. If you are on the fence about pulling the trigger on purchasing these go ahead and get them...you will not be disappointed!!
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing daily boots I’m from Rome, Italy, I’ve just bought a pair of Iron and a pair of classic Moc Toe, two extraordinary pairs of handcrafted boots. I’ll do an heavy use outside due to my job and the first impression is totally positive! I suggest You to try at least one time a pair of RWS! Soon i’m coming in the USA and surely I’ll buy a new pair! Thanks a lot to RWS artisans
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time boot buyer with long flat feet I picked up a pair of 1907 moc toe boots about 6 years ago in size 11.5 I think. Even though I was completely inlove with them I knew they were too big, my girlfriend called me Eddie munster. So for years I was thinking about how I couldn’t waite to get another pair of boots so they would be the right size! Back then I didn’t realize how forgiving redwing was with returns so I just muscled through. So fast forward to this round, I went in just to look but walked out with 8111 iron rangers. My feet don’t match, my right foot is US 11.5 and my left foot is US 11 so the first pair I tried on was 11.5 and said you know I think this is fine and headed home. I went ahead and wore them for a day or two and each day they felt more and more loose, I was super nervous about getting stuck with them too big again. So I took them back, grabbed an 11 and headed home. Same thing wore them around the house for a couple evenings and just still felt too loose, so headed back to the red wing store to trade them in. The whole time I was thinking yep everyone in the reviews were right this is crazy I’ve never taken shoes back? Grabbed a 10.5 and went home, still feeling nervous and unsure as well as super embarrassed, I went back! By now the guy was like listen you can’t go down smaller this is your size. So he gave me some large inserts (redwing comfort force footbed) and I couldn’t believe the dif that made. What I was starting to realize is how flat my feet actually are, zero arches what so ever, flat as a pancake. So even though the length was now correct the height made them feel super sloppy. Now I’m almost 5 months of daily wear in the 10.5 and they are incredible, they’re now like a firm handshake. The only other thing I didn’t realize as a new boot buyer was how much your feet really do swell throughout the day, when I put them on it the morning they feel looser and clunky but through out the day as your foot swells you forget they’re even on. Sometimes they swell enough I need to loosen the laces a bit so trying them on later in the day for the first time like they recommend is a real thing. I hope this saves someone the embarrassment of going to the store over and over again!
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great looks, weird fit. I've had my charcoal rangers for about two months.i wear a 12 in most sneakers. I measured a 12 on my right and and 12.5 on my left foot at the redwing store so I bought a size 12. They fit comfortably snug when I first got them but they loosened up quickly within the first 3-4 wears. I really didn't have a bad, multi-month long break in like everybody else talks about. Sounds to me like everyone is buying their boots way to small for their feet. Boots are meant to be roomy and accommodate thick socks and insoles. I will say that these boots run narrow and long and the leather insoles are very thick and sharp on the edges so if you happen be in a situation where you have to stand a little off of the center of your foot, your heel can feel that sharp edge of that insole. I solved this by sanding the insoles sharp edges down with a piece of sandpaper. Smooth sailing now. Probably could have bought a wide instead but it was too late. I also can't believe that even though the leather insoles are seemingly hard as a rock when you touch them these boots just don't hurt my feet. It probably sounds like a lot of complaining but I really do love wearing these boots. In fact, I just bought another pair in amber harness leather and I also bought a pair of roughnecks. So I definitely recommend them even with their flaws. I just wish they would refine the hard, sharp and thick edges of the insoles and maybe shorten the length a quarter inch or so.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good quality, poor fit. I bought my Iron Rangers several months ago and have finally broken them in, which is where my beef with these boots lies. The right boot fits great and is very comfortable; the left boot, however, feels a size too big. I contacted Red Wing customer service before I bought the boots and was advised to buy a full size down from my normal shoe/boot size, which I did. I immediately noticed heel slippage in the left boot, which, over time, has become almost intolerable. I've tried thicker socks, stick-on heel pads, and alternative lacings, all to no avail. I had read that after break-in, the heel slippage would lessen and the boot would eventually conform to the wearer's heel. I have not found this to be the case; in fact, the more I wear the boots, the worse the slippage seems to become. I tried to contact Red Wing about this by email, but never received a response, which was disappointing. I thought Red Wing might have suggestions as to how to improve heel slippage, which seems to be a fairly common complaint about this style. These boots are not cheap. I expected a better fit. I want to like these boots; they are well made and look good, but the fit is poor. Maybe my boots are an aberration, but I am disappointed nonetheless.
