Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders See Details

Free Standard Shipping and Returns on All Footwear Orders See Details

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

8-inch Classic Moc product photo

8-inch Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8830

$299.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×
SEE ALL MEN'S 8-INCH+ BOOTS

Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

8-inch Classic Moc product photo

8-inch Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8830

$299.99 USD


Cart total: ( Items)
View Cart


×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

8-inch Classic Moc

STYLE NO. 8830

LEATHER:
Copper Rough & Tough Leather
$299.99 USD
8" MOC, COPPER R&T Mens is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 63.
  • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
  • loc_en_US, sid_08830, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_redwingheritage

Please select your size

Is your size unavailable?
Find an online partner or local store

SHARE THIS PAGE:

Shipping available only in the United States
See Shipping Policy


  • AboutThe story behind the style.
  • MaterialsHow it's made.
  • Sizing & Break InWhat to expect.
  • CareProtect your investment.
Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs. Ironworkers erect the steel framework of buildings and often times work high up in the air secured by safety rigs.

STYLE NO. 8830 : 8-inch Classic Moc

The 8-inch Classic Moc stands tall as one of the most iconic boots in the Red Wing Heritage line. Born from the archives, this rugged lifestyle boot is built with the same pride, process, and quality as the 1952 original.

THE HISTORY BEHIND THE STYLE

In 1952, we introduced a boot that has come to be synonymous with Red Wing ever since. The 8-inch Style No. 877 was made with russet colored leather, tanned using the sap of sequoia bark, yielding a rich color that was very close to the coat of an Irish Setter hunting dog. The 877 had a crescent-stitched “moc toe” and sported a wedge sole made from a white crepe rubber that promised to be quiet underfoot for sportsmen in the woods. This sole had been used on shoes before but the No. 877 was the first to use it on a tall hunting boot. In addition to its benefits for the stalking hunter, its comfort also found favor on the job site and soon the 877 was seen in the factories and on the scaffolds of a growing America. The No. 877 has changed little from its origins, remaining essentially the same boot that was ceremonially presented to President Eisenhower in 1960. Today it is the iconic Red Wing boot.

Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather. Oil-Tanned leather is a very durable and vivid leather.

Oil-Tanned Leather

S.B. Foot Tanning Co. is best known for Oil-Tanned leather which is used to build a variety of timeless Red Wing styles. This leather is water, stain and perspiration resistant, and has a more natural look and feel because less finishing materials have been applied, allowing its natural beauty to shine through. Oil-Tanned leather is exceptionally durable and has been used to build countless work boots throughout Red Wing’s 110+ year history.


Leather: Copper Rough & Tough Leather
Outsole: Traction Tred
Hardware: Dark Gun Metal Eyelets
Construction: Goodyear Welt
Last: 23
In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last. In order to build a Red Wing boot to an exact size and width, the boot is constructed around a shoe last.

The 8830 is built using the No. 23 Last:

  • Was created in the 1950s and is Red Wing’s most iconic last
  • Includes extra room in the forefoot and instep for easy entry
  • Fits a variety of foot shapes
  • Most customers buy Red Wing Heritage footwear 1/2 size smaller than their normal size
  • Trying on Red Wing Heritage footwear in a store is recommended to get the perfect fit
    Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather. Protect and lengthen the life of your boots with our Made in USA, specialty care products; specifically designed to help maintain the unique qualities of Red Wing leather.

    PROTECT YOUR INVESTMENT

    Red Wing's sturdy soles, premium leathers, triple stitching and Goodyear welt construction all work together to make quality boots that will last a lifetime. It takes more than 230 steps to hand craft each pair of Red Wing Shoes but it only takes three steps to keep them clean, conditioned and protected.

    LEARN HOW TO CARE FOR STYLE NO. 8830

    REPAIR SERVICE

    Red Wing Shoe Company operates our very own repair shop at our Red Wing, Minnesota, manufacturing facility. Find out how to have your shoes repaired.

