Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8119

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 6-INCH BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

Iron Ranger product photo

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8119

$319.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

Iron Ranger

STYLE NO. 8119

LEATHER:
Oxblood Mesa Leather
$319.99 USD
IRON RANGER, OXBLOOD MESA Mens is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 316.
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_316
  • loc_en_US, sid_08119, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

Fit Recommendation - Many customers size down ½ to 1 full size.

×

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions.  Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society. Mining boomed in the 19th century, but the job was dangerous and miners needed boots that could stand up to the harsh conditions. Photo courtesy of Minnesota Historical Society.

STYLE NO. 8119 : Iron Ranger

The rugged 6-inch 8119 Iron Ranger features premium Oxblood Mesa leather, bronze hardware, speed hooks, Goodyear welt construction, triple stitched quality, plus a durable Vibram® 430 Mini-lug sole for grip while maintaining the classic Iron Ranger construction and silhouette.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

The early history of iron mining on Minnesota’s Mesabi Range is intertwined with that of Red Wing Shoe Company. The miners needed tough but comfortable boots that could stand up to the long days and tough conditions a northern Minnesota mine pit presented. Red Wing responded with a boot made of thick leather with an oil resisting outer sole, speed lacing hooks, and a comfortable cork midsole. The defining characteristic of these boots though, was their double layered toe, capped to protect the miner’s feet from injury as they labored with hand tools and heavy machinery. That boot is still made today, the fittingly named Iron Ranger, and it represents not only Red Wing’s commitment to making boots for working men and women but also its Minnesota origins.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Oxblood Mesa Leather
Outsole: Vibram® 430 Mini-lug
Insole: Leather
Hardware: Dark Gun Metal Eyelets & Hooks
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 8
Shank: Steel
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

STYLE NO. 8119 : Iron Ranger

A new pair of Red Wing Heritage boots should fit comfortably tight on your foot, with enough room to freely wiggle your toes. Over time the Full Grain Leather upper, Leather footboard and Cork Midsole mold to your feet, creating an enduring and customized fit over time with each wear.


The 8119 is built using the No. 8 Last:

  • Many customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
  • Features a bump toe for more room up-front
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8119

