SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

LEATHER:
Briar Oil Slick Leather
€ 299.00
 EUR 
  •  GBP
  •  EUR
6" BROWN, 8146 Mens is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2019, m_7, d_19, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08146, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 37.5
  • 38
  • 38.5
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
American workers in the 20th century.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. American workers in the 20th century. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8146 : Roughneck

The Roughneck stands out as a rugged 6-inch moc with rubber lugs for aggressive, all-season traction. True to its name, the Roughneck stands up to heavy wear and lasts for years.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

In the mid-20th century, those men who wrenched on oil rigs had one of the most dangerous occupations around, earning them the nickname, “roughnecks.” The 8146 was inspired by these workers and built just as tough, with a 6-inch height for support and protection, thick, durable leathers and a heavily lugged sole for grip on any surface.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Briar Oil Slick Leather
Outsole: Vibram® Lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Shank: Steel
Last: 23
Laces: 48-inch Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8146 : Roughneck

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8146 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Fits ½ size large
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8146

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

    Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8146
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best experience This is no diss at the quality and craftsmanship of redwings. I happen to have bought the wrong size and I didn’t like the vibrant sole. It was heavy. Wasn’t slip resistance and I felt like lugging around a 10 pound bag of weight on my legs. If the size was right and had slip resistance then. I would recommend this.
    Date published: 2018-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My New Favorite Pair of Boots! Absolutely in love with this style. Now I know there are a few people out there who aren't fond of the sole, but I am. It has sooo much grip and I think it looks killer. I'm a size 8 in Nikes, Adidas, New Balances, etc. I grabbed a 7D from a site since that's the only size they had at the time. It's has a touch of wiggle wiggle room at the toes so I believe a 6.5 would fit perfect. No worries, thicker socks and I'm good to go. The leather is thick and feels like quality. It scratches/scuffs up very nicely in this color. A quick brush before and after and they look amazing. The boots give a nice, heavy feel when walking but not too overbearing. As for the insole, it's leather and little rough at first but not too uncomfortable. Once they fully break in, I'm sure they're be like walking on clouds. I highly recommend this style! I just ordered a pair of Blacksmiths and I can't wait to try those out as well.
    Date published: 2018-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong boot Bought this boot as a multipurpose boot. Plan was to use it as a summer yard work boot, do some hiking on a trip through the national parks, and have as a descent looking “dress boot” to wear out with jeans. I have been pleased on all fronts. Excellent quality and craftsmanship, looks great and I love wearing it. Tough, durable for work around the house and comfortable enough to hike in. I did several 2-4 mile hikes in them on mountains and they were great. Any more than that and I would want more of a hiking boot, but these did great on shorter distances. Love this boot for the purposes that I am using it. Cleans up great with some oil after heavy use. Did take a bit to break in, but not difficult. I felt good with them after about 6 hours of wear.
    Date published: 2018-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pair of Boots I've had these for about 8 months now (size 10 D). I typically wear size 10.5 tennis shoes, and the other reviews said to order a half size down from normal. They ended up fitting great. The toe box is very roomy, but my feet don't slide at all. They did pinch the sides of my feet a little when they were new, but as I wore them more this became less of an issue.
    Date published: 2018-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another win! This was my second pair of Red Wings in the Heritage collection. I picked the 8146 over the traditional Mocs because I didn't really care for the white sole and knew I have it filthy in no time. They look fantastic and fit similar to my Iron Rangers. They're comfortable right out of the box so I look forward to breaking them in properly. Again I needed a full size smaller than normal tennis shoes.
    Date published: 2018-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good railroad boots These union made boots are excellent for rail conductors who walk on ballast all day. And if you want, when you get them resoled, you can get logger soles. They take about 4 months to really break in, but suck it up because it'll be worth it. I even wear these boots on my off days.
