Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders See Details

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders See Details

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

LEATHER:
Amber Harness Leather
$319.99 USD
6" AMBER, 8111 Mens is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 413.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_16, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_413
  • loc_en_US, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

The 8111 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Amber Harness leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Amber Harness Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
Laces: 48-inch Black/Brown Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8111 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8111

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Well designed boots These are a well-made pair of boot. They broke in easily and have handled everyday use well. The only reason I knocked the quality is that mine came with a cut in the leather.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm very happy with my purchase For years, I have been operating on the principle that why should I spend a lot of money on work boots if they're going to get beat up and ruined? Well, it finally occurred to me that my cheap, ill-fitting work boots that I've been going through once a year are costing me more than one pair that last a long, long time -- and can be rebuilt when needed. So I took the plunge with a pair of Iron Ranger 8111. I went to the Red Wing store to get a proper fit and expert advice but I have to say I was terribly disappointed with the sales person. She basically didn't know anything about the shoes and was completely unable to give me any kind of guidance or even try to. But I'm glad I went in person to try on several pair because I know that they run large and I didn't want to gamble ordering them by mail. I normally wear a size 11 D and found that a 10-1/2 D was the right fit (tight at first so they end up fitting well). I also tried on a 10 and that was far, far too tight. One thing about them, though is they are extremely long shoes so I suspect that even the 10 would have fit in the toes, but the width was extremely painful. I tried on a 10 wide and that fit just like the 10-1/2. I even held them up to each other and they do in fact seem to be the exact same size. I was told that they never recommend a wide if you can find a D that fits so I got the 10-1/2 D. I have been breaking them in a little at a time with short walks and just wearing them around the house. I have found that they are rapidly becoming comfortable so I suspect the break-in length will be quite quick. The real challenge will be to start wearing them to work in because they are so beautiful I don't want to mess them up. I have to remind myself that that's what I bought them for.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Boots I purchased these boots to wear as an everyday boot. After purchasing them I like them so much that I didn't want to beat them up. I am keeping these as casual boots (shoes) because of the appearance. So I purchased another pair, Amber Harness Leather with the old style sole as a second pair for everyday wear. I have hammered these boots at work, camping, and around town. Took me about 1 week to break them in with lots of wear and heavy sox to begin with. These are by far the best boots I have ever owned! Proof of that is purchasing two pairs with in a week.
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My First Ever Goodyear Welt Constructed Boot and I love them! If you are reading this review, it is just one of hundreds singing the praises of, not only the Iron Ranger boot in general, but of Red Wing Quality. I concur with all of the accolades given! This was my first ever Goodyear Welted Boot. I wanted to upgrade my boots to something that would last a long time, look great and get better with age! This checks all the boxes! I wear a 12D on the Brannock and was able to try a pair of these on in the store. Suggestion was an 11D and it is the best fit. An 11.5D was too sloppy, so the "One size down" suggestion was correct for me on the "8 Last." They required only a slight bit of "break-in" but nothing painful or blister-ridden with nothing more than a pair of white cotton socks. They are a slight bit stiffer in the Amber Harness Leather (8111) than my 3343 Blacksmiths in Copper R&T, but not as much as say a Featherstone leather. After approximately 40 hours of wear- they felt great! I own 6 pair of Heritage boots and the 8111 usually gets two wears per week. I'm also a big fan of being able to rub out "scuffs" with just my finger. At the end of the day, quick once over with a Horsehair brush, install my Boot Tree's after about an hour and they are ready for the next part of the journey!
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comparison w/Made in England Doc Martens 1460 Similar style boots (this and the English-made Doc 1460). The Red Wing is one lace-level shorter than the 8-eye Doc; but this is a better albeit more-expensive boot. Why? 1. Better leather. 2. More secure fit all around the ankle area. 3. Tighter lacing/fit across the top of front foot area. 4. Better sole material and work (although wet traction is better with the Doc). 5. Half-sizes are an option....not so with English Docs. 6. Red Wings will likely last longer. Spend the cash on Red Wings....you won’t be disappointed.
