Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

8-inch Classic Moc product photo

8-inch Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8830

$299.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 8-INCH+ BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

8-inch Classic Moc product photo

8-inch Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8830

$299.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

8-inch Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8830

LEATHER:
Copper Rough & Tough Leather
$299.99 USD
8" MOC, COPPER R&T Mens is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 52.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_08830, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs. Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs.

STYLE NO. 8830 : 8-inch Classic Moc

Modeled after the 877, the 8830 features classic Copper Rough & Tough leather, Goodyear welt construction, a Traction Tred outsole and triple stitched quality.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

In 1952, we introduced a boot that has come to be synonymous with Red Wing ever since. The 8-inch Style No. 877 was made with russet colored leather, tanned using the sap of sequoia bark, yielding a rich color that was very close to the coat of an Irish Setter hunting dog. The 877 had a crescent-stitched “moc toe” and sported a wedge sole made from a white crepe rubber that promised to be quiet underfoot for sportsmen in the woods. This sole had been used on shoes before but the No. 877 was the first to use it on a tall hunting boot. In addition to its benefits for the stalking hunter, its comfort also found favor on the job site and soon the 877 was seen in the factories and on the scaffolds of a growing America. The No. 877 has changed little from its origins, remaining essentially the same boot that was ceremonially presented to President Eisenhower in 1960. Today it is the iconic Red Wing boot.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Copper Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Traction Tred
Hardware: Dark Gun Metal Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

The 8830 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Most customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8830

