SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8085

LEATHER:
Copper Rough & Tough Leather
€ 319.00
 EUR 
  •  EUR
  •  GBP
IRON RANGER, COPPER R&T Mens is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 72.
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_72
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu
SIZES: VIEW THE SIZE CHART
D WIDTH
  • 38
  • 38.5
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 41.5
  • 42
  • 42.5
  • 43
  • 43.5
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
SHARE THIS PAGE:

  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.

STYLE NO. 8085 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8085 Iron Ranger features premium Copper Rough & Tough leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for oil-tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 108+ year history.


Leather: Copper Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8085 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time, the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8085 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Should be sized up ½ if used with a footbed or orthotic
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing Shoes’ sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to handcraft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8085

REPAIR SERVICE

Need repair for your boots? See our authorized repair partners for Red Wing Heritage footwear.

Care for your purchase CARE PRODUCTS FOR STYLE NO. 8085
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot, but needs break in For all of you have had the pleasure of breaking in your Red Wings and killing yourselves doing it, here is some friendly advice. THEY ALL NEED BREAKING IN! EVERY new shoe or boot, no matter what brand does not fit your foot until it is broken in. Some are easier than others, some are softer, but that is not the case here. Water is your boots' enemy! If you soak them, then you will buy a new pair sooner! Period. It is great for the boot business, but this is not 1820 and there are way more options and sizes available than back then. If you fit it properly, a tad looser is better, then your break in can be done in a few days...depending on what you've been wearing most of the time. Soft shoes make your feet soft. They cause more heat and more sweat. You don't want that. You want your feet to feel like the palms of your hands, tough but not calloused. Next, your toes should feel like they are hanging out a window, touching nothing. If you feel the end or the sides of the boots with your toes, then you will have to break that in and that is not pleasant. The ball of the foot should feel comfortably snug, not tight. Tight means it will need to stretch. If you want that, then feel free, but snug means the boot will break in with a little time. Your heel should slip between 1/8 and 1//4 inch. Two things here. 1...the heel counter needs to mold to your bone structure. That will take a few hours. 10-20. DO NOT DO THAT IN TWO DAYS!!! Break that into 2-4 hour time periods. You will not hurt your feet that way and that is safe. If you hurt your feet, blisters or sore spots, then you will have to wait a few days or weeks to start the process over again. Your feet will need to heal first. Two...your sole and insole need to flex. At present, your new boots are stiff and when you bend the boot as you walk, the boot does not want to follow. Hence, the heel slip. That will disappear as the boot breaks in. The last thing I want to mention is, you might have noticed that the toes on your new boots turn up. That is on purpose!! When you walk, your heel does not move until the sole touches the ground. At that point, the heel slips. This is by design by Red Wing to help with that break in. A design that was developed in the 1940's. A rule of thumb I go by...the looser you can stand a shoe the easier the break in (just the rough edges), the tighter the boots, the longer the break in. Hope this helps someone!
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longrun Buyer I often read reviews before purchasing products so I figured some of y'all may get some good use of this... I am 21 and own 3 pairs of Red Wing boots, the first being the 953 SuperSoles that my dad bought for me when I began working on the farm at the age of 14. They have lasted all 7 years and still fit/feel great. I did make the mistake of conditioning them after harvest and placing them back in the box one year and now the leather is very soft... Also own the Mocs as my work/hunting boots and the Iron Rangers!! The Iron Rangers are awesome and contrary to other reviews are more comfy than the Mocs I think. The sole is less hard and has broken in better. The IR's also are more durable than people say, I've worn them 4 or 5 times Elk hunting this year and through stepping in streams and much worse they have stayed clean and look amazing. A tip my dad taught me when I got my first pair of RedWings, leather condition them liberally when you first get them, wear them for a full day and then that night leather condition them again. Makes for an easy break in period and instant waterproofing for farm/outdoor work. Highly recommend all of the products, use Huberts shoe grease and wipe off excess mud at the end of the day and they will last forever! Cheers!