Date published: 2018-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant quality, a slightly dressier go-to workhorse for daily adventures. I'm director of production in showbiz, and spend 12 hours a day on my feet supervising load-in and tech at indoor and outdoor venues. 13 years in this business, and I'm on my 5th pair of Redwings (3 are still happily in rotation). The iron ranger is my latest purchase (my first heritage) and they are now a year old. Fantastic boot. Bit of a haul breaking in, but only around the ankles (this leather is quality). I use the RW oil on my boots, so they still have a little glimmer on them, and have become my fall-back boot for jeans, chinos, and occasionally even a charcoal suit. I also own 8" high steel toes, and the 11" pull-on ropers. If I'm absolutely positive nobody's gonna drop something on my tootsies that day, or I need to throw on a blazer for a meeting or lunch, these guys find their way into my days more often than not. They head straight out for cocktails with me, too, even if the rest of my outfit changes! They have held up great, a year on these feet is quite a thing, and they show no signs of giving up look or fit or function still. If I had a tiny quibble, it would be that they are not quite dressy enough for a suit, but lack enough of a grip for icy expeditions in the city. @Redwing: where did the brogues go in the heritage collection?
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boots that every real man should have I just got my pair of IRON RANGER Copper boots and I must say, my first impression was awesome. They look and feel great. I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic boots So unlike a lot of reviewers I’ve worn these boots going on 3 years, almost daily. Yes, they’re stiff . initially, yes, they’re a minor uncomfortable at first. yes, there is upkeep with these boots. To me, All of those I think are positive aspects because they become gloves for your feet. I walk forever in them and don’t get fatigued. You should go into a store, like I did, and have your feet scanned for correct fit. I had to half size down and found out I have wider feet than I thought. These are heirloom quality and should be treated as such. Wear them and love them. I wax and mink oil them to preserve them and I’ve never had a thread tear or fray. Buy them, love them, wear them.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Granddaddy’s work shoes for the younger man. Fit I’d call impeccable. Worn them new out of the box every day for 2 weeks now, all I’m thinking about is the next pair I’ll get. Most likely in black. Haven’t slipped, no water issues only thing is they lack insulation when it’s cold but this is Tx. My big toes hurt a bit from break in but I’m feeling the insole mold to my foot a bit more every day. Look like a million bucks.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality As a surveyor I’m always on my feet. Walking several miles a day on anything from asphalt and concrete to freshly plowed fields and the woods. The day I tried these own I could tell these aren’t just a pair of nice looking boots. I have $700 cowboy boots that don’t have the quality these have. I was very skeptical that they would be the type of boot “inspired” by the working boots of yesteryear but they are made just like those boots were and I have no doubt they will last through years of use. I’ve typically stuck with Ariat slip on boots but I’ve gotten to where I need something that won’t stretch out so bad that after a year I’m looking for new boots. The Ariat boots are not bad by any means, it’s just I really need more ankle support and the ability to adjust the tightness, and a lace up fits the bill. Go try them on and you won’t be dissatisfied. They run a little small and narrow for me. In tennis shoes I wear an 11 wide. My cowboy boots are all 10-11s and all wide. But these I’m in a 9.5 regular. I can’t see any way you could complain about these boots if you actually try them on. And if you get the wrong size, we’ll thats not their fault and you can always return them.
Date published: 2018-01-04
  • y_2018, m_7, d_16, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_302
  • loc_en_US, sid_08119, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8119

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×