Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Roughneck product photo

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

$269.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Roughneck product photo

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

$269.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Roughneck

STYLE NO. 8146

LEATHER:
Briar Oil Slick Leather
$269.99 USD
6" BROWN, 8146 Mens is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 54.
  • y_2018, m_9, d_23, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_08146, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
American workers in the 20th century.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. American workers in the 20th century. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8146 : Roughneck

Modeled after Red Wing’s original work boot style, the 8146 is a 6-Inch Moc Toe featuring Briar Oil Slick leather, Vibram Lug outsole, triple stitched quality and Goodyear welt construction.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

In the mid-20th century, those men who wrenched on oil rigs had one of the most dangerous occupations around, earning them the nickname, “roughnecks.” The 8146 was inspired by these workers and built just as tough, with a 6-inch height for support and protection, thick, durable leathers and a heavily lugged sole for grip on any surface.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Briar Oil Slick Leather
Outsole: Vibram® Lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
Shank: Steel
Laces: 48-inch Tan/Gold Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8146 : Roughneck

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the full grain leather upper, leather footboard and cork midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8146 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Most customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8146

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made This is a very well made boot, go down 1 size and it will fit perfect. The vibram outsole will wear for years and is nice for Wisconsin winters. This is a nice boot for kickin' around in and looks good with jeans too. The leather is very supple and will only get softer with age. The only thing I would add is a loop in the back for pulling it on. Otherwise you need to use a shoehorn to get'em on. Other then that, thumbs up ! And as always, made in the USA !!!!!!
    Date published: 2018-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A new level of quality I love the quality of these boots. They fit well and are breaking in perfectly. They have a boxy feel at first but once the leather stretches they hug your feet.
    Date published: 2018-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a magnificent boot. I bought my first pairs of Red Wings Super Sole 953s with a thinsulate lining back in 91 and 96, but this time, was looking for a Moc toe. I saw these 8146s on the Red Wing site as well as YouTube and thought they may very well be the best looking boot in the Heritage collection. The Briar Oily Slick color, and the beautiful look of the boot, is only surpassed by the way the boot is constructed. The quality of the leather is other worldly. The triple stiching, Goodyear welt construction, Vibram outersole, and leather innersole makes for one outstanding boot. They do require breaking in, so wearing thick winter socks are a must as well as slowly wearing them more and more until they are completely broken in. Overall, I am blown away by them and would recommend them to everyone. Blacksmith's 3341 Rough and Tough Charcoals are next. Lol!!
    Date published: 2017-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect shoe for Norwegian autumn and spring I bought this shoe at Skomaker Våge in the city of Gjøvik last autumn. They felt a litle stiff in the beginning, but after some use, like "everyone else" I discovered that the fit gets awsome. Mine felt a litle big in the beginning, but soles made them colder and less comfortable so i took them out. Now the shoes has got this nice fit with nice space for my toes and thicker socks on cold days. One thing I did from the start was to attach hooks on the three top lace holes. That made the shoes much easier and faster to take on and off. In winter when it is below -10 degrees celsius they are to cold to be comfortable. In the cold days I use the Ice Cutter instead.
    Date published: 2017-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful boot, WAY too narrow. I have worn the Classic Moccasin 1907 size 9.5 D exclusively for four years now. I have two pairs that I rotate. I recently ordered the Roughneck 2942 size 9.5 D for winter use. They arrived today, and I was very disappointed to discover that I could barely squeeze my feet into these. This is unusual, as I have never had width issues with standard sizes for any shoe brand. (The length was fine.) The website does disclose that these boots were constructed using different lasts than the 1907, however I am surprised that the fit is so entirely different. They do not make a wider (EE) option in the Copper. Redwing customer support was excellent; they make returning online orders relatively painless. It is a handsome boot; I am disappointed. If you have average width feet, expect a very tight fit. If you have wide feet, beware. They do make EE sizes for the Roughneck 8146 Briar Oil Slick Leather.
    Date published: 2017-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Red Wing Boots! I've worn Red Wing boots for more than 30 years. This was my first pair of this style. At first I was hesitant because of the alleged lengthy break-in period. After one week of wearing them daily, they were broken-in & held the distinction of being my favorite Red Wing boots I've ever owned. And besides being well built, durable & comfortable, they're made in America!
