Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders See Details

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders See Details

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Classic Moc product photo

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8857

$279.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Classic Moc product photo

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8857

$279.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8857

LEATHER:
Loden Abilene Leather
$279.99 USD
6" MOC, LODEN Mens is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 255.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_255
  • loc_en_US, sid_08857, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8857 : Classic Moc

The 6-inch Classic Moc is synonymous with Red Wing Heritage. The boot’s unmistakable moc toe and Traction Tred outsole form a silhouette that sets the standard by which all others are measured.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

We began making moc-toe boots in the 1950s for sportsmen. Farm and factory workers quickly took to the boots for their all-day comfort and lasting durability. The crescent-shaped toe stitching is inspired by the construction of moccasins originally worn by the North American Algonquin Indians. Our Classic Moc Toes have since become a legend.

Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery. Roughout leather is a reverse suede leather made in our S.B. Foot tannery.

Roughout Leather

Roughout leather is created using a reverse-suede technique at our very own S.B. Foot Tanning Co. While most tanneries split, thin and weaken the hide to create the rough suede surface, we simply use the other side of the hide. By doing so, we avoid splitting or thinning our full-grain hides. This makes our Roughout leather just as strong and durable as our other leathers.


Leather: Loden Abilene Leather
Outsole: Traction Tred
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8857 : Classic Moc

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the Full Grain Leather upper, Leather footboard and Cork Midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8857 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Most customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8857

