SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

LEATHER:
Amber Harness Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  GBP
  •  EUR
6" AMBER, 8111 Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 140.
  • y_2018, m_10, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_140
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

New Vibram Mini-Lug sole coming Fall 2018. The 8111 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Amber Harness leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Amber Harness Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Shank: Steel
Last: 8
Laces: 48-inch Black/Brown Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8111 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8111

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8111
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron ranger 8111 I’ve been looking at these boots for a year wearing other brands and them tearing up or stretching too far or not having replaceable insoles and finally I gave in. Best boot decision I’ve ever made. I’m on my feet for 14 hrs a day on concrete working my tail off. These boots with the custom fit insole has been much or comfortable than any other boot or tennis shoe I’ve owned. They literally just get better. Because of my care for leather once a week I clean, polish and get ready for another week. These guys Camembert through big time. I’ve got back problems, knee problems, foot problems, the works. A week after owning these the pain left. So yeh.....go buy the boot anabolic enjoy.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 8 Years and still going! I bought my first pair of these in 2010. After spending half the price for other brands to crap out after a year or two, I decided to get a pair of Red Wings to hopefully last at least 3 years. Here I am 8 years later and they are going GREAT. I wear them 4-5 days out of the week, are are easily the most comfortable shoe/boot I’ve ever worn. They’ve stood the test of time, the elements (mud, oil, glue, wet concrete, and even once a brief interaction with a fire pit), I’ve only replaced the laces TWICE, and generally these are just the best. I’m only planning to replace this pair with another pair of Iron Rangers, and only because cosmetically they are getting tired. But that aside, still as comfortable as ever...even after 8-13 hours on my feet.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love!!! I went to the store to order mini lug sole. None in stock. Just cork nitrile. Redwing Store sent the wrong model. No mini lug. Then I found factory seconds. Never looked back. Own 5 pairs of these wicked boots. Don't over oil. Smith's dressing. Or black rock leather n rich. Went full size down naturally.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This boot is awesome! Hey start off the review by saying I’m a size 13 with a reasonably wide foot in most sneaker or boots I get. With the iron ranger I went a full size down with standard width and it fits PERFECTLY. Every time I wear these boots they feel better and better. The break in period takes awhile but isn’t half as strenuous as most reviews make it out to be. I have very very sensitive feet and am even prone to getting ingrown toe nails but the iron ranger has been nothing but I pleasure. I started off wearing them a couple hours at a time and by the third day I was wearing all day no problems! I love the boots and can’t wait to continue my journey with them!
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! Probably the nicest and most long lasting shoes I’ve ever had. A little pricey but I think the craftsmanship and longevity definitely make up for it. I would recommend to new buyers to consider putting insoles or orthotics of some kind in there to make them more comfortable during the break-in period. Other than that a great buy!
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best boots ever best boots ever had and this are my every day boots 7 days a weeks hey! they cost a lot of money so I decide to were it every day I also clean them every day with a brush I work in a office but I walk a lot also at home I have a farm so they get dirt and muddy I enjoy cleaning them so I don't care they are scrashy and hill is were it a lot is bean a year size I buy this boots I will post pic on the 2nd year but ill be resoling this boots this year keep in mind Im using this boots every day since is my only pare of shoes
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 7.5 Year Birthday!!! My boots celebrated their 7.5 year birthday this week. I still love them and use them often. I've used nothing on these boots other than saddle soap and mink oil 1-2 times per year. I did need to finally replace the laces, so I made 550 Paracord laces for them with heat-shrink ends. Original soles. Buy these boots... You will love them!!
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Try in a store but love the fit Measured both feet at store and bought full size down. Tried on four different pairs including wide width. Leather is soft, stitching was cleanly executed and the boots fit snug without uncomfortable pressure points. Expect to wair 4-5 times a week and bought boot soaks which made a large difference.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honestly, my prized possession. I have worn these boots almost every day for a little over a year. They have worn in extremely well, though I don’t wear them as a work boot or anything. I wear about a 11.5 or so in tennis shoes, and these are 10.5. But if you can get the size right, they are perfect and will form to your foot. I normally upkee them by lightly cleaning with a damp cloth and I’ll oil them every few months.
