Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Classic Moc product photo

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8138

$279.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Classic Moc product photo

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8138

$279.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8138

LEATHER:
Briar Oil Slick Leather
$279.99 USD
6" BROWN, 8138 Mens is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 189.
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_189
  • loc_en_US, sid_08138, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8138 : Classic Moc

Modeled after Red Wing’s original work boot style, the 8138 is a 6-Inch Moc Toe featuring Briar Oil Slick leather, white Traction Tred rubber outsole, triple stitched quality and Goodyear welt construction.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

We began making moc-toe boots in the 1950s for sportsmen. Farm and factory workers quickly took to the boots for their all-day comfort and lasting durability. The crescent-shaped toe stitching is inspired by the construction of moccasins originally worn by the North American Algonquin Indians. Our Classic Moc Toes have since become a legend.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Briar Oil Slick Leather
Outsole: Traction Tred
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
Laces: 48-inch Tan/Gold Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8138 : Classic Moc

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8138 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Most customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8138

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected I had always heard about how great these boots were so I decided I’d try them out. As soon as they came in, I was impressed with the look, craftsmanship, and feel right off the bat. I slipped them on, laced them up, and was amazed at the comfort right out of the box. After the first hour, they seemed even more comfortable. This is day 8 and they are amazing. I already have plans to buy more as soon as these give up the ghost. I’ve told everyone to buy a pair that I know.
    Date published: 2018-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All new boots need to be broken in. Blisters are caused by a boot that is not broken in. For all of you have had the pleasure of breaking in your Red Wings and killing yourselves doing it, here is some friendly advice. THEY ALL NEED BREAKING IN! EVERY new shoe or boot, no matter what brand does not fit your foot until it is broken in. Some are easier than others, some are softer, but that is not the case here. Water is your boots' enemy! If you soak them, then you will buy a new pair sooner! Period. It is great for the boot business, but this is not 1820 and there are way more options and sizes available than back then. If you fit it properly, a tad looser is better, then your break in can be done in a few days...depending on what you've been wearing most of the time. Soft shoes make your feet soft. They cause more heat and more sweat. You don't want that. You want your feet to feel like the palms of your hands, tough but not calloused. Next, your toes should feel like they are hanging out a window, touching nothing. If you feel the end or the sides of the boots with your toes, then you will have to break that in and that is not pleasant. The ball of the foot should feel comfortably snug, not tight. Tight means it will need to stretch. If you want that, then feel free, but snug means the boot will break in with a little time. Your heel should slip between 1/8 and 1//4 inch. Two things here. 1...the heel counter needs to mold to your bone structure. That will take a few hours. 10-20. DO NOT DO THAT IN TWO DAYS!!! Break that into 2-4 hour time periods. You will not hurt your feet that way and that is safe. If you hurt your feet, blisters or sore spots, then you will have to wait a few days or weeks to start the process over again. Your feet will need to heal first. Two...your sole and insole need to flex. At present, your new boots are stiff and when you bend the boot as you walk, the boot does not want to follow. Hence, the heel slip. That will disappear as the boot breaks in. The last thing I want to mention is, you might have noticed that the toes on your new boots turn up. That is on purpose!! When you walk, your heel does not move until the sole touches the ground. At that point, the heel slips. This is by design by Red Wing to help with that break in. A design that was developed in the 1940's. A rule of thumb I go by...the looser you can stand a shoe the easier the break in (just the rough edges), the tighter the boots, the longer the break in. Hope this helps someone!
    Date published: 2018-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic/Rugged in EE Excellent boot - wear everyday for warehouse/light construction work. stands up fine and offers excellent support on hard/concrete floors. Break in for me was about a week ... not too painful and now fits like a glove. my only complaint is that if you have wide feet (mine are the EE) you have only 2 options in this boot (light, dark). I would easily order another pair(s) if more leather options were available. instead, I must wear other brand(s) to keep some variety with my clothing.
    Date published: 2018-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boot I received these as a gift after talking about them for years....a great surprise. It took me a couple of weeks or wear to make them truly comfortable but these are some of the most comfortable boots I have worn. Having a wide foot makes finding comfortable shoes a bit tough. Can't comment on wear.
    Date published: 2018-01-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible fit - defective or really poor design Length of fit is perfect and even a bit snug however lacing can't be pulled tight enough. Able to tighten at first, even though looked goofy laced with eyelets on top of each other. It grew unbearably loose in short time. Eyelets pulled together completely and still can't get snug but toes right to end of boot. Heel constantly slipping up and can't tighten any further around ankles. Absolutely horrible fit. Worn work boots for decades and never one so poorly fitting. Never ever again.
    Date published: 2018-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable: Box to Foot This is my first pair of Red Wing Boots...9075. I was fitted properly at a Red Wing store. Boot size recommended 9 which is also my shoe size, so I bought the 9. I wear a medium weight wool/cotton blend sock. First day I wore them 8 straight hours...no problem. If a 10 is the most comfortable (gym shoe comfortable) I would give them a solid 7 right out of the box. When I took them off the first day I oiled them and "worked" the oil in with a warm hair dryer. The second day I wore them another 8 hours. They were so comfortable, and fitted my foot so well, at the end of the second day... I DID NOT WANT TO TAKE THEM OFF! I was very concerned about the break-in period and almost stayed clear of the brand because of the "harsh" reviews the Heritage Line receives. This is a great boot, high quality, and attention to detail is impressive. I am very pleased, and look forward to putting my boots on tomorrow.
