Free Overnight Shipping and Free Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Overnight Shipping and Free Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8084

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8084

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8084

LEATHER:
Black Harness Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, 6" BLACK Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 343.
  • y_2018, m_12, d_16, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_343
  • loc_en_US, sid_08084, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8084 : Iron Ranger

The 8084 is a rugged 6-inch boot, featuring premium Black Harness leather,chrome hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Black Harness Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Hardware: Nickel Eyelets and Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Laces: 48-inch Black Taslan Lace
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

The 8084 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8084

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot , great look. I have been on the fence about buying the red wing iron rangers 8085 for awhile now. if you are on the same boat, do it. I like the boots and have been wearing my pair for almost a week straight now. I wear size 11 in athletic shoes and I wear size 11 in the iron rangers. your best bet is to go into a red wing store and get fitted. the looks are awesome and if you are looking for something different from what other people are wearing , get the iron rangers, you will definitely stand out in the crowd. there is something nostalgic about these boots and when you wear the boots, you feel the quality and craftsmanship the minute you step into a pair. I've received numerous compliments on my 8085s. whatever outfit you are wearing; jeans and a t-shirt or khakis and a flannel, these iron rangers will complete your look. I've worn boots before, so the break in for me is good. make sure you are wearing good, medium cushioned socks and your feet will be fine. I've walked about 1-2 miles per day in the iron rangers with no issues. I did not put any insoles in the boot and I can start to feel the boot mold to my feet. the vibram sole was excellent traction in rain or whatever urban environment you may encounter. my next pair will probably be the mule skin leather.
Date published: 2018-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An American classic! These are simply amazing boots. The toe cap adds some flare to the classic styling of this boot. The Copper Rough & Tough leather upper looks great right out of the box, but will age and wear beautifully. The Goodyear welt construction allows it to be resoled for years to come. Great traction from the updated Vibram mini lug outsole makes it more comfortable from day one. Looks great with jeans or khakis; dressed up or down. Sizing can be tricky since these run large, so definitely size down from your regular athletic shoe size. Also, remember these are leather and will stretch out some with wear and form to your foot over time. For reference, I wear a size 10 in Reeboks and Vans; 9D in Ariat boots and Chucks; and 10.5 in Salomon and Merrells. I ended up going with a size 9D (which fits like a glove), after trying both 9 and 9.5. I could easily wear both, but opted for the smaller size since they’ll stretch some. I also wanted to wear regular socks (vs heavy wool socks) with them and wear the laces looser. I’ve got room for my toes to wiggle; about a thumbs width (1/2”) distance from the front of the boot; and it fits comfortably snug width wise. A lot of reviewers have reported a long break-in period, however, I have not experienced that in my case. Once I got the right size, these have been extremely comfortable right out of the box; even after 10+ hours of wear. YMMV.
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Professional. Worth every dollar. I bought my first pair of iron rangers (8085) a little over a year ago. The break in process was not easy. After a month of everyday wear they were broken in and I fell in love. A month ago I bought my second pair, the black harness leather knowing full well what I would get. A boot that could take some rough wear but still look great when properly taken care of. When I went to pick the second pair up I sent my first pair out for repair. They needed a new heel because of the way all of my shoes wear. That’s a me problem not a quality issue. Both purchases I made in store after I was properly fitted by trained employees which I FULLY RECCOMEND doing! Red Wing customer service is great! They answered every question I had and educated me not only on my boots history but the companys history. I was blown away!
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautiful boot I bought my normal size for this and have had no issues with foot slipping or blisters. They are stiff at break in but wearing daily has softened the boots up quite a bit over the first couple weeks. I stand quite a bit for work and wear these without any kind of sole insert and have had no issues with foot soreness. I love the copper color and it has worn well. I look forward to many years of wear out this item
Date published: 2018-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Boots look good and feel great! This are my 1st pair of red wing boots and I am blown away by the comfort I can't understand how because there is no inter sole but yet so comfortable, great looking just Awesome.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing shoes So comfortable and they look amazing. People see me on the street and give me double finger guns. Great boots, they shout! Seriously, I do get compliments. I went only a 1/2 size down because I have wide feet. Definitely go into the store for sizing - especially if you have wide feet.
