SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

LEATHER:
Briar Oil Slick Leather
€ 299.00
 EUR 
  •  EUR
  •  GBP
6" BROWN, 8146 Mens is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 36.
  • y_2018, m_10, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08146, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 37.5
  • 38
  • 38.5
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
American workers in the 20th century.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. American workers in the 20th century. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8146 : Roughneck

Modeled after Red Wing’s original work boot style, the 8146 is a 6-Inch Moc Toe featuring Briar Oil Slick leather, Vibram Lug outsole, triple stitched quality and Goodyear welt construction.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

In the mid-20th century, those men who wrenched on oil rigs had one of the most dangerous occupations around, earning them the nickname, “roughnecks.” The 8146 was inspired by these workers and built just as tough, with a 6-inch height for support and protection, thick, durable leathers and a heavily lugged sole for grip on any surface.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Briar Oil Slick Leather
Outsole: Vibram® Lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
Shank: Steel
Laces: 48-inch Tan/Gold Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8146 : Roughneck

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8146 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Fits ½ size large
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8146

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

    Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8146
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A new level of quality I love the quality of these boots. They fit well and are breaking in perfectly. They have a boxy feel at first but once the leather stretches they hug your feet.
    Date published: 2018-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a magnificent boot. I bought my first pairs of Red Wings Super Sole 953s with a thinsulate lining back in 91 and 96, but this time, was looking for a Moc toe. I saw these 8146s on the Red Wing site as well as YouTube and thought they may very well be the best looking boot in the Heritage collection. The Briar Oily Slick color, and the beautiful look of the boot, is only surpassed by the way the boot is constructed. The quality of the leather is other worldly. The triple stiching, Goodyear welt construction, Vibram outersole, and leather innersole makes for one outstanding boot. They do require breaking in, so wearing thick winter socks are a must as well as slowly wearing them more and more until they are completely broken in. Overall, I am blown away by them and would recommend them to everyone. Blacksmith's 3341 Rough and Tough Charcoals are next. Lol!!
    Date published: 2017-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Red Wing Boots! I've worn Red Wing boots for more than 30 years. This was my first pair of this style. At first I was hesitant because of the alleged lengthy break-in period. After one week of wearing them daily, they were broken-in & held the distinction of being my favorite Red Wing boots I've ever owned. And besides being well built, durable & comfortable, they're made in America!
    Date published: 2017-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and long lasting winter boots I have had these boots in black and they have lasted me over 20 years bought pair in 1996! I regularly wear them throughout winter months in London, heal is just starting to wear down now! If your in two minds don't hesitate these are the real deal took some time to break in but worth the wait! Think of getting some brown ones now!!
    Date published: 2017-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They just keep going Yes... they took a while (a good long while) to break in. But they just keep going and going. For some reason, my feet are very hard on shoes, especially the outside of the heels. But with my Redwing Roughnecks, I've had them for over 3 years, and am only now thinking about a new heel. I've bought other, so-called, high-quality shoes that now look worn and shabby in just a couple of years. I'm willing to put up with some break-in time for quality that lasts like this. Don't try to wear them all the time at first. Be patient and give them time to break in, and THEN you can wear them all the time. These look great, and seem like they will for as long as I keep taking care of them. These are my go-to boots.
    Date published: 2017-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged leather boots with excellent craftsmanship . I tried these because my dad always wore Red Wing boots. Now I see why. I purchased this style because it is available in wide sizes. I wear a EEE in some dress shoes. My EE Red Wings fit really well. Short break in period. I have read reviews where buyers had trouble breaking them in. I picked the right size for me (13EE) and now they wear like a glove. They felt a little bulky at first but the stiffness went away. My feat sweat in most shoes. The high quality leather breathes and drys. I have worn them 4-5 days a week since 2015 with powder and clean socks. Worth the extra money. Buy yourself a pair.
    Date published: 2017-08-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Roughneck - Copper Rough & Tough. Beware the Moc Toe lip splitting apart. I have a pair of the CR&T Roughnecks, which have been worn approx 4-50 times over 3 months. Where the leather is stitched together at the Moc Toe lip you can see quite a bit of separation, which is obviously going to get much worse quite quickly. You can also see some stitching starting to fray already. They have been worn mostly at work (in an office), have been through snow 5 or 6 times and have only been out in the rain 3 or 4 times. They have had no hard wear at all. Red Wing tell me I can use Shoe Goo to fix the leather splits and can burn the stitch fray away. I paid 290 Euros for a pair of boots that after 40-50 wears I must repair myself and which will never be as good as they should have been.
    Date published: 2017-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another fine Red Wing offering These are a truly terrific offering by the folks at Red Wing. Have had them for several months and I couldn't be happier. The fit is spot on, the craftsmanship is top notch as usual, and the graining of the leather makes these one of the most beautiful pair of Red Wings I own. I almost didn't order these but I'm so glad I did. American workmanship at its finest.