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well spent. I thoroughly enjoy the purchase of my 8085's. These boots were purchased about a week ago from the local Red Wing store where I was fitted to find the perfect size for these boots. These boots were very comfortable for me from the start and I can tell they are getting more comfortable with each wear. The Copper R&T is an absolutely gorgeous color for any Red Wing model. These boots will be put to the test in the upcoming season. I would recommend these to anyone, but definitely get sized up for a pair, if possible.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality craftsmanship and gorgeous design I’ve had the 2233’s for years, great looking tough boot when broken in. It was time to add a dressier boot to my collection and I’d had my eyes on the iron ranger for a while. I work in film as a union sculptor. I’d seen set dressers and carpenters doing 12+ hour days in Iron Rangers and they had nothing but good things to say. For me, there is footwear for work and footwear for fashion and I would never wear these for work, but I knew they must be comfortable. I got my pair 1/2 size down from my normal shoe size. I put on athletic socks and went on a six mile walk through LA that first night I had them. No blisters, no chafing and they’ve just gotten more and more comfortable and gorgeous since then. I’ve had them for about 6 months now. I picked up my buddy to go to the Kings game yesterday and the first words out of his mouth “nice boots man... those Red Wings”? He’ll be getting a pair soon
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Looking Boot I have this boot as well as the 8111 and the 8114, my wife has a ladies Iron Ranger too. We both love them but it is true what others have said about the break in period, it was easier for me than my wife but we are glad we got through it. Getting fitted is the difficult part. We went to our local Red Wing dealer and they were very helpful and patient as it is a long process trying to determine the correct size for you. Even though I have three pairs they are not all the same size, of course they are within a half size. Luckily I didn't buy on line as I wouldn't have known where to start. Red Wing Shoes are great in general, their Heritage range is fantastic and the local store staff is the icing on the cake.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd pair of Redwings About a month into my Iron Rangers. Made the decision to get the Vibram sole for obvious reasons. I got a 1/2 size smaller than my normal size, they fit perfect. I found the break in fairly easy by wearing them for 1-2 hours/day during the first week and doing normal stuff in them like going to the pub, grocery shopping etc. I always wear a mid-weight hiking sock with boots which helps with comfort and breaking in. I'd say it will take another month to fully break the boot in, that said I haven't had so much as a hot spot to date. I'd highly recommend going to a RW dealer to try on their boots to make sure you get the right fit. My 1907's were a great boot for work, not sure I'd recommend Iron Rangers for a construction site. I use Limmer boot grease (cos I've got Limmer hiking boots) for waterproofing etc, you should take care of your boots per RW recommendations.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well happy with them. Feel amazing and look as good. Was initially reluctant to buy due to the price - I've never paid even half that for shoes before - however, glad I did. I bought a pair online but they were too long so went to RW London and swapped them: the store were amazing - friendly and knowledgeable - and helped me get the right size; massive props to them. I've got the EE width (my foot is 11cm wide at the widest bit when stood) and they fit beautifully. They're comfortable and supportive without being stiff and unyielding. The sole is good and solid but still comfortable. Due to this and the excellent customer service I received, RW London now have customer for life. Good work.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from USA made product Instead of making another happy review. Instead I would like to thank the men and women who make such a fine product truly a enjoy and I'm very proud to own such fine craftsmanship it is a simply product yet build like old time America built durable built to be abused then fixed to start over again if I had one thing to change put your factory workers on the box they r as important as the logo thank you for the work u do
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional build quality As a military guy I appreciate good footwear. I've got Lowas, Danners and Zamberlans. These are built to an even higher standard. I don't wear them out field because they're not combat boots. But around town they look great and I love having the military level quality on an everyday shoe. I haven't had them long so I'll post again in a few months but as yet they're faultless.
Date published: 2017-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Special Forces quality, Red Wing excellence I spent a long career in the Army Special Forces, spanning two decades. About four years ago, I purchased these because the founder of Goruck - former special operations soldier himself - showcased them in one of his product photos. After breaking them in, I took them on deployment to Afghanistan and, later, to Colombia. If I didn't have to be wearing our issued uniform for an official event, these are the boots I wore. I jumped out of airplanes and helicopters with them, shot with them, and took them on long treks. I am retired now, and these are still the boots I go to for just about anything I do. The quality is amazing. I could go from mowing my lawn with them, to doing a home improvement project, to cleaning them up, putting some leather conditioner, and I take them out on the town. Great job, Red Wing! De Oppresso Liber!