Date published: 2019-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worthy of their reputation The 8111 Iron Ranger is my second pair of Red Wing boots, and like my first, the 8859 Moc Toe, I could not be happier. These are such fantastic looking boots, combining new and old perfectly for a style that I believe can be worn with just about anything short of a suit. The construction lives up to its name and the leather is already taking on a unique look after only a short time. As with most Red Wing reviews I have read, many have said the break-in period is difficult. Mine felt fine after the first two days and have no doubts they will soon fit like a glove. Having broken in several pairs of hockey skates over the years, boots are child's play. Needless to say, these seal the deal - I am a Red Wing guy for life now. Also, a special thanks to the Allentown, PA, Red Wing store - awesome place to shop!
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't Hesitate - Buy Them I was hesitant to spend so much on a pair of shoes, especially hearing that their break-in period was very painful. I took the plunge and I have not looked back. The break-in lasted about a week of daily wear and I had blisters and even a bruise on my foot. But after that, the leather formed to my feet perfectly and now they are the most comfortable pair of boots I've ever owned. The quality and craftsmanship speak for itself. Watching the scuffs and stains get worn in on the leather with a nice patina is a beautiful thing. I would size down one half, just to be safe. Better a tad tight than loose. Don't hesitate, buy a pair today.
Date published: 2019-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great craftsmanship Great boot but wasn't sure if the breaking in process included getting my heel to sit firmly on the foot bed . it eventually sat perfectly just as I was hoping
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! So I purchased a pair of 8085 Copper Rough & Tough for myself for Christmas. I have worn them at least 5 days a week to work and some on the weekends as well ever since then. I went in to the store to be fitted and the store rep recommended the same size I get in everything else I buy 10.5. I put them on in the store and they felt great. I purchased a couple of pairs of the Red Wing Merino Wool socks to wear while breaking them in. I had absolutely zero discomfort and I feel they broke in very quickly, probably within a week of wearing them for 10 hours plus a day. I really liked the color these were brand new and stayed away from putting any product on them as they felt supple enough. They have taken on a Patina and have darkened quite a bit in a lot of areas but still have the original color in others. I think they are looking amazing! I finally put some of the Boot Creme on them as the store told me it would not darken the boots at all. They were correct. This is my first pair of Iron Rangers. I am about to purchase another pair, just debating with myself over which color. On the Fence about Charcoal R&T or Muleskinner. I highly recommend these boots! They feel great & they look great! I get compliments on them pretty much every day.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Favorite I’ve had these boots for a year and I’d say it took me about six months to break them,alternating between them and my 8085.
Date published: 2019-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great all-around boot for office or causal I bought these boots in late October after window shopping for years. I've always worn Red Wing steel toes, but just could not justify the cost of a pair of footwear that I wouldn't really wear. Working in an office, I can now wear these every day, as they go pretty well with any pair of jeans, and they look very good when they are oiled/taken care of. It took me about a month to walk them in properly, but since I have they are extremely comfortable. I get compliments on them once a week without fail. I do notice that the consistency is not 100% with these boots - probably due to the "hand-made" claims that I have heard. No sweat though, I trust the Red Wing warranty to cover any issues with stitching, etc. that I have yet to encounter. I've worn them all winter, through deep snow and slush. My feet have never been wet. One word of caution: They are NOT grippy. Walk carefully on ice and wet parking lot lines. Otherwise, I am extremely pleased with the fit, style, and quality of my boots.
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot. A sharp looking boot that fights a variety of occasions. Would recommend this boot to others in a heartbeat. The charcoal look is great with almost anything you wear. If I were to be asked what I like about this boot is: it's shape, design and quality is worth the money. I wouldn't be displease if they began to offer this boot in a larger Width like the other colors. But what a phenomenal boot.
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They should fit great right out of the store Sizing is tough on these, I feel like they run a tad narrow. I normally wear a 10.5-11 in Vans, boots, and dress shoes. I almost bought the 9.5D which was what the Red Wing clerk recommended after sizing my foot but then my wife insisted I try on the 9.5EE (wides.) Thankfully my wife is a smart lady. Because it was like that scene when Harry Potter picks up his wand for the first time. Do yourself a favor and at least try the wides on and DO NOT leave the store until they feel great on your feet. Then expect that amazing feeling to go away for some slightly painful break in over the course of a week or so. Then they're amazing again. I'm about 2 months in on wearing these 5 days a week and they are hands down the best boot I've ever worn. I get complimented on them at least once a day.