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable right out of the box Slipped these boots on to do a day’s work as soon as they came in the mail, my feet thanked me. Stepped out to make some sales calls feeling supper confident in these classic fashion statements. Doesn’t matter whether I’m in the shop, in the bush or making sales calls these babies deliver. Thx again Redwing:-)
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A perfect all round boot I was looking for a good year round boot and the Iron Ranger fit the bill. It is incredibly hardwearing and after over a year's worth of use it shows almost no damage. The leather has stood up to mud, sand, concrete, snow and ice without staining or marking. The soles have worn slightly but i expect to get at least 3 years before they need resoling, which is superb. These boots took a few weeks to break in the footbed, but no more than usual for goodyear welted products. Criticisms. I have only two criticisms. One, the soles are incredibly sturdy but lac any padding at all, so if you are intending to walk any distance in these you will want to invest in either very thick socks or a softer insole. Two, these dont handle snow / freezing temps particuarly well. It doesn't damage the boot at all, but your feet will get cold. To be fair they weren't designed for that. Overall an excellent buy and well worth the money.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these boots! Just bought these last Saturday and they are already my all time favorite boots! They fit great. I had no break in period. The sales staff was educated and helpful and made in the USA. I hope to have these things the rest of my life. I wear these, literally, every day.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from From a humble Lineman I'm here to tell ya something. Quite possibly the most comfortable boots I've put on. Now I've been up and down poles and graduated my self to easier work but I know that if you take care of your feet then they will take care of you. I usually wear ariat boots and still do. But I pulled the trigger on these a while back after looking at them for almost 3 months. If you have any doubts, don't. They are amazing. Got them off slapped some mink oil on them and wore every day for 3 weeks. Absolutely amazing. Thought that I would need an insole but went without and very glad I did. I have been hard on my feet, was in the Marines from 2003 to 2012, then lineman, now I'm still in the electrical buisness( Better job title) hands down best boot I've bought. Will buy another pair just because 5 out of 5 stars thanks guys
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memories have been made with these boots. I've done just about everything with these boots. After almost 4 years of heavy use they are needing a resole. By my own negligence has caused the rear heal portion to become slightly detached from the insole. I should have let these rest more often - but with such an amazing boot, I couldn't leave the house without them! Hopefully Red Wing can fix the issue before it is too late. The leather tells a story, and that story is mine.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy Once. Buy Right. I live by a strict philosophy that you should always buy the best of something. While expensive in the moment, you will both save money down the road and be living with a product that you know you will only grow closer to over time. That is why i bought the Iron Ranger 8111's. An everyday boot i can wear at home, work, walking the dog and even out to a nice dinner (maybe clean them first). I hope for these to be the last boots i need to buy - at least for the next 10 years. Thank you guys.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Granddaddy’s work shoes for the younger man. Fit I’d call impeccable. Worn them new out of the box every day for 2 weeks now, all I’m thinking about is the next pair I’ll get. Most likely in black. Haven’t slipped, no water issues only thing is they lack insulation when it’s cold but this is Tx. My big toes hurt a bit from break in but I’m feeling the insole mold to my foot a bit more every day. Look like a million bucks.
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots I have a few pairs of Redwing boots but these are my favourites, I’m size 10 uk and with thick socks size 10 in these fits perfectly but I would advise you to try first. Well made and stylish.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding boots! I've had my Iron Ranger 8111 boots for three weeks now. I could not be happier. Everything you read about them was pretty well true for me as well. I sized down from a 10EE to a 9EE and the fit is perfect. They were a little tough the first few times I wore them, but I was careful to wear them only a few hours at a time for the first several times, then wearing them a few hours longer each time. I had them on today for ten hours of total comfort. I absolutely love the quality build and the classic look of this boot. Get yourself a pair - you'll be glad you did! Also - a big shout out to the ladies at the Red Wing store in Wichita Falls, TX. They got me fitted correctly, ordered my boots and had them w/in a week - even during the busy Christmas season. Thanks ladies!
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Skillfully done on a Pair of Boots Iron ranger ... what more can I say I am wearing a Legend .. Thank you Red Wing Shoes .co .... keep up the great work and retain those matured and skillful workers .. they know their stuffs and my heart goes to the miners that were killed during the Industrial years of America a hundred years ago ... hard to earn a living back then ....
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot A great boot and true to size. I have had mine 3 years, and they are still very nice. I am not that hard on them and oil them twice a year.
Date published: 2017-12-24
  • y_2018, m_10, d_16, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_140
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×