Date published: 2018-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot, worth every penny. Bought my Iron Ranger 8111s yesterday 11-10-18. I bought them in person from the Red Wing store. The digital foot measuring device told me I needed a 12 to 12.5 So I went with a size 11.5 in the boots. Absolute perfect fit. Every detail about these boots are high quality. You won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots. I bought true to size. I bought these iron rangers in copper last year. I live on a small farm and also practice law as a solo practitioner attorney. Many of my clients are ranchers and farmers and workingmen and women. Our judges typically came from rural life. I wanted to have a nice pair of boots to wear from my front door to my truck to the courthouse and back to my office and home again. I knew these boots weren’t quite right for court when I bought them but I knew that i would love them and my clients would appreciate them. I also wasn’t planning on stressing them a lot with my suit on. I think the boots are beautiful. I have one bailiff who likes to point out my work boots in my suit but even he said that in the context of a compliment about the boots. I need a pair of boots in black but I’m not getting another pair of rangers. I’m going to go with the Beckman Round I think. The look is more “court-ish.” Ok so the main reason I am posting a review is that I keep seeing many posts about the agony of the break in period. Clearly, I’m a lawyer with a gentleman farm and not putting these things to the daily stress and wear and tear as the US Marines and ranchers and other who work for a living, but at the same time, I think i put them to a fair amount of walking and they certainly are part of farm life for me. I just bought a size 13, which is what I wear. I think they feel great right out of the box. I’ve had maybe a slight plantar fasciitis feeling in the middle of my foot when I wear them but I wouldn’t attribute that to break in. I thought going true to size made them enjoyable from the first minute of wear. I’ve never gotten a hotspot or a blister. I suppose the leather is still a little stiff and not the supple leather you might expect after a long break in on a snug boot, but I’ve had no days where I’ve doubted my decision to purchase and only ever feel like a million bucks when I put them on. I’m going to buy a pair of the Beckman round in black and give those a go and probably call it good for a couple of years.
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Boots! These are my first pair of Red Wings and my first pair of boots I have ever worn. I had rough time at the beginning because I found out my right foot is a hair wider than my left. I had terrible pain, but after Red Wing stretched my boot a little, these boots were amazing. Really comfortable and perfect for a daily boot that is stylish and functional!
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot, sizing was a challenge Size 11 on the scale. Tried a 10.5, too big, tried 10, Slightly too big. I went with a narrow 9.5 and it was slightly tight on my two outer toes on my right foot and after a couple weeks of wearing fit very nice. I’m glad I didn’t stick with the 10 and sized down further. I read too many different opinions in reviews from people who don’t wear boots everyday for rugged use so it was hard gain any insight from them (sizing or otherwise) I really like the boots. They were more than I wanted to spend but I wanted something that will last. They seem well built and I’m hoping to have them for many many years. Once they get beat up and worn in they feel and look right. I wear them everyday, ride motorcycles , go camping , spend a lot of time outdoors. Glad I bought them and was patient with the sizing.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made for work. I bought these to replace a pair of Red Wing logger boots. I work on communication towers and I needed an upgrade. I sent an email to Red Wing product support with a few questions about the boots. The employee ended their response by emphasizing that these boots are not made for work. With that response I had some doubts about the boots. After giving them a thorough beating, I completely disagree with that response. These boots are far superior to the Red Wing logger boots in every way. First they weigh half as much as the loggers which is huge for me when I have to climb a 400 or 500 ft tower. Second, they are easily twice as tough. The leather doesn't mar so easily, unlike the loggers. I love the fact that they clean up very well, and any marring that occurs with the leather and can simply be rubbed out with your finger, or by just re-applying oil or conditioner. The stitching is bullet proof. The stitching on the loggers starts coming undone rather quickly. My feet sweat a lot, even in the cold, and these do not hold onto the terrible odor like the loggers do. I did some work recently in Northern Minnesota, and temperatures were around 25F in the mornings and at night. With a pair of wool socks, my feet were not cold at all. No more insulated logger boots for me. I applied the Red Wing All Natural Leather Conditioner to these to weather proof them. I stepped in a huge puddle on a site, and not a drop of water got through. The steel shank does a great job of keeping the sole of my foot protected and comfortable. I love the doubled up leather toe cap. I have no worries at all regarding damage to my toes. The toe cap is solid as a rock, without the weight and width issues of a steel toe. The soles are super tough. Although the sole does not have the grip of the logger, they don't hold onto mud and debris like the loggers do. I am able to maneuver very easily with these on, unlike the logger boot. I can function optimally on the tower, and equally on the ground, without the cumbersome weight of the logger boot, and without the awkwardly tall heal of the logger boot. I can actually run in the Iron Rangers with no problem, whereas just walking 50 yards in the loggers feels like I just ran a marathon. And lets not forget the most important thing of all, they are super comfortable. I purchased a half size down from normal tennis shoes, and although just a tad longer, the width is perfect. Keep in mind these do not have all of the padding of other work boots and tennis shoes, so they will fit larger than normal tennis shoe size. I am now a super satisfied, lifetime customer of the Red Wing Iron Ranger. Made in USA. Yes there is a substantial difference in quality of the USA made Heritage line verses the foreign made Red Wing products. These will be the only boots I purchase for work and play. Thanks for an outstanding product.