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Redwing for women Upon realizing they make smaller sizes in these boots I was ready to buy. I purchased these boots in a size 6. I wear a women's size 8 and these boots fit wonderfully. I am breaking them in now and this process is not so bad.
    Date published: 2016-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my goodness why I didn't know about them first First I bought the Thorogood 6" wedge, but after a month wearing them they still are the most uncomfortable boots on the planet, so right away I bought RW 10877 from eBay 8.5 E last pair for $119 ( yes that was Blassing) so now I think why I made mistake and did buy RW.., the difference is day and night especially in comfort area the Red Wing is light, beautiful and well crafted, I can say that it is the best and most comfortable right from the box boots.
    Date published: 2016-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i will never own another pair of boots. I've had these boots for over a year with heavy use in the crane rental business, with long hours and harsh working environments. not a single sign of blowing out or wearing out. if you clean and oil them roughly once every month they will last. Great boot.
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top Notch In 1974 I bought a pair of these boots for $55 on sale. I was 17. I went hunting, walked everywhere, walked to swim practice at 5:30am and went to college wearing these boots, walked to practice at 5:30 wore out the soles and had a shoe repairman replace them with lugged vibrams and walked all over campus, a part time job as a dishwasher got so much grease on these boots they stayed waterproof for 4 years and they were molded to my feet. I never owned a car until I was 25. After college it was on to grad school and after 8 years and another pair of vibram soles and summer jobs as a furniture mover I traded them in for wing tips. I went everywhere in those boots and they never let me down. I wish to heck I had kept them just as a souvenir. Now I am almost 59 and I'm out of the office and I'm building an organic garden (Its a huge garden or even mini farm lol) and I think in retirement I'm going to be a market gardener. Never could sit still and I bought another pair of 877s and I will let you know in 8 years how far these have gone. The 2015 model is exactly the same. One caveat in 74' I only had one pair rain or shine and I think this time around I will have a 2d pair (6" for #2) to let the 1st one dry out bc even it rains I am not staying inside if there is work to be done. Living your dreams is easier in a good pair of boots.
    Date published: 2015-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love everything about the boots. My red wing boots are the best boots I have ever purchased and worn. They are comfortable and have a great look. I would recommend this product to anyone in need of a great pair of boots.
    Date published: 2015-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fit!! Awesome boots- American made, excellent quality, wear them all the time. Only thing is that my left boot has 10 eyelets on each side and the right boot has 11 eyelets on each side....
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best $$$ I've spent on boots. As good as advertised. Once you take the time to break these babies in, your feet will love you. Well worth the $$$. Do yourself a favor and pick up a pair.
    Date published: 2015-04-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Why so narrow ? Tried the D and then the E. Did dot bother to break in the D now sorry I put the time and skin into the E's. Not going to roll the dice on the EE's. Would only recommend if you unless you have a very very narrow foot.
    Date published: 2015-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 23 years =19 pairs = the best! = will keep buying them " IF " they don't change As a 4th generation stonemason,I know deeply the saying " You get out of it what you put into it ." As a little kid, when my dad would get home from a hard day of work, I would unlace his 877's. They were made well and with quality materials. When I got in the trade, I saw the older journeymen, great craftsmen , wearing the 877's. As I earned enough money to buy a pair , I too experienced the glove fit and light weight feel( they were a deep red color back then). From then on I've bought and worn the 877. True to their craft/ true to my craft. To Red Wing Shoes: Don't change it. Period. Keep making in the USA( I support my fellow Americans)Use brass eyelets. Use good laces. Top quality leather. I will pay a fair price for them because they are a good value . I will keep buying as long as I can walk : only if you don't change the 877. Thanks for making them this long. ! Nothing is perfect ,but if you appreciate a great , well made product, made by your neighbor , buy it , break it in, feel a little pain and then....you will buy another and another....Paul
    Date published: 2015-03-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from At best, these boots are a carbon copy of the original 877 boot. Even after a break in period, due to the narrow uncomfortable fit, it needs insoles. Back in the day, Red Wing was known for the being the boot company that went all out. A perfect example is the Irish Setter Sport Boot, with the unique patch inside the boot, or the Storm Trooper Boot they made during WW2, also known for its unique patch inside. I feel now, Red Wing is basically taking short cuts, which is exactly what they did on this boot. It doesn't fit true to size, really narrow for some reason. Also, after the break in period, the insole doesn't mold to your foot. The boot still requires an insole, which I despise wearing. Every quality boot I've owned, never needed an extra insole. This boot should not require one either, not for something that costs $330.00. I'd be better off getting the Thorogood's. Made in USA, and half the price, and comfortable. For the record, I wear these everyday.
    Date published: 2015-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Iron Tough" boot I have been an union Ironworker in NYC for almost 20 years now and have tried many different boots for work. It was about 5 years ago I bough my first pair of Redwing model 877 and never looked back! As ironworkers are work is demanding and we need demanding products that can with stand all kinds of punishment! These boots bar-nun are it! Weather its extreme hot or cold temperatures out side you can rely on your Redwings to get you through your shift! When walking on the iron you can almost feel your foot come into contact with the steel and, when you are walking on narrow steel beams hundreds of feet in the air grip is very crucial. That is what the model 877 gives you a sense of security and dependability to get that new office building built or spanning a new bridge! Its all so important as a union member to try and buy as many products made in the USA by union labor! The model 877 is made in the USA and when you go into a Redwing store and show them your union card you get a discount and that my friends is very refreshing in todays world! Thank You Redwing!! So as long as I'm still building buildings and bridges Redwing 877 will be the only thing on my feet!