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 6 month update I bought these shoes in the end of January. It took two weeks of daily wear to break them in. Which is typical of any high quality leather boot. After 6 months, the vibram sole definitely shows some wear. But I work my boots hard and that I expected. I purchased the shoe care kit with these, and I strongly recommend if you are buying a pair of redwings for the first time, get the kit. They have been through it. Soaked, scuffed, scratched, I work hard and unfortunately my boots get beat up in the process. BUT. With the care kit, they look better than when I bought them. I wash them with castille soap and warm water. I use a rag and then dry them off. I prefer the mink oil for polishing. They look incredible and fit so well I'm now a redwing customer for life.
    Date published: 2019-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots, want more! Hurt for the first month, but worth the wear in period. Held up under worst snow, ice, and salt conditions. I wouldn’t jump in deep puddles, but have been water resistant. Brush them and kept them clean. Had them for almost a year. Treads wear some, but still a lot left.
    Date published: 2019-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the break in These boots are extremely stiff and not necessarily super comfortable straight out of the box, but don't let that deter you from buying a pair. After the first 2 weeks or so (of daily wear), you'll start to realize that they're becoming, most likely, your most comfortable shoes. Once you wear down the sole, you can resole them over and over again, which is awesome. Not only because it's way cheaper than buying a new boot, but because you won't have to break it in again. **I'd highly recommend getting a half a size down from your normal size
    Date published: 2019-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable footwear I've ever owned I've owned these boots since the summer of 2016. I broke them in with two weeks of daily wear. I have taken them all through Ireland and Amsterdam during my International travels, with not a blister in sight. I wear them daily back here in the States. They are stylish and functional. I wear them on short jaunts through the woods, as well as weekend road trips. There are hands down the most comfortable footwear I have ever owned. Finally, after 3 years of almost daily wear, the soles are getting a little thin. I will gladly send them in and pay the resole fee. I look at it as an investment, for with proper maintenance and care, I can see owning these amazing boots for another 20 years. Thank you for such quality footwear, Redwing. A customer for life!
    Date published: 2019-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 1/2 Year Review I purchased these shoes February 2017, so this is a 2 1/2 year review. When I first purchased these shoes, they were tight. I mean, they were snug and they hurt. The length was perfect, but they hurt my feet and squished them. My feet are EE width and I purchased 10.5D shoes. I had them stretched at Red Wing over a weekend. When I got them back, they were still tight, but I wore them. I actually took out the insole and wore them that way because they were so tight. After some time, about 2-3 months, they were fully broken in. The width is now perfect on these shoes. Sometimes I even feel as these shoes may be too big, but they aren't, it's just because they fit so perfect now. I wear these shoes daily. I put some hard miles on these shoes too. I do survey work and so I wore these shoes in the Colorado mountains and for miles and miles on the streets of California. Keep in mind, I did all this without the leather insole. These shoes have broken in perfectly and fit nice. The crepe soles seemed to wear out very fast, within about 6 months easy. My soles have no treads at all, but I wear them out fairly even and I think I have 1, if not 1 1/2 years left before I need to resole them. On one job, I had to walk in deep mud and water. I thought I ruined these shoes. I got home and they were caked inside and out, I was very sad and upset. I washed them out in water, and scrubbed them out. I re-oiled the boots immediately and let them dry out indoors and they turned out simply perfect. The color has darkened since I first purchased these shoes after several oilings. The shoes still do not smell. I spray lysol in my shoes fairly regularly, about once a week though. I have read that I shouldn't do that, but I haven't noticed any problems from doing that other than just darkening up the leather a bit. It keeps them smelling fresh and kills bacteria. I also use a boot drier often because I have noticed that my feet sweat so much that the insides are still moist the next morning, so I use a boot drier. My boot smell good, the exterior has some wear, some scuffs, I still feel that the boots look nice, the markings just gives my boots character. I no longer do as much survey work, for the past year I have been working in the office. I wear these boots daily in the office and at home. They look as good in the office as well as in the field. I use sole & heel edge dressing on the edges of the crepe sole because they look so dingy. The dressing makes them brown and match the rest of the boot and they look nice! I highly recommend to anyone wearing these boots to grab some edge dressing. I really do love these boots, the only thing that has worn out is the crepe sole and I still have some time on them, I wear these boots daily, they don't stink, they look good, and overall, it was money very well spent. Once again, Red Wing has made me a happy customer.
    Date published: 2019-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handcrafted by Zeus himself! These shoes right out of the box are a beautiful piece of art, it's almost as if you don't even want to wear them and cherish them forever. These boots are handcrafted to perfection and built to last a life time. They're very comfortable to wear without any additional inserts that you can purchase from redwing as a secondary complementary item. I would certainly recommend these boots to anyone who's looking for a stylish new pair of kicks.
