SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8085

LEATHER:
Copper Rough & Tough Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  GBP
  •  EUR
IRON RANGER, COPPER R&T Mens is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 69.
  • y_2018, m_9, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 38
  • 38.5
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.

STYLE NO. 8085 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8085 Iron Ranger features premium Copper Rough & Tough leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Copper Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8085 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time, the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8085 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8085

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8085
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots ! Great quality boots that are well made . I enjoy them so much that I bought a second pair just for work . As you wear them they’ll mold to your foot like a glove . They fit true to size so you’ll have to break them in . Definitely a great buy !
Date published: 2018-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 8085 redwings These boots r amazing. Size 12 ee fit like a glove. They look great and feel great on my feet. No regrets spending the cash on redwings.
Date published: 2018-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice Boot! I love these boots. The best thing is they're made in the USA. I'm done buying cheap products made overseas in sweatshops. I only wish RW would make this exact boot with a full lug sole. Now that would awesome!
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Quality, Timeless Looks, Versatile I had been eyeballing these for years before I pulled the trigger, and always thought I'd be disappointed when I actually got them. You should never meet your heroes, as they say. What an utter fool I was, because these boots did not and have not disappointed me in any way! Zero buyers remorse, and every time I put them on (or even look at them) I still feel the elation I felt the day I bought them. I wear them in business situations, family and friend get togethers, wrenching in the garage, and even to church without feeling out of place. I have a light step and am pretty easy on my footwear, so they still look brand new with minimal maintenance (just brushing and light coats of mink oil) after 5 months of wearing them 2-3 times a week. As many suggest, go to a store to get fitted or order a size/size and a half down. I bought a size down because my feet are wide, but if you have a narrow foot you could definitely get away with going one and a half down. They break in reasonably quick, if you are a boot person you will know what to expect. If you've never had a "heritage" boot, you might be surprised at the discomfort for the first week or two. Power through, boots are awesome.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A perfect all round boot I was looking for a good year round boot and the Iron Ranger fit the bill. It is incredibly hardwearing and after over a year's worth of use it shows almost no damage. The leather has stood up to mud, sand, concrete, snow and ice without staining or marking. The soles have worn slightly but i expect to get at least 3 years before they need resoling, which is superb. These boots took a few weeks to break in the footbed, but no more than usual for goodyear welted products. Criticisms. I have only two criticisms. One, the soles are incredibly sturdy but lac any padding at all, so if you are intending to walk any distance in these you will want to invest in either very thick socks or a softer insole. Two, these dont handle snow / freezing temps particuarly well. It doesn't damage the boot at all, but your feet will get cold. To be fair they weren't designed for that. Overall an excellent buy and well worth the money.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever Ok, maybe not the best purchase ever but its up there. I've spent my life as a cheapskate refusing to buy adult shoes all while coveting these boots. I finally made the purchase and I'm glad I did. They look great. I work for a PNW software company. The dress and culture is casual. I wear these boots daily and I look professional, if not dressy, but still comfortable and casual. I wear them with dark jeans and khakis. They're comfortable. A couple of weeks ago I walked 10 miles in them and I felt great. I walk and ride my bike daily. That means I spend alot of time in the rain. My feet are always dry and the boots are dry quickly. I've only had them a few months so I can't speak to the durability. A friend has had his a few years and he'll be getting them re-soled this summer. I found the break-in period to be less painful than others described. They were stiff at first but I was fine after a week. Naturally they're more comfortable today but it didn't take long. As others have mentioned, you need a smaller size. I wear a 8/8.5. I got a 7.5 which felt tight at first. I sometimes wonder if I shouldn't have got a 7. Might have made the break-in period harder but could be better fit now.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pulled the trigger/Very pleased/AWESOME! I was scared to purchase at first. But ended up buying a pair, my size ran true for me. Also, feel like I need to add this part bc I myself look for this input. I’m a big guy 300+ /5’-10” and I have no issues walking all day in these boots I wear 11.5 EE. And have room for a thin soul to slip inside the boot for added comfort. GREAT FIT! Very comfortable shoe. Wear them every day of the week.
Date published: 2018-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impeccable quality American made boot Built as well as boots were a hundred years ago, you can feel the quality and craftsmanship when you hold and try them on. I was sized at my local red wing store and even though I'm a size 13d these run a tad large and I ended up getting a 12d and they fit like a glove, beautiful boots for work or play, break in is as expected for a boot of this toughness and quality. A thick pair of wool socks around your ankles for the first week or two and you will be a ok. A little pricey , but you honestly get what you pay for, and will have a great American made pair of boots to last a decade. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First pair of goodyear welt boots, I'm in love. I started out with a true to size pair of Beckmans that really hurt my feet, so I opted for a pair of Iron Rangers istead that fits perfectly TTS. A must have for any boot enthusiast.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boot These boots are really great. You do have to wear a pair of wool socks with them but they are still great.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just love I never ever write reviews but guys... I'm in love with this boots. Everything is great, best of the quality and thinking in a new pair