Date published: 2017-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality, beware I ordered them online. First pair came with bruised leather, absolutely not premium material. I returned them, purchased second pair. This one came with damaged one shoe in a way that stitches were torn. On top of the shoes in this pair have slightly different colour. Both shipment contained a note confirming careful quality control- which is funny overall; I never wear them, second pair was returned immediately.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best pair of boots I've ever owned These boots have been through fire, rain, achres of blackberrys and a lot of walking, and I can say these are the best pair of boots I've owned. after they are broken in are the most comfortable, and by far the highest quality pair I've owned as well
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second pair and always impressed I purchased a new pair of 8085's a few weeks ago, I figured I'd wear them awhile before writing a review. I have to say as with every American made Redwing boot these are outstanding! I've had a very easy break in period with the Copper rough and tough leather, far easier than the Black Harness leather Iron Rangers(equally a great boot). Iron Rangers run a bit long so I've heard to order a half size down, I always order true to my size 11 C in most boots, I haven't gone wrong with an 11D in these with the leather inserts. I love the new 430 vibram soles as I can now wear them to work when I'm not climbing poles, my old pair have the smooth sole and aren't much good for too much off roaring, but I recognized that they were more of a dressy boot upon purchasing. Cheers to whomever decided to put a more aggressive sole on the Iron Ranger without going too aggressive! Any way great pair of boots, oil them up, and take care of these and they will take care of you!
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They keep getting better I thought about getting these boots for a long time, and finally decided to go for the 8085 in Copper Rough and Tough. I wouldn't say they were comfortable right out of the box. If i wore them too much right after I got them, my feet would definitely get sore and I'd have to wear something else for a while. But after several wears and a decent amount of walking, it's just like everyone says: the leather starts to soften and mold to your foot, and the footbed takes the shape of your foot and becomes something distinctly yours. I've had mine for about 4 months now and although they are comfortable, I don't think they are fully broken in. They are definitely solid, and the leather just keeps getting softer and better-looking the longer I have them. If you're looking for a pair of boots that will last and look great in the process, get a pair of Redwings
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever I've had my Iron Rangers now for 5 months. They took a couple weeks to break in, but once completed they've been perfect. I just decided to add insoles (shaped comfort footbed) and holy buckets, they're now the best pair of footwear I've ever had. Totally worth the investment, I wear tennis shoes for 3 years, these boots will most likely last the rest of my life.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have 2 pair- 8114 and 8115 and both are excellent. I purchased a pair of the 8115 2 years ago. The rough and tough leather is excellent. It seems to be "self healing", and it is very forgiving on scratches and such. They say to go 1 size down, but in my case that wasn't for me. I purchased my regular size (10.5 D). I have found that I can adjust the size by adjusting how I lace them up. I have very flat feet, and the lack of arch support is a plus for me. Sometimes I use Red Wing inserts, and some times I don't depending on the condition of my feet that day. I have wide feet, and the combination of wide feet and flat feet make this boot fit me perfectly.
Date published: 2017-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shoes for all day... I'm on my feet from 12-16 hours/day, and these are the most comfortable shoes I've worn in 40 years. Break in was 2 days. Since then...ahhhh. They're my "daily drivers." Wear 8.5EE, wish the size was avail in black.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Redwing, I have a pair of boots that had the original leather soles 40 years old. They finally gave out and can't resole but I keep them for remembering my days pumping gas at 16 at 1.35 and hour. Don't remember what I paid for them but they were the most comfortable non-burning sole on concrete there was. Wish you still had full leather soles. I also had a pair of identical insulated ones my gf made me throw away :(. They had been resoled 4 times and were still in glove fitting comfortable shape. Next pair I buy will be these. Saving up.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unsurpassed quality in materials and construction. The materials and craftsmanship that went in to making these boots is rarely seen nowadays. If your looking for instant gratification in comfort and fit, this ain't it. This boot is gonna make you work for it. Once they're broke in you won't find a more comfortable pair of footwear.
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and dependable. I bought my first pair of Red Wing boots in 2012. I own two pairs now. I'm going to buy another pair soon.
Date published: 2016-12-13
  • y_2018, m_10, d_17, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_72
  • loc_en_GB, sid_08085, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritageeu

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×