    Date published: 2018-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome American craftsmanship with attention to detail. Growing up on the eastern slope of the Cascades in the 70’s and 80’s I wore Red Wing boots almost every day either fishing, hunting, backpacking, hiking, etc. It’s been quite a few years and perhaps it was a fit of nostalgia or just the desire to put a good, American made boot back on my feet, but for some odd reason I decided to order myself a new pair of Red Wing Roughnecks. These are close to the exact boots that I wore for all those years and when I received them I was instantly transported back in time by their leathery smell and the soft hand of the leather. I’m a solid 8D in all my shoes so I ordered the 7.5D and it fit perfectly (as per Red Wings recommendation). When the big toe ends right behind the moc toe stitching, you’ve got the right fit. The boot shouldn’t crush your foot but you want it nice and snug so that the leather can mold to your feet as you break them in. The fit and finish of the Heritage line of boots is simply perfect and in my opinion, these boots are worth every penny. They are meant to last and should give years of service. Yes, you will need to spend time breaking these boots in and getting them formed to your feet. No matter how perfect the fit, it’s good bet that you’ll experience some heel slip (lift) at the beginning of break in. This is normal with a stiff sole boot like RW’s. As the boot breaks in and the footbed forms to your foot, the heel slip will be greatly reduced. If you have less than a 1/2 inch heel slip you should be good to go. Just don’t panic and think you need to order a smaller size. You shouldn’t be in pain when breaking in a new pair of RW’s. These aren’t skinny jeans and it's not a contest to see how tight you can get them and still maintain your sanity. Within a few days you’ll notice that your heels are nice and firm in the boot with little to no lift. The end result is a boot that fits like a glove and will be unmatched in comfort and reliability. I love the vintage look and feel of these boots and the quality is outstanding.
    Date published: 2018-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A new level of quality I love the quality of these boots. They fit well and are breaking in perfectly. They have a boxy feel at first but once the leather stretches they hug your feet.
    Date published: 2018-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a magnificent boot. I bought my first pairs of Red Wings Super Sole 953s with a thinsulate lining back in 91 and 96, but this time, was looking for a Moc toe. I saw these 8146s on the Red Wing site as well as YouTube and thought they may very well be the best looking boot in the Heritage collection. The Briar Oily Slick color, and the beautiful look of the boot, is only surpassed by the way the boot is constructed. The quality of the leather is other worldly. The triple stiching, Goodyear welt construction, Vibram outersole, and leather innersole makes for one outstanding boot. They do require breaking in, so wearing thick winter socks are a must as well as slowly wearing them more and more until they are completely broken in. Overall, I am blown away by them and would recommend them to everyone. Blacksmith's 3341 Rough and Tough Charcoals are next. Lol!!
    Date published: 2017-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Red Wing Boots! I've worn Red Wing boots for more than 30 years. This was my first pair of this style. At first I was hesitant because of the alleged lengthy break-in period. After one week of wearing them daily, they were broken-in & held the distinction of being my favorite Red Wing boots I've ever owned. And besides being well built, durable & comfortable, they're made in America!
    Date published: 2017-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and long lasting winter boots I have had these boots in black and they have lasted me over 20 years bought pair in 1996! I regularly wear them throughout winter months in London, heal is just starting to wear down now! If your in two minds don't hesitate these are the real deal took some time to break in but worth the wait! Think of getting some brown ones now!!
    Date published: 2017-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They just keep going Yes... they took a while (a good long while) to break in. But they just keep going and going. For some reason, my feet are very hard on shoes, especially the outside of the heels. But with my Redwing Roughnecks, I've had them for over 3 years, and am only now thinking about a new heel. I've bought other, so-called, high-quality shoes that now look worn and shabby in just a couple of years. I'm willing to put up with some break-in time for quality that lasts like this. Don't try to wear them all the time at first. Be patient and give them time to break in, and THEN you can wear them all the time. These look great, and seem like they will for as long as I keep taking care of them. These are my go-to boots.
