Free Expedited Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Expedited Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

8-inch Classic Moc product photo

8-inch Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 877

$289.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 8-INCH+ BOOTS

Added to cart

8-inch Classic Moc product photo

8-inch Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 877

$289.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

8-inch Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 877

LEATHER:
Oro Legacy Leather
$289.99 USD
8" BROWN, 877 Mens is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 49.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_00877, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs. Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs.

STYLE NO. 877 : 8-inch Classic Moc

The 877 is the most iconic Red Wing boot, worn by millions of American workers since 1953. It’s eight inches of premium Red Wing Oro Legacy leather combined with Goodyear welt construction, a Traction Tred outsole and triple stitched quality.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

In 1952, we introduced a boot that has come to be synonymous with Red Wing ever since. The 8-inch Style No. 877 was made with russet colored leather, tanned using the sap of sequoia bark, yielding a rich color that was very close to the coat of an Irish Setter hunting dog. The 877 had a crescent-stitched “moc toe” and sported a wedge sole made from a white crepe rubber that promised to be quiet underfoot for sportsmen in the woods. This sole had been used on shoes before but the No. 877 was the first to use it on a tall hunting boot. In addition to its benefits for the stalking hunter, its comfort also found favor on the job site and soon the 877 was seen in the factories and on the scaffolds of a growing America. The No. 877 has changed little from its origins, remaining essentially the same boot that was ceremonially presented to President Eisenhower in 1960. Today it is the iconic Red Wing boot.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Oro Legacy Leather
Outsole: Traction Tred
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Leather Welt
Last: 23
Shank: None
Laces: 63-inch Tan/Gold Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 877 : 8-inch Classic Moc

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 877 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Most customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 877