    Date published: 2019-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hesitated to buy, due to all the reviews about painful break-in. I wear an 11 or an 11.5 in most boots, so took Redwing's advice and dropped to a 10.5, they felt very tight on the first try, but I put trust in their advice and that size has turned out to be spot on. With so many reviews mentioning a painful break-in, I was cautious and removed the insoles to make some more room for the first wear; but after about half an hour the boot leather had warmed up and lost its constrictive feeling and so I wore them like that for the whole day without issue. I put the insoles back in for the second wear and they felt tight again (for a similar amount of time) but then started to soften up, again. So in my experience, it's no more of a painful break-in period than on any other leather boot. The shape of the last works on my foot, the leather is thick and supportive and the sizing seems to be identical to what you'd buy in an English-made goodyear welted boot. I'm really glad I bought them, I'm also relieved that I trusted in Redwing's sizing advice.
    Date published: 2019-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding quality. I just turned 50 and I still wear my first pair of Redwings that my dad bought me when I was 18. These boots are every bit as good.
    Date published: 2019-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crocodile inside I own my boots for about 2 months. I don’t wear them every day so I’m still breaking them in. Mine have invisible crocodiles in them. Now you can see them but there’s evidence when I pull my foot out. The heel blisters are ridiculous. Forward of the heel and they’re fine. They look sharp too. I’ll give it more time.
    Date published: 2019-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My boots are 6 years old These are my daily driver at work and play! With regular cleaning and conditioning these boots are like new! Added scuffs and scratches for character. Just got them home from the repair shop and the fourth pair of soles. Ready for another round! Highly recommend these boots!
    Date published: 2019-05-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stitching coming undone I have owned these boots for approximately one month and the stitching around the moc toe is coming undone. The seam is beginning to peel open where the stitching no longer exists. I use these for work but entails mostly walking the field, not super hard labor. For a $300 "American Made" boot, this is absolutely unacceptable.
    Date published: 2019-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Boot...after the break-in period I bought a pair of 1907's at a local Red Wing store. The moment I went in I felt like this was the boot for me. I was instantly drawn in by the design of the classic Moc-Toe look. The boot fitters there helped so much and we found out that I was actually a 10 1/2 foot. I thought was a ten maybe a 9 1/2. The fitting of the boots all depends on your actual foot type and size. I would highly recommend going to a Red Wing store and getting the boot fitted. I had to go a half-size up due to the width of my feet. I tried the 10.5 but the wide size they had was wayyy too wide. I tried the D size of the 10.5 and it was too snug. I settled for an 11D as it was perfect for my wide feet but it's just a little long. Nothing too much. Now you have to get it fitted or else your heel will ride up on the cup. It will probably happen with a perfectly fitted boot as the leather is not stretched. Once it is stretched, the cup will able to flex to your heel when you walk. I work on concrete all day and the break-in period was hard on my feet. After a few weeks, the boots became amazing. I'm on the heavier side and the boots, when the cork-bottom is broken-in, are the most comfortable I have ever worn. I yet to test the boot out in the true summer heat but I have a good feeling that my feet will not sweat profusely. The boot is on the heavier side as well. Overall, I love this boot and I will take care of this boot the most I can. It is definitely an investment with the price tag, but taking care of your investment will pay off in the long run.
    Date published: 2019-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from OK, now I'm a believer... I used to be skeptical about Red Wing boots; the level of devotion that people have to this company seemed a bit excessive. Nevertheless, the 875s look so good that I finally decided to get a pair. I am glad that I did. Yes, they are super-stiff out-of-the-box, but that’s because they're built like brick sh--houses. I will own these boots for the rest of my life (I'm 41). The Oro-Legacy is beautiful, and will only get better over time. I’ve only worn them for 4 days so far, and they are already starting to break in. I echo what others have said here- make sure you get the right size. If they're too big, they slip, and that doesn't work well with the stiffness of the leather. I don't have any inserts in them and I feel like they're already beginning to form to my feet. There's something magical about a pair of boots that you know will be with you through the progression of life's chapters, especially in the disposable world in which we currently live. I'm a convert. Thanks, Red Wing.
    Date published: 2019-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots!! Super comfy !!! Great look !!! Love them .. does not take long time to break in .. few days and you are good !!!!
    Date published: 2019-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boots I have ever owned These were my first pair of Red Wings and I'm a bit annoyed that is taken me this long to own a pair of these excellent boots. The navy portage is simply a sharp boot - it looks great with everything, it's eye-catching without being showy and the quality was evident the first time I wore them. I have read reviews about the break-in process and have thus far found them to be mostly exaggerated - they are stiff and require wear but they aren't sneakers so this is to be expected. While this was my first pair of Red Wings, it will certainly not be my last.