REPAIR SERVICE

Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs HUGE, but great fit Just purchased these boots about a week ago from a local red wings store. I definitely recommend trying them on in store because these run really large. I wear a 12 in Nike, 11.5 in Thursday boots, and I bought the 10.5 in these and they fit great. I was ready for some sore feet during the break in period, but for me, they were comfortable right away. I wore then about 6 hours the day after I bought them and they felt like they were a year old already with the supple leather. My only complaint is the canvas in the interior toe box....why add canvas? Full leather lining would be less prone to getting smelly, and a nice feature for such a high quality boot. The guy at redwing said they are putting the vibram mini-lug on all the new ones, so this cork sole is going away. It seems to have relatively good traction for being smooth, but the vibram will certainly be better.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron ranger 8111 I’ve been looking at these boots for a year wearing other brands and them tearing up or stretching too far or not having replaceable insoles and finally I gave in. Best boot decision I’ve ever made. I’m on my feet for 14 hrs a day on concrete working my tail off. These boots with the custom fit insole has been much or comfortable than any other boot or tennis shoe I’ve owned. They literally just get better. Because of my care for leather once a week I clean, polish and get ready for another week. These guys Camembert through big time. I’ve got back problems, knee problems, foot problems, the works. A week after owning these the pain left. So yeh.....go buy the boot anabolic enjoy.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! This was my first pair of Red Wings. Always wanted a pair but the price tag would scare me off. Finally decided to take the plunge and am very happy! They're breaking in fast without any comfort issues and look great. I had to go a full size smaller than my typical tennis shoe size so for your first pair it's a good idea to go into a RW store and try on a few sizes and styles.
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 8 Years and still going! I bought my first pair of these in 2010. After spending half the price for other brands to crap out after a year or two, I decided to get a pair of Red Wings to hopefully last at least 3 years. Here I am 8 years later and they are going GREAT. I wear them 4-5 days out of the week, are are easily the most comfortable shoe/boot I’ve ever worn. They’ve stood the test of time, the elements (mud, oil, glue, wet concrete, and even once a brief interaction with a fire pit), I’ve only replaced the laces TWICE, and generally these are just the best. I’m only planning to replace this pair with another pair of Iron Rangers, and only because cosmetically they are getting tired. But that aside, still as comfortable as ever...even after 8-13 hours on my feet.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They get better and better with every wear! I picked the 8111's up from my Local Red Wing shoe store. Had my feet measured for size and width. I tried on two different sizes and decided to go with a 10 D (half size down from my sneaker size). They have broken in nicely over the past month. Didnt have a problem with blisters or spots that pinch. A little discomfort in the foot bed, until it molded to my feet. It pays off to go to a Red Wing store and get fitted. I also have a pair of 1907's which is also a great comfortable boot, I just wanted something I can polish and dress up in if I needed too.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Amazing boot! I have had my pair of iron rangers for about 4 maybe even 5 years now. Bottom line is, I've had them so long I don't even remember when I exactly got them. All I know is I have worn these things through absolutely anything and everything! I've worn them when I do landscaping in the summer when I'm out of school. I clean them up and wear them on the weekends. I wear them when I go shooting in the field. I wear these bad boys everywhere! I've had them resoled a couple of times and plan on wearing them until I can no longer! I recommend redwing boots to everyone I know. I just read the one review where the guy gave them one star and said most of the other reviews on here are from when people first get them. Well buddy here's a review from somebody that's had them for five years and they're still going strong as ever. They're definitely showing their age though but come on. They're five years old
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love!!! I went to the store to order mini lug sole. None in stock. Just cork nitrile. Redwing Store sent the wrong model. No mini lug. Then I found factory seconds. Never looked back. Own 5 pairs of these wicked boots. Don't over oil. Smith's dressing. Or black rock leather n rich. Went full size down naturally.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fashion boot, not Work/hiking/camping Great for around the town or office wear. They won't hold up in harder conditions. not a work boot. Speed hooks are thin and cheap and eventually break off. Toes wore out on mine after 2 years. Redwing wouldn't repair so I paid a local guy to replace the toes and tread. I still wear em, good summer boot, but terrible in the cold or wet. Now they're too beat up to be a fashion boot, but not durable enough for most work I do in my free time. I wear em hiking sometimes. They run big, order a full size smaller than you usually do. Take about a month to break in properly.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This boot is awesome! Hey start off the review by saying I’m a size 13 with a reasonably wide foot in most sneaker or boots I get. With the iron ranger I went a full size down with standard width and it fits PERFECTLY. Every time I wear these boots they feel better and better. The break in period takes awhile but isn’t half as strenuous as most reviews make it out to be. I have very very sensitive feet and am even prone to getting ingrown toe nails but the iron ranger has been nothing but I pleasure. I started off wearing them a couple hours at a time and by the third day I was wearing all day no problems! I love the boots and can’t wait to continue my journey with them!