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent boot with great looks After reviewing several brands and styles I kept coming back to this boot. I have one other pair of Red Wings and really like them so I made the choice to have these ordered from the store here in Durham, NC. While I'm still breaking these in I've worn them for at least 8 hours a day since I picked them up this past Monday. They get more comfortable every day. I don't understand some of the reviews where folks talk about how painful the break-in process is. Typically wear a size 13 the ones I purchased are a 12 and fit well. The quality of the materials and craftsmanship of the boots are both outstanding. They look great with khakis or jeans and I've had several compliments on them already. If you are on the fence about pulling the trigger on purchasing these go ahead and get them...you will not be disappointed!!
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boots that every real man should have I just got my pair of IRON RANGER Copper boots and I must say, my first impression was awesome. They look and feel great. I highly recommend them.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing boot I got tired of having to buy new boots every couple of months as I am extremely hard on shoes in general. I have had 5 knee surgeries whitch causes me to walk a little different so shoe quality is important and I literally have never seen or felt quality and comfort like this. They put up a fight to break in but after about a month of wearing every single day for work and play, they just keep getting better and better. I love these boots and will definitely be buying another pair.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! And Totally Worth the Money These at the best boots that you can buy. The craftsmanship is amazing. Buy down a half size and be patient when breaking them in. After a few weeks they are so comfortable! I wear them everyday !
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad i finally ordered these! I have had RW's in the past and they were decent boots. I usually am a 13 D in most boots/sneakers, so I've had to use some trial and error with RW's boots. However, these are 12 D's and fit like a glove. Now my other RW's needed a lot of time to break in however, I have only worn these twice and the feel like I've worn them for years! I will definitely be ordering another color in the near future!
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boot :) This is my 6th pair of heritage boots , these were comfortable from day 1 ,just wish they came with leather laces
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot, but needs break in For all of you have had the pleasure of breaking in your Red Wings and killing yourselves doing it, here is some friendly advice. THEY ALL NEED BREAKING IN! EVERY new shoe or boot, no matter what brand does not fit your foot until it is broken in. Some are easier than others, some are softer, but that is not the case here. Water is your boots' enemy! If you soak them, then you will buy a new pair sooner! Period. It is great for the boot business, but this is not 1820 and there are way more options and sizes available than back then. If you fit it properly, a tad looser is better, then your break in can be done in a few days...depending on what you've been wearing most of the time. Soft shoes make your feet soft. They cause more heat and more sweat. You don't want that. You want your feet to feel like the palms of your hands, tough but not calloused. Next, your toes should feel like they are hanging out a window, touching nothing. If you feel the end or the sides of the boots with your toes, then you will have to break that in and that is not pleasant. The ball of the foot should feel comfortably snug, not tight. Tight means it will need to stretch. If you want that, then feel free, but snug means the boot will break in with a little time. Your heel should slip between 1/8 and 1//4 inch. Two things here. 1...the heel counter needs to mold to your bone structure. That will take a few hours. 10-20. DO NOT DO THAT IN TWO DAYS!!! Break that into 2-4 hour time periods. You will not hurt your feet that way and that is safe. If you hurt your feet, blisters or sore spots, then you will have to wait a few days or weeks to start the process over again. Your feet will need to heal first. Two...your sole and insole need to flex. At present, your new boots are stiff and when you bend the boot as you walk, the boot does not want to follow. Hence, the heel slip. That will disappear as the boot breaks in. The last thing I want to mention is, you might have noticed that the toes on your new boots turn up. That is on purpose!! When you walk, your heel does not move until the sole touches the ground. At that point, the heel slips. This is by design by Red Wing to help with that break in. A design that was developed in the 1940's. A rule of thumb I go by...the looser you can stand a shoe the easier the break in (just the rough edges), the tighter the boots, the longer the break in. Hope this helps someone!
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longrun Buyer I often read reviews before purchasing products so I figured some of y'all may get some good use of this... I am 21 and own 3 pairs of Red Wing boots, the first being the 953 SuperSoles that my dad bought for me when I began working on the farm at the age of 14. They have lasted all 7 years and still fit/feel great. I did make the mistake of conditioning them after harvest and placing them back in the box one year and now the leather is very soft... Also own the Mocs as my work/hunting boots and the Iron Rangers!! The Iron Rangers are awesome and contrary to other reviews are more comfy than the Mocs I think. The sole is less hard and has broken in better. The IR's also are more durable than people say, I've worn them 4 or 5 times Elk hunting this year and through stepping in streams and much worse they have stayed clean and look amazing. A tip my dad taught me when I got my first pair of RedWings, leather condition them liberally when you first get them, wear them for a full day and then that night leather condition them again. Makes for an easy break in period and instant waterproofing for farm/outdoor work. Highly recommend all of the products, use Huberts shoe grease and wipe off excess mud at the end of the day and they will last forever! Cheers!
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well spent. I thoroughly enjoy the purchase of my 8085's. These boots were purchased about a week ago from the local Red Wing store where I was fitted to find the perfect size for these boots. These boots were very comfortable for me from the start and I can tell they are getting more comfortable with each wear. The Copper R&T is an absolutely gorgeous color for any Red Wing model. These boots will be put to the test in the upcoming season. I would recommend these to anyone, but definitely get sized up for a pair, if possible.
Date published: 2017-11-21
  • y_2018, m_9, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×