Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders See Details

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders See Details

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8084

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8084

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8084

LEATHER:
Black Harness Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, 6" BLACK Mens is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 394.
  • y_2019, m_4, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_394
  • loc_en_US, sid_08084, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8084 : Iron Ranger

The 8084 is a rugged 6-inch boot, featuring premium Black Harness leather,chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Black Harness Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Laces: 48-inch Black Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

The 8084 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8084

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Still having problems This is a follow up to a review from a month ago under the same title. I have been wearing these boots for over a month 5-6 times a week for 10-16 hours. I have discovered why this second pair of boots do not feel the same. one boots heel cap was stitched on square and even (left) while the other boot heel cap is crooked (right). this disparity has caused the break in of these boots to feel extremely different. there is just too much material in a place where it ought not be. i do not believe they will ever feel anywhere close to similar on me heel regardless of break in. i have resorted to trying to hammer down the raised area on the right portion of the right heel just to not have a major pressure point on this foot. i have not yet decided whether i will attempt a refund or continue hammering away.
Date published: 2019-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solid product Purchased Red Wing Iron Ranger Copper Rough and Tough after reading lots of on-line written and video reviews. Wanted more of an urban boot rather than true hiking/backpacking boot. Pleased that this boot easily covers both functions with best performance in urban performance. Main concern was sizing. Measuring device at Red Wing store indicated 11.5 size (I usually wear 11.0 to 12.0 depending on type of footwear and manufacturer) and store employee recommended same size. For me, these really fit true to size. I possibly cold have sized down to 11.0, but I prefer a roomier fit in the toebox. I think an 11.0 would result in a bit of a cramped feeling with regard to anterior fit for me. Simply my preference. First week of wear was brutal. Foot area and sole of boot presented no problem with break-in. The ankle area was so stiff that I was forced to change my gait pattern and heel strike while walking and I developed knee pain in right leg. After 1st 3 wears, (4 hours first wear, 6 hours second, and 10 hours third) I conditioned boots with Red Wing leather conditioner and break-in continued without problem. Now, these are incredibly comfortable and cork midsole is well on way to conforming to my foot. Highly recommend this boot and am saving for second purchase. I believe a pair of black "Blacksmith's" will be next Red Wing Purchase. Considered lots of other manufacturers and styles, but really am stricken by the quality of this product. Plus USA based company with USA manufacture of Heritage line doesn't hurt my decision.
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from lacks support , rock hard feel I've had my Iron rangers for about 3 years now and they are completely broken in. What the marketing info states about the footbed slowly forming to a custom fit is wishfull thinking. I hardly ever wear them anymore because they are so unforgiving. It feels like im wearing wooden shoes. With high quality footbeds like Superfeet that improve arch support they are slightly more tolerable but still rock hard under foot. My only suggestion would be to use a cushion insert or Gel insert but those just make my feet hot. So if you wear em to church once a week or out on the town you'll probably like them. They are well made and good looking but for all day wear they will leave you crying.
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Do It. First off, the quality of the materials and the craftsmanship is top notch. On top of that the design aesthetic looks great. As far as the comfort goes, they will be...eventually. It took me about 3 weeks of wearing them every other day, for full 10 hour days, to get rid of all the pinch points and such. The footbed now has grooves that fit my foot and I can tell that it will get more and more comfortable. IMPORTANT: The fit. TRY THEM ON! The size number is not the most important part of the fit. For example, I wear a size 13 in athletic shoes and casual shoes (up to 13.5); size 11.5 Iron Rangers gave me enough space to FREELY wiggle my toes. The problem is the area that goes around my arch was too tight and the ball of my foot landed in a bad spot. I tried on and bought a size 12, which was snug around the arch, but had the ball of my foot land in a better spot. The fit AROUND your foot is what is important and should be a bit snug/stiff when new. Lastly, the Vibram sole is good on concrete, but not much else. So just keep in mind what your use will be.
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best looking and most comfortable boot I have ever owned. The more I wear them, the more I love them. Out of the box these boots wrap themselves around your feet like a comfy blanket. If you want a comfortable boot that looks great and only gets better as they age, then get yourself a pair of these boots, you will never regret it, and they never go out of style.
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect boot Amazing boot. Has made walking fun! Great boot overall
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good natural lasting boots Good fine make + material for starters & professionals Thank you RED WING !!!
Date published: 2019-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Lasted one month My father in law bought me these for my wedding I wore them in England on our honeymoon shortly after our return noticed a very deep crease in the toe in which turned into a one inch tear Really disappointing always heard redwings were good but one month not so much
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expensive boot but I buy Made in USA My first pair I had exchanged because the outside part of the left shoe's leather was to thin and creased Horribly after a few wears. The awesome manager acknowledged that it would compromise the quality and durability. If he hadn't had done that I would have bounced right back to Allen Edmonds. Inspect the shoe carefully before buying.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect boots ever I bought these boots las night in Limbro Denim Store. Gosh, i hv 33 pair of boots in my house, dr, martens, converse, mario minardi, etc, but once i wear this boots, ohhh... i think i would never change any other brands no more!!!