    Date published: 2017-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged leather boots with excellent craftsmanship . I tried these because my dad always wore Red Wing boots. Now I see why. I purchased this style because it is available in wide sizes. I wear a EEE in some dress shoes. My EE Red Wings fit really well. Short break in period. I have read reviews where buyers had trouble breaking them in. I picked the right size for me (13EE) and now they wear like a glove. They felt a little bulky at first but the stiffness went away. My feat sweat in most shoes. The high quality leather breathes and drys. I have worn them 4-5 days a week since 2015 with powder and clean socks. Worth the extra money. Buy yourself a pair.
    Date published: 2017-08-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Roughneck - Copper Rough & Tough. Beware the Moc Toe lip splitting apart. I have a pair of the CR&T Roughnecks, which have been worn approx 4-50 times over 3 months. Where the leather is stitched together at the Moc Toe lip you can see quite a bit of separation, which is obviously going to get much worse quite quickly. You can also see some stitching starting to fray already. They have been worn mostly at work (in an office), have been through snow 5 or 6 times and have only been out in the rain 3 or 4 times. They have had no hard wear at all. Red Wing tell me I can use Shoe Goo to fix the leather splits and can burn the stitch fray away. I paid 290 Euros for a pair of boots that after 40-50 wears I must repair myself and which will never be as good as they should have been.
    Date published: 2017-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another fine Red Wing offering These are a truly terrific offering by the folks at Red Wing. Have had them for several months and I couldn't be happier. The fit is spot on, the craftsmanship is top notch as usual, and the graining of the leather makes these one of the most beautiful pair of Red Wings I own. I almost didn't order these but I'm so glad I did. American workmanship at its finest.
    Date published: 2017-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it took some time, but now I love these boots I've had my 8146's for four years now and after almost giving up on them a couple of times, I've come to love them. The break-in period was very long, much longer than any other boots I've ever had. I oiled them, I persisted, but they gave me blisters and made my feet sore after an hour or two of working in them. Finally I tried putting in some off-the-shelf orthotics in them and that helped a lot, although I still would not have called them 'comfortable'. After wearing them like that for about a year cutting firewood and doing general chores around the place they improved a lot. Then I tried them again without the insoles and they were much better. I still don't think I'd use them as hiking boots - not really appropriate for walking long distances - but they're great for work. I wanted to like these boots because it is nice wearing something that is designed to last and designed to be resoled and repaired. My persistence paid off - they're now excellent work boots.
    Date published: 2017-07-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Painful after 3 years Ok, so this is my go to Fall/Winter Season boot. They feel good ONLY for a couple hours. Once you really start walking in them for a long period of time they KILL your feet. Blisters on the toes, you end up limping all over. And this is after a 3 year break in process. I was told this would take time, but come on...3 years is long enough. They look great, constructed very well, but they just HURT your feet for LONG WEAR. Wanted this to be my forever boot, just ended up being my NEVER boot.
    Date published: 2017-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pair I've owned I've worn Red Wings (2406 & 4206 primarily) every day for work for 12 years; the 8146 were a gift and are my "dress" boots. I've enjoyed every wearing of my current pair of 8146 for 9 years. I oil them periodically and wash the laces from time to time. The Vibram sole has been durable and the fact that it can be replaced means that theses boots may last a lifetime. 8146 is comfortable even for long days on your feet on concrete (I wear mine at trade shows, etc.), they are often admired by TSA agents on their way through the x-ray and I can safely say they are the best pair of boots I've ever owned.
    Date published: 2017-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A boot which lasts I've been wearing this boot for the past 25 years, the average pair lasting around 10 years. Keep them oiled and they stay looking good. One tip if you live somewhere cold as I do, get wool foot beds, they do tend to transmit the cold through the sole
    Date published: 2016-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too all wondering if they are a real work boot. I have had the 8146 for i think 7 years now. I have worn them 12 hours a day 5-6 days a week. i have had them re soled twice. I try to clean and oil them as much as possible. They have a small rip in the leather by my right heel where they dried out and the tongues have lost some leather on the top. I blame the Ohio salt in the winter. All of the stitching is fully intact except a small 1" spot on the heel. I put these boots thru the ringer and could have them resoled again but am now shopping for another pair today.
    Date published: 2016-11-11
    • y_2019, m_7, d_19, h_23
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
    • loc_en_GB, sid_08146, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritageeu

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×