    Date published: 2019-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely buy new This is my second pair of Red swing moc toe boots using this last. I first bought the 1907 and now I’m reviewing the 8883. When I’d bought the 1907’s I got them pre owned looking for a value. Thought I love them boots I didn’t realize what I was missing until I got the 8883’s brand new. As you break in red wings they form to your foot and the leather develops it’s own individual patina. Having these boots essentially become unique to you is a cool process. I’ll never like my 1907’s the way I do my 8883’s because they were broken in by someone else. I highly recommend buying these boots brand new.
    Date published: 2019-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the 9075s. Just broke them in. I purchased the 9075 to for casual wear and daily use at work. I wanted a boot which is still made in its country of origin and would be both durable and stylish. After reading the reviews stating they take a while to break in I decided to apply the red wing boot oil immediately after purchase in order to soften the leather. Red Wing also recommends applying their protectant spray after using the boot oil so I did this as well. I bought a 9 1/2 which is about one size down. I wear a 10 1/2 -11 in shoes. Initial fit of the boots were very snug on the width of the toe area as well as top of toes. I have narrow feet so this was surprising. The leather in the boot has a very rich and smooth feel despite being quite rigid. I wore the boots around my house for a few days. One decision I regret is wearing 2 pairs of athletic socks in the boots for an hour or two while sitting down. After doing this the the boots were still a little snug but there was a definite stretch to the overall fit. I would recommend letting the boot mold to your foot natually because when they do break in they really stretch quickly. The first day I wore the boots out of the house I went to work for and removed them after 2 hours. I was not uncomfortable but could feel that I was getting to that point. The next day I wore the boots for 4 hours and made the mistake of not using the top boot lace eyelet so my heal moved quite a bit and developed blisters. I started wearing the boots daily after this and they literally broke in and stretched within 2 or 3 days which leaves them quite roomy. I was dissappointed the boots stretched as much as they did and think it may have had something to do with my decision to wear an extra pair off socks for an hour or two. The boots insole is still breaking in but are comfortable. I feel rested after wearing them while teaching on a concrete floor all day. The leather feels more supple and is very comfortable. Initially I was looking at the Iron Ranger or a similar Canadian made boot and think this is the best boot for comfort while standing for long hours and still maintaining an appealing look. I think they will last a long time compared to other shoes and boots I have tried at work only to replace them a year later. So it is more of an investment. I plan on reviewing after wearing them for a longer period.
    Date published: 2019-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality material great craftsmanship I bought my red wing 1907 in january 2019 , been wearing it ever since . Took me two weeks to break them in . Now they are the most comfortable boot i ever own . That brings me back to our local red wing shoes store in kuala lumpur where i live and purchase another boot , the red wing 8883 . I won't be wearing any other brand after this .
    Date published: 2019-03-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product is terrible I’m a union carpenter and bought these boots 6-7 months ago. I’ve owned many pairs of red wings these are by far have warn out the quickest. They were not sized correctly they are too big was never warned they run big. Soles have completely warn out flat. Went to the store said they couldn’t do anything for me. Contacted customer service and all they can do for me is offer me a resole. The heal is rolling over the edge of the boot clearly something is up with them. I purchased these one because they are one of the few pairs still made in the USA and not filled with the waterproofing material. For the price of these boots they should definitely have lasted longer and red wing should stand behind their product with new boots. They say one year warranty well mine are less then a year old. Maybe I just got a faulty pair and sized wrong but then they should stand behind their stores and product and offer a new pair.
    Date published: 2019-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great and is built even better These are the first pair of Red Wings I bought but definitely not the last. I went with the Briar Oil Slick mainly because I have more stuff in my closet that match them then any of the others. I received a compliment the first day I took them out for a stroll. “Those are very nice boots, how much you pay?” a man said to me. Now as for the fit, I followed blog and website suggestions and bought them a half size smaller. I wish I had gone in to a Red Wing store before I made my purchase. My heel slips up and down a bit when I wear regular socks but it’s no big deal and a really easy fix. When I wear my boot socks or anything thicker than an athletic sock, the slippage is ALMOST gone. I also put in a thin insole and now it fits a lot better. Now, I haven’t quite broken them in yet and I know that once that happens these things are supposed to fit like a glove with no slip and everything so, that’s what I’m hoping for. If you’re looking for a good all around, well built & versatile boot, I’d put my money towards any of the Red Wing moc toes. If you have an opportunity to get fitted in a Red Wing store, then do that. If not, buy a half size down and pray they fit and if not, make them fit :)
    Date published: 2019-03-12
    • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_4
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_255
    • loc_en_US, sid_08857, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritage

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×
    Please enter a valid email address

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×

    Where to buy your
    Classic Moc

    STYLE No. 8857

    You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

    Online Partner

    Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

    FIND A STORE

    Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

    ×