    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot for at home these boots are awesome! For at home and around the town. I work as a union pipefitter and am on my feet for 12 plus hours a day that’s being said these are not the boots for that kind of lifestyle. They were a bear to break in, I’m talking months and months of constent wear and putting saddle soap to these bad boys at least once a week. Once they finally did break in they were awesome but needed a added insole for hard daily use. Once they ran their course and were retired to the graveyard I bought another pair for casual weekend and around the house/yard work and they are great. Hope this helps.
    Date published: 2018-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Please made these in a EE size I’d love to purchase these boots in a wide size. You have the 6” version in wide but not the 8”. And I know you have the work boots in the 8” wide but not with this color and eyelet combination. I have been checking the website once a week, waiting for redwing to make this boot in a EE.
    Date published: 2018-08-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great, but OUCH! Man do these boots look awesome. They fit perfectly and look better than any other boot I've ever worn. I get so many compliments on their look! Problem is, my feet and legs are constantly sore. I'm in construction and wear these boots every day. Was told to let them break in for 6 months. Worst 6 months imaginable because there is no insole. After 6 months, I started regularly putting insoles inside, which helps for a bit, but then my shins and feet go right back to hurting. I've tried numerous other brands. None look as good as these, or are as durable, but no other brand has made my feet/legs hurt. After over a year of daily use, I give up! OUCH!
    Date published: 2018-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big fan Doesn't even feel like you are wearing boots as they are so comfy. They have molded to my feet and are very comfortable to wear. Must say, they don't get much use in the summer when temps are above 80F/27c. If I wear thinner than usual socks then my feet tends to 'swim' around in them. I have other pairs (8130 and 1907) so they get rotated. I have enough Red Wings to last a few lifetimes. They are very well made and can just about handle any conditions. Once in awhile I will treat them to saddle soap clean and mink oil. Thats it.
    Date published: 2018-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow When I received these boots, the quality was immediately apparent. The materials are exceptional. I looked at other high end boots in a local store and the leather used by red wing has to be twice as thick and still flexible. The craftsmanship is probably the best you will find although not perfect. There were only one or two very short thread ends and no missed stitching. The only thing I noticed was that the full length pull on the back of one boot was a little to one side so that a little of the stitching only through two layers of leather instead of three by missing the internal backing layer. Everything else was on point. The leather at the seems of the moc toe are even beveled so that there is no gap even when flexed. These are the most comfortable pair of footwear I have ever owned. The fit, lack of hot spots at seems and corners despite the lack of a liner, and leather and cork footbed work together well. They do need a break-in period to be at their best but what you get is a boot molded to your foot. I wear Birkenstocks a lot of the time so I know comfortable footwear and I still find myself saying that it feels like I just had a massage when I take these off at the end of the day. If you have the right shape of foot and get the right size you will be pleased.
    Date published: 2018-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort - Class - Dependable Red Wing products are no joke! I have no affiliation with the product or brand other than loyalty due to quality products and unrivaled product history. My initial introduction to Red Wing was a pair of 866 work boots that we in my old mans closet. I acquired the boot because his employer ordered the incorrect size. I wore this boot for 5 1/2 years as a carpenter and never loved a work boot more. The level of comfort I experienced working on concrete floors has been unmatched in any other boot I have tried. The sole of the boot and foot bed molds to your foot providing a unique level of comfort. I am now in a pair of 877's that I wear almost daily, I have worn cowboy boots nearly every day for the last 6 years working in an office, however, I recently purchased the 877's and my passion has been reaffirmed. I haven't worn my cowboy boots since putting on the 877's. I stand to gain nothing through this review other than publishing my praise to a company that long strives to produce a quality product to the end user. I recommend the Traction Tred or Wedge sole for the best comfort (personal experience). If you are on the fence about buying the boot, I suggest you take the plunge and enjoy the passion to come. I also endorse that my dollars stay local and employs men and women in America.
    Date published: 2018-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Redwings 877 I really love this boot . I love the way it looks and the craftsmanship off it it’s really good . I’m a ironworker over here in San Francisco ( local 377 ) I’ve seen a lot of my fellow brothers having this boot so i figured this boot might be good or something so I bought it and soon as I put the boot on I had to buy it . It took me 2 weeks to brake them in and now there comfy . I used to roll my ankle slightly from my other boots but with this since there 8 inch I have ankle support which I love . I really recommend this boot .
    Date published: 2017-11-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Defective shoes Have had the boots for 6 months only worn them 3 times and bottom piece separated from shoes
    Date published: 2017-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best boots made. My 877's are a staple in my life. I wear them 6 days a week if not every day. I have worn them through harsh Minnesota winters, and everyday through the summer. Spilt motor oil all over them, worked in dry dusty conditions, rain, snow, hot pavement. Every season and this is the boot I will also clean up and wear to dinner. have owned them for a year had them re-soled and they get more comfortable everyday.
    Date published: 2017-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 45years Wore 877 for 45 years,at work and leisure. Great boots. Just love them