    Date published: 2017-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and long lasting winter boots I have had these boots in black and they have lasted me over 20 years bought pair in 1996! I regularly wear them throughout winter months in London, heal is just starting to wear down now! If your in two minds don't hesitate these are the real deal took some time to break in but worth the wait! Think of getting some brown ones now!!
    Date published: 2017-11-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Missing shoelace hooks Ordered these boots from my local RW dealer and when I went in to pick them up they were missing 3 of the shoelace hooks. They looked nice aside from that. Currently waiting for a finished pair.
    Date published: 2017-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They just keep going Yes... they took a while (a good long while) to break in. But they just keep going and going. For some reason, my feet are very hard on shoes, especially the outside of the heels. But with my Redwing Roughnecks, I've had them for over 3 years, and am only now thinking about a new heel. I've bought other, so-called, high-quality shoes that now look worn and shabby in just a couple of years. I'm willing to put up with some break-in time for quality that lasts like this. Don't try to wear them all the time at first. Be patient and give them time to break in, and THEN you can wear them all the time. These look great, and seem like they will for as long as I keep taking care of them. These are my go-to boots.
    Date published: 2017-10-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I regret this purchase Everything was great for the first week or so. Then I started getting pain on the bottom of my feet that got progressively worse over the next few weeks. What happened is that as the leather stretched in the sides of the boot, the raised leather insole that was too narrow for my feet dug into them, causing considerable pain. The thing is, they fit when they were new. I had no issues. The more I broke these in the worse the pain got. Stay away if you have wide feet. This pair of boots was the biggest waste of money I've ever made the mistake of making.
    Date published: 2017-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged leather boots with excellent craftsmanship . I tried these because my dad always wore Red Wing boots. Now I see why. I purchased this style because it is available in wide sizes. I wear a EEE in some dress shoes. My EE Red Wings fit really well. Short break in period. I have read reviews where buyers had trouble breaking them in. I picked the right size for me (13EE) and now they wear like a glove. They felt a little bulky at first but the stiffness went away. My feat sweat in most shoes. The high quality leather breathes and drys. I have worn them 4-5 days a week since 2015 with powder and clean socks. Worth the extra money. Buy yourself a pair.
    Date published: 2017-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roughneck copper 2942 6 inch boot Great boot, true to reviews, I backed off a half size from my 9.5 in model 2406, and went with a 9.0... Perfect fit, they do run a narrow D width, but perfect for me! I bought the oil tanned leather gift pack, along with the horse hair brush, hoping to keep them around for many years!
    Date published: 2017-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another fine Red Wing offering These are a truly terrific offering by the folks at Red Wing. Have had them for several months and I couldn't be happier. The fit is spot on, the craftsmanship is top notch as usual, and the graining of the leather makes these one of the most beautiful pair of Red Wings I own. I almost didn't order these but I'm so glad I did. American workmanship at its finest.
    Date published: 2017-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it took some time, but now I love these boots I've had my 8146's for four years now and after almost giving up on them a couple of times, I've come to love them. The break-in period was very long, much longer than any other boots I've ever had. I oiled them, I persisted, but they gave me blisters and made my feet sore after an hour or two of working in them. Finally I tried putting in some off-the-shelf orthotics in them and that helped a lot, although I still would not have called them 'comfortable'. After wearing them like that for about a year cutting firewood and doing general chores around the place they improved a lot. Then I tried them again without the insoles and they were much better. I still don't think I'd use them as hiking boots - not really appropriate for walking long distances - but they're great for work. I wanted to like these boots because it is nice wearing something that is designed to last and designed to be resoled and repaired. My persistence paid off - they're now excellent work boots.
    Date published: 2017-07-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Painful after 3 years Ok, so this is my go to Fall/Winter Season boot. They feel good ONLY for a couple hours. Once you really start walking in them for a long period of time they KILL your feet. Blisters on the toes, you end up limping all over. And this is after a 3 year break in process. I was told this would take time, but come on...3 years is long enough. They look great, constructed very well, but they just HURT your feet for LONG WEAR. Wanted this to be my forever boot, just ended up being my NEVER boot.
