Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders See Details

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders See Details

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

LEATHER:
Amber Harness Leather
$319.99 USD
6" AMBER, 8111 Mens is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 375.
  • y_2019, m_2, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_375
  • loc_en_US, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

The 8111 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Amber Harness leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Amber Harness Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
Laces: 48-inch Black/Brown Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8111 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8111

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Around the World and the Warehouse I purchased these boots in Sweden at the beginning of a world tour that I did not shoe-up properly for. 219 countries in 7 months, work from school to trails, hikes, and countless city miles; not to mention backpack carrying and sleeping on trains. These boots have done all and more whenever it has been asked of them. Now that I am home, I work 6+ days per week in a warehouse and a fair amount of that is running, not walking. I wear these boots each and every shift and have no complaints. They are comfortable, good looking, durable, and efficient. I will definitely be buying more from Red Wing and look forward to many years yet to come.
Date published: 2019-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One year in and going strong... I held off on reviewing these boots until I put a good amount of hours into them, cause I can't stand reading "they look great out of the box." I've had my Rangers for a year, and have worn them probably about 100 days. I work in an office, so they're not seeing hard labor, but to get to work I walk about two miles through whatever the city throws at me. I've taken them on numerous hikes, and while they're not ideal for anything too serious, they get the job done and keep me comfortable. They're great. The break in process was arduous, but not as bad at people make it seem. I wanted a straight black boot, but when I purchased mine, the Harness Black was only available with the nitrile cork sole. I live in the Northeast, so something with traction to get me through the snow and rain was a must-have. I conditioned with Red Wing Boot Oil about three times over the year, and they're now right where I wanted them as far as color goes. The leather gets buttery smooth and supple over time, and the footbed perfectly molds to your body. They definitely run big--I wear a 13 or 14 in sneakers, but take a 12 in boots. I'd definitely recommend sizing down a half to a full size depending on your specifics. My one complaint is the longevity of the sole: I have flat feet, so I step hard on the ball of my foot. Every pair of shoes I own gets worn down right there, and my Rangers are no exception to that. I still have a little life left in the sole, but I'm hesitent to push it to the limit since I've read that Red Wing will refuse to resole the boot if the footbed is damaged. I plan on getting them resoled with a full lug, perhaps with the Roughneck sole. I love my Rangers so much that I recently purchased another pair of Red Wings--Blacksmith in Copper Rough and Tough. They're made on the same last as the Ranger, so I know I'll love them too.
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Boot I now own 2 pairs of iron rangers. Black harness and now copper rough and tough. I did research into other heritage boots, but in the end, nothing else compared to the quality and craftsmanship of the iron rangers, for me at least. It's a bit tough to break in for a bit, but once you push through the first full day of wearing them, the hard part is over. Always worth the investment. Redwing is the way to go for me.
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow. What a boot! After perusing the local venues with all the cheap stuff, I returned to the Red Wing store and walked out with these. I wear boots every day, and they have to fit and feel right. Slam dunk with a beautiful, functional Iron Ranger boot. Will use them for wear with my kilt as well.
Date published: 2019-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Boots First I'll start by saying that this is my first pair of Iron Rangers with the mini lug sole. And bravo to that sole, great improvement over the previous style of sole. Second thing for me was getting the correct size, always go to a Red Wing store if possible, even though I wear a size 10.5 in most shoes, I wear a 9.5 in Red Wing Moc Toes and a size 9 in Iron Rangers. A few days of wearing the Iron Ranger 8085 they are starting to feel great. You hear of some people having a hard time breaking in their Red Wings, part of that is because of improper sizing. Another thing to keep in mind is if you wear boots daily the break in will be easier than a person who never wears a quality boot and thinks it will be as comfortable as a sneaker right out of the box. For those I say wear them around the house before wearing them outside to start the break-in process. Then outside for a short while then go from there.
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection Since I bought these boots, I’ve been wearing them almost daily for the past half year. They’re perfection and they age beautifully.
Date published: 2019-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Style Great looking boot out of the box. Very Classic Style. Not bad to break in. I ware a 10 1/2. I bought a 10 1/2. Hoping to buy a second pair in a different color