    Date published: 2018-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning Craftsmanship I love these boots. A bit of advice, go into a store if you can and get sized. I was sized at a 12.5 and the associate thought I should go with a 12. I tried this for a few days just walking around the house and realized there was no way my toes could handle it (they touched). I ended going to my normal 13 which was available at a different store and they fit perfect. So contrary to everyone saying to size down I’d say at least for me they were true to my normal size. Secondly, the color variance on these boots is incredible. One pair can be almost black while another looks like the picture, similar to a cigar. So going to the store makes a big difference to see which color you like. Hope to have these for many years.
    Date published: 2018-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 6" MOC, MOSSY OAK 8884 These boots were unavailable for a time, now there back. Most comfortable boot ever, i was able to wear them al day everyday right from the get go ! Tons of compliments from the unique color
    Date published: 2017-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feet armour I purchased those boots more than 3 month ago. They were quite uncomfortable during the first 45 days. I was feeling like someone was behind me trying to cut my ankles with a chainsaw. I wore them every day and avery day was a pain but now it's my favourite shoes. The leather is "soft" when I need it to be, and it stay strong and rigid where its necessary. I wear them during entire days of walking in my shop and I use them to ride my bike too. I love them and I really hope they are going to last a while. Thanks Red Wing !
    Date published: 2017-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent boot, you have to earn it though. This is my second pair of Heritage boots (Iron Rangers still going strong). The 1907s are now my most comfortable pair of boots, but I took a two-week beating breaking them in. I'm not complaining; they fit and support my feet perfectly and they are worth the brief discomfort I experienced as well as the significant price tag. Quality seldom comes easily or cheaply. Keep it up Redwing.
    Date published: 2017-12-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great for show but not for work These are great boots if your not going to work in them. They look great feel great but having to spend 112 on new soles after 7 months on the job is not worth the $300 price tag.
    Date published: 2017-12-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Color distortion fairly extreme I love the fit, but am unimpressed with the color change these boots are experiencing. It is tough to show up on the picture, but it seems this section of the boot is showing a large amount of blackening. This started with 1-2 days of wear (I'm a teacher, so nothing extreme) and under no harsh conditions. You can see how the upper part of the boot looks fine in the picture. I was told by rep that "all boots are different" and that this is normal. I hardly think so.
    Date published: 2017-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New boot goofin Got a pair half size down after being fitted at a Red Wing store. Liked them so much I got a pair in my normal shoe size to run with a heavier sock in the cold. Great boots. Some break in period as mentioned. If you're gona drop $300 ... spend a little extra money, buy good socks and it won't be an issue. If I know I'm on my feet all day these are a must. This is a shoe for a mans foot, stop complaining ... and the soft sole is what makes them so comfortable
    Date published: 2017-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tiny little problem. Bought these boots online and I have just abit of a slight problem here. I'm experiencing discomfort due to the weird flexing of my left boot caused by the asymmetrical throat line. Other than that it's a perfect pair of boots!
    Date published: 2017-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best pair of boots that I ever had! From my point of view these boots are one of the best that I ever had (probably the best)! They are made out of the finest leather and you really see and feel with which kind of effort and passion they are made. It's my first pair of red wing and I am more than convinced by them. So I agree with one of the other customers - once red wing always red wing! The long history of creating first quality boots speaks for itself! This is a craftsmanship that cannot be done by machines. Passionated people are working hard every day to deliver the best kind of leather boots that you can imagine, which in the end also justifies the price. I call that art!
    Date published: 2017-11-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Short-lived • Soles deplete very quickly (mine only took about 3 months of irregular work or walking to wear down to nothing on the ball of the foot) • Boots are heavy and stiff AF, but not strong; and are not water resistant, but nor are they breathable. • Stitching on the toe lip slowly separating in spite of regular cleaning and leather conditioning; inside of boot is drenched after even brief rain. • Inner sole completely warping at the edges, no longer fits my foot shape at all. • Red Wing store in Richmond, VIC (AUS) didn't care at all, quoted $190 for new soles. These boots are a purely cosmetic product and not worth anywhere near $350.
    Date published: 2017-11-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Slippery and wear-down quickly The faux leather collars at the top of the boot wear down / rip easily. The soft soles wear down very quickly and become very slippery on wet surfaces. Not great for a $300 boot. Here's a photo of my boots after 18 months of wear.
    Date published: 2017-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots Once these boots break in they are awesome,I have been wearing Red Wing work boots for a long time ,I decided to try the 875 boots for around town and weekend duty,Like I said once they stretch and break in they are really comfortable,oil helps a lot to speed up the process I love these so much I went and bought a pair of the limited Irish setter 9874 and 9875 ,they are a great boot
    Date published: 2017-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots I love these boots just wish you could get them with a black sole and with a heel for motor cycle riding.
    Date published: 2017-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought these in 2011 and still kickin I bought these boots because I loved the look and they were very nice to wear some nice jeans and a nice flannel with. They started out as a here and there wear, then I started wearing them more often and being my go to boot. I can say after wearing and owning this one single pair of boots for 6 years that I’ll never purchase another brand. I’ve stopped into the store with my boots looking dirty and they no complaints cleaned them up for me free of charge. I’ve worn these boots on dates I’ve worn these boots to work in a hardware store all the way to picking apples to hunting to working as a landscaper. Yeah the soles are a little worn and the leather is scuffed in spots but it just makes me love these boots even more and these appreciate red wing boots even more. I’ll recommend these to anyone and everyone looking for a great daily wear with any situation. I’ll retire these bad boys soon and get another pair and add the olds ones to the collection
    Date published: 2017-10-23
    • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_189
    • loc_en_US, sid_08138, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritage

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×
    Please enter a valid email address

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×

    Where to buy your
    Classic Moc

    STYLE No. 8138

    You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

    Online Partner

    Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

    FIND A STORE

    Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

    ×