Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8111

LEATHER:
Amber Harness Leather
$319.99 USD
6" AMBER, 8111 Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 320.
  • y_2018, m_10, d_18, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_320
  • loc_en_US, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

The 8111 is a rugged 6-Inch boot, featuring premium Amber Harness leather, chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Amber Harness Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
Laces: 48-inch Black/Brown Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8111 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8111 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8111

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Boots! I bought factory 2nds from a buddy and I couldn't tell you the difference between those and the 1st. A little cleaning and conditioning and it looked brand spanking new. I got these in a 7D. For some odd reason, they fit very similar to my pair of Beckmans which are a 7.5D. Both are a touch loose at the toes. Maybe I'm a 6.5 in Redwings. No problem though, I threw in a pair of insoles for my Iron Rangers and they fit like a glove now. If you have a store near you, I highly suggest going in person to get sized. The leather is of fantastic quality. Great overall look and feel. I highly recommend this iconic boot! My next purchase are the Roughnecks.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black iron ranger. 8084 Love the boots, looks great with a black untuckit shirt! Love the contrast of black to tan, Goodyear welt construction! Runs large so order .5 smaller....I like to break them in with heavy wool socks....about 1 month!
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hands down the best all around boot on the market Fit, comfort, utility, style, and build all are top notch. I own 6 different pairs and love them all.
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, versatile boots! Living in northern Europe, working as a geologist, I find these boots to be an ideal compromise for working outdoors in mud, slush, gravel, dirt and water, and at the same time being able to meet a client back at the office without disgrace. I've had these boots for about a year and have travelled the world with them, and they have held up perfectly! I think this is partly because they are constructed with a steel shank. However, the steel shank will assure that you will be held up at airport security checks, just take them off before passing the scanner. Being an ex-military and ex-airborne infantryman, I love that the Iron Rangers looks a bit like old school jumping boots! I also own the legendary Alden 405 "Indy boot", which is probably a bit more refined and also cool looking, but I still trust my Iron Rangers for most of my travels. Break in was a non-issue for me, just wear good quality wool socks and you will be fine. For serious outings, like backpacking or hunting for example in Scandinavia or Alaska, they are not sturdy, waterproof and warm enough. For everything else - perfect!
Date published: 2018-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall good, but there are several questions to the welt. leather of good quality, but badly sewed welt, as seen in the photo. I did not like the fabric lining inside the boot. Correctly choose the size of the boot indicated on the style number. Do not take a flat sole, living in cold countries кожа хорошего качества, но плохо пришит рант, как видно на фото. Не понравилась тканевая подкладка внутри ботинка. Правильно выбирайте размер ботинка, указанный на стиле номер. Не берите плоскую подошву, проживая в холодных странах
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot ever Buying my second pair of irons. After 6 years is tome to up get my 8083s. My 8011 did their job. They look and feel great all this time. This boots are so comfortable is unvalieble after all this years. I recommend them strongly. You will never be sorry you paid so much for a set of boots.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Year On and Looking Strong! I live in Sydney Australia but bought my first pair of 8111s a year ago whilst in Brooklyn. I broke them in after only a couple of days walking around NYC without any issues and have worn them almost every day since (and in all weather extremes). I would definitely recommend buying first pair in store to get a perfect fit. I oil my boots every couple of months using RW Mink Oil and they have now matured into a great dark colour. I am hoping to pick up a pair of 875 Moc Toes from the same Brooklyn store when I return later in the year!
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 months in... First off I recommend going to a Red Wings store and getting sized. I'm a 10 in shoes but a 9 1/2 in these boots. Most people say get a half size down or a whole and I completely agree with that. As for the break in it took about 2 weeks and that's wearing them on weekdays for 8-10 hours a day. I'd wear 2 pairs of socks so that the break in process was a bit more comfortable. I clean them with the Red Wings Foam leather cleaner and mink oil which makes them look brand new. Mink Oil will slightly darken your boots just a heads up. Final verdict you definitely get what you pay for. These are incredible looking boots built to last for many years.
Date published: 2018-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well built boot Hands down best boots. I’ve beat them up pretty well and they still looks amazing. I’ve backpacked with them and walked miles through NYC and no pain nor aches. Wish I had more pairs but one pair fits all my needs. I sized down 1/2. Perfect fit.
Date published: 2018-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made Great every day boot after breaking in.Good for all seasons
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Traditional Quality Craftsmanship This may turn out to be the best non-steel toe work boot I have ever owned! I did locate a Red Wing Shoe Store before purchasing something. I tend to wear a size 10 in other Red Wing boots. These fit more like a dress shoe. Size 9 is what I needed. It was good having help. With some heritage varieties, I was unable to even put my foot in the boot due to my high arches. For the agony of my previous worn-out boots, these feel like slippers after only a day and a half. For the break-in period, it may be best to lace them low. I wear through heals quickly. These nailed heals can be replaced for a nominal cost, along with the sole. I do prefer a traditional, unlined, and repairable boot. Not everyone does. For proper fit, there boots should fit like a glove.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! This is my second pair of the Heritage line of boots and like the pair before, these are awesome! Excellent quality and craftsmanship, all creating a very nice looking boot. They are a bit stiff and require some break-in but that is normal for a full leather boots. This Copper and Tough leather is so nice, just like my 1907's and almost takes on a new look day to day. Red Wing never fails to disappoint.