Date published: 2019-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 years and running I've worn these boots everyday for three years. They're the only shoe I own. They fit like a glove. They're comfortable. I can clean them up and they make a nice casual dress shoe. I take them camping and hunting. I've done 12 mile hikes through Alaska with them. I wear them to work everyday. To this day they still look like brand new. The only maintance I've done is add some oil to them. Normally boots don't even last a year for me.
Date published: 2019-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These boots ROCK I'm hooked!I now have (4) pair of Redwing boots. Started off with the 1907's, then purchased the Iron Ranger 8085's and the 8111's, and last but not least, followed up with the Rough Neck 2942's. All of which are OUTSTANDING! The Iron Ranger might be a little "pricey" however you get what you pay for. The craftsmanship that goes into these boots are second to none. They look fantastic right out of the box and only get better with time. I have read several reviews regarding the "break in" period. For me, there was little to no break in time. Sure the boots were a little stiff that first day or so but, that's to be expected. After about the third day of wear, they felt fantastic and continue to improve everyday. I typically were a size 10. I've read that most people had to size down. Again, for me, that wasn't the case. I stayed true to size. I have plenty of room in the toe box and I am able to get a finger down inside, just behind the heal. I would highly recommend going to a Redwing store if possible and have them measure your feet. The salesman that assisted me was very knowledgeable and took his time making sure that my new Redwings not only fit great but, felt right too. As mentioned above, these boots ROCK! I look forward to many, many years of wearing these. You will not be disappointed. The look and feel are FANTASTIC! I have received numerous compliments on the boots and will always recommend these to anyone seeking a great boot! Thanks Redwing!!!!!
Date published: 2019-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron Ranger believer My last pair of RWs had seen 8 years of hard use, and are still looking very good. I needed more space to accommodate insoles, so I got a pair of iron rangers. They’re comfortable even without insoles, they look fantastic, and the craftsmanship is outstanding. I look forward to many years with this pair.
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing boot. Hi there, Im stuck in sizing.... The Brannock device got I should use 11EE...I tried 10.5D and is too big, then the 10D bends too much before the toe cap stitching and think this is sign of large size, so I went down with a 9.5D...felt snug but read will stretch, so it is ok. I'm worry about the length, I don't feel space between the toes and the front, they are not touching but can't put a finger on the back side/heel. Have somebody the same issue? Hope I can get a good advice. Thank you in advance.
Date published: 2019-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT WAS WORTH EVERY PENNY. I live overseas, so getting a pair of american boots like this is a bit difficult.... at last i made it and got a pair..... My first impression was .... "OMG.... They´re HEAVY "..... i suddenly remembered all those amazon reviews concerning how stiff and hard to break in they were and how my feet would bleed at first..... then, i felt that amazing quality but super thick leather and i feared for my feet...... i had ordered a size down (7 as normally i buy american 8) as recommended by many people and i feared they wouldn't fit.... BUT!.... to my surprise.... THEY FIT LIKE A GLOVE from the beginning. They feel like if they had been bespoke made and i can say after 30 years of work boot wearing that no other boots have been so comfortable as this from the beginning.... no breaking time for me as it wasn't needed. They are a little bit more expensive than average but i will keep buying them as they not only feel but look AMAZING.... great for office work as well.
Date published: 2019-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly made Lasted less than one year and I work an office job
Date published: 2019-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My fifth pair of Red Wings! As the summary states, these Iron Rangers in Hawthorne Muleskinner leather are my fifth pair of Red Wing boots I own. I have Blacksmiths, two pairs of classic moc boots, and a pair of Chukkas. All of these are the most comfortable boots I own. Having tried on various sizes, from all the reviews, I still buy all my Red Wings true to size and find they fit perfect after break in. I wear a size 10 sneaker, and wear a size 10 boot and I have zero problems and great fit. I felt that sizing down caused the boot to pinch my foot on the sides and although tollerable, was very annoying. So my opinion, don’t size down. Break in was very easy on these Iron Rangers! The leather is awesome and looks great. They are just really well made, American made boots that will last a long time with a little bit of care. You won’t be disappointed!
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot! I already have the Beckman's and really like them. I've always liked the Iron Rangers, and finally decided to purchase a pair. Living where it snows, I like that they now come with a lug sole vs. the smooth sole. My Beckman's took quite a few months to break in, but these Iron Rangers take much less time to break in. Compared to the Beckman's, these seem almost broken in when purchased. I am really loving these!! They are the normal Redwing 1 size down from my normal size, but fit my narrow foot well. Super pleased with these - highly recommended!!