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't ask for more. I love these boots. I went to a Redwing outlet store for my 14th birthday and got these boots. I could have gotten 11's, but I knew my feet would grow, so I got 12's. I'm 17 now, and these boots for perfectly. At first, they weren't very comfortable. They were stiff, specifically at the back of the boot, where they dug into the back of my ankle. After wearing them on and off for a few months, they started loosening up. Now they fit perfectly. I just applied a small amount of 100% un-refined coconut oil, replaced the laces, and now they are even more beautiful than the day I bought them. The Vibram soles "gumminess" makes up for the inside of the boots being harder than most boots. But they have not worn too much yet. I think I'll get them re-soled when/if they need it. Get these boots.
    Date published: 2015-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Das Boot I am an office worker for 10 years now and am required to wear dress shoes. Nights and weekends I work outside maintaining my 10 wooded acre lot that has been ravaged by the emerald ash borer. I've cut a many trees down, hand split many logs, and don't think I could of done it without these 877s for the fall/winter and my 1907s for the summer. Every hour at my office job I long to get out of my dress shoes and into my Red Wings. Quality and comfort can't be beat. The comfort, feel and even smell of these boots make me want to be more active on my feet and has resulted in accelerated progress with my property. The reviews stated these took a while to break in, but these felt like butter within the first 4 hours of wear. Only suggestion for improvement on the 877s are the lace eyelets. Next resole, I will inquire to see if they can replace the top 4-5 with the quick lace eyelets. This would improve the time to get me out the door everyday. Other then function, I've lost count on how my compliments I've received on how good these look with jeans. Being very meticulous with care of my possessions, I clean and oil weekly keeping them presentable for any casual occasion. They have taken a beating and show many scuffs now, but still I continue to receive the compliments. I will be wearing and recommending this brand and style for life. I wish I knew about these sooner. Love Red Wing's legacy story and love explaining/showing the construction/quality/comfort to my friends/family. Keep it up Red Wing.
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I highly recommend, I'm now an advocate of red wing. I was lucky enough to find a pair of these in my parents polebarn in 2013 the tag says red wing Irish Setter Sport Boot. From what I can find they were made in the 80s these ones were new and never used. After Daily use for about a month they were the most comfortable boot or shoe I've ever worn. I wear them daily in the mn winters, in the office and in the snow. They are almost 100% waterproof with sno-seal applications. None stop Compliments no one suspects there 8" boots. After 14 hours of work and play I don't even want to take them off. I have since bought beckman chukkas and iron rangers, the 877 are by far the most comfortable and versatile. The inside bottom half of mine are leather lined (not sure if new ones are?) so my feet don't sweat. Size 1/2 to 1 size down, soles do wear fast. I highly recommend these boots! I also want to say keep your leather boots away from high or long heat. I leave my boots near the wood stove nightly and one night left my iron rangers too close and shrunk the inner leather foot bed. $300 lesson learned.
    Date published: 2015-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the Best Boots I've ever worn. I've worn boots my entire life, from cowboy types, heavy work, hunting, daily in town use, and through my 8+yr military service. And I have to say that these are the best of all around of every pair I've tried. Supple leather, great soft sole (nearly silent which is a plus for hunting), extremely comfortable, and the free oiling and laces are a big plus. I purchased these as my father has had this exact same model boot since the early 60's. He still wears them on a weekly basis and they are in great condition. Condition is most attributed to him taking proper care of them over the years. But I recommend these to anyone and they definitely worth more than the price.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like good whisky - hard beginning, smooth finish. The boots are stylish and very well made. If the boots can be beautiful - they are. Despite that they are horribly heavy, they - with time - get soft and convenient like gloves. Unexpectedly feet-friendly in hot, dry climate. The soles are hopeless - do expect a very fast "smooth finish". As for the traction - the boots are good for dry surfaces only - either soft grass or hard stone. They really hate a muddy ground or snow. (Thats a reason of my rating - only good, not an excellent quality).
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Going down hill I'm on my second pair of 877 and they were a great boot till they changed the design the chrome dipped eyes I guess are cheaper Then the brass ones they had before and the soles have only lasted me three months and that's working in them almost every day 10-12 hours a day
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I've been wearing these boots for 2 years now, the best work boot I've ever owned!! I highly recommend these boots if your on your feet all day, I am a carpenter so I'm on my feet sometimes for 16 hrs at a time to meet deadlines. I have bad knees and bad back do to this job, but since I've gotten these boots my symptoms have been more manageable. The only bad thing I will say about these boots is I do go through soles about every 6 months but this time any different from Any other work boot or shoe I have ever worked in. In my book though they are a bit high on price you can't argue with the comfort or durability of a this boot. I love them and would buy them over and over and over again. The Best part is the you don't have to, just maintain them and get some new soles from time to time and your as good as new again!! Thank you redwing I should've tried your boots years ago!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from classic hunting boot look I bought a pair of these boots to wear to college in 1979 and I wore them every day and even wore them to play pickup basketball on the dorm parking lot. The only drawback was that lacing them up mean I had to get up an extra minute or two earlier to get to class on time but they were worth it. I am so pleased that I can still buy the same boot 35 years later.
    Date published: 2014-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A commitment worth making. I am a person who is not afraid of a price tag as long as it is a quality product. I have been a Redwing/Vasque fan for twenty years and have never been let down. I bought these boots for work and play and are perfect for both! Maintain them and they will last forever! Justin from MN
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    • y_2018, m_4, d_22, h_2
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
    • loc_en_US, sid_08830, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritage

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×
    Please enter a valid email address

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×

    Where to buy your
    8-inch Classic Moc

    STYLE No. 8830

    You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

    Online Partner

    Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

    FIND A STORE

    Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

    ×