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 8 Years In and Still Going Strong Worn daily for 5 years, multiple times a week for another 3, and these guys are still going strong. On job sites, visiting clients, jeans and safety vest, or chinos and a jacket these guys have treated me well. They're my default shoe unless there's a specific reason I can't wear them.
Date published: 2019-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has potential to be a winter boot for life I bought these as a durable boot that could be resoled and repaired with age. I have a UK 9.5 left foot and 9 right foot, opting for a pair of size 9 is perfect for my left foot but slightly loose on my right. I wear with a Red Wing insoles and Darn Tough heavy socks to insulate from the cold weather. They are too much to wear all seasons, so they are rested half the year and i rotate with the lighter Work Chukka during the warmer months.
Date published: 2019-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glad I finally got some I think the boots fit perfectly I didn’t really have issues breaking them in like most people complain but that might be do to the fact I’ve been wearing different kinds of boots most of my life if your interested do what I did go to a redwing store try on different sizes and different boots and I bet you’ll find what your looking for
Date published: 2019-02-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable defect dismissed by customer support I've been a lifelong Redwing customer, and have owned my first pair of Iron Rangers for about 11 months now. Unlike the other Redwings I've owned, I have never found them comfortable. I take excellent care of them and oil them regularly, but they have broken in in such a way that I don't want to continue wearing them. The double toe on them is much less flexible than the leather immediately behind it, causing all the bending of the boot to occur on the leather right behind the toe cap. This has created a deep crease in the leather (see attached picture) that presses in on my foot when I walk and causes sores on the top of my foot. When I took them into a Redwing store, the manager insisted that this wasn't uncommon and suggested buying a $70 cedar shoe tree to reshape the leather. I didn't think it was appropriate to have to spend that much after buying a $320 shoe to make them comfortable, so I went online and found a $30 pair of trees. These did not change the shape, fit or comfort of the shoe after a few weeks of use. At this point, I don't think I can wear the boots anymore. I'm disappointed that a shoe this price would cause me this much discomfort and that Redwing won't stand by its product. I will give the boot two stars to acknowledge the fact that the boots are well-crafted, but I will probably end up donating my current pair in hopes that someone else can make use of them. And I certainly can't see myself continuing to be a Redwing customer or advocate in the future after about 30 years of wearing them.
Date published: 2019-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy Them I worked around the clock to find a boot of equal reputation, quality and style. Man, this thing so handsome I look at my pics of it when I am away from the boot.
Date published: 2019-02-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Still having problems If you can find a pair that are the same height, same construction, and same feel, GO FOR IT! I have the utmost confidence that these boots will last many many years and treat you well. I have not had the opportunity yet to get that far. I purchased a pair in January 2019. The construction was off by a wide margin between the two boots. One's out sole and heel laid flat across the ground and the other had a raised ridge between the leather and the sole at the forward part of the heel. This caused a rocking motion where the back of the heel and the forward part of the sole did not align. very painful. Thought that this was a one off manufacturing defect. sent them back to RedWingShoes (Very nice and helpful customer service). After 2 1/2 weeks (a very reasonable amount of time) i received a replacement pair. Brand new. Still on board with this company! YAY! But, after trying on this pair, it has a similar problem. One boot lays flush to the ground. comfortable. ready to be broken in (I have broken in many boots). The other has a raised area as if the material between the heel out sole and the heel pad isn't shaped properly. Also, when looking at the boots side by side, one boot is almost half an inch taller at the upper portion of the top by my calf muscle.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit right out of the box! I went half a size down on this model from what I normally wear and the boots fit like a glove. Perfect arch support, comfortable, plenty of wiggle room. Top quality materials and old fashion craftsmanship. Doesn’t get any better than this!
Date published: 2019-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Perfect Boot I’ve only had these boots for about two weeks now and I have to say they are the best boots I have ever worn. First day was a little tight but by the second day, no issues. They are more comfortable than my sneakers but I have always loved wearing boots. I am already trying to decide which boots that I want next. I will never buy another brand of boots.
Date published: 2019-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Boots Let me start by saying that I love these boots. They look great and are super comfortable once you break them in. When I first got them, I wore them for a week straight and they formed perfectly to my feet. These boots do run big. I normally wear an 11 however, I purchased a 10 EE and they fit perfectly. The one complaint that I have about these boots is the sole. They are super slippery when walking around in snow or on ice. I also have a pair of the work chukkas and they offer more grip than the mini lug on these boots. If you purchase these just be aware that you will slide around when walking in these conditions. Irregardless of this feature these are still fantastic boots and I would definitely purchase another pair.
Date published: 2019-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not For High Arches Beautiful boots that are built like tanks and the quality is top notch. Unfortunately they are too uncomfortable for me to walk in. I have high arched feet which means there is more pressure when you walk on your heel and forefoot. Even after break in boots the boots hurt to walk in. It feels like my heel and forefoot are being slammed on concrete. The Red Wing insoles were not much of a help. I have many different types of boots and am used to breaking in boots so it's not an issue of being used to wearing sneakers. A comfort package with insoles and a leather liner would be helpful for people with my issue. Otherwise great boots just not too uncomfortable for me to wear.
Date published: 2019-02-15
  • y_2019, m_4, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_394
  • loc_en_US, sid_08084, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8084

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×