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a glove don't know how to begin this review so....... here it goes. I've been searching and trying to find a great pair of boots for a long time, I started buying some online(Thursday boots, wolverine 1000) not knowing what i was going to get into every time and ended up returning most of them. Finally a certain individual told me about red wing boots and how you can go to any store to be fitted with the correct style of boot to you're foot characteristics and i knew this all along but was hook on the online search for the best deal for the buck. I'm sure there are a couple people that can relate. So one day I stop by my local red wing store, immediately i'm greeted and welcomed there. One of the boot experts tells me about the special going on for the holiday and that all the heritage line boots are $50 off including women heritage line, so that's a plus right away and we start talking about fit and style. He brings out 2 pairs of 8084(11, 11.5) I'm a true size 12 but with shoe sizing all over the place nowadays who really knows haha. Tried on the 11.5 it felt good but was just a little to loose by the toes my foot moved along with my toes when wiggled. Let me tell you when i slipped my foot into the 11's man oh man this is what a boot should feel like amazing fit just snugged enough and only my toes moved when wiggled perfect . It's like they where meant to be haha and still haven't been broken in. They look amazing too the black leather finish, they go with everything you wear they truly are the versatile of colors. Hope this helps you on determining you're next choice of boots.
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could have bought any boot.. went with these. I've been on the market for a quality hand made boot for some time. I considered Viberg, Truman and Thursday boots. I chose these because of the color, over all appearance/ quality, the price point and having an actual store I can go into for repairs. I ended up getting fitted for insoles on some machine you step on in store and from day one the boots have been super comfortable.. more so than the high end trainers I have.. although obviously the boots are a lot heavier and not as nimble.. I've feel sure footed in rain, snow, mud and on a roof. Are these hard core work boots? No but for light work ive felt great in them. For the first couple of wears by the end of the day.. the boots felt tight as I did size down half a size as many people have recommended. I get a lot of compliments and I feel great knowing I have American made boots that I can trust to have for years to come. It will be hard to consider other brands for the next pair.. these have def set the standard. If you are on the fence go check them out for yourself and def consider the insole if you have any arch issues like myself.
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One fine causal boot. I was looking for a top notch made in the USA boot. Needed a boot I could wear to work and not have to change out. I'm behind the keyboard now, so I go tired of wearing the heavy duty steel toes. The type with the heavy lug soles. I decided to give RW a shoot. Very glad I did. To my surprise the boots look very good with jeans and even better with khakis. They are the boot I reach for. I'm even going to order another pair, but this time some 8859 or 9075 moc. Very good leather and the stitching is perfect. If I had one complaint it would be the heel appear to be wearing a little faster then I like. After about three months slight wear on the outside, but could be how I walk. I also could have went with a full size smaller. My normal shoe size is 8.5 so I went with an 8. Put a very thin insole in them and perfect. Without the insole a little too big. Now the part that no one will like. My thoughts on break-in them in. I used the water method. Again this is my method as I'm sure it's not recommended at all. I soaked my entire boots in warm for about 1 hour. Dumped the water out and put them right on. Laced those bad boys up and went about my day. No pain at all. As the boots started to dry out they molded right to my foot. I didn't pull them off until they were just about dry. The next day the boots were shaped to my foot. Again this is how I did it. My thoughts are if the boots are such high quality should not be an issue. I have other boots that have been soaked through and through from working and being caught in storms on a motorcycle. Try it, but understand RW may or may not cover them if that methods fails. I'm sure RW would never tell you to use the water method. Heck cowboys have been doing it for years and some of those boots can easily be in the $500 plus range. Whatever you do try a pair. If you don't like them put them up for sale.
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC BOOTS/SHOES!! Made by our brothers and sisters in the U.S.! I own 6 pair of the Iron Rangers, and 2 pair of the the brogue versions. I had them all re-soled by Red wing with the Vibram lugged soles. They are now the most useful footwear I have ever owned, I wear these ALL the time! The stock cork rubber bottoms are very slippery in snow conditions, with the Vibram lugged sole I can now can handle anything! These boots look great, are very comfortable. Too bad they don't make the Brogue version of these anymore- you can wear a casual suit with them...I always get positive comments when I wear any of my Red Wings. You pay for and get great handmade quality with these, and knowing they are being made by the pro's at Red Wing shoes in Minnesota makes them even better! Thanks to all of you at Red Wing who made these for me!
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have four pair of red wings...started buying them in 1988...great boots I have four pair of red wings...started buying them in 1988...great boots
Date published: 2018-12-12
  • y_2019, m_2, d_18, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_375
  • loc_en_US, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8111

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×