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is I need EE width and these only come in D Loved the 877 when I 1st started wearing them almost 30 years ago..I have the 10877s now.. would prefer the oro-legacy leather now but these don't come in wide widths..c'mon Redwing...make me some size 10EE
    Date published: 2017-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional, stylish, and worth the money This a great pair of boots. I've worn mine in almost every condition (rain, snow, mud, desert, etc.) and they function wonderfully. I recommend wearing a thick pair of wool socks for the first week or two to break in the stiff leather, but after that any crew sock will work well. I use mink oil and a buffing brush regularly to keep the boots waterproof and in great condition. After wearing for several months the boot really molds to your foot unlike any other boot I own. The 8 inches allows you to really feel locked in if the situation requires it, sometimes I only lace up half way and then wrap the laces around my ankle once before tying. I highly recommend this boot, and the R&T Leather is a fantastic color. Well done Red Wing.
    Date published: 2017-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from $300 boots for a reason Break in period 6 straight 10 hour days. Hard on feet until broken in, leather sole forms to foot for unbeatable comfort. 8" gives additional support to ankles & displaces boot weight. Will buy another pair for casual wear. Being a Union member means supporting American products, such as Red Wing Boots.
    Date published: 2017-03-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great boot! Bad luck. This boot is made with exceptional quality and craftsmanship, once the break in period was over they really do fit like a glove. Unfortunately though I think I got a bad pair. After wearing them for 5 days a week for three weeks they have began to make my big toe numb on my right foot only and I can't wear them. I've tried to wear them loose and tight and anywhere between and I still can't wear them. These are great boots other than that, and I'm sure it's an uncommon issue.
    Date published: 2017-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality These are my second pair. First was the lighter moc 8". Had them for about a year before purchasing these. I'm a union electrician, so these where my everyday boot. Loved them. My personal experience, not too much breaking in needed. They mold to the foot fairly quick. I do work on all types of terrain. The only thing I can say is the sole completely wore on the toes (red wings will resole). Other than that with some care the leather last and last. No seperation on the stitching. Most likely my boot for the remainder of my career... as long as it's continued to be made in the good old USA.
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from High price, low quality, worse warranty Stitching below laces pulled apart within 8 months. Sole was completely gone within a year. I'm a bench TIG welder so i dont even walk around that much. Granted, before the soles wore out these thing were the most comfortable things I've ever had on my feet. I was extremely disappointed that a 315 dollar pair of boots could not survive a year of sitting a bench. I will never buy red wings again. I'll go with a cheaper boot and replace them once a year for less the half the money.
    Date published: 2017-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really comfortable and durable I recently purchased a pair and I love them. They are beautiful in color and the red wing team was so helpful in helping me with size. I wear a larger foot and they don't have half sizes but they fit perfect. It's not as heavy as I expected and way more comfortable than I thought it would be
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best boots you can buy I was always a skeptic about spending close to 300 dollars on a pair of boots but once I tried cheaper made in China varieties, I soon discovered that a quality boot such as every pair that red wing makes, you begin to understand the value in paying a higher price. My 877's are the most comfortable pair of footwear I own and getting over the idea of wearing in the summer with shorts, I'd wear them all year round because nothing matches the comfort. I would have to say I'm obsessed with Red Wings. Nothing compares to their quality and craftsmanship. If I could I would buy every model they have in every leather offering. I would suggest sizing down as everyone knows by 1/2 size and wearing a quality wool sock such as smartwool. Despite what others say about the sole wearing out, I would happily resole mine every 2 years because they are simply worth it that much to me. I'm tempted to buy a second pair just to wear outside of work. Don't be put off by the prices of these boots, they are an investment and taking care of them will give you many years of enjoyment. There is no better boot available.
    Date published: 2016-11-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Yes & no I was expecting a lot more from these boots I mean they're good looking & comfortable but 3 to 4 months of using them they look so old kinda disappointed ( scratched leather & cracked sole )
    Date published: 2016-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Width is great. Slightly big. Definitely go 1/2 size smaller. Very comfortable and very durable and well made. I wear boots year round and it has been a struggle to find a boot that lasts longer than a few to several months for me. I'm an active man from Wisconsin and I'm outdoors all year round. I needed boots that were light, durable, comfortable, and waterproof. Never had a pair wedges before but always liked the moc toe design. Finally got a pair for Christmas last year and have been wearing them ever since. Almost a year later and they look and feel like I've only had them for a month. Best boots I've ever had. Yes, they're a bit expensive but you can't cheap out on footwear. You have to take care of your feet.
    Date published: 2016-11-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sole coming apart - 3 years of very mild use. I've owned these boots for the past 3 years and used to wear them a couple times a month. I am disappointed in the quality. The boot is very rugged, but the sole on one boot started to pop as I walk, as if the middle of the sole is separating from the boot. The sole is still in good shape, so this isn't a issue with wear. I purchased these boots with the hopes of wearing them for the next 20 years, ( I have another pair of Wings that I bought in 1998 and they are still as good as new) - but don't I don't wear these anymore because the popping is a drag.
    Date published: 2016-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality & comfort with incomparable style The 8830's fit a half size bigger than the 1907's which is solid information to pass on. They're lighter weight and have an instant comfort. Break in period was fast and I'm overly pleased with these. You can't beat the copper Rough & tough style either
    Date published: 2016-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality American Made This is my1st pair of Redwing877's. I owned a pair of Thorogoods before this after 5 months the stitching came undone, and the sole cracked all the way. The 877 took some time to break in but once broken in they feel like part of your feet. LOVE MY REDWINGS
    Date published: 2016-10-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love <3 (also i have a question to ask) bought these about 8 months ago unfortunately they didnt have my size so i got half a size bigger but theyre still amazing. also i have a question to ask. will these be as good in the snow, inclement weathers and such?
    Date published: 2016-10-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed that the sole came apart after 5 years of mild use. I purchased these boots for hunting because I liked the tall profile. But after 3-4 years of use during hunting season and only on weekends, the sole began to detach from the boot. My local RW store where I purchased them from told me I was SOL.
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boots right off the bat They're great, once you get them they'll need to be broken in. You'll also notice that they DONT have any insoles, which makes ZERO sense to me. And You can't just go into Walmart and get any either. You'll have to go into a redwing spot and ask for the ones for this boot or order them online, the insoles need to be thin otherwise your feet will loose circulation. I recommend wearing them for about two months before actually getting the insoles, just to have them all of the way broken in. These are definitely the most comfortable boots I've ever had (once they've broken in) so I recommend them highly. Not only are they good for work, They also look pretty good with a nice pair of jeans. I wear them at least 40 hours a week for work alone, I'm wearing them right now.
    Date published: 2016-06-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soles came unglued I'm very disappointed in Redwing after purchasing these boots only five years ago. The souls have come unglued and I don't hardly wear them but a couple times a month for hunting.
    Date published: 2016-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Redwing for women Upon realizing they make smaller sizes in these boots I was ready to buy. I purchased these boots in a size 6. I wear a women's size 8 and these boots fit wonderfully. I am breaking them in now and this process is not so bad.
    Date published: 2016-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my goodness why I didn't know about them first First I bought the Thorogood 6" wedge, but after a month wearing them they still are the most uncomfortable boots on the planet, so right away I bought RW 10877 from eBay 8.5 E last pair for $119 ( yes that was Blassing) so now I think why I made mistake and did buy RW.., the difference is day and night especially in comfort area the Red Wing is light, beautiful and well crafted, I can say that it is the best and most comfortable right from the box boots.
    Date published: 2016-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i will never own another pair of boots. I've had these boots for over a year with heavy use in the crane rental business, with long hours and harsh working environments. not a single sign of blowing out or wearing out. if you clean and oil them roughly once every month they will last. Great boot.
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_49
    • loc_en_US, sid_00877, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritage

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×
    Please enter a valid email address

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×

    Where to buy your
    8-inch Classic Moc

    STYLE No. 877

    You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

    Online Partner

    Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

    FIND A STORE

    Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

    ×