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Iron Ranger Has A Cult Following For A Reason I'm a long time fan of Red Wing products. I bought my first pair of chukkas in 2009, then ordered a pair of Beckman's in 2011. A few weeks ago, after some indecision between black and charcoal I pulled the trigger on these Iron Rangers in charcoal. I wanted a boot that was a little more casual than the Beckman that I didn't have to worry about roughing up. Out of the box they have the fit and finish that you'd expect of Red Wing's products. I love how easy these are to put on and take off due to the lace hooks at the top, this was one of my major pet peeves with the Beckman boot. Although I really have no complaints about the Beckman they are difficult to take off, especially when going through airport security. I'm happy with my choice of charcoal. I like the gun metal gray hardware on this boot over the chrome in the other colors. The color is slight in some places, you can see the tan color of the leather coming through in the right light but I know they'll darken with time. The imperfections add to the character of them. The leather on the Iron Ranger wasn't quite as stiff as the other two pairs of Red Wing's I own which made the break-in period much faster and easier. The sole is also more flexible and has slightly more bend to it, making these more comfortable to walk in. I'm looking forward to putting many more miles in the coming years! Thanks for making such phenomenal products. You have a customer for life.
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iron Ranger 8111 Amber Harness Admired these boots for some time and finally decided to order a pair. I do not have a Red Wing dealer anywhere near me so I had to go off of reviews for sizing. After ordering online and trying several pairs and returning/exchanging I found the perfect fit. I normally wear an 11.5 EE in almost all shoes and boots but these boots are a great fit at the 10.5 EE size. I wear these boots 5-6 days per week from early morning til night and they are a great boot and very comfortable. The quality and workmanship are first rate and I see these boots lasting for a very long time. Made in the United States of America is very important to me.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! Probably the nicest and most long lasting shoes I’ve ever had. A little pricey but I think the craftsmanship and longevity definitely make up for it. I would recommend to new buyers to consider putting insoles or orthotics of some kind in there to make them more comfortable during the break-in period. Other than that a great buy!
Date published: 2018-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best boots ever best boots ever had and this are my every day boots 7 days a weeks hey! they cost a lot of money so I decide to were it every day I also clean them every day with a brush I work in a office but I walk a lot also at home I have a farm so they get dirt and muddy I enjoy cleaning them so I don't care they are scrashy and hill is were it a lot is bean a year size I buy this boots I will post pic on the 2nd year but ill be resoling this boots this year keep in mind Im using this boots every day since is my only pare of shoes
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am a woman and I bought these and love them! I thought these were nicer than the women’s version so I tried them on in the Red Wing, Minnesota store. They felt great and I am lucky that the men’s size 7 fit perfectly. Wonderfully made and great look. I wore them on a quick trip to Kentucky for 2 days and walked a lot and my feet did not get sore until later on the second day. I don’t think I will need much more break in time. They look great with skinny jeans and straight leg jeans. I highly recommend these proudly made in the USA boots. Well worth the price and can be outside for work or for nice. The sales associate said with proper maintenance I could get them resoled up to 3 times.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product, runs a bit on the large side. Excellent pair of boots! I purchased these as my business-casual set of boots. I thought about wolverine 1000 miles but was concerned about durability and after deciding on these I'm not disappointed! They aren't the most 'business' looking but they do the job very well. The charcoal leather is thick takes some working but once it breaks in its fantastic. The outsole is very grippy, I've had zero issues with slipping and the stitching on my pair was phenomenal. The strangest part was getting used to the leather insole. I was prepared for a difficult break-in but surprisingly mine took only about two weeks to feel like a pair of socks. Considering the way I wear these I've no doubt this pair of Redwings will be just like my last pair; a second skin that lasts for at least three resolings.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable These are the most uncomfortable boots I have ever had. A pair of Corcoran jump boots are 10 times more comfy. Even boots issued in basic were more comfortable. I have had 15 pairs of 2264's over the years. That was a good boot, but they decided to quit making it. I have had the Iron Rangers for 1.5 years, I even dropped 40 bucks on the inserts for them, and still no luck.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 7.5 Year Birthday!!! My boots celebrated their 7.5 year birthday this week. I still love them and use them often. I've used nothing on these boots other than saddle soap and mink oil 1-2 times per year. I did need to finally replace the laces, so I made 550 Paracord laces for them with heat-shrink ends. Original soles. Buy these boots... You will love them!!
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Try in a store but love the fit Measured both feet at store and bought full size down. Tried on four different pairs including wide width. Leather is soft, stitching was cleanly executed and the boots fit snug without uncomfortable pressure points. Expect to wair 4-5 times a week and bought boot soaks which made a large difference.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice Boot! I love these boots. The best thing is they're made in the USA. I'm done buying cheap products made overseas in sweatshops. I only wish RW would make this exact boot with a full lug sole. Now that would awesome!
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wore them to the interview....got the job. The quality is evident from the compliments I get about these nearly 4 year old boots. My breaking in period suggestion: wear them for a hearty chore: mow the yard with a push mower, split wood, anything to get a full range of motion out of them and they will soon feel like a second skin.
Date published: 2018-03-13
  • y_2018, m_9, d_24, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_316
  • loc_en_US, sid_08119, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
4 33.5 1.5 21
4.5 34 2 21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
11 44 10 29
11.5 45 10.5 29.5
12 46 11 30
13 47 12 31
14 48 13 32
15 49 14 33
16 50 15 34
×
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Where to buy your
Iron Ranger

STYLE No. 8119

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

Online Partner

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

FIND A STORE

Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

×