Date published: 2018-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron Rangers are the best boots I own! 2 pair! Copper R&T and now Charcoal R&T. Love the high quality, cut of leather, and overall marksmanship. Even have the month/yr of build on the tongue. Very cool. Red Wing story is part of Americana.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very very poor quality control Great materials used in making these but sadly they seem to not care about making them perfect anymore I bought the 8085 due to them having a better sole but my first pair I sent back due to the lace holes not being straight or spaced the same the second pair I have now the heel was put on crooked I sent pictures they said they don't see anything wrong with them I'm just keeping them and having them resoled it's just sad that you spend all this money on them and they are thrown together
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expert craftsmanship. Hands down best boot I have ever owned. Great personal customer service at store. The Copper R&T are excellent fitting and most comfortable boot in my closet. 2nd pair, Charcoal R&T, will get our purchased soon! Was ready to go down 1/2 size from 11 in tennis shoes to 10.5 in Red Wings, but upon trying them on went with the 11 anyways. Very satisfied customer. You get what you pay for and these are a quality investment for many years to follow.
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect boot! I have 3 pairs of Iron Rangers in various colors, with the black harness being my most recent purchase. Once broken in, there is simply not a better overall boot on the market for both style and quality. They do run big, so try them on before you buy. My first pair of IRs were a 9.5 and still fit relatively well, but I've realized that I'm a 9 in most pairs. Try them on and give them some real time to break in. You won't regret it.
Date published: 2018-10-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hype & regret So they are made to wear like iron, but here I am, nearly two years out from purchasing these boots and they rub raw the heal and toe. I have put many, many miles into these shoes. I know boots. I have have dozens of pairs and these have incredible reviews- but mine arent performing. Did I get a bum pair? If I did- red wing let me know! Did I wear them in with thick wool socks. Yes. Did I size them correctly. Yes. Did I use official red wing leather treatments to soften them down. Yes. Are they the best boots I’ve ever owned- no. Not even close. Not only are the shoes uncomfortable- but they have started to make my knees hurt. So many fabulous reviews, - but it appears others are having these issues?
Date published: 2018-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots!! These are my 2nd pair of Iron Rangers, but the 1st pair with the lug sole. The lug soles improve shock absorption and also reduce noise walking the halls at work. Fit is as expected. I wear 13 in my running shoes and 12 in my Red Wings.
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from They're simply not comfortable. First off, they run big. Go into a store and get expert fitted. The problem is they simply are not comfortable. They are the worst boots I've owned for comfort. I thought it was the break-in period at first, but I have almost 100 miles on these and they're still just terrible. I've tried two different inserts, neither helped much. I conditioned the leather a ton to get it to soften. Blisters constantly from the top toe cap, there is no support in them, back pain is worse, and I've just never been more sore from a pair of boots. Sadly, these probably actually will last forever. Mostly because they'll only come out of the closet when I need the traction on ice.
Date published: 2018-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2nd pair is great I have to give credit to Red Wing customer service. I have had many goodyear welt boots, but finally got a pair of iron rangers. I love the style and Red Wing history. My first pair just never got comfortable. Kept trying and trying to break in, but the bottoms of my feet would have hot spots. I had tried to work with local store, but there were not helpful at all. After trying for longer than I should have, I finally contacted factory and sent back and it was determined the insole collapsed - was not complete - whatever. The foot bed at the ball of foot was dished out. They sent a brand new pair - I only expected to have them repaired. Second pair is spectacular. Yes order down in size, expect a decent break in period, and enjoy. Thick merino wool socks help a lot. I wear them all day. I am very appreciative that Red Wing made this right, and then some. Hopefully a customer for life, already eyeing another style.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best I’ve ever had These boots are the best boots I’ve ever worn. Period. They fit perfectly snug right from the start. They look amazing and perform amazingly well at my retail job. Now even though they fit perfectly and felt good after a few steps, a few more steps after that and the bottom part of my foot around the bunyun started to hurt on both feet. Even the back of my heel hurt as well. Maybe it’s normal foot fatigue from 4+ hours of work, but I’m not going to blame the boot. It’s still breaking in after all. These are what I wear to school, to church, to work, to pretty much anywhere! Thank you Red Wing for probably the only pair of footwear I will ever need!
Date published: 2018-10-12
  • y_2018, m_12, d_16, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_343
  • loc_en_US, sid_08084, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8084

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×