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all-around boot I've been wearing Red Wing moc toes for about a decade now, and decided to try something different with my latest purchase after finding the Iron Ranger on sale. Immediately, I asked myself why I didn't try these sooner! Maybe the 8 last suits my foot better, but the Iron Ranger was more comfortable on day one than my moc toes were by the end of their first month. As for sizing: my Brannock size is nearly 11E on the left foot, 10.5E on the right foot, with low arches and low volume. A 10EE was as close to a perfect fit as I could get -- a touch of room in the width, but a 9.5EE was too short, and a 10.5D was too long and too narrow. If only a 10E existed! In essence, I sized down about a full size. My moc toe size is 10E and fits very similarly. I took a wild gamble and decided to break these in during a 3-day weekend event at which I'd be doing lots of walking, standing, and moving of objects. I felt confident in doing so, as these hardly gave any discomfort after the end of the first day. They were nigh fully broken in by the end of the event -- a stark difference compared to the two pairs of moc toes I own, which each took around a month for the entire boot to fit like a glove. I attribute this largely to the amount of double leather reinforcement in the moc toe which is missing from the Iron Ranger, but I digress. Overall, this is a great-looking boot with great construction that I feel comfortable wearing for work and play. I'd still opt for the moc toe for more strenuous work (especially if lots of water or mud is involved,) but otherwise, these are now my go-to. The full grain leather is of excellent quality, and appropriately thick. I did buy the now-defunct version with the nitrile cork sole, but it's of no consequence to me -- it's already passed the wet weather test, and I do not live in a locale where it snows. I can always opt for a different sole later down the line when repair becomes necessary.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot money can buy I’ve had this boot for over two years now. Boots usually last me 10 months. I wear them everyday no matter what I’m doing. They go to work with me, they go hiking with me. I’ve submerged them in waterfalls, climed mountains, hiked 10+miles at a time. They been through snow, salt, mud, water, heat, humidity. They’ve been abused by all means. But all I have to do is put a little mink oil on them again and they look business causal! I can wear them with anything! I love these boots and plan on putting new soles on them when the time comes. Worth the money for sure.
Date published: 2018-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the investment! Love my Rangers. As a tool maker, I'm on my feet at least 8 hours a day. Once I lace up my boots they don't come off for about 12 hrs. I couldn't be happier with them!
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great-looking boots but soles made from a hard material and therefore are hard on the feet. I love the LOOK of these boots (my second pair of RWs) but comfort-wise they have a problem - the sole. The first pair I bought (Heritage Moccasins - back in 1995) had rubber soles. These have a hard sole, not sure what its made of. I WISH they had rubber soles like my other RW boots because hard rubber is without a doubt the best material for shoe soles as it's quiet and yielding. The hard cork or whatever it is on these Rangers doesn't work so good on a lot of surfaces. I am thinking of glueing an aftermarket rubber sole to them to address this issue. Other than that, they are terrific boots. The only other concern I have is the tongue. I hope it doesn't wear out. Reason being is the tongues wore out on my first pair and I had to have them reinforced. I wish RW would add a double layer of leather on their tongues too, as this is the most vulnerable area in terms of wear and tear.
Date published: 2018-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm an automotive technician and I actually use this for work I work full time as an automotive technician for a locally owned (non corporate) shop. I work on anything from motorcycles to dump trucks, I am on my feet 8 to 9.5 hrs a day 5 days a week, AND at any point in time standing in antifreeze, motor oil, brake fluid, snow, and mud. Constantly climbing jumping and crawling over under and in different vehicles. I had always worn Carolina work boots but hate how bulky and heavy they are. It may sound dumb but I do take pride in my appearance at work and like a well fitted uniform and wanted a boot to match. I saw these boots and really like the rugged look and being red wings figured they would be well made (also Ishould note that I am not required to have any kind of safety/steel toe at my job). Unfortunately All of the reviews I found were by a bunch of "princesses" that wanted a cute boot to wear to the office or out to the club that matched the hairbow in their manbun. Aaanyway I rolled the dice and went for it, I figured F it, i found a smoking deal on a pair and pulled the trigger. 1- go get fitted! I was a full size down. 2-the break in LITERALLY took 2 days, I bought them, put 2 coats of obenhaufs lp on, wore them for a few hours over the weekend then went to work on Monday! that was it. They are literally the most comfortable boot I've ever worn (you girls complaining should stick to loafers and boat shoes-it's your soft feet....not the boots. 3)I clean them every 3 months w saddle soap and reapply the obenauf's and they literally look brand new. I will buy these again. Despite what anyone says...YES....these can be work boots
Date published: 2018-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made the plunge So far I gotta say I’m upset wth myself for not buying earlier. I Put them on the 1st day walked 2 miles with a thick and never gave me any problems n broke in beautifully. Love that they go wth jeans,chinos, and my carhartts.
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pair off boots i've ever owned If anyone is worried about spending this much on a boot - don't. I wear mine every day and they hardly have worn down at all. I usually go through boots and shoes once every three months and having these boots close to a year and still going strong. I'd recommend the Iron Rangers to anyone!
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get sized Visit a store and get sized. At first they will be tight, uncomfortable and your feet will hurt. If you can suck it up, in a few weeks to a month depending on how much you wear them expect the most comfortable pair of boots you have ever owned. Using a leather conditioner/salve will help speed up the break in, but may darken the color.
Date published: 2018-06-02
  • y_2018, m_10, d_18, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_320
  • loc_en_US, sid_08111, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8111

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×