    Date published: 2017-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pair I've owned I've worn Red Wings (2406 & 4206 primarily) every day for work for 12 years; the 8146 were a gift and are my "dress" boots. I've enjoyed every wearing of my current pair of 8146 for 9 years. I oil them periodically and wash the laces from time to time. The Vibram sole has been durable and the fact that it can be replaced means that theses boots may last a lifetime. 8146 is comfortable even for long days on your feet on concrete (I wear mine at trade shows, etc.), they are often admired by TSA agents on their way through the x-ray and I can safely say they are the best pair of boots I've ever owned.
    Date published: 2017-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar look, quality and feel that is unmistakably Red Wing Heritage This my third Red Wing boot in what seems to be my fast-growing RW Heritage collection. Ever since I bought my first pair in February of 2016 -- Beckman 9013 -- my adoration for the Heritage line keeps getting stronger primarily for the styles in its line of boots, and equally for the quality of the leather, the available colors and the workmanship most definitely. The compliments I get whenever I wear this boot are unbelievably consistent. It's hard not to feel good whenever someone says how great this boot looks. In fact, I have turned on a couple of co-workers to RW just by wearing the brand at work. I was a bit concerned when I watched a YouTube video on this RW boot, as the YouTuber said he didn't quite find the style comfortable, and that the steel shaft between the soles might make the boot too stiff. I bought the boot anyway, as I really liked my Clasic Moc with the crepe sole which is really the same boot as this one but with a different outer sole -- a Vibram sole. Upon putting on this boot, I felt instant gratification! The fit was amazing -- like my Classic Moc. The YouTube concern I had was a non-issue after all. The color is stunning. This is one handsome boot. Breaking-in the leather, like any new pair of shoes, takes some time that it is suggested to only wear a new pair for a couple of hours or so. I wore this boot for an entire day! Throughout the day to the very minute I took off this boot, I had no discomfort. (My Beckman boot didn't quite feel as comfortable on its first day compared to this.) I guess that Vibram sole is the difference. Although the following day, when I wore my Classic Moc, the inside ankle bone of my right foot had a small bruise. Perhaps it was from the stiff leather from wearing my new pair all day on the first day. Nevertheless, this boot was absolutely comfortable to wear all day. The leather is now getting softer. I can't wait to see when the leather start to show some wear to give it that unique quality leather goods have as they age. I am really pleased with my third RW boot. Remember to get a full size down, half a size at least. Wear high-content wool socks to add that additional good feeling wool socks give, and one cannot go wrong with this boot, or the Beckman, or the Classic Moc from the one and only Red Wing Heritage line of boots. I'm a fan for life.
    Date published: 2016-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A boot which lasts I've been wearing this boot for the past 25 years, the average pair lasting around 10 years. Keep them oiled and they stay looking good. One tip if you live somewhere cold as I do, get wool foot beds, they do tend to transmit the cold through the sole
    Date published: 2016-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too all wondering if they are a real work boot. I have had the 8146 for i think 7 years now. I have worn them 12 hours a day 5-6 days a week. i have had them re soled twice. I try to clean and oil them as much as possible. They have a small rip in the leather by my right heel where they dried out and the tongues have lost some leather on the top. I blame the Ohio salt in the winter. All of the stitching is fully intact except a small 1" spot on the heel. I put these boots thru the ringer and could have them resoled again but am now shopping for another pair today.
    Date published: 2016-11-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from REALLY uncomfortable I have had these boots for almost a year now, and have worn them for at east three months solid during that time. Every time I wear these, they feel the same as they did when I first put them on. Well, that may be a reach. The leather has somewhat adjusted to my foot, but the thing that KILLS me the most is that little black lining around the top of the boot that wraps around your upper ankle. I do not understand why Red Wing would design this boot (and many of their other boots) with a piece that sticks out and presses into the back of your heel area. I wanted to love these boots because I live in Vermont and the grippy soles are really nice during the winter, but I cannot wear these for more than a few hours before needing to take them off. I have two pairs of iron rangers and one pair of the ice cutters, and neither style has ever given me this problem before. Really thought Red Wing would be better than that.
    Date published: 2016-10-06
    • y_2018, m_9, d_23, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
    • loc_en_US, sid_08146, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritage

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×
    Please enter a valid email address

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×

    Where to buy your
    Roughneck

    STYLE No. 8146

    You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

    Online Partner

    Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

    FIND A STORE

    Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

    ×