Date published: 2019-03-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Still having problems This is a follow up to a review from a month ago under the same title. I have been wearing these boots for over a month 5-6 times a week for 10-16 hours. I have discovered why this second pair of boots do not feel the same. one boots heel cap was stitched on square and even (left) while the other boot heel cap is crooked (right). this disparity has caused the break in of these boots to feel extremely different. there is just too much material in a place where it ought not be. i do not believe they will ever feel anywhere close to similar on me heel regardless of break in. i have resorted to trying to hammer down the raised area on the right portion of the right heel just to not have a major pressure point on this foot. i have not yet decided whether i will attempt a refund or continue hammering away.
Date published: 2019-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solid product Purchased Red Wing Iron Ranger Copper Rough and Tough after reading lots of on-line written and video reviews. Wanted more of an urban boot rather than true hiking/backpacking boot. Pleased that this boot easily covers both functions with best performance in urban performance. Main concern was sizing. Measuring device at Red Wing store indicated 11.5 size (I usually wear 11.0 to 12.0 depending on type of footwear and manufacturer) and store employee recommended same size. For me, these really fit true to size. I possibly cold have sized down to 11.0, but I prefer a roomier fit in the toebox. I think an 11.0 would result in a bit of a cramped feeling with regard to anterior fit for me. Simply my preference. First week of wear was brutal. Foot area and sole of boot presented no problem with break-in. The ankle area was so stiff that I was forced to change my gait pattern and heel strike while walking and I developed knee pain in right leg. After 1st 3 wears, (4 hours first wear, 6 hours second, and 10 hours third) I conditioned boots with Red Wing leather conditioner and break-in continued without problem. Now, these are incredibly comfortable and cork midsole is well on way to conforming to my foot. Highly recommend this boot and am saving for second purchase. I believe a pair of black "Blacksmith's" will be next Red Wing Purchase. Considered lots of other manufacturers and styles, but really am stricken by the quality of this product. Plus USA based company with USA manufacture of Heritage line doesn't hurt my decision.
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from lacks support , rock hard feel I've had my Iron rangers for about 3 years now and they are completely broken in. What the marketing info states about the footbed slowly forming to a custom fit is wishfull thinking. I hardly ever wear them anymore because they are so unforgiving. It feels like im wearing wooden shoes. With high quality footbeds like Superfeet that improve arch support they are slightly more tolerable but still rock hard under foot. My only suggestion would be to use a cushion insert or Gel insert but those just make my feet hot. So if you wear em to church once a week or out on the town you'll probably like them. They are well made and good looking but for all day wear they will leave you crying.
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do It. First off, the quality of the materials and the craftsmanship is top notch. On top of that the design aesthetic looks great. As far as the comfort goes, they will be...eventually. It took me about 3 weeks of wearing them every other day, for full 10 hour days, to get rid of all the pinch points and such. The footbed now has grooves that fit my foot and I can tell that it will get more and more comfortable. IMPORTANT: The fit. TRY THEM ON! The size number is not the most important part of the fit. For example, I wear a size 13 in athletic shoes and casual shoes (up to 13.5); size 11.5 Iron Rangers gave me enough space to FREELY wiggle my toes. The problem is the area that goes around my arch was too tight and the ball of my foot landed in a bad spot. I tried on and bought a size 12, which was snug around the arch, but had the ball of my foot land in a better spot. The fit AROUND your foot is what is important and should be a bit snug/stiff when new. Lastly, the Vibram sole is good on concrete, but not much else. So just keep in mind what your use will be.
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best looking and most comfortable boot I have ever owned. The more I wear them, the more I love them. Out of the box these boots wrap themselves around your feet like a comfy blanket. If you want a comfortable boot that looks great and only gets better as they age, then get yourself a pair of these boots, you will never regret it, and they never go out of style.
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect boot Amazing boot. Has made walking fun! Great boot overall
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good natural lasting boots Good fine make + material for starters & professionals Thank you RED WING !!!
Date published: 2019-03-15
  • y_2019, m_6, d_16, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_413
  • loc_en_US, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8111

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×