    Date published: 2017-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Workboots I've Ever Worn Bought a pair of these after years of another brand and a recommendation from a friend. The quality is great, they fit my foot perfectly (everyone's different). I like the 8'' upper since I work around horses and it keeps the shavings and hay out of the boot. The taller upper also helps keep the boot from slipping on the heel and snug around the ankle. I have pretty skinny ankles/calves and they seemed to feel a lot better than the 6'' version. Customer service and return policies at the Redwing store is unmatched. Hopefully they never stop making this model. Best part is they are made in the USA!
    Date published: 2017-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot ever I've had whites, danners, HH and no boot compares to this boot. Hands down most comfortable and well made boot I've ever had
    Date published: 2017-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite boot I would recommend sizing down. Normally I wear a 11.5 in sneakers, 10 fits perfectly in both the 8” Mocs and Iron Rangers.
    Date published: 2017-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection This is one of Red Wings most comfortable boots. I have other steel toe Red Wings for work and bought this boot for kicking around in. Very well made, go down 1 size in this style and you'll be walking on clouds! The moc toe looks cool with jeans too! And as always Made in the USA !!!!
    Date published: 2017-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is I need EE width and these only come in D Loved the 877 when I 1st started wearing them almost 30 years ago..I have the 10877s now.. would prefer the oro-legacy leather now but these don't come in wide widths..c'mon Redwing...make me some size 10EE
    Date published: 2017-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional, stylish, and worth the money This a great pair of boots. I've worn mine in almost every condition (rain, snow, mud, desert, etc.) and they function wonderfully. I recommend wearing a thick pair of wool socks for the first week or two to break in the stiff leather, but after that any crew sock will work well. I use mink oil and a buffing brush regularly to keep the boots waterproof and in great condition. After wearing for several months the boot really molds to your foot unlike any other boot I own. The 8 inches allows you to really feel locked in if the situation requires it, sometimes I only lace up half way and then wrap the laces around my ankle once before tying. I highly recommend this boot, and the R&T Leather is a fantastic color. Well done Red Wing.
    Date published: 2017-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from $300 boots for a reason Break in period 6 straight 10 hour days. Hard on feet until broken in, leather sole forms to foot for unbeatable comfort. 8" gives additional support to ankles & displaces boot weight. Will buy another pair for casual wear. Being a Union member means supporting American products, such as Red Wing Boots.
    Date published: 2017-03-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great boot! Bad luck. This boot is made with exceptional quality and craftsmanship, once the break in period was over they really do fit like a glove. Unfortunately though I think I got a bad pair. After wearing them for 5 days a week for three weeks they have began to make my big toe numb on my right foot only and I can't wear them. I've tried to wear them loose and tight and anywhere between and I still can't wear them. These are great boots other than that, and I'm sure it's an uncommon issue.
    Date published: 2017-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality These are my second pair. First was the lighter moc 8". Had them for about a year before purchasing these. I'm a union electrician, so these where my everyday boot. Loved them. My personal experience, not too much breaking in needed. They mold to the foot fairly quick. I do work on all types of terrain. The only thing I can say is the sole completely wore on the toes (red wings will resole). Other than that with some care the leather last and last. No seperation on the stitching. Most likely my boot for the remainder of my career... as long as it's continued to be made in the good old USA.
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from High price, low quality, worse warranty Stitching below laces pulled apart within 8 months. Sole was completely gone within a year. I'm a bench TIG welder so i dont even walk around that much. Granted, before the soles wore out these thing were the most comfortable things I've ever had on my feet. I was extremely disappointed that a 315 dollar pair of boots could not survive a year of sitting a bench. I will never buy red wings again. I'll go with a cheaper boot and replace them once a year for less the half the money.
    Date published: 2017-01-17
    • y_2019, m_7, d_20, h_19
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_63
    • loc_en_US, sid_08830, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_redwingheritage

    FOOTWEAR SIZE COMPARISON CHART FOR MOST COMMON INTERNATIONAL SYSTEMS

    USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
    4 33.5 1.5 21
    4.5 34 2 21.5
    3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
    4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
    4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
    5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
    5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
    6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
    6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
    7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
    7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
    8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
    8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
    9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
    9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
    10 12 43 9 28 28.5
    10.5 43.5 9.5 28.5
    11 44 10 29
    11.5 45 10.5 29.5
    12 46 11 30
    13 47 12 31
    14 48 13 32
    15 49 14 33
    16 50 15 34
    ×
    Please enter a valid email address

    Compatibility View

    You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

    This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

    ×

    Where to buy your
    8-inch Classic Moc

    STYLE No. 8830

    You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

    Online Partner

    Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.

    FIND A STORE

    Find a Heritage retailer near you. Be sure to call ahead to check product availability.

    ×