    Date published: 2017-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it took some time, but now I love these boots I've had my 8146's for four years now and after almost giving up on them a couple of times, I've come to love them. The break-in period was very long, much longer than any other boots I've ever had. I oiled them, I persisted, but they gave me blisters and made my feet sore after an hour or two of working in them. Finally I tried putting in some off-the-shelf orthotics in them and that helped a lot, although I still would not have called them 'comfortable'. After wearing them like that for about a year cutting firewood and doing general chores around the place they improved a lot. Then I tried them again without the insoles and they were much better. I still don't think I'd use them as hiking boots - not really appropriate for walking long distances - but they're great for work. I wanted to like these boots because it is nice wearing something that is designed to last and designed to be resoled and repaired. My persistence paid off - they're now excellent work boots.
    Date published: 2017-07-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Painful after 3 years Ok, so this is my go to Fall/Winter Season boot. They feel good ONLY for a couple hours. Once you really start walking in them for a long period of time they KILL your feet. Blisters on the toes, you end up limping all over. And this is after a 3 year break in process. I was told this would take time, but come on...3 years is long enough. They look great, constructed very well, but they just HURT your feet for LONG WEAR. Wanted this to be my forever boot, just ended up being my NEVER boot.
    Date published: 2017-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pair I've owned I've worn Red Wings (2406 & 4206 primarily) every day for work for 12 years; the 8146 were a gift and are my "dress" boots. I've enjoyed every wearing of my current pair of 8146 for 9 years. I oil them periodically and wash the laces from time to time. The Vibram sole has been durable and the fact that it can be replaced means that theses boots may last a lifetime. 8146 is comfortable even for long days on your feet on concrete (I wear mine at trade shows, etc.), they are often admired by TSA agents on their way through the x-ray and I can safely say they are the best pair of boots I've ever owned.
    Date published: 2017-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A boot which lasts I've been wearing this boot for the past 25 years, the average pair lasting around 10 years. Keep them oiled and they stay looking good. One tip if you live somewhere cold as I do, get wool foot beds, they do tend to transmit the cold through the sole
    Date published: 2016-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too all wondering if they are a real work boot. I have had the 8146 for i think 7 years now. I have worn them 12 hours a day 5-6 days a week. i have had them re soled twice. I try to clean and oil them as much as possible. They have a small rip in the leather by my right heel where they dried out and the tongues have lost some leather on the top. I blame the Ohio salt in the winter. All of the stitching is fully intact except a small 1" spot on the heel. I put these boots thru the ringer and could have them resoled again but am now shopping for another pair today.
    Date published: 2016-11-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from REALLY uncomfortable I have had these boots for almost a year now, and have worn them for at east three months solid during that time. Every time I wear these, they feel the same as they did when I first put them on. Well, that may be a reach. The leather has somewhat adjusted to my foot, but the thing that KILLS me the most is that little black lining around the top of the boot that wraps around your upper ankle. I do not understand why Red Wing would design this boot (and many of their other boots) with a piece that sticks out and presses into the back of your heel area. I wanted to love these boots because I live in Vermont and the grippy soles are really nice during the winter, but I cannot wear these for more than a few hours before needing to take them off. I have two pairs of iron rangers and one pair of the ice cutters, and neither style has ever given me this problem before. Really thought Red Wing would be better than that.
    Date published: 2016-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best of the heritage line This boot is the MOST comfortable in the whole heritage line....I have just about all of them. Between the vibram lug sole ( surprisingly, the most comfortable one ) And then the oil tanned ( dark ) leather... LIke well made gloves for your feet ( that will last a long time )
    Date published: 2016-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Red wings boots Perfect boot for everyday use. Worn them recently on a hike on the mountains of Switzerland and they have perfect grip on tarmac and slippery muddy hills. Very durable leather upper with beautiful maroon red color(not sure the exact shade).Stock laces could be a tad longer. Very pleased with the purchase.
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy 'em, you won't regret it I went round and round trying to decide on the right pair. I've had RWs in the past as a telephone worker, but this time I wanted more of a casual boot. I settled on the 8146 mainly due to the moc toe styling, the lug sole and the rich, dark leather. Originally, I planned to go for the 875 but couldn't get past how fast the crepe sole appears to wear out. This is a great boot, and contrary to other sites reviews, this is not a "hipster" boot. I don't roll up my pants or spend hours at expensive coffee joints snapping my fingers to poetry. I'm an average Joe, who isn't afraid to get dirty and I definitely don't shy way from hard work. And I expect the same from my boots. These are tough and rugged and perfect for all day wear, no matter what you're doing.
    Date published: 2016-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots i been wearing this boots for 4 months now and they getting better and better, they are perfect for my walk to work in the cold-icy Edmonton wheater and then use it behind the bar.
    Date published: 2016-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing buy I've had my pair for almost three years, and they are still in great shape with little maintenance. Comfortable as heck and can be dressed up or down.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Initial Impression I've been wearing these for about a week now and I'm very happy overall. Something to consider: I listened to the recommendation to buy 1/2 size smaller (10) than normal (I normally wear a 10.5 in Chippewa) and they were too small in length. I had to exchange them for my normal size (10.5) . They fit very well now with a barely noticeable insole. Consider that with sizing if you've never owned a pair before.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    • y_2018, m_10, d_15, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
    • loc_en_GB, sid_08146, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritageeu

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×